DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 6/10/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/10/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodama (US 2010/0009287).
Regarding claim 1, Kodama discloses a curable composition containing a polymerizable compound (par. 0023 – “polymerizable monomer”), a photopolymerization initiator (par. 0023), and a solvent (par. 0035), wherein
the polymerizable compound contains an aromatic compound (par. 0029), the curable composition has a viscosity of 8-50 mPas at 25 C (par. 0083 – falls within the claimed range), in a state which solvent is removed,
the curable composition has a viscosity of 30-10000 mPas at 26 C without a solvent (par. 0083); and
a content of the solvent is 70-95% of the total composition (par. 0114).
It has been held that where the prior art discloses a range that overlaps with or lies inside of the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have specified that the viscosity of the solvent is as claimed.
Regarding claims 2-3, Kodama discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and “the polymerizable compound contains not less than one type of a polymerizable compound” is inherent in meeting “containing a polymerizable compound” (from claim 1); and a boiling point of the compound at normal pressure (interpreted as 1 atm) is not less than 250 C. and a molecular weight is not less than 200 (par. 0116 expresses values much larger than 200, “at least 2000”).
Regarding claims 4-6, Kodama discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and “the solvent contains not less than one type of a solvent” is inherent with the presence of “a solvent” (met in claim 1), and a boiling point of the solvent is 70-200 C, or 80-180 C, or 100-160 C (par. 0111) which all at least overlap with the ranges presented in claims 4-6. It has been held that where the prior art discloses a range that overlaps with or lies inside of the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have specified that the boiling points of the solvent is as claimed.
Regarding claims 7-9, Kodama discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the polymerizable compound is a polymer having a polymerizable functional group (par. 0028-0030) which would have some examples where the parameter as defined would be between 2 and 3 (see par. 0058-0081 containing examples of the polymerizable monomer which would contain a polymerizable functional group).
Regarding claims 10-11, Kodama discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the solvent is 70-85% of the composition (par. 0111) and that the composition is an inkjet composition (par. 0125).
Conclusion
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742