DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In paragraph [00151], line 11, "the first part 310_A1 and the second part 310_A1" should be changed to "the first part 310_A1 and the second part 310_A2" for formality clarification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. (US Patent 11,527,534 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng teaches a semiconductor device (figs. 14-27) comprising:
a substrate (202; fig 26);
a first lower pattern (L_P; annotated fig. 26(A)) on the substrate;
a second lower pattern (2080B; fig. 26) on the first lower pattern;
channel patterns (2080; fig. 26) on the second lower pattern;
a first field insulating layer (211; annotated fig. 26(A)) on a first side surface of the first lower pattern;
a second field insulating layer (214; fig. 26) on a second side surface of the first lower pattern;
a buried insulating structure (218; fig. 26) on the first field insulating layer and on side surfaces of the channel patterns;
Annotated_fig26(A)
a protective layer (262/264/272; fig. 23) on the second field insulating layer;
source/drain patterns (256; fig. 14 and 27) on opposite sides of each of the channel patterns; and
a gate electrode (286 in fig. 23; 280-1 and 280-2 in fig. 26) extending around at least some portions of the channel patterns and the buried insulating structure,
wherein the protective layer comprises:
a protective insulating layer (262/264; fig. 23) between the first lower pattern and the second lower pattern, and between the gate electrode and the second field insulating layer; and
a protective liner (272; fig. 23) extending around the protective insulating layer.
Regarding claim 2, Cheng teaches. The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein
the protective insulating layer comprises:
a first part (P1; annotated fig. 26(B)) between the first lower pattern and the second lower pattern; and
a second part (P2; annotated fig. 26(B)) between the second field insulating layer and the gate electrode, and
a first thickness (T1; annotated fig. 26(B)) of the first part of the protective insulating layer is smaller than or equal to a second thickness (T2; annotated fig. 26(B)) of the second part of the protective insulating layer.
Regarding claim 3, Cheng teaches the semiconductor device of claim 2, wherein
an upper surface (US_P1; annotated fig. 26(B)) of the first part of the protective insulating layer is closer to an upper surface of the substrate than an upper surface (US_P2; annotated fig. 26(B)) of the second part of the protective insulating layer, or the upper surface of the first part of the protective insulating layer is at a same distance from the upper surface of the substrate as the upper surface of the second part of the protective insulating layer.
Regarding claim 4, Cheng teaches the semiconductor device of claim 3, wherein
a lower surface (LS_P1; annotated fig. 26(B)) of the first part of the protective insulating layer is farther from the upper surface of the substrate than a lower surface (LS_P2; annotated fig. 26(B)) of the second part of the protective insulating layer, or the lower surface of the first part of the protective insulating layer is at a same distance from the upper surface of the substrate as the lower surface of the second part of the protective insulating layer.
Annotated_fig26(B)
Regarding claim 5, Cheng teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein
the protective liner further comprises:
a first horizontal part (H1; annotated fig. 23(A)) between the protective insulating layer and the second lower pattern; and
a second horizontal part (H2; annotated fig. 23(A)) between the protective insulating layer and the gate electrode,
wherein an upper surface (US_H1; annotated fig. 23(B)) of the first horizontal part is closer to an upper surface of the substrate than an upper surface (US_H2; annotated fig. 23) of the second horizontal part.
Regarding claim 6, Cheng teaches the semiconductor device of claim 5, wherein
the upper surface (US_H1; annotated fig. 23(B)) of the first horizontal part is closer to the upper surface of the substrate than a lower surface (286; fig. 23) of the gate electrode.
Annotated_fig23(A)
Annotated_fig23(B)
Regarding claim 7, Cheng teaches the semiconductor device of claim 5, wherein
the first horizontal part (P1; annotated fig. 26(B) which is also part of the 272; fig. 27) overlaps the source/drain patterns (256; fig. 27) in a direction perpendicular to the upper surface of the substrate.
