DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 1-2 and 6-8 and the addition of claims 12-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 and 12-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 3, the claim states “further comprising an ejecting unit configured to separate the spin housing from the connector” in lines 1-2 of the claim. The subject matter of this claim has been amended into line 20 of claim 1 and does not further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 4, the claim states “wherein the first restoring force-providing unit comprises: at least a portion of the ejecting unit” in lines 1-3 of the claim. The subject matter of this claim has been amended into lines 27-28 of claim 1 and does not further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claims 12-13, these claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) due to their dependency on claim 3 which does not further limit the subject matter of claim 1. While these claims do further limit the subject matter of the claims from which they depend they should be rewritten to depend from another claim.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2019/0152077 A1) in view of SON et al. (US 2018/0272549 A1), hereafter known as Son.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a razor assembly (Kim, Fig. 1-14, 100, 200, and 300), comprising:
a blade housing (Kim, Fig. 6A-7B, 10) configured to receive at least one or more shaving blades (Kim, Fig. 6A-7B, 5) in a longitudinal direction (Kim, Fig. 6A, d1);
a connector (Kim, Fig. 7A-7B, 21) disposed on a rear side of the blade housing and comprising a first connecting portion (see annotated image 2 of Fig. 7A (Kim) below);
a spin housing (Kim, Fig. 6A-9A, 120) detachably coupled to the connector (Kim, P. 0061);
the spin housing comprising a second connecting portion formed at a first side thereof facing the connector (see annotated image 2 of Fig. 7A (Kim) below),
the spin housing configured to be coupled to the connector by engaging the second connecting portion with the first connecting portion of the connector (see annotated image 2 of Fig. 7A (Kim) below),
the spin housing configured to be decoupled from the connector by disengaging the second connecting portion from the first connecting portion of the connector (Kim, P. 0061), while Kim does not disclose the connector and spin housing as being detachable the structure disclosed would allow for both structures to be attached and detached manually,
the spin housing being rotatable about a first rotational axis (Kim, Fig. 6A-8B, ax3, P. 0060) perpendicular to the longitudinal direction (Kim, Fig. 6A, ax1, P. 0062) to rotate the blade housing and the connector about the first rotatable axis, and
the spin housing further comprising an extension unit (Kim, Fig. 8B, 121 and 125) formed at a second side thereof opposing the first side, the extension unit extending rearward along the first rotational axis,
a fixing housing (Kim, Fig. 7A-9B, 135) coupled to the spin housing and configured to receive the extension unit of the spin housing so as to render the spin housing to be rotatable about the first rotational axis (Kim, Fig. 6A-8B, ax3); and
a first restoring force-providing unit (Kim, Fig. 7A-9B, 41) configured to provide a restoring force for restoring the spin housing to a first rest position in response to the spin housing being rotated about the first rotational axis relative to the fixing housing (Kim, P. 0070),
wherein the fixing housing (Kim, Fig. 7A-9B, 135) is fixed with respect to the first rotational axis, as best understood the first rotational axis of Kim extends along the fixing housing of Kim and is thus the fixing housing of Kim is fixed with respect to the first rotational axis, and
wherein the spin housing is configured to be rotatable about the first rotational axis relative to the fixing housing (Kim, P. 0060).
Kim does not teach the razor assembly further comprising an ejecting unit configured to separate the spin housing from the connector and wherein the first restoring force-providing unit comprises at least a portion of the ejecting unit.
Son teaches a razor assembly (Son, Fig. 1-14, 1, 100, 200, and 300) comprising an ejecting unit (Son, Fig. 6-7 and 9-14, 210, 235, 236, 240, 260 and 360) configured to separate (Son, P. 0077) the housing (Son, Fig. 6-7 and 9-14, 200 and 300) from the connector (Son, Fig. 2-4 and 9-12, 25). Such a unit allows the cartridge to be separated from the handle by the press of a button (Son, P. 0077).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the razor assembly of Kim to feature the ejecting unit taught by Son as it enables the cartridge to be disengaged from the handle through the press of a button.
