DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication received on 06/24/2025 concerning application no. 18/505,288 filed on 11/09/2023.
Claims 1-29 are pending (Claims 6-7, 9-10, 12-16, 18, 22-25, and 27-28 for consideration).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Invention I and Species 2C (Claims 1-18 and 21-29 according to Applicant) in the reply filed on 06/24/2025 is acknowledged. However, upon review, Examiner finds that claims 6-7, 9-10, 12-16, 18, 22-25, and 27-28 are not generic to the species elected. Instead, claims 6, 18, and 23-24 correspond to non-elected embodiment Species 1B since they pertain to input of a heart chamber and a rendering condition (E.g. Paragraphs 0066-0071). Instead, claims 7 and 15-16 correspond to non-elected embodiment Species 2F since they pertain to a single 3D body mark with planes indicating position of the image planes that are different vides of the heart chamber. In the case of Fig. 16, a left ventricle is shown (E.g. Paragraph 0105). Instead, claim 9 correspond to non-elected embodiment Species 2D since they pertain to display with a single 3D body mark with four individual models located in individual areas of the display (E.g. Paragraphs 0093-94). Instead, claim 10 correspond to non-elected embodiment Species 1A since they pertain to the collection and analysis time series information of heart chambers that are input to acquire and display body mark information and medical information associated to heart chambers (E.g. Paragraphs 0048-54). Instead, claims 12-14, 22, 25, and 27-28 correspond to non-elected embodiment Species 2A since they pertain to display of a 3D body mark with varying analyses and cardiac chambers (E.g. Paragraph(s) 0057-58 and 0073-74). As such, Examiner withdraws claims 6-7, 9-10, 12-16, 18, 22-25, and 27-28 as being directed towards non-elected inventions. This restriction requirement is made FINAL.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 8, 11, 17, 21, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “body mark”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art what a body mark is. One interpretation is that it is an anatomical feature. Another interpretation is that it is a landmark. A third interpretation is that it is a physical marking on the body.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “a left ventricle, a left atrium, a right ventricle, and a right atrium in a heart”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the claim is attempting to establish components of a heart or within a heart. It is commonly understood that atria and ventricles are components that make up a heart rather than being situated within the heart itself as the claim suggests.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “a second body mark that shows the positional relation of the at least two structures”. This claim element is indefinite. Preceding claim element recites “acquire a first body mark that shows a positional relation of at least two structures of a left ventricle, a left atrium, a right ventricle, and a right atrium in a heart”. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the claim is attempting to establish a duplicate body mark as the term “the position relation of the at least two structures” suggests or a different representation of the structures.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claim 3 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “a relative positional relationship”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the “relative positional relationship” (as the areas correspond to the structures) is the same as the “position relation of at least two structures” established in claim 1 or is a separate and distinct feature.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claim 4 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “body mark”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art what a body mark is. One interpretation is that it is an anatomical feature. Another interpretation is that it is a landmark. A third interpretation is that it is a physical marking on the body.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claim 5 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “body mark”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art what a body mark is. One interpretation is that it is an anatomical feature. Another interpretation is that it is a landmark. A third interpretation is that it is a physical marking on the body.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “a three-dimensional positional relationship”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the “three-dimensional positional relationship” is the same as the “position relation of at least two structures” established in claim 1 or is a separate and distinct feature.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claim 8 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “body mark”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art what a body mark is. One interpretation is that it is an anatomical feature. Another interpretation is that it is a landmark. A third interpretation is that it is a physical marking on the body.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claim 17 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “body mark”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art what a body mark is. One interpretation is that it is an anatomical feature. Another interpretation is that it is a landmark. A third interpretation is that it is a physical marking on the body.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claim 21 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “body mark”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art what a body mark is. One interpretation is that it is an anatomical feature. Another interpretation is that it is a landmark. A third interpretation is that it is a physical marking on the body.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “a left ventricle, a left atrium, a right ventricle, and a right atrium in a heart”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the claim is attempting to establish components of a heart or within a heart. It is commonly understood that atria and ventricles are components that make up a heart rather than being situated within the heart itself as the claim suggests.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “a second body mark that shows the positional relation of the at least two structures”. This claim element is indefinite. Preceding claim element recites “acquiring a first body mark that shows a positional relation of at least two structures of a left ventricle, a left atrium, a right ventricle, and a right atrium in a heart”. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the claim is attempting to establish a duplicate body mark as the term “the position relation of the at least two structures” suggests or a different representation of the structures.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claim 26 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “body mark”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art what a body mark is. One interpretation is that it is an anatomical feature. Another interpretation is that it is a landmark. A third interpretation is that it is a physical marking on the body.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claims that are not discussed above but are cited to be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are also rejected because they inherit the indefiniteness of the claims they respectively depend upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 11, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundberg (PGPUB No. US 2009/0099449).