Regarding claim 8, Cheng teaches the semiconductor device of claim 5, wherein
the protective liner comprises:
a third horizontal part (H3; annotated fig. 23(A)) between the protective insulating layer and the first lower pattern; and
a fourth horizontal part (H4; annotated fig. 23(A)) between the protective insulating layer and the second field insulating layer,
wherein a lower surface (LS_H3; annotated fig. 23(B)) of the third horizontal part is farther from the upper surface of the substrate than a lower surface (LS_H4; annotated fig. 23(B)) of the fourth horizontal part.
Regarding claim 9, Cheng teaches the semiconductor device of claim 8, wherein
the lower surface (LS_H3; annotated fig. 23(B)) of the third horizontal part is farther from the upper surface of the substrate than an upper surface of the second field insulating layer.
Regarding claim 10, Cheng teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate (202; fig 26);
a first lower pattern (L_P; annotated fig. 26(A)) extending in a first direction (perpendicular to the substrate) on the substrate;
a second lower pattern (2080B; fig. 26) on the first lower pattern;
channel patterns (2080; fig. 26) on the second lower pattern;
a first field insulating layer (211; annotated fig. 26(A)) on a first side surface of the first lower pattern;
a second field insulating layer (214; fig. 26) on a second side surface of the first lower pattern;
a buried insulating structure (218; fig. 26) extending in the first direction on the first field insulating layer (211; annotated fig. 26(A)) and on side surfaces of the channel patterns;
source/drain patterns (256; fig. 27) on opposite sides of each of the channel patterns;
a gate electrode (286; fig. 23) extending in a second direction (parallel to the substrate) intersecting with the first direction and extending around at least some portions of the channel patterns and the buried insulating structure; and
a protective layer (262/264; fig. 23) between the first lower pattern and the second lower pattern,
and between the second field insulating layer and the gate electrode, wherein
a first thickness (T1; annotated fig. 26(B)) of the protective layer between the first lower pattern and the
second lower pattern is smaller than or equal to a second thickness (T2; annotated fig. 26(B)) of the protective layer between the second field insulating layer and the gate electrode.
Regarding claim 11, Cheng teaches the semiconductor device of claim 10, wherein
an upper surface (US_P2; annotated fig. 26(B)) of the protective layer between the second field insulating layer and the gate electrode is farther from an upper surface of the substrate than a lower surface (2080B; fig. 26) of the second lower pattern.
Regarding claim 12, Cheng teaches the semiconductor device of claim 11, wherein
a lower surface (286; fig. 23) of the gate electrode is farther from the upper surface of the substrate than an upper surface (L_P; annotated fig. 26(A)) of the first lower pattern.
Regarding claim 13, Cheng teaches. The semiconductor device of claim 11, further comprising:
gate spacers (225: 222,224; fig. 26; column 7, line 51, states 224 may be made of dielectric/oxide) on opposite sides of the gate electrode, wherein
the gate spacers and the protective layer (262/264/272; fig. 23; dielectric/oxide) include a same material.
Regarding claim 14, Cheng teaches the semiconductor device of claim 10, wherein
the protective layer includes a protective insulating layer (262/264; fig 23) in a recess between the first lower pattern and the second lower pattern and between the gate electrode
and the second field insulating layer, and
the protective insulating layer comprises:
a first part of the protective insulating layer (P1; annotated fig. 26(B)) between the second lower pattern and the first lower pattern; and
a second part of the protective insulating layer (P2; annotated fig. 26(B)) extending in the second direction (parallel to the substrate) from the first part of the protective insulating layer between the gate electrode and the second field insulating layer,
wherein a second thickness (T2; annotated fig. 26(B)) of the second part of the protective insulating layer is larger than or equal to a first thickness (T1; annotated fig. 26(B)) of the first part of the protective insulating layer.
