DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN111657555, with English machine translation) in view of Liu (US 20130319438).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses an atomization device , comprising:
a housing assembly (see main shell 280 in Fig. 1) comprising a first housing portion and an incentive assembly at least partially located in the first housing portion (see atomization core assembly 270 at base of housing in Fig. 8), the first housing portion defining an installation cavity (see space 221 in Fig. 1);
a liquid storage cartridge assembly detachably assembled in the installation cavity (see liquid storage chamber 100), the liquid storage cartridge assembly comprising a liquid storage cartridge shell (see outer wall in Fig. 3), and an end cover (see upper end portion having holes 111 that covers the liquid storage cavity); the incentive assembly being configured to heat or vibrate the liquid storage cartridge assembly so as to atomize a substance adsorbed in the liquid storage cotton into a gaseous state (see heating element 271 which atomizes the liquid from the liquid storage chamber; see Fig. 9 which illustrates the liquid pathway); and
a sealing element, the liquid storage cartridge assembly and/or the incentive assembly being hermetically installed in the housing assembly through the sealing element (see sealing ring 150 which forms a seal with the housing when installed; the liquid storage cartridge extends through the sealing ring as see in Fig. 9).
Chen does not disclose a liquid storage cotton detachably installed in the liquid storage cartridge shell wherein the end cover cooperates with the liquid storage cartridge shell to limit a position of the liquid storage cotton. Examiner notes that it is well-known and conventional to install a liquid storage cotton within the liquid storage container. For example, Liu, similarly directed towards an atomization device, teaches providing cotton within the liquid reservoir so that the liquid can be slowing infiltrated into the atomizing device ([0052]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have configured the liquid storage chamber of Chen with a cotton since Liu discloses providing cotton in a liquid reservoir to slow the infiltration of liquid to the heating element ([0052]). As to the end cover cooperating to limit a position of the cotton, the end cover in Chen forms a wall of the liquid storage chamber and thus would obviously limit a position of a cotton contained therein.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of copending Application No. 18505065 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 5 of Application '065 recites an atomization device comprising a housing assembly, incentive assembly, installation cavity, liquid storage cartridge assembly, and sealing element (first sealing member) matching the structure of claim 1 of the instant application (see claims 4 and 5; Examiner notes claim 5 depends on claims 1 and 4).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record is represented by Chen (CN 111657555), Mironov (US 20160345629), Force (US 20170280773), Tasselli (US 20210145053), Twite (US 20210153567), Zominy (US 20230232899), and Rickets (US 12115306). The prior art discloses atomization devices having a housing assembly, incentive assembly, liquid storage cartridge and sealing element. Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record fails to further teach or suggest the liquid storage cartridge shell comprises a first body portion, a protruding portion protruding beyond one side of the first body portion, and an installation opening opposite to the protruding portion; the first body portion defines a first receiving cavity communicating with the installation opening; the protruding portion defines a second receiving cavity communicating with the first receiving cavity, and a gas outlet communicating with the second receiving cavity; the liquid storage cotton is accommodated in the first receiving cavity and the second receiving cavity from the installation opening; the liquid storage cotton is exposed to the gas outlet; the end cover is hermetically fixed to the liquid storage cartridge shell so as to close the installation opening. Claims 3-12 depend from claim 2.
Conclusion
/ROBERT C DYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619