DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fehrenbach et al. (Fehrenbach), U.S. Publication No. 2020/0092685 in view of Ye et al. (Ye 360’), U.S. Publication No. 2022/0322360.
Regarding Claim 1, Fehrenbach discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a first wireless device, a configuration message (i.e., the
UE 11 may be configured to receive one or more response messages from the base station 13, wherein said response message comprises at least a portion of the configuration data, and wherein the at least a portion of the configuration data comprises at least system information with configuration details for UE-to-UE communication within the UE Group 17.; see paragraph [0155]);
determining to trigger a sidelink resource selection procedure to select a set of resources for receiving one or more sidelink transmissions from a second wireless device (i.e., the Group Manager UE 11 may assign physical resources to Group Member UEs 12A, 12B for side link communication, and/or to other foreign UEs 52 that are not yet part of the UE Group 17 and/or that want to join the UE Group 17, and/or to other Group Member UEs of other UE Groups… the UE 11 may be configured to provide a synchronization signal and/or physical broadcast channel and/or system information on a side link data channel to other Group Member UEs 12A, 12B within the UE Group 17 and/or to other (foreign) UEs 52 outside the UE Group 17 that may be interested in being connected to the UE-Group 17 that is managed by the Group Manager UE 11. See paragraphs [0161]-[0162]. Therefore, according to Fehrenbach, UE 11 assigns and provides the configuration data (physical resources, synchronization signal, system information, etc.) such as causing the UE 11 to make a determination where the physical resources, synchronization signal, system information, etc. are selected. As such, the determination of the sidelink resource selection procedure was triggered when the set of resources were selected by the UE 11 and sent to the Group Member UEs 12); and
in response to triggering the sidelink resource selection procedure:
selecting the set of resources (i.e., configuration data may comprise physical resource assignments for UE-to-UE communication between the Group Manager UE 11 and one or more of the Group Member UEs 12A, 12B of the UE-Group 17. Therefore, a selection is made according to the claim requirement; see paragraphs [0155]-[0158]. Further, paragraph [0161] teaches the Group Manager UE 11 may assign physical resources to Group Member UEs 12A, 12B for side link communication. In other words, teaching a selection of resources); and
transmitting, to the second wireless device, a first message indicating the set of resources (i.e., the Group Manager UE 11 may be configured to provide control information about the UE-to-UE communication to the other Group Member UEs 12A, 12B of the UE-Group 17. This control information may comprise at least a portion of the configuration data and/or physical resources that the Group Manager UE 11 may have received from the base station 13.; see paragraph [0188]).
Fehrenbach fails to disclose comprising a field indicating a wireless device category associated with a priority for an inter user equipment (inter-UE) coordination, for the inter-UE coordination and based on the first wireless device having the priority corresponding to a first wireless device category of the first wireless device which is the same as the wireless device category.
Ye 360’ discloses comprising a field indicating a wireless device category associated with a priority for an inter user equipment (inter-UE) coordination (in other words, inter-UE coordination message may indicate a set of resources for the UE. Upon receipt of the inter-UE coordination message, the UE's behavior may depend on a category of the coordinating UE. For example, if the coordinating UE is a helper UE, e.g., which sends the set of resources for the UE's reference, the UE may have flexibility in its resource selection procedure. As another example, if the coordinating UE is a controlling UE, the UE may be required to follow the set of resources indicated in the inter-UE coordination message; see paragraph [0127]), for the inter-UE coordination (i.e., inter-UE coordination described in paragraph [0127]) and based on the first wireless device having the priority corresponding to a first wireless device category of the first wireless device which is the same as the wireless device category (i.e., depending on a category of the first UE and/or assistance information (e.g., such as RSRP for the set of resources and/or data priority of the set of resources), not all resources from the non-preferred resources may be excluded from the set of resources. For example, the UE may determine that based on the category of the first UE. that it is not required to follow all of the first UE's suggested resource selections.; see paragraph [0130]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Ye 360’s invention with Fehrenbach’s invention for increasing battery life and decreasing latency as described throughout Ye 360’.
