DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-7 and 9-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended independent claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection in which the Examiner has cited newly presented prior art, Nakamura (US Pub. No. 2011/0019231 A1 hereinafter “Nakamura”), as necessitated by the amended independent claims disclosing wherein the process of converting the input information into the transmission packet comprises: by the main control device, interpreting parameters of the input information and mapping the parameters of the input information into a data format conforming to the transmission protocol to generate the transmission packet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-7, 10-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US Pub. No. 2011/0185009 A1 hereinafter “Chang” – IDS Submission) in view of Jiangsu Micron Electronic Tech (CN 110851379 hereinafter “Jiangsu” - IDS Submission), further in view of Suzhou Inspur Intelligent Tech (CN 114780462 hereinafter “Suzhou” - IDS Submission), and further in view of Nakamura (US Pub. No. 2011/0019231 A1 hereinafter “Nakamura”).
Referring to claim 1, Chang discloses a method for switching an input device adapted to a system for switching the input device (Chang – Fig. 4 shows the method. Fig. 2C shows a system for switching the input device. Par. [0026] discloses the input device as the function device 23-2 may include a human interface device (HID) such as a keyboard, monitor or mouse.) comprising a main control device (Chang – Fig. 2C, switch device 23-1) and a slave device (Chang – Fig. 2C, first computing device 21), wherein a connection between the main control device and the slave device is established (Chang – Fig. 4 & par. [0055] disclose at step 42, the resource sharing device may be coupled with a first computing device.), wherein the method comprises:
connecting the main control device to the input device (Chang – Fig. 2C, switch device 23-1 connecting functional device 23-2) and detecting input information of the input device (Chang – Par. [0037] discloses the control signal may be initiated by the user, or generated by the first AP module 26-1 when a predetermined key or a predetermined combination of keys on the keyboard are entered.);
detecting, by the main control device, a transmission protocol between the main control device and the slave device (Chang – Par. [0040, 0043] discloses based on the set of codes, the device information may be generated in a format consistent with the protocol type of the second interface 24-2. Based on the set of codes, the device information may be generated in a format consistent with the protocol type of the first interface 24-1.);
transmitting the transmission packet from the main control device to the slave device (Chang – Par. [0041, 0044] disclose the first computing device 21 may then transmit or receive packets based on the protocol in a type, packet format or size described in the device information. The second computing device 22 may then transmit or receive packets based on the protocol in a type, packet format or size described in the device information.); and
parsing, by the slave device, the transmission packet to obtain the input information to perform an input operation according to the input information (Chang – See par. [0041, 0044]).
Chang fails to explicitly disclose determining, by the main control device, whether a control target device of the input device is the slave device; and when the control target device of the input device is the slave device, converting, by the main control device, the input information into a transmission packet conforming to the transmission protocol, wherein the process of converting the input information into the transmission packet comprises: by the main control device, interpreting parameters of the input information and mapping the parameters of the input information into a data format conforming to the transmission protocol to generate the transmission packet.
Jiangsu discloses determining, by the main control device, whether a control target device of the input device is the slave device (Jiangsu – See par. [0036] disclosing detecting whether the USB is connected to the master or slave device through the detection unit, and the control unit switches to different working modes according to the detection signal and matches the corresponding communication protocol.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Jiangsu’s teachings with Chang’s techniques for the benefit of providing a USB master-slave state switching circuit (Jiangsu – Par. [0007]).
Chang and Jiangsu fail to explicitly disclose when the control target device of the input device is the slave device, converting, by the main control device, the input information into a transmission packet conforming to the transmission protocol, wherein the process of converting the input information into the transmission packet comprises: by the main control device, interpreting parameters of the input information and mapping the parameters of the input information into a data format conforming to the transmission protocol to generate the transmission packet.
Suzhou discloses when the control target device of the input device is the slave device, converting, by the main control device, the input information into a transmission packet conforming to the transmission protocol (Suzhou – See par. [n0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Suzhou’s teachings with Chang and Jiangsu’s techniques for the benefit of providing a communication link switching control circuit, a communication link and a server whose serial bus is compatible with I3C bus and SMBUS ensuring the data transmission requirements of various devices (Suzhou – Par. [n0003).
Chang, Jiangsu and Suzhou fail to explicitly disclose wherein the process of converting the input information into the transmission packet comprises: by the main control device, interpreting parameters of the input information and mapping the parameters of the input information into a data format conforming to the transmission protocol to generate the transmission packet.
Nakamura discloses wherein the process of converting the input information into the transmission packet comprises: by the main control device, interpreting parameters of the input information and mapping the parameters of the input information into a data format conforming to the transmission protocol to generate the transmission packet (Nakamura – Par. [0064] discloses when the data to be transmitted is input from the CPU 21, the serial interfaces 2A, 2B convert the input data and produce packets conforming to the protocol defined by the relevant specification, and transmit the resulting packets through the communication lines 3A, 3B. See Fig. 6 & par. [0103-0108].).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Nakamura’s teachings with Chang, Jiangsu and Suzhou’s techniques for the benefit of connecting a host computer and recording device using an existing communication interface so that data can be transmitted at high speed between the host computer and recording device (Nakamura – Par. [0006]).