Regarding claim 1, Lundberg teaches a medical processing apparatus, comprising:
processing circuitry (Paragraph 0007 teaches a processor) configured to
acquire a first body mark that shows a positional relation of at least two structures of a left ventricle, a left atrium, a right ventricle, and a right atrium in a heart, and a second body mark that shows the positional relation of the at least two structures (Fig. 8 shows the multiple motion scoring portions that indicate the for chambers of the heart in relation to one another),
acquire a first analysis image by analyzing image data acquired by scanning the at least two structures of a subject (Fig. 8 shows the scoring portions with its respective ultrasound images of the heart chambers and the stress information. Paragraph 0020 teaches that the stress echo examination of the heart can be according to the ultrasound imaging. Paragraph 0025 teaches that the imaging can be according to 4 chamber view of 2 chamber view),
acquire a second analysis image by analyzing the image data (Fig. 8 shows the scoring portions with its respective ultrasound images of the heart chambers and the stress information. Paragraph 0020 teaches that the stress echo examination of the heart can be according to the ultrasound imaging. Paragraph 0025 teaches that the imaging can be according to 4 chamber view of 2 chamber view),
wherein the first body mark is displayed smaller than the first analysis image and is displayed at a position closer to an end portion than a center of the first divided region, the second body mark is displayed smaller than the second analysis image and is displayed at a position closer to an end portion than a center of the second divided region (Fig. 8 shows the multiple motion scoring portions to be smaller than their respective ultrasound images of the heart chambers and the stress information. They are also shown to be situated away from the center and more towards the right end), and
wherein the first analysis image, the first body mark, the second analysis image, and the second body mark are displayed simultaneously (Fig. 8 shows the multiple motion scoring portions to be smaller than their respective ultrasound images of the heart chambers and the stress information on the same display).
The embodiment of Lundberg is silent regarding a medical processing apparatus, comprising: display the first analysis image and the first body mark separately on a first divided region which is part of a display region of a display, and
display the second analysis image and the second body mark separately on a second divided region which is part of the display region and different from the first divided region.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac ultrasound imaging, another embodiment of Lundberg teaches a medical processing apparatus, comprising: display the first analysis image and the first body mark separately on a first divided region which is part of a display region of a display (Fig. 9 shows a three-dimensional rendering with its respective images on the left and right sides each. Paragraph 0060 teaches that the live and reference image data can be shown concurrently), and
display the second analysis image and the second body mark separately on a second divided region which is part of the display region and different from the first divided region (Fig. 9 shows a three-dimensional rendering with its respective images on the left and right sides each. Paragraph 0060 teaches that the live and reference image data can be shown concurrently).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the embodiment of Lundberg with the other embodiment of Lundberg’s teaching of displaying corresponding pieces of information in their respective divided regions. This modified apparatus allows a user to acquire a correct or desired image (Paragraph 0060 of Lundberg). Furthermore, the demarcation allows for clear understanding of all the data with its respective information and reduces likelihood of confusion. This ensures the same geometric orientation of all acquired volume images over different time periods (Paragraph 0005 of Lundberg).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the images in any location on the screen in order to convey the desired information of the user. This includes the arrangement of the body mark and the analysis images in their respective divided regions such that the body mark is closer to the end than the center of the divided region and smaller than the analysis image. Furthermore, patentable novelty cannot be principally predicated on mere printed matter and arrangements thereof, but must reside basically in physical structure. In re Montgomery, 102 USPQ 248 (CCPA 1954). Such an arrangement provides ease of observation to the user and emphasis on the performed analysis.
