DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on or reply to the remarks of 1/27/2026. The instant application has claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 9-12, 14, 16, 19- 20 pending. The system, method and medium for determining similarity match between the username/ password stored and the with traffic . There a total of 16 claims.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that previous trends of username and password with study of previously studied trends of capital letters, numeral digits and symbols is absent in cited prior art.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Hepburn discloses an password store having password digest, an hash of password see Fig. 1 item 40 & Col 2 Ln 39-53. That is, an hash represents an unique number that accounts for capital letters and numerals being used. And further also discloses an authentication policy that checks the password character, length and case sensitivity see Col 4 Ln 10-16. And it also checks past histories of user and dictionary attack based password, i.e. study of previous trends including checking for capital letters and numerals. And putting all this together with Jaferian discloses the study of audit logs of user actions, i.e. user’s password, to get an previous trends of capital letters, small letters, numeral digits, and symbols being used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-7, 9-12, 14, 16-17, 19-20is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 9967236 to Ashley in view of US Patent 9514294 to Hepburn and further in view of Heuristics for Evaluating IT Security Management Tools to Jaferian.
Claim 1, 11, Ashley discloses A system for information and visited links capturetraces(Col 7 Ln 4- 41, the credential data is extracted)detecting a login request by filtering for Post methods, Content-type headers including URL-encoded forms and JSON, and the target URL of the login(Fig. 9 item 906, POST method is used); and identifying potential obfuscated login credentials using heuristics and extracting parameters, including username and password parameters, by searching for parameter names that match keywords(Fig. 9 item 910, check or blacklisted credentials & Fig. 10 & Col 6 Ln 53-Col & ln 3, the encrypted credentials in SSL); wherein when the parameter name does not match a keyword, the parameter name will be passed to a heuristic engine to determine how related the parameter is to the respective credential, which is a username or password, and decide whether the parameter is a username, password(Fig. 9 item 910, check or blacklisted credentials & Fig. 10 & Col 6 Ln 53-Col & ln 3, the encrypted credentials in SSL).
Ashley disclose the heuristics being used for analysis. However, Heburn disclose the session being analyzed using heuristics, the predetermined heuristics respectively representing different observations for patterns of characters in actual usernames and passwords (Abstract & Col 2 LN 9-53, he credentials being matched and score Col 7 Ln 19-59 & Col 7 Ln 1-11); the previously studied trends include percentages of detected use for ordered combinations of capital letter characters, small letter characters, numerical digits, and symbols(Col 4 Ln 10-16 & Fig. 1 item 40 & Col 2 Ln 39-53, the password store has hash of password that accounts to capital letters, small letters, numeral digits and symbols used and therefore the study of password history to lead to getting percentages of capital letters, small letters, numeral digits and symbols)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Ashley invention to incorporate heuristics for the advantage of detecting close matches see Heburn Col 7 Ln 30-34.
Ashley nor Hepburn disclose the analyzes results of previously studied trends regarding types from different users on the network (Page 4 § Heuristic 2, historical information about user and other uses of system for getting trends that includes archive logs which can be passwords & §Heuristic 3, the certain patterns in network traffic& Page 2 § 2.3 Domain Specific Heuristics)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Ashley invention to incorporate analyzes results of previously studied trends regarding types from different users on the network for the advantage of providing an collective information for getting trends and inferential analysis as taught in Jaferian see Page 2 § 2.3 Domain Specific Heuristics.
Claim 2, 12, The combined system/method of Ashley Hepbrun, and Jaferian , mutatis mutandis, Ashley discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the session key log file environment is SSLKEYLOGFILE and the session KLF is a Transport Layer Security (TLS) session KLF, wherein the client computer is configured to retrieve data from TLS encrypted traffic as the captured computer network traffic traces and transfer the KLF and the captured traffic traces to the remote server(Fig/ 6 item 608, Flow & Fig. 10 item 1004 & 1106)
Claim 4, 14, The combined system/method of Ashley Hepbrun, and Jaferian , mutatis mutandis, Ashley discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the performing traffic mining includes extracting pieces of information including a sequence of visited links by a specific client using a specific browser without the client being idle for more than a predetermined period of time(Col 1 LN 60- Col 3 Ln 3, log of traffic).
Claim 6, 16, The combined system/method of Ashley Hepbrun, and Jaferian , mutatis mutandis, Ashley discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the performing traffic mining includes extracting session cookies from set-cookie headers((Fig. 6 item 608, Flow & Fig. 10 item 1004 & 1106)).
Claim 7, 17, The combined system/method of Ashley Hepbrun, and Jaferian , mutatis mutandis, Ashley discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the performing traffic mining includes extracting packets with activities from Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP) requests, comments, reactions, posts creation, post modification, and post deletion(Fig. 9 item 906).
Claim 9, 19, The combined system/method of Ashley Hepbrun, and Jaferian , mutatis mutandis, Ashley discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the client computer obtains a session key based on user-level privileges(Col 4 ln 21-59, user has privileges based on policies)
Claim 10, 20, The combined system/method of Ashley Hepbrun, and Jaferian , mutatis mutandis, Ashley discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the client computer includes: an infection vector configured to handle the environment variable and close supported browsers (Fig. 6 item 608, Flow & Fig. 10 item 1004 & 1106); a scheduler configured to create a scheduled task to send the KLF and the captured network traffic traces; a transmitter configured to transmit the KLF and the captured traffic traces to the remote server(Fig. 6 item 608, Flow & Fig. 10 item 1004 & 1106)and a sniffer configured to sniff the client's network traffic(Fig. 6 item 608, Flow & Fig. 10 item 1004 & 1106)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VENKAT PERUNGAVOOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492 Email: venkatanarayan.perungavoor@uspto.gov