Regarding Claim 8, Fehrenbach discloses a first wireless device (i.e., UE 11) comprising:
one or more processors (i.e., methods performed by any of the above mentioned apparatuses and computer program for instructing a processor to perform, when executed by said processor, any of these methods; see paragraph [0785]); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the first wireless device to (i.e., aspects described in the context of a method step also represent a description of a corresponding block or item or feature of a corresponding apparatus… The implementation can be performed using… FLASH memory therefore, comprising a memory; see paragraph [0891]):
receive a configuration message;
determine to trigger a sidelink resource selection procedure to select a set of resources for receiving one or more sidelink transmissions from a second wireless device (i.e., the Group Manager UE 11 may assign physical resources to Group Member UEs 12A, 12B for side link communication, and/or to other foreign UEs 52 that are not yet part of the UE Group 17 and/or that want to join the UE Group 17, and/or to other Group Member UEs of other UE Groups… the UE 11 may be configured to provide a synchronization signal and/or physical broadcast channel and/or system information on a side link data channel to other Group Member UEs 12A, 12B within the UE Group 17 and/or to other (foreign) UEs 52 outside the UE Group 17 that may be interested in being connected to the UE-Group 17 that is managed by the Group Manager UE 11. Therefore, according to Fehrenbach, UE 11 assigns and provides the configuration data (physical resources, synchronization signal, system information, etc.) such as causing the UE 11 to make a determination where the physical resources, synchronization signal, system information, etc. are selected. As such, the determination of the sidelink resource selection procedure was triggered where the set of resources were selected by the UE 11 and sent to the Group Member UEs 12); and
in response to triggering the sidelink resource selection procedure:
select the set of resources (i.e., configuration data may comprise physical resource assignments for UE-to-UE communication between the Group Manager UE 11 and one or more of the Group Member UEs 12A, 12B of the UE-Group 17. Therefore, a selection is made according to the claim requirement; see paragraphs [0155]-[0158]. Further, paragraph [0161] teaches the Group Manager UE 11 may assign physical resources to Group Member UEs 12A, 12B for side link communication. In other words, teaching a selection of resources); and
transmit, to the second wireless device, a first message indicating the set of resources (i.e., the Group Manager UE 11 may be configured to provide control information about the UE-to-UE communication to the other Group Member UEs 12A, 12B of the UE-Group 17. This control information may comprise at least a portion of the configuration data and/or physical resources that the Group Manager UE 11 may have received from the base station 13.; see paragraph [0188]).
Fehrenbach fails to disclose comprising a field indicating a wireless device category associated with a priority for an inter user equipment (inter-UE) coordination; for the inter-UE coordination and based on the first wireless device having the priority corresponding to a first wireless device category of the first wireless device which is the same as the wireless device category.
Ye 360’ discloses comprising a field indicating a wireless device category associated with a priority for an inter user equipment (inter-UE) coordination (in other words, inter-UE coordination message may indicate a set of resources for the UE. Upon receipt of the inter-UE coordination message, the UE's behavior may depend on a category of the coordinating UE. For example, if the coordinating UE is a helper UE, e.g., which sends the set of resources for the UE's reference, the UE may have flexibility in its resource selection procedure. As another example, if the coordinating UE is a controlling UE, the UE may be required to follow the set of resources indicated in the inter-UE coordination message; see paragraph [0127]), for the inter-UE coordination (i.e., inter-UE coordination described in paragraph [0127]) and based on the first wireless device having the priority corresponding to a first wireless device category of the first wireless device which is the same as the wireless device category (i.e., depending on a category of the first UE and/or assistance information (e.g., such as RSRP for the set of resources and/or data priority of the set of resources), not all resources from the non-preferred resources may be excluded from the set of resources. For example, the UE may determine that based on the category of the first UE. that it is not required to follow all of the first UE's suggested resource selections.; see paragraph [0130]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Ye 360’s invention with Fehrenbach’s invention for increasing battery life and decreasing latency as described throughout Ye 360’.
