Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
An information disclosure statement has not been received. If the applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Claim Objection
Claims 1-10 contain number indices that affect readability of the claims. Examiner recommends the indices are removed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 6-7 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “a magnetic field conductor (56) is provided on a side of the coil arrangement (46) formed by the at least one excitation coil (20, 20a, 20i) and the measuring coil arrangement (26) to be turned away from the test object (14)” which is unclear as to the orientation of the magnetic field conductor (56). It seems the magnetic field conductor is on the surface of the coils opposite the surface facing the test object.
Claim 10 is unclear as it does not seem to further limit Claim 9. It seems text may be missing from the claim as it abruptly ends in an incomplete sentence.
All dependent claims are rejected for their dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7 & 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winterhoff (US 4414856: “Winterhoff”) in view of Mita (US 2008203166: “Mita”).
Claim 1. Winterhoff discloses a sensor head (Figs. 1 & 2: 1) for a load measuring device (Fig. 2) for measuring a load in a test object (Fig. 1 : 2) based on load-dependent magnetic properties of the test object (2) [Col. 2 Lines 55-62: Turning to the drawings in particular, the invention embodied therein, in FIG. 1 is a method and apparatus for measuring the static and/or dynamic torque on a test piece, for example a shaft 2, utilizing one or more probe heads which sense variations in magnetic permeability of the test piece], the sensor head (1) comprising: a magnetic field generating unit (4) for generating a magnetic field in the test object (2) [Col3 lines 1-5: Inside core portion 4 is provided with an excitation winding 9 which is supplied from an AC source 10 of suitable frequency (for example 10 KHz to 100 KHz)]; and a magnetic field measuring unit (11-14) for measuring a magnetic field change in the test object (2) [Col. 3 lines 40-45: Since windings 11, 12 and 13, 14 are connected in opposition, a differential voltage appears at ends A and E of the two winding systems, which is directly proportional to the acting torque], wherein the magnetic field generating unit (4) comprises at least one excitation coil (9) having a plurality of excitation coil windings [Col. 3 lines 1-17: Inside core portion 4 is provided with an excitation winding 9 which is supplied from an AC source 10 of suitable frequency (for example 10 KHz to 100 KHz] arranged around an excitation coil axis [Col 3 lines 14-20: As indicated by arrows in FIG. 1, the lines of magnetic force lead from inside core 4 through the surface of shaft 2v] and wherein the magnetic field measuring unit (11-14) comprises a measuring coil arrangement (11-14) having a plurality of measuring coils (11-14) [Col. 3 lines 20-25: Windings 11,12 with yoke segments 5,6 and windings 13,14 with yoke segments 7,8 form two measuring systems which are perpendicular to each other and substantially represent a measuring bridge arrangement].
the radially outermost excitation coil winding being arranged radially outside the measuring coil arrangement, as seen with respect to the excitation coil axis, so that the measuring coil arrangement is surrounded at least by the radially outermost excitation coil winding, as seen in axial plan view of the sensor head.
Mita teaches a non-contact torque sensor that detects torque applied to a rotating shaft without contact, characterized in that the torque sensor includes a plurality of magnetic cores disposed around the rotating shaft [0013]. Mita further teaches the radially outermost excitation coil winding (72) being arranged radially outside the measuring coil arrangement (30, 40, 50, and 60 ) [0018: The magnetic cores 30, 40, 50, and 60 in the first measuring unit 20], as seen with respect to the excitation coil axis (72) [0021: In order to induce this magnetic field, the first measurement unit 20 uses an inner excitation coil 71 and an outer excitation coil 72 as excitation coils], so that the measuring coil arrangement (30, 40, 50, and 60 ) is surrounded at least by the radially outermost excitation coil winding (72), as seen in axial plan view of the sensor head [0017: First Embodiment FIG. 1 is a front view showing the structure of a torque sensor 10 according to a first embodiment, and FIG. 2 is a side view thereof. 1 is a front view seen from a direction perpendicular to the axial direction of the rotary shaft].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Mita’s arrangement of inner and outer excitations coils with measuring coils in between as Winterhoff’s coil arrangement because the outer excitation ring improves torque measurement by balancing the magnetic forces across the magnetic field across the measuring field [Mita 0002].