Son further teaches a first restoring force-providing unit (Son, Fig. 7, 9-12 and 14, 240), wherein the first restoring force-providing unit comprises at least a portion of the ejecting unit (Son, Fig. 7, 9-12 and 14, 241, 241a and 241b, P. 0072). The force-providing unit taught by Son differs from the first restoring force-providing unit as claimed and as taught by Kim in that it does not provide a restoring force for restoring the spin housing to a first rest position in response to the spin housing being rotated about the first rotational axis relative to the fixing housing. However, it does show that it is known in the art to include a force restoring unit as a portion of the ejecting unit and as such it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to further modify the razor assembly of Kim in view of Son to feature the first restoring force-providing unit taught by Kim as a portion of the ejecting unit as taught by Son as it would have been well within the level of ordinary skill of a worker in the art to reposition the first restoring force-providing unit such that it was a part or portion of the ejecting unit as such a rearrangement of parts is known in the art (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the razor assembly of claim 1, wherein the connector (Kim, Fig. 7A-7B, 21) includes a first connecting portion comprising at least one or more cantilevers extending from one side of the connector (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 7A (Kim) below), and wherein the spin housing includes a second connecting portion comprising at least one or more hooked protrusions (Kim, Fig. 7B, 22) configured to make a hook coupling with one end of each of the cantilevers (Kim, P. 0041).
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Son teaches the razor assembly of claim 1, further comprising an ejecting unit (Son, Fig. 6-7 and 9-14, 210, 235, 236, 240, 260, 340 and 360) configured to separate the spin housing from the connector (Son, P. 0077).
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Son teaches the razor assembly of claim 3, wherein the first restoring force-providing unit (Son, Fig. 7, 9-12 and 14, 240 and 340) comprises: at least a portion of the ejecting unit (Son, Fig. 7, 9-12 and 14, 241, 241a and 241b, P. 0072).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Son teaches the razor assembly of claim 1, wherein the connector (Kim, Fig. 7A-7B, 21) comprises at least one or more cantilevers extending from one side of the connector (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 7A (Kim) above), wherein the first restoring force-providing unit (Kim, Fig. 9B, 132) comprises at least one or more arms (Kim, Fig. 9B, 132a and 132b).
Kim in view of Son as modified does not teach wherein the first restoring force-providing unit comprises at least one or more arms abutting at least a portion of each of the cantilevers, and wherein the arm is configured to be elastically deformed by being pressed by the cantilever when the spin housing is rotated about the first rotational axis.
Son teaches a razor assembly (Son, Fig. 1-14, 1, 100, 200, and 300) wherein the connector (Son, Fig. 2-4 and 9-12, 25) comprises at least one or more cantilevers extending from one side of the connector (Son, Fig. 3, 25c), a first restoring force-providing unit (Son, Fig. 7, 9-12 and 14, 240 and 340), wherein the first restoring force-providing unit comprises at least one or more arms (Son, Fig. 7, 9-12 and 14, 241, 241a and 241b) abutting at least a portion of each of the cantilevers (Son, Fig. 9-12, 25c, 241, 241a and 241b), and wherein the arm is configured to be elastically deformed by being pressed by the cantilever when the spin housing is rotated about the first rotational axis (Son, P. 0072), as taught by Son the arms of Son are capable of elastic deformation when pressed again the cantilevers to allow the ejection of the cartridge thus as the cantilevers and arms are in contact when the cartridge is pivoted about the first rotational axis the cantilevers would press against the arms and cause them to deform. Such structure allows for the cartridge to be detached by pressing a button (Son, P. 0072 and 0100).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the razor assembly of Kim to feature the cantilevers and the first restoring force-providing unit with arms taught by Son as a way to quickly disconnect the cartridge.
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Son teaches the razor assembly of claim 1, further comprising: a plate spring (Kim, Fig. 8A-9B, 41a and 41b) disposed between the spin housing (Kim, Fig. 6A-9A, 120) and the fixing housing (Kim, Fig. 7A-9B, 135).
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Son teaches the razor assembly of claim 6, wherein the spin housing (Kim, Fig. 6A-9A, 120) comprises at least one restoring rib (Kim, Fig. 6A-9A, 128, 129a and 129b) extending rearwardly from one side of the spin housing, and wherein at least a portion of the at least one restoring rib is configured to be pressed by at least a portion of the plate spring (Kim, Fig. 8A-9B, 41a and 41b) so that the plate spring provides the restoring force to the spin housing (Kim, P. 0069).
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Son teaches the razor assembly of claim 1, wherein the spin housing (Kim, Fig. 6A-9A, 120) comprises at least one or more restoring ribs (Kim, Fig. 6A-9A, 128, 129a and 129b) extending rearwardly from one side of the spin housing, wherein the fixing housing (Kim, Fig. 7A-9B, 135) comprises a stop surface (Kim, Fig. 9A-9B, 131, 131a and 132b) facing at least a portion of the at least one restoring rib, and wherein at least a portion of the at least one restoration rib is in contact with the stop surface so that the spin housing is limited from being rotated about the first rotational axis (Kim, P. 0070).
