DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 14-15, and 17-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2021/0227586 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Huang discloses:
a user equipment (fig.1 depicts a user equipment which is configured to perform wireless communications with a base station 100) for comprising:
processor circuitry (fig.2 depicts wireless devices each with a processor); and
a transceiver (fig.1 depicts a UE with reception circuitry) configured to receive:
a first signal (par.[0324] describes a first signaled threshold), a second signal (par.[0324] describes at least a second signaled threshold), and a third signal (par.[0309] describes reception of a signal to determine a current radio condition between the UE and the network), wherein the first signal comprises at least one of:
a first threshold value, a RACH-ConfigCommon information element (IE), or a RACH-ConfigCommonTwoStepRA IE (par.[0324 describes three thresholds derived from at least three signaling of the thresholds from the base station to the UE. Par.[0233] describes the UE receiving the RACH-ConfigCommon which comprises a plurality of signaling used to derive thresholds for performing one of 2 different RACH procedures with different configurations), and
wherein the second signal comprises a second threshold value (par.[0233] which recites, in part, “The IE RACH-ConfigCommon is used to specify the cell specific random-access parameters.”. Thus, the thresholds used for determining which type of RACH to perform based on data size and signal quality are derived from the parameters transmitted to the UE from the base station);
the processor circuity configured to:
generate a first data block in a first radio state based on determining the first condition set is satisfied (fig(s).5-7 and par.[0314 – 0325] which correspond at least in part to aforementioned figures wherein the UE determines the TB size, and further determines the RSRP being greater than a threshold, or rather capable of performing the type of RACH either with SDT or not), wherein the first data block comprises more than one bit, and wherein the first data size is equal to a number of bits comprised in the first data block (fig(s). 5-7 and par.[0314] which recites, in part, “A RACH-based small data transmission procedure may be initiated if the uplink data size is less than or equal to a Transport Block (TB) size indicated in the related configuration, the system information, the dedicated RRC signaling and/or the Downlink Control Information (DCI). One or more conditions mentioned above may be applied jointly.” In addition, the first TB size is the data to be transmitted, thus, the size of the TB is equal to a number of bits in the TB), and wherein the first radio state comprises an RRC_INACTIVE state (par.[0282] describes the RRC_INACTIVE state);
measure the third signal and determine a first receive quality (par.[0309] describes reception of a signal in order to determine whether or not to perform RACH procedure, see e.g. “a UE could consider radio condition as a factor to determine whether to initiate a RACH-based small data transmission. The UE may determine whether the RACH-based small data transmission is allowed to be initiated based on factors including radio condition. For example, the UE may use a threshold (of radio condition) to determine whether the radio condition is good enough to initiate a small data transmission. The UE may measure and/or derive the current radio condition and compare it with the threshold.”);
determine the second threshold value based on the second signal (par.[0233] which recites, in part, “The IE RACH-ConfigCommon is used to specify the cell specific random-access parameters.”. Thus, the thresholds used for determining which type of RACH to perform based on data size and signal quality are derived from the parameters transmitted to the UE from the base station);
determine a first threshold value based on the first signal, the first threshold value being a positive integer (par.[0235] which describes the SIB which comprises a threshold for SDT)
determine a first condition set is satisfied, the first condition set comprising a first data size is not greater than a first threshold value (fig(s). 5-7 wherein input is applied to a first threshold, wherein if the data size is less than a first threshold meaning the data may be transmitted using small data, par.[0235] which describes the size of the data block is less than a threshold) and when the first receive quality is greater than the second threshold value (fig.5 and par.[0325] which recites, in part, “According to the selected carrier, the UE may check whether the RSRP of the DL pathloss reference is above the second threshold (e.g. rsrp-Threshold-msgA) to determine which RA type (2-step or 4-step) to use. Then upon the UE entering the Random Access Resource selection procedure, the UE may check whether the SS-RSRP of any SSBs is above rsrp-ThresholdSSB (as specified in 3GPP TS 38.331) to select a SSB and/or the CSI-RSRP of any CSI-RSs is above rsrp-ThresholdCSI-RS (as specified in 3GPP TS 38.331) to select a CSI-RS to continue the remain RA procedure for small data transmission.”) and the first data size is greater than the first threshold value (fig(s). 5-7 depict the process of determining a threshold size of uplink data that needs to be transmitted as discussed in par.[0235] and the disclosure of par.[0325] which describes the receive quality being greater than a threshold); and
