DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 10/14/25 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asano (US PG Pub No. 2019/0276025) in view of Byeon (US PG Pub No. 2022/0258704)
Regarding claim 1, Asano teaches A method for controlling a vehicle comprising:
detecting whether the vehicle rolls, (figure 4 paragraph 60 rollback detection see speed chart. S100 figure 5 rollback detected?)
detecting to which direction the vehicle rolls, (figure 4 paragraph 60)
detecting the gear position of the vehicle, (figure 4 paragraph 60)
comparing the gear position of the vehicle and the direction, (figure 4 paragraph 60)
determining that the vehicle rolls to an incorrect direction depending on the detected gear position and depending on the detected direction, and (figure 4 paragraph 60; S100 figure 5 paragraph 73-74)
upon determining that the vehicle rolls to an incorrect direction, bringing the vehicle to standstill (S400 figure 5 paragraph 76 FD1 and FB1 requested force to stop vehicle).
Asano does not explicitly teach however Byeon teaches
Detecting direction the vehicle rolls is forward,
detecting a gear position of the vehicle is in reverse,
bringing the vehicle to standstill upon determining that the vehicle rolls to an incorrect direction (paragraph 26; when detected that driver opposite to direction of current gear state due to driver misjudgment; driver is warned and EPB is engagement is transmitted to transmission. S203 figure 2 and S210 figure 3 paragparh 45-47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Asano based on the teachings of Byeon to teach Detecting direction the vehicle rolls is forward, detecting a gear position of the vehicle is in reverse, bringing the vehicle to standstill upon determining that the vehicle rolls to an incorrect direction. The motivation would be to reduce an accident (Byeon paragraph 26)
Regarding claim 2, Asano teaches wherein the detecting whether the vehicle rolls, comprises detecting a wheel speed of at least one wheel of the vehicle (paragraph 61 wheel speed sensor).
Regarding claim 3, Asano teaches wherein the detecting whether the vehicle rolls, comprises detecting a wheel speed of at least one wheel of the vehicle with a wheel speed sensor of the car (paragraph 61 wheel speed sensor).
Regarding claim 4, Asano teaches wherein the determining that the vehicle rolls to an incorrect direction comprises comparing the detected gear position and the detected direction, and determining that the vehicle rolls to an incorrect direction, if the detected gear position and the detected direction are different (paragraph 60 figure 4).
Regarding claim 5, Asano teaches wherein the bringing the vehicle to standstill comprises activating one or more brakes of the vehicle (S400 figure 5 paragraph 76 FB1; paragraph 68 Fb1 is referred to as system braking force; system request braking force based on speed).
Regarding claim 6, Asano teaches wherein the bringing the vehicle to standstill comprises the vehicle increasing idle torque of the vehicle's engine (S500 figure 5 paragraph 76 Fd1 request driving force paragraph 76 paragraph 67 FD1 is driving force for roll back suppression).
Regarding claim 7, Asano teaches wherein the bringing the vehicle to standstill comprises the vehicle increasing the brake torque of at least one brake of the vehicle (FB1 S400 figure 5 paragraph 76 and 77 system brake torque FB1 paragraph 68 FB1 force to prevent roll back).
Regarding claim 8, Asano teaches wherein vehicle moving to an incorrect direction means the vehicle moving to a direction different to the direction indicated by the gear position of the vehicle (figure 4 paragraph 60 and 61).
Regarding claim 9, Asano teaches wherein the method is activated only or also, when a hill-start assist HSA not active) system is not active or is deactivated in the vehicle (figure 4 paragraph 60).
Regarding claim 10 and 13, See the rejection to claim 1 as the limitations are substantially similar.
Regarding claim 11-12, see the rejection to claim 7 and 6 as the limitations are substantially similar
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GEORGE C JIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747