Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
In claim 9, line 2, “an external controller” and claim 13, line 7, “a controller”, should be identified with reference characters.
In claim 18, “robotic driving unit includes a motor”, should be identified with reference characters.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7, 9-13, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Makinen (EP3330212A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Makinen discloses a knuckle boom crane (10; Figures 1-3) comprising: a base (220) with a top surface and a bottom surface; a slew column (120) rotatably coupled to the base (220); a telescoping boom (122) pivotably coupled to the slew column (120); a plurality of outriggers (16) coupled to the top surface of the base (220); and a robotic driving unit (22) rotatably coupled to the bottom surface of the base (220), the robotic driving unit (22) connected to a controller (18) configured to control operation of the robotic driving unit (22) to drive the knuckle boom crane (10; ¶0008-0012 and ¶0042-0046, control system configured to control the functions of the crane, includes the crawler 222).
Regarding claim 2, Makinen discloses wherein the plurality of outriggers (16) supports a weight of the knuckle boom crane (10) when the plurality of outriggers (16) is in the supporting position.
Regarding claims 5 and 16-18, Makinen discloses wherein the robotic driving unit (22) supports a weight of the knuckle boom crane (10) when the plurality of outriggers (16) is in the stored position; further comprising a plurality of wheels (222, 224; Figure 1) coupled to the bottom surface of the base (220), wherein the robotic driving unit (22) and the plurality of wheels (222, 224) support the weight of the knuckle boom crane (10); wherein the robotic driving unit (22) includes a motor (¶0031, motorized crawler tracks) and a plurality of wheels (222, 224) operationally coupled to the motor.
Regarding claim 7, Makinen discloses wherein the knuckle boom crane (10) is operably connected to a power pack (¶0047, crane electric motor 210 can be connected to an external electric power source separate from the crane 10) that is spaced apart from the knuckle boom crane (10).
Regarding claim 9, Makinen discloses wherein the robotic driving unit is electronically connected to an external controller (186; Figure 2; ¶0003 and 0058, remote control device).
Regarding claim 10, Makinen discloses wherein the plurality of outriggers (16) is angled in an upright direction when the plurality of outriggers (16) is in the stored position (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 11, Makinen discloses an intermediate boom (124; Figure 1) pivotably coupled to the slew column (120) wherein the telescoping boom (122) is pivotably coupled to the intermediate boom (124).
Regarding claim 12, Makinen discloses a slewing platform (14; Figure 1) fixedly coupled to the top surface of the base (220) wherein the slew column (120) is rotatably coupled to the slewing platform (14).
Regarding claim 19, Makinen discloses a counterweight (24; Figure 1) coupled to the slew column (120) and configured to rotate with the slew column (120).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makinen in view of Peters (US20200369494A1).
Regarding claims 3-4 and 20, Makinen discloses the above knuckle boom crane, but fails to teach a plurality of base lifts coupled to the bottom surface and adjustable between a retracted position and an extended position; wherein the plurality of base lifts supports a weight of the knuckle boom crane when the plurality of base lifts is in the extended position.
Peters teaches a similar boom crane and further teaches a plurality of base lifts (105; Figures 3-4) coupled to the bottom surface (lever jack 105 extends from the bottom surface of base 101 by a screw coupling attached to the bottom surface of the base) and adjustable between a retracted position and an extended position; wherein the plurality of base lifts (105) supports a weight of the boom crane (100; knuckle boom crane 10 of Makinen) when the plurality of base lifts (105) is in the extended position (Figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the knuckle boom crane of Makinen to include the base lifts as taught by Peters in order to level out and balance the crane in uneven terrain or surfaces.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makinen in view of Faloney (20210354960A1).
Regarding claim 6, Makinen discloses the above knuckle boom crane, but fails to teach wherein the knuckle boom crane has a width no greater than ten feet.
Faloney teaches a similar knuckle boom crane and further teaches wherein the knuckle boom crane (10; Figure 1) has a width no greater than ten feet (¶0030, dimension of crane less than 7ft wide). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the knuckle boom crane of Makinen to include the crane width as taught by Faloney in order to enable the crane to safely maneuver in tight places without damaging surrounding obstacles and the crane and further sized to adhere to shipping dimension regulations or requirements.
Claim(s) 8 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makinen in view of Elliott (US10697146B2).
Regarding claims 8 and 14-15, Makinen discloses the above knuckle boom crane and further teaches wherein the knuckle boom crane (10) is operably connected to a power pack (¶0047, crane electric motor 210 can be connected to an external electric power source separate from the crane 10) spaced apart from the knuckle boom crane (10), but fails to teach wherein the controller is positioned on the power pack; wherein the power pack includes a hydraulic unit configured to pivot the plurality of outriggers between the stored position and the supporting position; wherein the power pack includes a plurality of wheels configured to move the power pack along a surface with the knuckle boom crane.
Elliott teaches a similar boom crane and further teaches wherein the controller (130; Figures 1 and 3) is positioned on the power pack (100); wherein the power pack (100) includes a hydraulic unit (110) configured to pivot the plurality of outriggers (outriggers shown in Figure 1) between the stored position and the supporting position (column 3, line 3 – column 4, line 6, the auxiliary hydraulic supply system 100 may be placed into fluid communication with the hydraulic system of the crane to provide sufficient energy to original components of the crane, such as the outriggers, and additional accessories); wherein the power pack (100) includes a plurality of wheels (wheels shown in Figure 1) configured to move the power pack (100) along a surface with the boom crane (82; knuckle boom crane 10 of Makinen). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the knuckle boom crane of Makinen to include the power pack as taught by Elliott in order to allow the power supply to be positioned and allow the user to operate the crane from a safe distance and help provide additional power to ensure sufficient energy is supplied to all components of the crane.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/H.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654