DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the applicant's communication filed on 12/17/2025.
In virtue of this communication, claims 1-28 as elected by applicant filled on 12/17/2025 are currently pending in the instant application. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/17/2025.
Non-elected Claims 29-30 have been canceled by applicant.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information Disclosure statement (IDS) form PTO-1449, filed on 07/08/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosed therein was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/08/2023 have been reviewed by Examiner and they are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 16, 17, 20, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 2017/0083798), in view of Li, Bing, et al. "Representation learning for compressed video action recognition via attentive cross-modal interaction with motion enhancement." arXiv, (2022).
As per claim 1, An apparatus for performing video action classification, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to at least one memory and configured to: “generate, via a first network, frame-level features obtained from a set of input frames;”(Yu, ¶[0023] discloses extract static visual features from the frames of the video. the computing devices use a deep neural network to extract the static visual features from each frame. For example, the deep neural network may include a convolutional neural network.)
“generate, via a first multi-scale temporal feature fusion, first local temporal context features from a first neighboring sub-sequence of the set of input frames;”(Yu,¶[0024] discloses perform temporal-pyramid pooling on the extracted static visual features. The static visual features from adjacent frames in level 0 are pooled. ¶[0025], ¶[0027] discloses higher level features set that represent aggregating temporal segments of video that describes frames in multiple temporal scales (level 0- level 2, …). ¶[0030] discloses each feature set is pooled with both of the adjacent feature sets, although these poolings are separate.)
“generate, via a multi-scale temporal feature fusion, second local temporal context features from a second neighboring sub-sequence of the set of input frames;”(Yu, ¶[0027] discloses higher level features set that represent aggregating temporal segments of video that describes frames in multiple temporal scales (level 0- level 2, …). ¶[0030] discloses the second feature set 230B in level 0 is pooled with the first feature set 230A in one pooling to produce feature set 231A and, in a separate pooling, is pooled with a third feature set 230C to produce feature set 231B. ¶[0035] discloses during the pooling each feature set is merged with only one adjacent feature set. ¶[0035] discloses more than two feature sets in a level are pooled to create a higher-level feature set some feature sets are pooled with both adjacent feature sets in the temporal order, and some feature sets are pooled with only one adjacent feature set. Further see ¶[0037-0038].)
“and classify the set of input frames based on the first local temporal context features and the second local temporal context features.”(Yu, ¶[0033] discloses after generating the feature sets in the temporal-pooling pyramid, in block B123 the computing devices 100 encode the features in the feature sets from the temporal-pooling pyramid. For example, some embodiments use VLAD (vector of locally-aggregated descriptors) encoding or Fisher Vector encoding to encode the features. ¶[0062] discloses If in block B910 the video is to be classified, then the flow moves to block B916, where the encoded features, which include the encoded temporal-pooling pyramid and the encoded trajectory features, are tested with previously-trained classifiers. Next, in block B918, the classification results are stored, and the flow ends in block B920. )
However Yu does not explicitly disclose the following which would have been obvious in view of Li from similar field of endeavor “via a first multi-scale temporal feature fusion engine and via a second multi-scale temporal feature fusion engine” (Li, figure 2, page 3, section 3.2, Col. 2 discloses The multi scale block (MSB) has four separate branches with cascaded connections, and short/long-term dynamics are captured by varying kernel sizes (i.e. 1, 3, and 5) which efficiently extracts multi-scale motion patterns at multiple spatial granularities. Page 4, Col. 1 discloses to aggregate the multi-scale features, we concatenate all the output features from the four branches and fuse them by a 1X 1 X 1 3D convolution. By this means, MSB represents coarse motion cues in a more comprehensive way )
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Li technique of video action recognition into Yu technique to provide the known and expected uses and benefits of Li technique over video event classification technique of Yu. The proposed combination would have constituted a mere arrangement of old elements with each performing their known function, the combination yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Li to Yu in order to improve motion enhancement and multi-modal fusion. (Refer to Li page1, Col.2.)
Claim 16 has been analyzed and is rejected for the reasons indicated in claim 1 above.