the transceiver configured to (fig.2 depicts a first and second wireless devices each with a transceiver):
transmit a fourth signal based on:
the first condition set being satisfied, wherein the fourth signal is a first sequence and is used for a first-type Random Access (RA) procedure, and wherein the first-type RA procedure is one of a 2-step or a 4-step RACH (fig(s).5-7 and for example fig.5 depicts reception of an input or signal, based upon the input at least a first and second threshold are determined. In a first scenario small data is transmitted, based on the evaluation of the threshold for determining small data transmission and a threshold for determining whether to perform 2-step or 4-step RACH procedure for small data transmission); and
transmit a fifth signal based on the first condition set not being satisfied (fig(s).5-7 as discussed above, wherein at least an evaluation for performing whether or not to perform Small Data Transmission, wherein when the UE evaluates the threshold the UE may select a SDT or transmit not using SDT), wherein the fifth signal is a second sequence (fig(s).5-7 wherein the UE would send a first sequence for a SDT RACH and a different sequence for non-SDT transmission. That is, the preamble for SDT are different from preambles for non-SDT transmission) and is used for a second-type RA procedure (fig(s). 5-7 wherein the UE may select a non-EDT RACH procedure), wherein the second type RA procedure is one of a 2-step RACH or a 4-step RACH (as discussed the figures depict two different types of RACH for EDT and not for EDT and comprise a 2-step or 4-step RACH procedure), wherein the first sequence differs from the second sequence (par.[0306 – 0307] which further describes that the preambles for different RACH types are different), and wherein the first-type RACH procedure is different form the second-type RA procedure (fig(s).5-7 wherein there are 2 different types of RACH procedures either 2-step or 4-step, for either EDT or non EDT).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 15, Huang discloses:
wherein the first signal comprises a MsgA, wherein the MsgA comprises the first sequence and a payload; and wherein the payload comprises one of an RRCResumeRequest1 message or an RRCResumeRequest message; and a Buffer Status Report (fig.5 depicts a 2-step RACH which comprises a MSGA transmission from the UE to the base station, and a MSGB transmission from the base station to the UE. Par.[0304] describes the RRC_RESUME procedure which comprises the RRCResumeRequest or ResumeRequest1. The Office takes Official Notice that a UE may also transmit a BSR during resume procedure for small data as well).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 17, Huang discloses:
the processor circuity is further configured to:
enable small data transmission (SDT) based on the first threshold (fig(s).5 - 7 depicts evaluating a first threshold, wherein the first threshold is used to determine whether to perform SDT based RACH or not based on the first threshold) and;
determining to switch from an RRC inactive state to an RRC connected state based on the determined first threshold value and second threshold value (fig(s). 5-7 depict a 2-step and 4-step RACH each for non-SDT which would cause the UE to enter into RRC_CONNECTED state based on a first threshold for determining to not perform SDT, and a second threshold used for determining a type of RACH or vice-versa, see diagram below).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 18, Huang discloses:
The wireless communication node according to claim 4, wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to:
when the first condition set is satisfied, initiating the first-type RA procedure (fig.5 the UE may perform RACH for EDT if the first condition is satisfied);
when the first condition set is not satisfied, initiating the second-type RA procedure (fig.5 when the first condition is not satisfied then the UE may perform RACH not for EDT when the first condition isn’t satisfied).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 19, Huang discloses: wherein the first sequence comprises a preamble sequence of the first-type RA; the second sequence comprises a preamble sequence of the second-type RA (par.[0306 – 0307] describe preamble for 2-step RACH, and preambles for 4-step RACH).
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 20, Huang discloses:
the first sequence and the second sequence are associated with different RA preamble groups (par.[0306 – 0307] as there is a distinction for each type of RACH preamble, naturally, the preambles are grouped separately).