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Son teaches the razor assembly of claim 1, wherein the blade housing (Kim, Fig. 6A-7B, 10) and the connector (Kim, Fig. 7A-7B, 21) are configured to enable the blade housing to pivot relative to the connector about a second rotational axis (Kim, Fig. 6A and 7B, ax1) parallel to the longitudinal direction (Kim, P. 0052 and 0061).
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of Son teaches the razor assembly of claim 9.
Kim in view of Son as modified does not teach the razor assembly further comprising: a second restoring force-providing unit configured to provide a restoring force for restoring the blade housing to a second rest position in response to the blade housing rotating about the second rotational axis.
Son further teaches a razor assembly comprising a second restoring force-providing unit (Son, Fig. 7 and 9-12, 240, 251, and 260) configured to provide a restoring force for restoring the blade housing to a second rest position (Son, P. 0111) in response to the blade housing rotating about the second rotational axis (Son, Fig. 9-11, P. 0109-0111). Such units allow for the blade housing to be returned to the initial position automatically (Son, P. 0111).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the razor assembly of Kim in view of Son to feature a second restoring force-providing unit like the one further taught by Son as doing so allows for the automatic readjustment of the blade housing to a set position.
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Son teaches the razor assembly of claim 10, wherein the second restoring force-providing unit (Son, Fig. 7 and 9-12, 240, 251, and 260) comprises: a plunger (Son, Fig. 7 and 9-12, 260) configured to transmit a restoring force by cam action with the blade housing (Son, Fig. 9 and 11, 260); and an elastic member (Son, Fig. 7 and 9-12, 251) configured to provide an elastic force to the plunger (Son, P. 0109).
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Son teaches the razor assembly of claim 3, wherein the ejecting unit (Son, Fig. 6-7 and 9-14, 210, 235, 236, 240, 260, 340 and 360) is configured to separate the spin housing (Son, Fig. 6-7 and 9-14, 200 and 300) from the connector (Son, Fig. 2-4 and 9-12, 25) by ejecting the exterior portion of the body of the spin housing from the connector by disengaging the second connecting portion of the spin housing from the first connecting portion of the connector (Son, P. 0077)
Kim in view of Son as modified does not teach wherein the connector comprises an opening configured to accommodate an exterior portion of a body of the spin housing, and wherein the ejecting unit is configured to separate the spin housing from the connector by ejecting the exterior portion of the body of the spin housing from the opening of the connector by disengaging the second connecting portion of the spin housing from the first connecting portion of the connector.
Son teaches a connector (Son, Fig. 2-4 and 9-12, 25) comprising an opening (Son, Fig. 3, 25b) configured to accommodate an exterior portion of a body of the spin housing (Son, Fig. 9, 235, P. 0070) and wherein the ejecting unit (Son, Fig. 6-7 and 9-14, 210, 235, 236, 240, 260, 340 and 360) is configured to separate the spin housing (Son, Fig. 6-7 and 9-14, 200 and 300) from the connector (Son, Fig. 2-4 and 9-12, 25) by ejecting the exterior portion of the body of the spin housing from the opening of the connector by disengaging the second connecting portion of the spin housing from the first connecting portion of the connector (Son, P. 0121). As previously modified the connector did not include an opening, however, Son clearly shows an opening for the connector. This arrangement helps ensure the cartridge is firmly connected to the handle (Son, P. 0121)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the connector taught by Kim in view of Son such that the connector included an opening as further taught by Son as doing so allows for the cartridge to be firmly connected to the handle.
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of Son teaches the razor assembly of claim 3, wherein the fixing housing (Kim, Fig. 8A, 135) comprising an upper fixing housing (Kim, Fig. 8A, 138) and a lower fixing housing (Kim, Fig. 8A, 137), and wherein at least part of the spin housing (Kim, Fig. 8B, 121) disposed between the upper fixing housing and the lower fixing housing (Kim, P. 0062).
Response to Arguments
The applicant asserts that the amendments to claim 1 overcome the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) anticipation type prior art rejection of record. The Examiner agrees that the amendments to the claims overcome the rejection of record but the Examiner disagrees that the amendments to the claims overcome the prior art of record. Specifically, the applicant asserts that there is no motivation to modify the first restoring force-proving unit taught by Kim with the teachings of Son that would teach the instant invention. The Examiner disagrees with this assertion as Son shows a restoring force-proving unit as a component of the ejection unit inside the spin housing it would be within the level of ordinary skill of a worker in the art to rearrange the restoring force-proving unit to be inside the housing, thus the applicant’s assertion is unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT D CORNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724