Claim 2. Dependent on the sensor head (1) according to claim 1. Winterhoff further discloses the measuring coil arrangement (11-14) comprises: 2.1 a first to fourth measuring coil (11-14); and/or 2.2 measuring coils (11-14) arranged at the corners of an imaginary rectangle or square (Fig. 2: 11-14 arranged at corners) [Col. 3 lines 40-45: Since windings 11, 12 and 13, 14 are connected in opposition, a differential voltage appears at ends A and E of the two winding systems, which is directly proportional to the acting torque].
Claim 4. Dependent on the sensor head (1) according to claim 1. Winterhoff further discloses at least one inner excitation coil winding (9) which runs radially inside (Fig. 2: 9 inside the four corners formed by 11-14) the measuring coil arrangement (11-14).
the magnetic field generating unit has at least one outer excitation coil winding which runs radially outside the measuring coil arrangement.
Mita teaches a non-contact torque sensor that detects torque applied to a rotating shaft without contact, characterized in that the torque sensor includes a plurality of magnetic cores disposed around the rotating shaft [0013]. Mita further teaches the magnetic field generating unit (71 & 72) has at least one outer excitation coil winding (72) which runs radially outside the measuring coil arrangement (30, 40, 50, and 60) [0018: The magnetic cores 30, 40, 50, and 60 in the first measuring unit 20] [0021: In order to induce this magnetic field, the first measurement unit 20 uses an inner excitation coil 71 and an outer excitation coil 72 as excitation coils].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Mita’s arrangement of inner and outer excitations coils with measuring coils in between as Winterhoff’s coil arrangement because the outer excitation ring improves torque measurement by balancing the magnetic forces across the magnetic field across the measuring field [Mita 0002].
Claim 5. Dependent on the sensor head (1) according to claim 4. Winterhoff further discloses an inner excitation coil (9) is arranged radially inside the measuring coil arrangement (Fig. 2: 11-14 with 9 in center). Winterhoff, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
outer excitation coil is arranged radially outside the measuring coil arrangement.
Mita teaches a non-contact torque sensor that detects torque applied to a rotating shaft without contact, characterized in that the torque sensor includes a plurality of magnetic cores disposed around the rotating shaft [0013]. Mita further teaches the magnetic field generating unit has at least one outer excitation coil (72 coil is arranged radially outside the measuring coil arrangement (30, 40, 50, and 60 ) [0018: The magnetic cores 30, 40, 50, and 60 in the first measuring unit 20] [0021: In order to induce this magnetic field, the first measurement unit 20 uses an inner excitation coil 71 and an outer excitation coil 72 as excitation coils].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Mita’s arrangement of inner and outer excitations coils with measuring coils in between as Winterhoff’s coil arrangement because the outer excitation ring improves torque measurement by balancing the magnetic forces across the magnetic field across the measuring field [Mita 0002].
Claim 6. Dependent on the sensor head (1) according to claim 1. Winterhoff further discloses a magnetic field conductor (3 attached to back of coils) is provided on a side of the coil arrangement (9 & 11-14) formed by the at least one excitation coil (9) and the measuring coil arrangement (11-14) to be turned away from the test object (Fig. 1: 2 shaft with 3 attached to back of coils away from the shaft 2).
Claim 7. Dependent on the sensor head (1) according to claim 6. Winterhoff further discloses the magnetic field conductor (3) pierces the inner diameter of at least one coil (Fig. 2: where conductor 3 extends from the back of the measuring coils to between 11-14) of the coil arrangement (9 & 11-14) and projects in a region radially outside the coil arrangement (9 & 11-14) in the direction of the test object (2) (Fig. 2: where conductor 3 extends from the back of the measuring coils to between 11-14).