Regarding claim 2, Lundberg teaches the medical processing apparatus of claim 1, as described above.
However, the embodiment of Lundberg is silent regarding a medical processing apparatus, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to display the first analysis image and the second analysis image of each of the at least two structures in respective individual display areas on the display.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac ultrasound imaging, another embodiment of Lundberg teaches a medical processing apparatus, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to display the first analysis image and the second analysis image of each of the at least two structures in respective individual display areas on the display (Fig. 9 shows a three-dimensional rendering with its respective images on the left and right sides each. Paragraph 0060 teaches that the live and reference image data can be shown concurrently. Fig. 9 shows the images to be in their respective sides).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the embodiment of Lundberg with the other embodiment of Lundberg’s teaching of the display of the analyses images in their respective individual displays. This modified apparatus allows a user to acquire a correct or desired image (Paragraph 0060 of Lundberg). Furthermore, the demarcation allows for clear understanding of all the data with its respective information and reduces likelihood of confusion. This ensures the same geometric orientation of all acquired volume images over different time periods (Paragraph 0005 of Lundberg).
Regarding claim 3, modified Lundberg teaches the medical processing apparatus in claim 2, as discussed above.
Lundberg further teaches a medical processing apparatus, wherein
the at least two structures include a first structure and a second structure (Fig. 8 shows the multiple motion scoring portions that indicate the for chambers of the heart in relation to one another),
the first body mark and the second body mark include a first area corresponding to the first structure and a second area corresponding to the second structure (Fig. 8 shows the multiple motion scoring portions that indicate the for chambers of the heart in relation to one another), and
a relative positional relationship between the first area and the second area in the first body mark and the second body mark displayed on the display corresponds to an arrangement of the first analysis image and the second analysis image displayed on the display (Fig. 8 shows the scoring portions with its respective ultrasound images of the heart chambers and the stress information. Paragraph 0020 teaches that the stress echo examination of the heart can be according to the ultrasound imaging. In Fig. 8, they are shown in accordance to dosage studies and baselines).
Regarding claim 4, modified Lundberg teaches the medical processing apparatus in claim 1, as discussed above.
Lundberg further teaches a medical processing apparatus, wherein
the at least two structures include a structure other than an analysis target (Paragraphs 0050-56 teaches the display of portions that include the papillary muscles and the basal segments);
the processing circuitry is further configured to acquire the first body mark and the second body mark in which a display aspect of an area corresponding to the analysis target is different from a display aspect of an area corresponding to the structure other than the analysis target (Fig. 8 shows the scoring portions with its respective ultrasound images of the heart chambers and the stress information. Paragraph 0020 teaches that the stress echo examination of the heart can be according to the ultrasound imaging. Paragraph 0025 teaches that the imaging can be according to 4 chamber view of 2 chamber view. Paragraph 0026 teaches the display of a triplane view that can be a 3D image of the heart. Paragraphs 0050-56 teaches the display of portions that include the papillary muscles and the basal segments).
Regarding claim 11, modified Lundberg teaches the medical processing apparatus in claim 1, as discussed above.
Lundberg further teaches an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus comprising the medical processing apparatus according to claim 1 (Abstract teaches ultrasound scanning. See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, modified Lundberg teaches the medical processing apparatus in claim 1, as discussed above.
Lundberg further teaches a medical processing apparatus, wherein the first body mark and the second body mark show the positional relation and shapes of the at least two structures (Fig. 8 shows the multiple motion scoring portions that indicate the for chambers of the heart in relation to one another and their structure).
