DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is response to communication filed on 01/07/2026.
Claims 1-7 and 9-16 are pending in this action.
Claim 8 is canceled.
This Action is final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Pub. No. 2022/0231911 A1 to ANAND et al. (hereinafter “ANAND”) in view of U.S Pub. No. 2017/0277506 A1 to VanBlon et al. (hereinafter “VanBlon”).
Regarding claim 1, ANAND discloses a method for modifying a value of at least one parameter of at least one first device (paragraphs [0074] and [0079]; adjustment of the characteristic of the electronic device 102 can be performed by the learning module 212 based on the received events, user activity and the environmental context of the user), the method comprising: obtaining a current activity of a first user depending on data representative of the behavior of the first user in an environment including at least one connected object (paragraphs [0074], [0079] and [0093]; adjusted characteristic value of the electronic device depends on the received event, user activity and the environment context of the use), the data being captured by the at least one connected object (paragraph [0058]; server 110 may keep track of current user activity and environmental context of a user. The current user activity and environmental context of the user is monitored by the pre-invoker sensors of the electronic device); obtaining a current activity of at least one second user different from the first user, the activity of the at least one second user being determined depending on data representative of the behavior of the second user in said environment (Fig.2, paragraphs [0074], [0079] and [0093]; output unit 208 may be configured to provide an output to the user. The output may indicate at least one of the characteristics of the electronic device based on the received event, user activity and the environment context of the user. The learning module 212 provides the re-calibrated value of the characteristic of the electronic device to notify the user. The adjusted characteristic value of the electronic device depends on the received event, user activity and the environment context of the user);
and transmitting an instruction intended to modify the value of the at least one parameter of the at least one first device, depending on the activity obtained (Fig.2, paragraphs [0074], [0079] and [0093]; output unit 208 may be configured to provide an output to the user. The output may indicate at least one of the characteristics of the electronic device based on the received event, user activity and the environment context of the user. The learning module 212 provides the re-calibrated value of the characteristic of the electronic device to notify the user. The adjusted characteristic value of the electronic device depends on the received event, user activity and the environment context of the user).
However, ANAND does not explicitly teach transmitting an instruction intended to modify the value of the at least one parameter of the at least one first device, according to the activity of the first user and the activity of the at least one second user.
In the same field of endeavor, VanBlon discloses transmitting an instruction intended to modify the value of the at least one parameter of the at least one first device, according to the activity of the first user and the activity of the at least one second user (Fig.4, paragraphs [0042] [0054], [0059] and [0073]; a proximity module 202 determines 402 a proximity to an information handling device 102, e.g., a trigger device, in response to detecting the trigger device. In a further embodiment, an activity module 204 receives 404 context data from the trigger device, which may describe an activity state of a user of the trigger device. In various embodiments, a volume module 206 adjusts 406 a volume setting of a target device as a function of the proximity to the trigger device and the activity state of the user).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify ANAND’s teaching with a feature of transmitting an instruction intended to modify the value of the at least one parameter of the at least one first device, according to the activity of the first user and the activity of the at least one second user as taught by VanBlon in order to perform adjusting a volume setting as a function of a proximity to a different device (paragraph [0001]; VanBlon).
Regarding claim 2, ANAND discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving the data representative of the behavior of the first user, wherein obtaining a current activity of the first user comprises determining the activity of the first user (Fig.2, paragraphs [0074], [0079] and [0093]; output unit 208 may be configured to provide an output to the user. The output may indicate at least one of the characteristics of the electronic device based on the received event, user activity and the environment context of the user. The learning module 212 provides the re-calibrated value of the characteristic of the electronic device to notify the user. The adjusted characteristic value of the electronic device depends on the received event, user activity and the environment context of the user).
Regarding claim 3, ANAND discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising identifying the at least one first device (paragraph [0056]; an identification value (for example: device identifier (ID) information/unique identifier) of the electronic device 102).
Regarding claim 4, ANAND discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising obtaining means for accessing the at least one first device (Fig.2, paragraphs [0074], [0079] and [0093]; output unit 208 may be configured to provide an output to the user. The output may indicate at least one of the characteristics of the electronic device based on the received event, user activity and the environment context of the user. The learning module 212 provides the re-calibrated value of the characteristic of the electronic device to notify the user. The adjusted characteristic value of the electronic device depends on the received event, user activity and the environment context of the user).
Regarding claim 5, ANAND discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising determining a value of at least one parameter of the at least one first device to be modified (Fig.2, paragraphs [0074], [0079] and [0093]; output unit 208 may be configured to provide an output to the user. The output may indicate at least one of the characteristics of the electronic device based on the received event, user activity and the environment context of the user. The learning module 212 provides the re-calibrated value of the characteristic of the electronic device to notify the user. The adjusted characteristic value of the electronic device depends on the received event, user activity and the environment context of the user).
Regarding claim 6, ANAND discloses the method of claim 5, further comprising:
obtaining a current value of the at least one parameter of the first device, and
triggering the transmission of the instruction intended to modify the value of the at least one parameter of the at least one first device upon a determination that the current value obtained is different from the determined value (paragraphs [0060] and [0074]; identifying that the change in the physiological state of the user has exceeded a pre-defined threshold value, the learning module automatically re-calibrates the characteristic value of the electronic device 102. The threshold value can be generated by the learning module 212 based on current user activity and the environment context of the user. The threshold value may be the empirical value generated by the learning module 212 on receiving the current user activity and the environmental context of the user. The threshold value may be the experiential, or the value obtained based on the mathematical approach on the current user activity and the environmental context of the user).