Regarding claim 16, Cheng teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate (202; fig. 26);
a first lower pattern (L_P; annotated fig. 26(A)) on the substrate;
a second lower pattern (2080B; fig. 26) on the first lower pattern;
channel patterns (2080; fig. 26) on the second lower pattern;
a first field insulating layer (211; annotated fig. 26(A)) on a first side surface of the first lower pattern;
a second field insulating layer (214; fig 26) on a second side surface of the first lower pattern;
a buried insulating structure (218; fig. 26) on the first field insulating layer and on side
surfaces of the channel patterns;
a protective layer (262/264; fig. 23) on the second field insulating layer;
source/drain patterns (256; fig. 14 and 27) on opposite sides of each of the channel patterns; and
a gate electrode (286; fig. 23) extending around at least some portions of the channel
patterns and the buried insulating structure, wherein
the protective layer comprises:
a protective insulating layer (262/264; fig. 23) between the first lower pattern and the second lower pattern, and between the gate electrode and the second field insulating layer;
and
a protective liner (272; fig. 23) extending around the protective insulating layer, and
wherein a first distance (D1; annotated fig. 26(C)) between the second lower pattern and the first lower pattern is smaller than or equal to a second distance (D2; annotated fig. 26(C)) between the gate electrode and the second field insulating layer.
Annotated_fig26(C)
Regarding claim 17, Cheng teaches the semiconductor device of claim 16, wherein
the protective insulating layer comprises:
a first part (P1; annotated fig. 26(B)) between the first lower pattern and the second lower pattern; and
a second part (P2; annotated fig. 26(B)) between the second field insulating layer and the gate electrode,
wherein a first thickness (T1; annotated fig. 26(B)) of the first part of the protective insulating layer is smaller than or equal to a second thickness (T2; annotated fig. 26(B)) of the second part of the protective insulating layer.
Regarding claim 18, Cheng teaches the semiconductor device of claim 17, wherein
a lower surface (LS_P1; annotated fig. 26(B)) of the first part of the protective insulating layer is farther from an upper surface of the substrate than a lower surface (LS_P2; annotated fig. 26(B)) of the second part of the protective insulating layer, or the lower surface of the first part of the protective insulating layer is at a same distance from the upper surface of the substrate as the lower surface of the second part of the protective insulating layer.
Regarding claim 19, Cheng teaches the semiconductor device of claim 16, further comprising:
an insulating pattern (216; fig. 26) between the buried insulating structure (218; fig. 26) and the first field insulating layer (211; annotated fig. 26(A)),
wherein the insulating pattern is on a side surface of the protective layer.
Regarding claim 20, Cheng teaches the semiconductor device of claim 19, wherein
the buried insulating structure (218; fig. 26) is on a side surface of the second lower pattern (2080B; fig. 26).
Although the drawings are not to scale, they may be relied upon for what reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art when interpreted in view of the specification. (MPEP 2125(II), in re Wright, 569 F.2d 1124, 1127-28, 193 USPQ 332, 335-36 (CCPA 1977)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US Patent 11,527,534 B2).
Regarding claim 15 Cheng teaches the semiconductor device of claim 14, wherein
the protective layer further includes a protective liner (272; annotated fig. 23) on a lower surface, side surfaces, and an upper surface of the protective insulating layer.
Cheng does not explicitly teach the protective liner includes silicon nitride, and the protective insulating layer includes silicon oxycarbonitride.
However, Cheng teaches that the protective liner (272) and the protective insulating layer (264) are in general high dielectric constant (high-K) layers (col 12, line 40 and, col 11, line 45).
Materials which are generally substituted for the same purpose in the art of semiconductor devices are subject to routine experimentation and optimization to achieve the desired device characterization during fabrication.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cheng by substituting the high-k dielectric materials of silicon nitride as the protective liner and silicon oxycarbonnitride as the protective insulating layer for the high-k materials taught by Cheng, with the motivation that silicon nitride and silicon oxycarbonnitride are also high-k dielectric materials and would be expected to achieve similar device characteristics in Cheng device. Additionally, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/R. B. C./Examiner, Art Unit 2811
/LYNNE A GURLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2811