Referring to claim 2, Chang, Jiangsu, Suzhou and Nakamura disclose method for switching the input device according to claim 1, wherein connecting the main control device to the input device and detecting the input information of the input device comprises: retrieving, by the main control device, an input event of the input device by using a system event hook program, wherein the input event comprises the input information (Chang – Par. [0037] discloses the control signal may be initiated by the user, or generated by the first AP module 26-1 when a predetermined key or a predetermined combination of keys on the keyboard are entered.).
Referring to claim 3, Chang, Jiangsu, Suzhou and Nakamura disclose method for switching the input device according to claim 1, wherein connecting the main control device to the input device and detecting the input information of the input device comprises: retrieving, by the main control device, the input information of the input device through a driving program (Chang – Par. [0037] discloses the control signal may be initiated by the user, or generated by the first AP module 26-1 when a predetermined key or a predetermined combination of keys on the keyboard are entered.).
Referring to claim 4, Chang, Jiangsu, Suzhou and Nakamura disclose method for switching the input device according to claim 1, wherein when the control target device of the input device is the slave device, converting, by the main control device, the input information into the transmission packet conforming to the transmission protocol comprises: when the transmission protocol conforms to a general specification, converting, by the main control device, the input information into a data format conforming to the general specification to generate the transmission packet; and inputting, by the main control device, the transmission packet to a driving program supporting the general specification (Chang – See par. [0032, 0040-0044]).
Referring to claim 5, Chang, Jiangsu, Suzhou and Nakamura disclose method for switching the input device according to claim 4, wherein parsing, by the slave device, the transmission packet to obtain the input information to perform the input operation according to the input information comprises: obtaining, by the slave device, the transmission packet according to another driving program, and performing the input operation according to the input information conforming to the general specification in the transmission packet (Chang – See par. [0032, 0040-0044]).
Referring to claim 6, Chang, Jiangsu, Suzhou and Nakamura disclose method for switching the input device according to claim 1, wherein when the control target device of the input device is the slave device, converting, by the main control device, the input information into the transmission packet conforming to the transmission protocol comprises: converting, by the main control device, the input information conforming to a first data format into the input information conforming to a second data format to generate the transmission packet conforming to the transmission protocol (Chang – See par. [0032, 0040-0044]).
Referring to claim 7, Chang, Jiangsu, Suzhou and Nakamura disclose method for switching the input device according to claim 6, wherein parsing, by the slave device, the transmission packet to obtain the input information to perform the input operation according to the input information comprises: converting, by the slave device, the input information conforming to the second data format into the input information conforming to a third data format, and performing the input operation according to the input information conforming to the third data format (Chang – See par. [0032, 0040-0044]).
Referring to claim 10, Chang, Jiangsu, Suzhou and Nakamura disclose the method for switching the input device according to claim 1, wherein determining, by the main control device, whether the control target device of the input device is the slave device comprises: identifying, by the main control device, the control target device of the input device according to user attention information (Suzhou – See par. [0028]).
Referring to claim 11, note the rejections of claim 1 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 12, note the rejections of claim 2 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 13, note the rejections of claim 3 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 14, note the rejections of claim 4 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 15, note the rejections of claim 5 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 16, note the rejections of claim 6 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 17, note the rejections of claim 7 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 18, note the rejections of claim 8 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 20, note the rejections of claim 10 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claim 9 is allowed.
The examiner finds that the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fails to teach and/or fairly suggest “identifying, by the main control device, the slave device as the control target device according to the corresponding positional relationship between a switching input operation of the input device and the slave device comprising: identifying, by the main control device, the slave device as the control target device according to the switching input operation of the input device and the corresponding positional relationship between the slave device and another slave device, wherein the slave device is one of a plurality of first electronic devices forming a first group, and the another slave device is one of a plurality of second electronic devices forming a second group.”, in combination with other recited limitations in independent claim 9.
8. Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The examiner finds that the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fails to teach and/or fairly suggest “wherein the main control device identifies the slave device as the control target device according to the switching input operation of the input device and the corresponding positional relationship between the slave device and another slave device, wherein the slave device is one of a plurality of first electronic devices forming a first group, and the another slave device is one of a plurality of second electronic devices forming a second group.”, in combination with other recited limitations in dependent claim 19.
Conclusion
The examiner requests, in response to this office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application. When responding to this office action, applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 C.F.R.I .Ill(c).
In amending in reply to a rejection of claims in an application or patent under reexamination, the applicant or patent owner must clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. The applicant or patent owner must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
/DAYTON LEWIS-TAYLOR/Examiner, Art Unit 2181