DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/09/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Election/Restriction requirement
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 (claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 8/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the terms “suspension” and “slider” in line 2. It is unclear the relationship between the “suspension”, “slider” and “multiple components” previously recited in claim 1. Stated another way, it is not sure if the terms “suspension” and “slider” correspond to the term “multiple components”. For examination purposes, the terms “suspension” and “slider” (line 2) are construed as the “multiple components” (line 1).
Claim 1 recites the term “it” in line 7. It is unclear whether “it” refers to energy, solder material or something else. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear because one of the ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine the reasonable certainty which element is required to perform the recited function.
Claim 2 recites the term “the solder” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and it is unclear if “the solder” refers to the “solder joint” or “solder material” previously recited in claim 1. For examination purposes, the term “the solder” can be either the “solder joint” or solder material”.
Claim 2 recites the term “its” in line 2 and it is unclear whether “its” refers to the “additional energy’s”, the solder joint’s, solder material’s or something else.
Claim 2 recites the term “a solder joint” in line 2. It is unclear if the term “a solder joint” corresponds to the “solder joint” previously recited in claim 1. As shown in fig.6 of the current application, there is only one solder joint between the suspension 304 and the slider 304. Therefore, for examination purposes, the term “a solder joint” (claim 2) is construed as the one previously recited in claim 1.
Claims 3-11 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ainslie US 4761699 A
Regarding claim 1, Ainslie discloses
A method of interconnecting multiple components of an electrical assembly with a solder joint (see abstract), comprising the steps of:
positioning a suspension (40, see fig.4) adjacent to a slider (16, see fig.4) to provide a connection area (60, see fig.4) between the suspension (40, see fig.4) and the slider (16, see fig.4), wherein the suspension (40, see fig.4) comprises a pre-deposited quantity of solder material (80/82, see fig.5) with a height that provides for a predefined gap (see predefined gap in annotated fig.5 below) between a lower surface of the slider (lower surface of the combo 16 and 70, see fig.5) and an upper surface of the solder material (upper surface of 80, see fig.5); and
applying energy to the solder material (80) to melt the solder material (see col. 2 lines 58-60: “ The solder balls are then heated to reflow, thereby forming a mechanical connection with precise alignment between the slider and the suspension” and fig.5-7) and allow it to move toward and contact the lower surface of the slider (lower surface of the combo 16 and 70, see fig.6-7) .
Regarding claim 2, Ainslie further discloses a step of providing additional energy (energy provided to heat another ball 80, see fig.5-7) to the solder (see fig.5-7) during its contact with the lower surface of the slider (lower surface of the combo 16 and 70, see fig.6-7) to create a solder joint between the suspension and the slider (solder joint between items 40 and combo 16,70, see fig.5-7 and abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Ainslie further discloses the lower surface of the slider (lower surface of the combo 16 and 70, see fig.6-7) comprises a slider bond pad (70, see fig.6-7) such that the solder joint is formed between the suspension (40) and the slider bond pad (70, see fig.6-7 and col. 7 lines 32-35: “ the slider 16 is mechanically attached to the conductive layer 44 by the electrically conductive solder balls 80, an electrical path is provided for static discharge from the slider 16”).
Regarding claim 4, Ainslie further discloses the lower surface of the slider (lower surface of the combo 16 and 70) and an upper surface of the suspension (upper surface of 40) are generally parallel (See figs.5-7).
Regarding claim 7, Ainslie further discloses the pre-deposited quantity of solder material (80, see figs.5-7) is positioned on an upper surface of the suspension (upper surface of 40, see fig.5-7).
Regarding claim 9, Ainslie further discloses the upper surface of the suspension (40) further comprises a non-wettable portion (see annotated fig.5 below) positioned at least one of under and adjacent to the slider (under the slider 16, see fig.5).
Annotated fig.5 of Ainslie
Regarding claim 10, Ainslie further discloses a front surface (26, see fig.5) of the slider (combo 16 and 70, see fig.5) that is generally perpendicular to the lower surface of the slider (lower surface of the combo 16 and 70) comprises a slider bond pad (84, see fig.5) such that the solder joint is formed between the suspension (40) and the slider bond pad (84, see fig.5).
Regarding claim 11, Ainslie further discloses the lower surface of the slider (combo 16 and 70, see fig.5) comprises a pre- deposited quantity of slider solder material (76, see fig.5), and wherein the method further comprises a step of applying energy to the slider solder material (76) to melt the slider solder material (76) and allow it to move toward and contact the solder material (80) of the suspension (See fig.4-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ainslie in view of Stephan (US 20150170689 A1)
Regarding claim 5, Ainslie discloses the claimed limitations as set forth, except the predefined gap is provided by stand-offs at the interface between the slider and the suspension.
Stephan discloses a disk drive suspension having a slider configured for being bonded together, comprising:
the predefined gap is provided by stand-offs (28, see fig.2B-2C) at the interface between the slider (16) and the suspension (18, see fig.2A-2C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the predefined gap of Ainslie to be provided by stand-offs as taught by Stephan in order to isolate solder joints, reduce stress, and maintain proper solder thickness.
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ainslie in view of Wei US 20090127235 A1
Regarding claim 6, Ainslie discloses the claimed limitations as set forth, except the step of applying energy comprises applying laser radiation to the solder material.
Wei discloses a method for bonding with multi-beam laser, comprising:
the step of applying energy comprises applying laser radiation (62, see fig.3) to the solder material (63, see fig.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the step of applying energy of Ainslie to comprise applying laser radiation of Wei. Doing so allows to achieve the precision, low thermal load, and high-quality joints needed for reliable slider–suspension connections.
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ainslie in view of Yao US 20100214697 A1
Regarding claim 8, Ainslie discloses the claimed limitations as set forth, except the upper surface of the suspension comprises a trace material.
Yao discloses a system and method for improving the reliability performance of hard disk drives, comprising:
the upper surface of the suspension (401, see fig.4A) comprises a trace material (405, see fig.4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the upper surface of the suspension of Ainslie to comprise the trace material of Yao in order for improving the reliability performance of hard disk drives.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20200098388 A1 discloses an apparatus includes a slider which includes a slider body with a leading edge and a trailing edge and a plurality of slider bond pads disposed at the trailing edge. The slider bond pads are configured to align opposite to suspension trace bond pads on a suspension to form a solderable gap between the slider bond pads and the suspension trace bond pads.
/TIFFANY T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761