Regarding claim 21, Lundberg teaches a medical processing apparatus, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program to cause a computer to perform (Paragraph 0018 teaches use of hard disk memory for control):
acquiring a first body mark that shows a positional relation of at least two structures of a left ventricle, a left atrium, a right ventricle, and a right atrium in a heart, and a second body mark that shows the positional relation of the at least two structures (Fig. 8 shows the multiple motion scoring portions that indicate the for chambers of the heart in relation to one another),
acquiring a first analysis image by analyzing image data acquired by scanning the at least two structures of a subject (Fig. 8 shows the scoring portions with its respective ultrasound images of the heart chambers and the stress information. Paragraph 0020 teaches that the stress echo examination of the heart can be according to the ultrasound imaging. Paragraph 0025 teaches that the imaging can be according to 4 chamber view of 2 chamber view),
acquiring a second analysis image by analyzing the image data (Fig. 8 shows the scoring portions with its respective ultrasound images of the heart chambers and the stress information. Paragraph 0020 teaches that the stress echo examination of the heart can be according to the ultrasound imaging. Paragraph 0025 teaches that the imaging can be according to 4 chamber view of 2 chamber view),
wherein the first body mark is displayed smaller than the first analysis image and is displayed at a position closer to an end portion than a center of the first divided region, the second body mark is displayed smaller than the second analysis image and is displayed at a position closer to an end portion than a center of the second divided region (Fig. 8 shows the multiple motion scoring portions to be smaller than their respective ultrasound images of the heart chambers and the stress information. They are also shown to be situated away from the center and more towards the right end), and
wherein the first analysis image, the first body mark, the second analysis image, and the second body mark are displayed simultaneously (Fig. 8 shows the multiple motion scoring portions to be smaller than their respective ultrasound images of the heart chambers and the stress information on the same display).
However, the embodiment of Lundberg is silent regarding a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, displaying the first analysis image and the first body mark separately on a first divided region which is part of a display region of a display, and
displaying the second analysis image and the second body mark separately on a second divided region which is part of the display region and different from the first divided region.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac ultrasound imaging, another embodiment of Lundberg teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, displaying the first analysis image and the first body mark separately on a first divided region which is part of a display region of a display (Fig. 9 shows a three-dimensional rendering with its respective images on the left and right sides each. Paragraph 0060 teaches that the live and reference image data can be shown concurrently), and
displaying the second analysis image and the second body mark separately on a second divided region which is part of the display region and different from the first divided region (Fig. 9 shows a three-dimensional rendering with its respective images on the left and right sides each. Paragraph 0060 teaches that the live and reference image data can be shown concurrently).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the embodiment of Lundberg with the other embodiment of Lundberg’s teaching of displaying corresponding pieces of information in their respective divided regions. This modified apparatus allows a user to acquire a correct or desired image (Paragraph 0060 of Lundberg). Furthermore, the demarcation allows for clear understanding of all the data with its respective information and reduces likelihood of confusion. This ensures the same geometric orientation of all acquired volume images over different time periods (Paragraph 0005 of Lundberg).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the images in any location on the screen in order to convey the desired information of the user. This includes the arrangement of the body mark and the analysis images in their respective divided regions such that the body mark is closer to the end than the center of the divided region and smaller than the analysis image. Furthermore, patentable novelty cannot be principally predicated on mere printed matter and arrangements thereof, but must reside basically in physical structure. In re Montgomery, 102 USPQ 248 (CCPA 1954). Such an arrangement provides ease of observation to the user and emphasis on the performed analysis.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundberg (PGPUB No. US 2009/0099449) in view of Steen (PGPUB No. US 2005/0283078).
Regarding claim 8, modified Lundberg teaches the medical processing apparatus in claim 1, as discussed above.
Lundberg further teaches a medical processing apparatus, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to
analyze the image data in response to a selection instruction with respect to the at least two structures in the first body mark and the second body mark displayed prior to the analyzing the image data, and generate the first analysis image and the second analysis image based on the selection instruction (Fig. 8 shows the scoring portions with its respective ultrasound images of the heart chambers and the stress information. Paragraph 0020 teaches that the stress echo examination of the heart can be according to the ultrasound imaging. Paragraph 0025 teaches that the imaging can be according to 4 chamber view of 2 chamber view. Paragraph 0026 teaches the display of a triplane view that can be a 3D image of the heart).