Claim 9. Dependent on a load measuring device (Fig. 2) for measuring a load in a test object (2), comprising: the sensor head (1) according to claim 1. Winterhoff further discloses a current source (10) connected to the at least one excitation coil (9) for supplying the magnetic field generating unit (4)[Col. 3 lines 10-20: As soon as excitation winding 9 is energized with an AC current from source 10, eddy currents are induced in the surface of shaft 2 facing measuring heads 1,1'. As indicated by arrows in FIG. 1, the lines of magnetic force lead from inside core 4 through the surface of shaft 2, core segments 5 through 8, and back to inside core 4] with a periodically changing current [Col. 4 lines 6-12: a separate AC current-supplied cylindrical winding may be provided on shaft 2 near measuring heads 1,1' with the magnetic alternating field of this winding being effective as a stray flux causing a magnetization of the shaft up to the saturation region at the location of the measuring probe]; and an evaluation device (20) connected to the measuring coils (11-14) for generating a measuring signal from signals of the measuring coils (11-14) [Col. 4 lines 15-25: If now the signal voltage is plotted as a function of the torque on an X-Y recorder, for example, and the torque increases or decreases continuously, the plotting is affected by a hysteresis error. This effect can be remedied by selecting for winding 9 an excitation amplitude which is sufficiently high to magnetize shaft 2 up to the saturation region, whereby the hysteresis is eliminated and the lines plotted by recorder 20 will coincide for both an increasing and decreasing torque. Instead of using a correspondingly high excitation amplitude, the shaft may be magnetized up to the saturation region also with another frequency, while employing the same excitation winding].
Claim 10. Dependent on a load measuring arrangement (Fig. 2) comprising the load measuring device (1 & 1’) according to claim 9 and the test object (2).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winterhoff in view of Mita and in further view of Schanz (US 20200116579; “Schanz”).
Claim 3. Dependent on the sensor head (1) according to claim 1. Winterhoff, as modified does not explicitly disclose:
the measuring coils and/or the at least one excitation coil comprise at least one planar coil or are designed as at least one such planar coil.
Schanz teaches the measuring coils and/or the at least one excitation coil [0066: IG. 5 shows one embodiment of the sensor head 10 in which the coils—detector coils A1, A2, B1, B2 and generator coil Lg] comprise at least one planar coil or are designed as at least one such planar coil [0066: FIG. 5 shows one embodiment of the sensor head 10 in which the coils—detector coils A1, A2, B1, B2 and generator coil Lg—are designed as planar coils 34 in a printed circuit board element 36—e.g. designed as PCB boards].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Schanz’s arrangement of planar coils on a PCB substrate as an arrangement for Winterhoff’s, as modified, measuring and excitation coils because planar coils printed on substrates improve cost efficiency as they achieve a high reproducibility of the manufacturing processes at low costs [Schanz 0084].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winterhoff in view of Mita and in further view of Yoo (US 20150116950; “Yoo”).
Claim 8. Dependent on the sensor head (1) according to claim 1. Winterhoff, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
a non-magnetic electrical conductor surrounds the coil arrangement or the coil arrangement and the magnetic field conductor.
Yoo teaches a coil component, a coil component-embedded substrate, and more particularly, to a coil component able to be easily manufactured and having a significantly decreased direct current (DC) resistance component in wiring [0002]. Yoo further teaches a non-magnetic electrical conductor surrounds the coil arrangement or the coil arrangement and the magnetic field conductor [0084: in which the insulating material part 80 is formed on the entirety of the external surface of the magnetic material part 50. However, a configuration in the present disclosure is not limited thereto. That is, the insulating material part 80 may not be formed on the entirety of the external surface of the magnetic material part 50, but may be formed only on a portion of the external surface of the magnetic material part 50. For example, the insulating material part 80 may be formed on any one surface or both surfaces of the magnetic material part 50 or be only formed on a portion on which the external electrode 70 will be formed].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Yoo’s non-magnetic insulating layer over Winterhoff’s, as modified, coil sensor because the insulation coating improves protection of sensing elements in a corrosive environment [Yoo 0083].
Conclusion
/MONICA S YOUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855