Regarding claim 7, ANAND discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one parameter of the device is a parameter representative of an interaction modality (Fig.2, paragraphs [0074], [0079] and [0093]; output unit 208 may be configured to provide an output to the user. The output may indicate at least one of the characteristics of the electronic device based on the received event, user activity and the environment context of the user. The learning module 212 provides the re-calibrated value of the characteristic of the electronic device to notify the user. The adjusted characteristic value of the electronic device depends on the received event, user activity and the environment context of the user).
Regarding claim 9, ANAND discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the instruction is transmitted to a plurality of first devices located at a predetermined distance from the first user (paragraph [0056]; location information of the electronic device 102 present in a network environment).
Regarding claim 10, ANAND discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the instruction is transmitted to a mobile device of the first user (paragraphs [0054] and [0061]; please see a mobile phone).
Regarding claim 11, ANAND discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the transmitted instruction comprises a data representative of a duration during which the at least one parameter of the at least one first device must consider the modified value (Fig.2, paragraphs [0074], [0079] and [0093]; output unit 208 may be configured to provide an output to the user. The output may indicate at least one of the characteristics of the electronic device based on the received event, user activity and the environment context of the user. The learning module 212 provides the re-calibrated value of the characteristic of the electronic device to notify the user. The adjusted characteristic value of the electronic device depends on the received event, user activity and the environment context of the user).
Regarding claim 12, ANAND discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method is implemented by a second device different from the first device, such as a gateway, and wherein the instruction intended to modify the value of at least one parameter of the first device is transmitted by the second device and to the first device (paragraphs [0063], [0074] and [0079]; electronic device 102 connected to the IoT based server 110 through one or more communication network 106. Example of the electronic device 102 may be a smart watch, a wearable device, a wearable technology, wearables, smart wear, wearable technology, a smart phone, a mobile device and the like, that can be worn close to and/or surface of the skin which can detect, analyze and transmit information concerning body signals such as vital signs, ambient data, tracks activity of the user and the like).
Regarding claim 13, ANAND discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the second device comprises a gateway (paragraph [0055]; electronic device 102, may be connected to other electronic device via a relay, a hub, and a gateway).
Regarding claim 14, ANAND discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the transmission is triggered in response to the receipt, by the second device, of a verification request from the first device (paragraphs [0011] and [0012]; identifying at context of the electronic device in response to receiving at least one event by the electronic device, wherein the at least one context includes at least one current user activity and an environmental context of a user).
Regarding claim 15, ANAND discloses an electronic device configured to modify a value of at least one parameter of at least one first device, the electronic device comprising a processor (paragraphs [0074] and [0079]; adjustment of the characteristic of the electronic device 102 can be performed by the learning module 212 based on the received events, user activity and the environmental context of the user), the electronic device configured to:
obtain a current activity of a first user depending on data representative of the behavior of the first user in an environment including at least one connected object, the data being captured by the at least one connected object (paragraph [0058]; server 110 may keep track of current user activity and environmental context of a user. The current user activity and environmental context of the user is monitored by the pre-invoker sensors of the electronic device);
obtain a current activity of at least one second user different from the first user, the activity of the at least one second user being determined depending on data representative of the behavior of the second user in said environment (Fig.2, paragraphs [0074], [0079] and [0093]; output unit 208 may be configured to provide an output to the user. The output may indicate at least one of the characteristics of the electronic device based on the received event, user activity and the environment context of the user. The learning module 212 provides the re-calibrated value of the characteristic of the electronic device to notify the user. The adjusted characteristic value of the electronic device depends on the received event, user activity and the environment context of the user); and,
transmit an instruction intended to modify the value of the at least one parameter of the at least one first device, depending on the activity obtained (Fig.2, paragraphs [0074], [0079] and [0093]; output unit 208 may be configured to provide an output to the user. The output may indicate at least one of the characteristics of the electronic device based on the received event, user activity and the environment context of the user. The learning module 212 provides the re-calibrated value of the characteristic of the electronic device to notify the user. The adjusted characteristic value of the electronic device depends on the received event, user activity and the environment context of the user).
However, ANAND does not explicitly teach transmitting an instruction intended to modify the value of the at least one parameter of the at least one first device, according to the activity of the first user and the activity of the at least one second user.
In the same field of endeavor, VanBlon discloses transmitting an instruction intended to modify the value of the at least one parameter of the at least one first device, according to the activity of the first user and the activity of the at least one second user (Fig.4, paragraphs [0042] [0054], [0059] and [0073]; a proximity module 202 determines 402 a proximity to an information handling device 102, e.g., a trigger device, in response to detecting the trigger device. In a further embodiment, an activity module 204 receives 404 context data from the trigger device, which may describe an activity state of a user of the trigger device. In various embodiments, a volume module 206 adjusts 406 a volume setting of a target device as a function of the proximity to the trigger device and the activity state of the user).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify ANAND’s teaching with a feature of transmitting an instruction intended to modify the value of the at least one parameter of the at least one first device, according to the activity of the first user and the activity of the at least one second user as taught by VanBlon in order to perform adjusting a volume setting as a function of a proximity to a different device (paragraph [0001]; VanBlon).
Regarding claim 16, ANAND discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having stored thereon instruction which, when implemented by a processor, causes the processor to implement the method of claim 1 (please see claim 1 rejection above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 and 9-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S Patent No. 10,771,277 B1 to Angadi discloses A first device receives a wireless signal from a second device. A signal strength of the wireless signal is determined, and a location of the second device is determined based on the signal strength of the wireless signal. Historical volume level data for the first device is retrieved from memory. A target volume level for the first device is determined based on the location of the second device and the historical volume level data. A volume setting of the first device is automatically adjusted to the target volume level (Abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AKELAW TESHALE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2694
/AKELAW TESHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694