DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Step 1: The claims are directed to a method and non-transitory computer readable medium which falls within one of the statutory categories of invention. Step 2A, Prong One: Independent claim(s) 1 & 7, recite(s) receiving, generating and providing, computing device and client device and independent claim 14 recite receiving, generating, monitoring and determining, processor, client device and sensor. The claims and background of the application do not put any limits on the plain meanings of receiving, generating and providing, computing device and client device. Independent claims 1, 7 & 14 recites processor, client device, computing device and sensor and is recited at a high level of generality, i.e. as a generic elements performing generic functions. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the steps is that those steps fall with the mental process grouping of abstract ideas because they cover concepts performed in the human mind, selection by a human and/or can be presented using a piece of paper, including receiving, generating, monitoring, providing and determining. Step 2A, Prong Two: The claims recite a processor, client device, computing device and sensor. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because these limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on the claims. Again, the processor, client device, computing device and sensor perform their generic functions and is recited at a high level of generality. With these limitations, the processor, client device, computing device and sensor are used as tools to perform the generic function of processing and collecting data. Therefore, in these limitations the processor, client device, computing device and sensor are used to perform an abstract idea, as discussed above in Step, 2A, Prong One, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic processor, client device, computing device and sensor. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practice application, and the claim is directed to the judicial exception. Step 2B: As explained in the Step 2A, Prong Two, these are two additional elements. The additional elements of a processor, client device, computing device and sensor in the limitations are at best mere instructions to “apply” the abstract ideas, which cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional elements were both found to be insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A, Prong Two, because they were determined to be insignificant limitations as necessary data processing or storing. As discussed in Step 2A, Prong Two above, the recitations of processor, client device, computing device and sensor are recited at a high level of generality. These elements amount to processing information and storing information and are well-understood, routine and conventional activity. Therefore, even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception with a processor, client device, computing device and sensor and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. So, these claims are in eligible.
Further, the claims are ineligible because the claims do not state the alternative. These claims state that if something was satisfied but does not state what happens or if it is not satisfied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lyke et al. (U.S. Publication Number 20210093919).
Referring to claim 1, Lyke et al. discloses comprising, by a computing device that is
communicatively coupled to a client device (Figs. 2B & 3): receiving at least one workout parameter associated with a workout routine (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016); generating a workout object based on the workout routine, wherein the workout object is compatible with a fitness application installed on the client device (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016); providing the workout object to the fitness application to cause the fitness application to generate a workout profile that is based on the workout object and that is associated with at least one condition (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016); receiving, from the fitness application, progress information associated with the workout profile (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016); and generating at least one workout record associated with the workout object to reflect that the at least one condition is satisfied (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016).
Referring to claim 2, Lyke et al. discloses further comprising: causing at least one user interface to reflect that the at least one condition is satisfied (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016).
Referring to claim 3, Lyke et al. discloses wherein the at least one workout parameter comprises workout parameters for two separate and distinct types of workouts (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016).
Referring to claim 4, Lyke et al. discloses further comprising, prior to receiving the at least one workout parameter: providing at least one user interface that enables the at least one workout parameter to be received (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016).
Referring to claim 5, Lyke et al. discloses wherein generating the workout object based on the workout providing the at least one workout parameter to an Application Programming Interface (API) that is accessible to the computing device (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016); and receiving the workout object from the API (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016).
Referring to claim 6, Lyke et al. discloses wherein the computing device comprises: a complementary device with which the client device is communicably paired, or a server device with which the client device is communicably paired, wherein the server device receives the workout object from a management device (Figs. 2B & 3).
Referring to claim 7, Lyke et al. discloses comprising, by a fitness application executing on a client device: receiving a workout object from an entity that is external to the fitness application (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016); generating, within the fitness application, a workout profile that is based on the workout object, wherein the workout profile is associated with at least one condition (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016); monitoring information gathered from at least one sensor that is communicatively coupled to the client device (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016); and in response to determining, based on the information, that the at least one condition is satisfied: causing at least one user interface to reflect that the at least one condition is satisfied (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016).
Referring to claim 8, Lyke et al. discloses wherein the fitness application is a native application of an operating system (OS) executing on the client device (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016).
Referring to claim 9, Lyke et al. discloses wherein: the information comprises a current date/time (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016); the at least one condition is satisfied when the current date/time matches and/or exceeds a scheduled date/time associated with the workout profile (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016); and causing the at least one user interface to reflect that the at least one condition is satisfied comprises displaying a prompt to activate the workout profile (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016).
Referring to claim 10, Lyke et al. discloses wherein: the information comprises at least one workout metric; the at least one condition is satisfied when the at least one workout metric satisfies at least one workout parameter associated with the workout profile (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016); and causing the at least one user interface to reflect that the at least one condition is satisfied comprises displaying at least one notification that the at least one workout parameter is satisfied (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016).
Referring to claim 11, Lyke et al. discloses wherein the method further comprises: providing, to the entity, progress information associated with the workout profile (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016).
Referring to claim 12, Lyke et al. discloses wherein the progress information causes the entity to update at least one workout record associated with the workout object to reflect the progress information (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016).
Referring to claim 13, Lyke et al. discloses wherein the entity comprises: a complementary device with which the client device is communicably paired or
a server device with which the client device is communicably paired, wherein the server device receives the workout object from a management device (Figs. 2B & 3).
Referring to claim 14, Lyke et al. discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium configured to store instructions that, when executed by at least one processor included in a client device, cause the client device to execute a fitness application that derives workout profiles from workout objects (Figs. 2B & 3), by carrying out steps that include: receiving a workout object from an entity that is external to the fitness application (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016); generating, within the fitness application, a workout profile that is based on the workout object, wherein the workout profile is associated with at least one condition (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016); monitoring information gathered from at least one sensor that is communicatively coupled to the client device (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016)e; and in response to determining, based on the information, that the at least one condition is satisfied: causing at least one user interface to reflect that the at least one condition is satisfied (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016).
Referring to claim 15, Lyke et al. discloses wherein the fitness application is a native application of an operating system (OS) executing on the client device (Figs. 2B & 3 and paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016).
Referring to claim 16, Lyke et al. discloses wherein: the information comprises a current date/time (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016); the at least one condition is satisfied when the current date/time matches and/or exceeds a scheduled date/time associated with the workout profile (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016); and causing the at least one user interface to reflect that the at least one condition is satisfied comprises displaying a prompt to activate the workout profile (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016).
Referring to claim 17, Lyke et al. discloses wherein: the information comprises at least one workout metric (Figs. 2B & 3); the at least one condition is satisfied when the at least one workout metric satisfies at least one workout parameter associated with the workout profile (Figs. 2B & 3); and causing the at least one user interface to reflect that the at least one condition is satisfied comprises displaying at least one notification that the at least one workout parameter is satisfied (Figs. 2B & 3).
Referring to claim 18, Lyke et al. discloses wherein the steps further include: providing, to the entity, progress information associated with the workout profile (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016).
Referring to claim 19, Lyke et al. discloses wherein progress information causes the entity to update at least one workout record associated with the workout object to reflect the progress information (paragraphs 0010, 0006, 0105, 0106, 0110 & 0016).
Referring to claim 20, Lyke et al. discloses wherein the entity comprises a complementary device with which the client device is communicably paired or a server device with which the client device is communicably paired, wherein the server device receives the workout object from a management device (Figs. 2B & 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see amended claims, filed 9/30/2025, with respect to 35 USC 112, second paragraph have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claims 1-20 have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KESHA FRISBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715