Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paschewitz et al. (U.S. Patent 8,695,687) in view of Kelsey et al (U.S. Patent 5,894,887) and IGL (U.S. PGPub 2011/0222281).
Regarding claim 1 and 20, Paschewitz teaches a heat pipe (element 10) and the method of making comprising: a body comprising a polygonal-shaped cross-section (per fig. 1) a working fluid (”heat transfer medium” abstract) disposed within the body (abstract).
Paschewitz does not teach the body comprises a radio frequency (RF) compatible material comprising one of ceramic, polymer, or glass. Kelsey teaches the body comprises a radio frequency compatible material (Col 1, ln 48-58) comprising one of ceramic, polymer, or glass (col. 2, ln 3-13; col. 5, ln 1-16). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the heat pipe of Paschewitz to include the materials of Kelsey motivated by the application of the heat pipe in an RF sensitive application (Col. 2, ln 3-13).
Paschewitz does not teach the working fluid comprises at least one of glycol/water solution, liquid nitrogen, mercury, magnesium, potassium, sodium, lithium, or silver. IGL teaches mercury as a working fluid (para. 0012). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the heat pipe of Paschewitz to include the working fluid of IGL motivated by sizing and temperature range material selection.
Regarding claim 2, Paschewitz does not expressly teach a diameter of a circle circumscribing the body is in a range of 800 to 1200 microns. A change is size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (IV). Thus increasing the size of the Paschewitz is an obvious change (Paschewitz teaches 50-500 micron diameter, but does not limit to that).
Regarding claim 4, Paschewitz and Kelsey teach the body is at least one of (1) transparent to radio frequency (RF) transmissions or (ii) optically transparent (Col 1, ln 48-58; col. 2, ln 3-13; col. 5, ln 1-16) for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Paschewitz teaches the surfaces of the body meet in acute angles (per fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Paschewitz teaches the body comprises one of a triangular cross-section (fig. 1).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paschewitz et al. (U.S. Patent 8,695,687) in view of Kelsey et al (U.S. Patent 5,894,887) and IGL (U.S. PGPub 2011/0222281), and further view of Todd et al. (U.S. Patent 6,830,098).
Regarding claim 3, Paschewitz does not teach the RF compatible material comprises a polymer comprising one or more of poly(methyl methacrylate) (PMMA) based polymers, polysulfone (PSF) based polymers, azobenzene, or polytetrafluoroethylene. Todd teaches heat pipe structures including polysulfone based polymers (col. 11, ln 1-23). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the heat pipe of Paschewitz to further include the materials of Todd motivated by structural integrity and thermal energy transfer efficiency (Col. 4 ln 64- Col. 5, ln 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) amendments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763