Regarding Claim 15, Fehrenbach discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a first wireless device (i.e., a further embodiment of the inventive methods is, therefore, a data carrier (or a digital storage medium, or a computer-readable medium) comprising, recorded thereon, the computer program for performing one of the methods described herein.; see paragraph [0896]), cause the first wireless device to:
receive a configuration message;
determine to trigger a sidelink resource selection procedure to select a set of resources for receiving one or more sidelink transmissions from a second wireless device (i.e., the Group Manager UE 11 may assign physical resources to Group Member UEs 12A, 12B for side link communication, and/or to other foreign UEs 52 that are not yet part of the UE Group 17 and/or that want to join the UE Group 17, and/or to other Group Member UEs of other UE Groups… the UE 11 may be configured to provide a synchronization signal and/or physical broadcast channel and/or system information on a side link data channel to other Group Member UEs 12A, 12B within the UE Group 17 and/or to other (foreign) UEs 52 outside the UE Group 17 that may be interested in being connected to the UE-Group 17 that is managed by the Group Manager UE 11. Therefore, according to Fehrenbach, UE 11 assigns and provides the configuration data (physical resources, synchronization signal, system information, etc.) such as causing the UE 11 to make a determination where the physical resources, synchronization signal, system information, etc. are selected. As such, the determination of the sidelink resource selection procedure was triggered where the set of resources were selected by the UE 11 and sent to the Group Member UEs 12); and
in response to triggering the sidelink resource selection procedure:
select the set of resources (i.e., configuration data may comprise physical resource assignments for UE-to-UE communication between the Group Manager UE 11 and one or more of the Group Member UEs 12A, 12B of the UE-Group 17. Therefore, a selection is made according to the claim requirement; see paragraphs [0155]-[0158]. Further, paragraph [0161] teaches the Group Manager UE 11 may assign physical resources to Group Member UEs 12A, 12B for side link communication. In other words, teaching a selection of resources); and
transmit, to the second wireless device, a first message indicating the set of resources (i.e., the Group Manager UE 11 may be configured to provide control information about the UE-to-UE communication to the other Group Member UEs 12A, 12B of the UE-Group 17. This control information may comprise at least a portion of the configuration data and/or physical resources that the Group Manager UE 11 may have received from the base station 13.; see paragraph [0188]).
Fehrenbach fails to disclose comprising a field indicating a wireless device category associated with a priority for an inter user equipment (inter-UE) coordination; for the inter-UE coordination and based on the first wireless device having the priority corresponding to a first wireless device category of the first wireless device which is the same as the wireless device category.
Ye 360’ discloses comprising a field indicating a wireless device category associated with a priority for an inter user equipment (inter-UE) coordination (in other words, inter-UE coordination message may indicate a set of resources for the UE. Upon receipt of the inter-UE coordination message, the UE's behavior may depend on a category of the coordinating UE. For example, if the coordinating UE is a helper UE, e.g., which sends the set of resources for the UE's reference, the UE may have flexibility in its resource selection procedure. As another example, if the coordinating UE is a controlling UE, the UE may be required to follow the set of resources indicated in the inter-UE coordination message; see paragraph [0127]), for the inter-UE coordination (i.e., inter-UE coordination described in paragraph [0127]) and based on the first wireless device having the priority corresponding to a first wireless device category of the first wireless device which is the same as the wireless device category (i.e., depending on a category of the first UE and/or assistance information (e.g., such as RSRP for the set of resources and/or data priority of the set of resources), not all resources from the non-preferred resources may be excluded from the set of resources. For example, the UE may determine that based on the category of the first UE. that it is not required to follow all of the first UE's suggested resource selections.; see paragraph [0130]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Ye 360’s invention with Fehrenbach’s invention for increasing battery life and decreasing latency as described throughout Ye 360’.
Regarding Claims 2, 9 and 16, Fehrenbach and Ye 360’ disclose the method, first wireless device and non-transitory computer-readable medium as described above. Fehrenbach fails to disclose further comprising receiving a second message indicating a mapping between one or more wireless device categories and one or more priorities to trigger the sidelink resource selection procedure for the inter-UE coordination. Ye 360’ discloses further comprising receiving a second message indicating a mapping between one or more wireless device categories and one or more priorities to trigger the sidelink resource selection procedure for the inter-UE coordination (see paragraph [0130]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Ye 360’s invention with Fehrenbach’s invention for increasing battery life and decreasing latency as described throughout Ye 360’.
Regarding Claims 3, 10 and 17, Fehrenbach and Ye 360’ disclose the method,
first wireless device and non-transitory computer-readable medium as described above. Fehrenbach fails to disclose wherein the determining to trigger the sidelink resource selection procedure further comprises determining to trigger the sidelink resource selection procedure based on the mapping. Ye 360’ discloses wherein the determining to trigger the sidelink resource selection procedure further comprises determining to trigger the sidelink resource selection procedure based on the mapping (see paragraph [0130]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Ye 360’s invention with Fehrenbach’s invention for increasing battery life and decreasing latency as described throughout Ye 360’.