However, Lundberg is silent regarding a medical processing apparatus, display the first body mark and the second body mark on the display prior to analyzing the image data.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac ultrasound imaging, Steen teaches a medical processing apparatus, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to
display the first body mark and the second body mark on the display prior to analyzing the image data (Screen display is shown without image analyzed data in Fig. 3),
analyze the image data in response to a selection instruction with respect to the at least two structures in the first body mark and the second body mark displayed prior to the analyzing the image data, and generate the first analysis image and the second analysis image based on the selection instruction (Paragraph 0031 teaches that the user can select the ROI on the image and its corresponding analysis result is acquired. The analysis result corresponds to the selected ROI and will be displayed on the screen display).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lundberg with Steen’s teaching of display prior to analysis. This modified apparatus would allow the user to focus on the ROI based on their selection (Paragraph 0031 of Steen). Furthermore, the modification provides real time acquisition and display of three or more image planes of an object with optional display of quantitative data (Paragraph 0005 of Steen).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundberg (PGPUB No. US 2009/0099449) in view of Chono (PGPUB No. US 2012/0027276).
Regarding claim 5, modified Lundberg teaches the medical processing apparatus in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, Lundberg is silent regarding a medical processing apparatus, wherein the first body mark and the second body mark are three-dimensional images schematically showing a three-dimensional positional relationship of the at least two structures.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac ultrasound imaging, Chono teaches a medical processing apparatus, wherein the first body mark and the second body mark are three-dimensional images schematically showing a three-dimensional positional relationship of the at least two structures (Fig. 9 shows the 3D ultrasound image. Paragraph 0084 teaches that the display can show cardiac chambers and their relation to one another).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lundberg with Chono’s teaching of display of positional relationship according to 3D. This modified apparatus would allow the user to consider irregularities of the heard and still assess the whole heart (Paragraph 0085 of Chono). Furthermore, the modification is improving accuracy in volume calculation of an organ (Paragraph 0008 of Chono).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundberg (PGPUB No. US 2009/0099449) in view of Friedman (PGPUB No. US 2003/0045796).
Regarding claim 26, modified Lundberg teaches the medical processing apparatus in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, Lundberg is silent regarding a medical processing apparatus, wherein at least one of the first body mark and the second body mark is a still image.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding cardiac ultrasound imaging, Friedman teaches a medical processing apparatus, wherein at least one of the first body mark and the second body mark is a still image (Paragraph 0023 teaches that the cardiac information is displayed with respect to an instance of the capture time. See Fig. 3 that shows the multiple cardiac chambers in each image).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lundberg with Friedman’s teaching of a still image. This modified apparatus would allow the user to compare and assess the condition of the heart (Paragraph 0007 of Friedman). Furthermore, the modification addresses the need for early detection of changes in ventricular motion (Paragraph 0003 of Friedman).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Shekhar et al. (PGPUB No. US 2009/0161938): Teaches simultaneous display of analysis results and body marks.
Orderud et al. (PGPUB No. US 2010/0195881): Teaches simultaneous display of analysis results and body marks.
Chirvasa et al. (PGPUB No. US 2017/0065242): Teaches 3D cardiac modeling.
Rafter et al. (PGPUB No. US 2017/0065242): Teaches simultaneous display of analysis results and body marks.
Georgescu et al. (PGPUB No. US 2016/0228190): Teaches 3D cardiac modeling.
Ichioka et al. (PGPUB No. US 2008/0051652): Teaches labeling of cardiac regions.
Hill et al. (PGPUB No. US 2012/0165671): Teaches 3D cardiac modeling.
Shadforth et al. (PGPUB No. US 2019/0254531): Teaches 3D cardiac modeling.
Mori et al. (US Patent No. 10,874,374): Teaches simultaneous display of analysis results and body marks.
Sakaguchi et al. (US Patent No. 10,624,592): Teaches simultaneous display of analysis results and body marks.
Sharma et al. (US Patent No. 10,162,932): Teaches simultaneous display of analysis results and body marks.
Buckton et al. (PGPUB No. US 2017/0238904): Teaches simultaneous display of analysis results and body marks.
/ADIL PARTAP S VIRK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798