Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hildenbrand (US 2022/0171644) hereafter Hildenbrand.
1. Hildenbrand discloses a method comprising:
allocating, by a virtual machine monitor executing at a host computing system, an amount of memory for a guest virtual machine, the amount of memory being less than a maximum amount of memory the guest virtual machine is configured to utilize, wherein the host computing system provides an execution environment for the guest virtual machine (fig 5A and corresponding text; fig. 1 and corresponding text); and
after starting a boot process of the guest virtual machine:
responsive to an attempt to access a memory location of the guest virtual machine that is unallocated, receiving, by the virtual machine monitor, a memory access error that includes an indication of the memory location that was attempted to be accessed (fig 5A, 514, 516 and corresponding text);
responsive to receiving the memory access error, allocating, by the virtual machine monitor, additional memory for the guest virtual machine, wherein the additional memory includes the memory location (fig 5A, 518->532 and corresponding text); and
accessing, by the virtual machine monitor, the memory location (fig 5A, 534->536 and corresponding text).
2. Hildenbrand discloses the method of claim 1, wherein accessing the memory location completes an instruction being executed by the guest virtual machine that triggered the memory access error (para 71).
3. Hildenbrand discloses the method of claim 1, wherein allocating the additional memory for the guest virtual machine comprises causing, by the virtual machine monitor, the host computing system to allocate the additional memory by at least adjusting an amount of memory allocated to a virtual balloon (para 66-68; see also para 3, 14).
4. Hildenbrand discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the virtual machine monitor determines whether the amount of available memory of the host computing system satisfies a threshold amount of available memory before any adjustment of the amount of memory allocated to the virtual balloon (para 33-35; figs 5A and 5B and corresponding text).
5. Hildenbrand discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: monitoring, by the virtual machine monitor, memory pressure of the guest virtual machine, and selectively adjusting, based on the memory pressure, the amount of memory allocated to the guest virtual machine (figs 5A and 5B and corresponding text).
6. Hildenbrand discloses the method of claim 5, wherein selectively adjusting the amount of memory allocated to the guest virtual machine comprises: responsive to determining, based on the memory pressure, that the guest virtual machine is to be allocated additional memory, reducing, by the virtual machine monitor, the amount of memory allocated to a virtual balloon, wherein the amount of memory allocated by a host computing system to the guest virtual machine is inversely proportional to the amount of memory allocated to the virtual balloon (figs 5A and 5B and corresponding text).
7. Hildenbrand discloses the method of claim 6, wherein selectively adjusting the amount of memory allocated to the guest virtual machine comprises: responsive to determining, based on the memory pressure, that the amount of memory allocated to the guest virtual machine can be reduced, increasing, by the virtual machine monitor, the amount of memory allocated to the virtual balloon, wherein the amount of memory allocated by a host computing system to the guest virtual machine is inversely proportional to the amount of memory allocated to the virtual balloon (figs 5A and 5B and corresponding text).
8. Hildenbrand discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising: responsive to the virtual machine monitor adjusting the amount of memory allocated to the virtual balloon, receiving, an updated memory pressure, and selectively adjusting, based on the updated memory pressure, the amount of memory allocated to the guest virtual machine (figs 5A and 5B and corresponding text).
Claims 10-17, 19 are similar in scope to claims 1-8 and are rejected under similar rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 18, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JAMES R TURCHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439