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Applicant's arguments filed 04/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicants submission dated 04/23/2026, the applicants allege a one or more deficiencies in the disclosure of Huang et al. (US 2021/0227586 A1).
With regard to Huang, the applicants allege that Huang fails to anticipate claim 1 because Huang fails to disclose at least the claimed UE determination of a first condition set that requires both:
(1)“a first data size not greater that the first threshold value”, and (2) “the first receive quality greater than the second threshold value”, where that condition set determines whether the UE transmits a first sequence for a first-type RA procedure or, alternatively, a different second sequence for a different RA procedure.
Regarding element 1, the office notes that small data transmission cannot be performed when a data size is larger than a preconfigured or previously established data threshold or thresholds suitable for Small Data Transmission (SDT). It is known that SDT was developed in order to allow for frequent small data transmissions without having to have a UE to enter into the active state from the idle state or the inactive state, see Huang par.[0304 – 0305]. The Huang reference also describes, wherein par.[0234] describes Early Data Transmission (EDT) as it is described in 3GPP TS 36.300. The office notes that EDT is synonymous with SDT, and par.[0235] describes that in order for EDT/SDT to be performed the uplink data size in the uplink buffer is compared with a transport block (TB) size indicated in the system information. Thus, it is clear that the disclosure of Huang teaches the first element (1) “a first data size not greater than the first threshold value”, because it is necessary in order to perform SDT/EDT. The alleged deficiency of not identifying a threshold size is unfounded, and in fact is a fundamental part of determining whether EDT/SDT can be performed, thus the disclosure of Huang teaches (1).
Applicants similarly allege that the disclosure of Huang does not teach determining that a receive quality is greater than a threshold (2). The office respectfully disagrees.
The disclosure of Huang teaches that in order to accommodate different data sizes, e.g. data sizes larger than those supported by small data transmission, par.[0308], the disclosure also takes into account the radio condition in order to determine whether to initiate a RACH-based small data transmission. The UE may determine whether the RACH-based small data transmission is allowed based on factors including the radio condition, as discussed in par.[0309]. Thus, it is evident that the disclosure of Huang considers not only a threshold data size, but in addition, the radio condition. For example, the disclosure of Huang at par.[0309] recites, in part, “For example, the UE may use a threshold (of radio condition) to determine whether the radio condition is good enough to initiate a small data transmission. The UE may measure and/or derive the current radio condition and compare it with the threshold. If the radio condition is above the threshold, the UE initiates a small data transmission. If the radio condition is below the threshold, the UE may not initiate a small data transmission.”.
As can be seen, the UE considers not only the size of the uplink data, but also the radio condition in order to determine whether or not to perform the SDT/EDT. And, the office finds that the disclosure of Huang substantially discloses limitations (1) and (2), and therefore, the claims stand rejected in view of Huang.
Applicant also suggests that the disclosure of Huang does not teach a first type RA when the claimed condition set is satisfied, and a second different sequence for a second type RA when the condition set is not satisfied. The office respectfully disagrees. The disclosure teaches that based on whether or not to transmit small data a UE may select based on the threshold data size as discussed above, and the signal quality, the a 2-step RACH signal or a 4-step RACH signal. Additionally, the UE may choose not to perform RACH, and thus would/could send a 2-step or 4-step RACH not for SDT, see fig(s). 5-7, and thus, the disclosure of Huang teaches each and every limitation of the claims. With regard to the fall back the fall back is performed because the threshold data size has indicated that SDT/EDT can be performed but the radio condition may not support the EDT/SDT, however, the UE can still perform a traditional RACH with either 2-step or 4-step. The claims stand rejected in view of Huang.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Huang (US 2021/0219349 A1) “Methods, Apparatus and Systems for Performing a Random Access Procedure in a Wireless Communication”
Xing et al. (US 2022/0174752 A1) “Random Access Method, Terminal Device, and Network Device”
Chen et al. (US 2022/0095389 A1) “Data Transmission Method and Apparatus”
Huang et al. (US 2021/0307073 A1) “Method and Apparatus for Random Access Preamble Partition for Small Data Transmission in a Wireless Communication System”
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMAAL HENSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2411
/JAMAAL HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411