Regarding Claims 4, 11 and 18, Fehrenbach and Ye 360’ disclose the method,
first wireless device and non-transitory computer-readable medium as described above. Fehrenbach fails to disclose wherein the wireless device category is one of: being an intended receiver of the one or more sidelink transmissions; being a road side unit (RSU): being a head of a group of wireless devices comprising the first wireless device and the second wireless device; or being a wireless device that is neither the intended receiver nor the head of the group of wireless devices. Ye 360’ discloses wherein the wireless device category is one of: being an intended receiver of the one or more sidelink transmissions; being a road side unit (RSU): being a head of a group of wireless devices comprising the first wireless device and the second wireless device; or being a wireless device that is neither the intended receiver nor the head of the group of wireless devices (see paragraph [0127]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Ye 360’s invention with Fehrenbach’s invention for increasing battery life and decreasing latency as described throughout Ye 360’.
Regarding Claims 5, 12 and 19, Fehrenbach and Ye 360’ disclose the method,
first wireless device and non-transitory computer-readable medium as described above. Fehrenbach fails to disclose wherein the one or more priorities comprise: a first priority corresponding to being an intended receiver of the one or more sidelink transmissions; a second priority corresponding to being a road sidelink unit (RSU); a third priority corresponding to being a head of a group of wireless devices comprising the first wireless device and the second wireless device; and a fourth priority corresponding to being a wireless device that is neither the intended receiver nor the head of the group of wireless devices. Ye 360’ discloses wherein the one or more priorities comprise: a first priority corresponding to being an intended receiver of the one or more sidelink transmissions; a second priority corresponding to being a road sidelink unit (RSU); a third priority corresponding to being a head of a group of wireless devices comprising the first wireless device and the second wireless device; and a fourth priority corresponding to being a wireless device that is neither the intended receiver nor the head of the group of wireless devices (see paragraph [0127]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Ye 360’s invention with Fehrenbach’s invention for increasing battery life and decreasing latency as described throughout Ye 360’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7, 13-14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fehrenbach and Ye 360’ in view of Ye et al. (Ye 582’), U.S. Publication No. 2022/0311582.
Regarding Claims 6 and 13, Fehrenbach and Ye 360’ disclose the method and
first wireless device as described above. Fehrenbach and Ye 360’ fail to disclose further comprising: determining the fourth priority based on a distance between the first wireless device and the intended receiver of the one or more sidelink transmissions, wherein: the distance is determined based on a first zone identifier (ID) of a first zone of the first wireless device and a second zone ID of a second zone of the intended receiver: the first wireless device is in the first zone; and the intended receiver is in the second zone. Ye 582’ discloses further comprising: determining the fourth priority based on a distance between the first wireless device and the intended receiver of the one or more sidelink transmissions (i.e., priority as high or low based on a threshold and communication range requirement; see paragraph [0111]), wherein: the distance is determined based on a first zone identifier (ID) of a first zone of the first wireless device and a second zone ID of a second zone of the intended receiver: the first wireless device is in the first zone; and the intended receiver is in the second zone (see paragraphs [0117] and [0123]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Ye 582’s invention with Fehrenbach’s and Ye 360’s invention to avoid collision and improving coverage as described throughout Ye 582.
Regarding Claims 7, 14 and 20, Fehrenbach and Ye 360’ disclose the method,
first wireless device and non-transitory computer-readable medium as described above. Fehrenbach and Ye 360’ fail to disclose further comprising: determining the third priority based on a distance between the first wireless device and the second wireless device, wherein: the distance is determined based on a first zone identifier (ID) of a first zone of the first wireless device and a second zone ID of a second zone of the second wireless device; the first wireless device is in the first zone; and the second wireless device is in the second zone. Ye 582’ discloses further comprising: determining the third priority based on a distance between the first wireless device and the second wireless device (i.e., priority as high or low based on a threshold and communication range requirement; see paragraph [0111]), wherein: the distance is determined based on a first zone identifier (ID) of a first zone of the first wireless device and a second zone ID of a second zone of the second wireless device; the first wireless device is in the first zone; and the second wireless device is in the second zone (see paragraphs [0117] and [0123]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Ye 582’s invention with Fehrenbach’s and Ye 360’s invention to avoid collision and improving coverage as described throughout Ye 582.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHANTELL L HEIBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645
May 4, 2026