As per claim 2, The apparatus of claim 1, Yu as modified by Li further discloses “wherein the first multi-scale temporal feature fusion engine applies a first kernel value for generating the first local temporal context features and wherein the second multi-scale temporal feature fusion engine applies a second kernel value for generating the second local temporal context features.” (Li, page 3, Col. 2, section 3.2 the multi-scale Block (MSB) section discloses MSB has four separate branches with cascaded connections, and short/long-term dynamics are captured by varying kernel sizes (i.e. 1, 3, and 5), which efficiently extracts multi-scale motion patterns at multiple spatial granularities.)
Claim 17 has been analyzed and is rejected for the reasons indicated in claim 2 above.
As per claim 5, The apparatus of claim 1, Yu as modified by Li further discloses “wherein the first network comprises a two- dimensional convolutional neural network.” (Li, Figure 3, discloses using 2D CNNs.)
Claim 20 has been analyzed and is rejected for the reasons indicated in claim 5 above.
As per claim 23, The method of claim 20, “wherein the first neighboring sub-sequence of the set of input frames equals the second neighboring sub-sequence of the set of input frames.” (Li, Page 2, Col. 2, section 3, discloses applies encapsulation to extract I-frame and P-frame clips from compressed videos. Page 3, section 3.1, discloses calculate accumulated residuals and motion vectors, which are iterated to I-frames, further in page 4, section 3.3 discloses the feature maps from the RGB (I-frames) and MVR (P-frames) modalities The basic idea of SMC is incorporating aligned motion cues from the MVR modality into the RGB modality. Further page 5, Col. 1 discloses we uniformly sample 8 frames to generate the input clip from each video.)
Claim(s) 3 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 2017/0083798), in view of Li, Bing, et al. "Representation learning for compressed video action recognition via attentive cross-modal interaction with motion enhancement." arXiv, (2022), in view of Paik et al. (US 2021/0216822).
As per claim 3, The apparatus of claim 1, However Yu as modified by Li does not explicitly disclose the following which would have been obvious in view of Paik from similar field of endeavor “wherein at least one processor is further configured to: classify, via an auxiliary classifier, the first local temporal context features and the second local temporal context features during a training process.” (Paik, ¶[0087] discloses auxiliary classifiers, which also consist of one or more artificial neural layers, inject gradient values into the earlier modules where they would otherwise have been greatly diminished starting from the output. Further discloses figure 25 shows neural network architecture inception in which auxiliary classifiers are added at intermediate modules in order to increase the gradient signal that gets propagated from output back to input. During training, the targets used for computing the loss function are identical between final classifier and auxiliary classifiers. Further in ¶[0088] discloses the use of auxiliary classifiers in Inception where the intermediate outputs are used in a much narrower way, only to contribute to the loss function.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Paik technique of image data analysis into Yu as modified by Li technique to provide the known and expected uses and benefits of Paik technique over video event classification technique of Yu as modified by Li. The proposed combination would have constituted a mere arrangement of old elements with each performing their known function, the combination yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Paik to Yu as modified by Li in order to provide improvement in speed and efficiency of image interpretation. (Refer to Paik ¶[0002]).
Claim 18 has been analyzed and is rejected for the reasons indicated in claim 3 above. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine the Yu, Li, and Paik references, presented in rejection of claim 3, apply to this claim.
Claim(s) 4 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 2017/0083798), in view of Li, Bing, et al. "Representation learning for compressed video action recognition via attentive cross-modal interaction with motion enhancement." arXiv, (2022), in view of Paik et al. (US 2021/0216822), further in view of Sapoznik et al. (US 2018/0013699 ).
As per claim 4, The apparatus of claim 3, Yu as modified by Li as modified by Paik does not explicitly disc lose the following which would have been obvious in view of Sapoznik from similar filed of endeavor “wherein the auxiliary classifier comprises a two- layer multilayer perceptron (MLP).” (Sapoznik, ¶[0294] discloses classifier component 1640 may be implemented using a multi-layer perceptron (MLP) classifier, such as a two-layer MLP with a sigmoid output. )
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Sapoznik technique of using classifiers into Yu as modified by Li as modified by Paik technique to provide the known and expected uses and benefits of Sapoznik technique over video event classification technique of Yu as modified by Li as modified by Paik. The proposed combination would have constituted a mere arrangement of old elements with each performing their known function, the combination yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Sapoznik to Yu as modified by Li as modified by Paik in order to accurately navigating customers with using better classifiers. (Refer to Sapoznik ¶[0004]).
Claim 19 has been analyzed and is rejected for the reasons indicated in claim 4 above. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine the Yu, Li, Paik, and Sapoznik, references, presented in rejection of claim 4, apply to this claim.
Claim(s) 6, 8, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 2017/0083798), in view of Li, Bing, et al. "Representation learning for compressed video action recognition via attentive cross-modal interaction with motion enhancement." arXiv, (2022), in view of Ning, Zhiqing, et al. "Person-context cross attention for spatio-temporal action detection." Huawei Noah's Ark Lab, and University of Science and Technology of China, Tech. Rep (2021).
As per claim 6, The apparatus of claim 1, Yu as modified by Li further discloses “wherein at least one processor is further configured to generate, via the first multi-scale temporal feature fusion engine, the first local temporal context features from the first neighboring sub-sequence of the set of input frames by: generating, via a first convolutional neural network, first local temporal context features from the set of input frames;” (Yu, ¶[0023] discloses use a deep neural network to extract the static visual features from each frame. For example, the deep neural network may include a convolutional neural network. ¶[0024] discloses the computing devices 100 perform temporal-pyramid pooling on the extracted static visual features. The static visual features from adjacent frames in level 0 are pooled. For example, the static visual features of the first feature set 230A can be pooled with the static visual features of the second feature set 230B to generate a feature set 231A in level 1. The static visual features may be pooled by mean pooling, maximum pooling, or other pooling techniques.)
However Yu as modified by Li does not explicitly disclose the following which would have been obvious in view of Ning from similar filed of endeavor “generating, via a first cross attention module, a first cross attended feature output based on the first local temporal context features; generating, via a first average pooling module, a first average pooling dataset from the set of input frames; and generating the first local temporal context features by adding the first cross attended feature output to the first average pooling dataset”. (Ning, page 2, Col.1, section 2.1 discloses a video backbone network extracts spatio-temporal features from the video clip. We perform average pooling along the temporal dimension on the video feature, which results in a feature map V. Each pooled person feature along with the global feature V is viewed as a person-context pair and fed into cross attention trans former encoder for relation modeling. In section 2.2 discloses In the first layer of cross attention transformer, the query input is a person feature and the key/value input is the person’s context feature. The scaled dot-product operation outputs an attention scores matrix and the projected context feature is multiplied by the matrix. The multiplied feature serves as the inherent dependency for person-context relations and is further added to the person feature through a shortcut connection. Further see Equation 2.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Ning technique of image data analysis into Yu as modified by Li technique to provide the known and expected uses and benefits of Ning technique over video event classification technique of Yu as modified by Li. The proposed combination would have constituted a mere arrangement of old elements with each performing their known function, the combination yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Ning to Yu as modified by Li in order to provide improvement in person-object -scene interaction and reasoning and the performance of spatio-temporal action detection. (Refer to Ning page1 Col.2 and paragraph 1, page 2, Col. 1 paragraph 1.).
As per claim 8, The apparatus of claim 6, Yu as modified by Li as modified by Ning further discloses “wherein the first neighboring sub-sequence of the set of input frames equals the second neighboring sub-sequence of the set of input frames.” (Li, Page 2, Col. 2, section 3, discloses applies encapsulation to extract I-frame and P-frame clips from compressed videos. Page 3, section 3.1, discloses calculate accumulated residuals and motion vectors, which are iterated to I-frames, further in page 4, section 3.3 discloses the feature maps from the RGB (I-frames) and MVR (P-frames) modalities The basic idea of SMC is incorporating aligned motion cues from the MVR modality into the RGB modality. Further page 5, Col. 1 discloses we uniformly sample 8 frames to generate the input clip from each video.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-15, 22, and 24-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and on the pending conditions of the rejected and objected matter set forth in this action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record, alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the limitations set forth by each of claims 7-15, 22, and 24-28.
Contact
/SHAGHAYEGH AZIMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2671