DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 02/13/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 02/13/2026 has been entered.
Claims 19-38 are pending
Claims 19, 25 and 30 are amended
Claims 1-18 are canceled
Claims 19-38 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiandong ZHONG (WO 2019052163 A1), hereinafter referenced as Zhong, in view of WANG et al. (CN 111263423 A), hereinafter referenced as Wang.
Regarding claim 19, Zhong teaches a method (Para. [0001]-Zhong discloses wake-up processing method, an Internet of Things device, a controller, a terminal, and a cloud server. Para. [0035]-Zhong discloses an Internet of Things device, comprising: a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the processor executes the program. Para. [0080]-Zhong discloses a cloud server includes a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the processor executes the program), comprising:
sending, by a first communication apparatus, a first request message (Para. [0115]-Zhong discloses step 101, after the Internet of Things device is powered on, first initiating an attach request to the network. Para. [0004]-Zhong discloses the network will receive a large number of TAU (Tracking Area Update) requests from different Internet of Things devices. Para. [0128-0130]-Zhong discloses the activation timer and the TAU cycle parameter of the PSM. The Internet of Things device initiates a TAU request to renegotiate the two parameters),
the first request message requests entering a power saving mode (PSM) mode (Para. [0128-0130]-Zhong discloses the activation timer and the TAU cycle parameter of the PSM. The Internet of Things device initiates a TAU request to renegotiate the two parameters ... after the Internet of Things device enters the idle state, waiting for the time of the timer to be activated according to the parameter negotiated in step 106, and entering the PSM state after the timer expires);
receiving, by the first communication apparatus, a first response message (Para. [0129]-Zhong discloses the network delivers the TAU accept message, where T3324 and T3412 (or T3412 extension) are issued, indicating that the core network receives and confirms the values of the two parameters),
the first response message comprises first indication information and second indication information (Para. [0129]-Zhong discloses the network delivers the TAU accept message, where T3324 and T3412 (or T3412 extension) are issued, indicating that the core network receives and confirms the values of the two parameters. Para. [0128]-Zhong discloses the Internet of Things device receives the start time period of the TAU cycle of the cloud server ... the activation timer and the TAU cycle parameter of the PSM. The Internet of Things device initiates a TAU request to renegotiate the two parameters, where the value of the T3324 parameter carried in the TAU request is a valid value closest to the activation timer, and the T3412 extension parameter is also a valid value that is closest to the TAU cycle parameter issued by the cloud server),
the first indication information indicates the first communication apparatus to enter the PSM mode (Para. [0129-0131]-Zhong discloses Step 106: The network delivers the TAU accept message, where T3324 and T3412 (or T3412 extension) are issued, indicating that the core network receives and confirms the values of the two parameters, and the result of the negotiation success is that the parameter of the TAU accept message is the control; .... The Internet of Things device enters the PSM according to the TAU cycle negotiated in step 106),
the second indication information indicates X wakeup occasion windows for when the first communication apparatus is in the PSM mode (Para. [0129-0133]-Zhong discloses Step 106: The network delivers the TAU accept message, where T3324 and T3412 (or T3412 extension) are issued, indicating that the core network receives and confirms the values of the two parameters, and the result of the negotiation success is that the parameter of the TAU accept message is the control; ... Step 109: The Internet of Things device wakes up according to the TAU parameter negotiated in step 106, wakes up after the expiration), and
X is an integer greater than or equal to 0 (Para. [0134]-Zhong discloses in the example described in step 108, the Internet of Things device wakes up after entering the PSM state 3580 seconds),
entering, by the first communication apparatus, the PSM mode based on the first response message (Para. [0129-0131]-Zhong discloses Step 106: The network delivers the TAU accept message, where T3324 and T3412 (or T3412 extension) are issued, indicating that the core network receives and confirms the values of the two parameters, and the result of the negotiation success is that the parameter of the TAU accept message is the control; .... The Internet of Things device enters the PSM according to the TAU cycle negotiated in step 106).
Zhong fails to teach the X wakeup occasion windows are determined based on a prediction of when the first communication apparatus will be within a coverage range of a serving base station.
However, Wang teaches the X wakeup occasion windows are determined based on a prediction of when the first communication apparatus will be within a coverage range of a serving base station (Page 4, Lines [14-19]-Wang discloses using the satellite constellation rail parameters, scene combining road transportation, marine and shipping of the specific route is predictable; road/route the cloud computing resource integrated by the rich control management cloud platform, based on the transportation plan of the asset terminal in the satellite and the whole transportation for coverage calculation, predicting visible road section range of the satellite constellation and road/route, visible time window range in advance. according to the range of the prediction time window to wake up and access decision by the terminal, transmission of network and data message).
Zhong and Wang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication network, dealing with mobile carrier monitoring terminal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhong to incorporate the teachings of Wang on device tracking, with a motivation to predict when a device is within a network coverage, and guarantee the power consumption of the terminal under the PSM is extremely low, (Zhong, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 25, Zhong teaches a method (Para. [0001]-Zhong discloses wake-up processing method, an Internet of Things device, a controller, a terminal, and a cloud server. Para. [0035]-Zhong discloses an Internet of Things device, comprising: a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the processor executes the program. Para. [0080]-Zhong discloses a cloud server includes a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the processor executes the program), comprising:
receiving, by a second communication apparatus, a first request message (Para. [0115]-Zhong discloses step 101, after the Internet of Things device is powered on, first initiating an attach request to the network. Para. [0004]-Zhong discloses the network will receive a large number of TAU (Tracking Area Update) requests from different Internet of Things devices. Para. [0128-0130]-Zhong discloses the activation timer and the TAU cycle parameter of the PSM. The Internet of Things device initiates a TAU request to renegotiate the two parameters),
the first request message requests entering a power saving mode (PSM) mode (Para. [0128-0130]-Zhong discloses the activation timer and the TAU cycle parameter of the PSM. The Internet of Things device initiates a TAU request to renegotiate the two parameters ... after the Internet of Things device enters the idle state, waiting for the time of the timer to be activated according to the parameter negotiated in step 106, and entering the PSM state after the timer expires);
sending, by the second communication apparatus, a first response message (Para. [0129]-Zhong discloses the network delivers the TAU accept message, where T3324 and T3412 (or T3412 extension) are issued, indicating that the core network receives and confirms the values of the two parameters),
the first response message comprises first indication information and second indication information (Para. [0129]-Zhong discloses the network delivers the TAU accept message, where T3324 and T3412 (or T3412 extension) are issued, indicating that the core network receives and confirms the values of the two parameters. Para. [0128]-Zhong discloses the Internet of Things device receives the start time period of the TAU cycle of the cloud server ... the activation timer and the TAU cycle parameter of the PSM. The Internet of Things device initiates a TAU request to renegotiate the two parameters, where the value of the T3324 parameter carried in the TAU request is a valid value closest to the activation timer, and the T3412 extension parameter is also a valid value that is closest to the TAU cycle parameter issued by the cloud server),
the first indication information indicates a first communication apparatus to enter the PSM mode (Para. [0129-0131]-Zhong discloses Step 106: The network delivers the TAU accept message, where T3324 and T3412 (or T3412 extension) are issued, indicating that the core network receives and confirms the values of the two parameters, and the result of the negotiation success is that the parameter of the TAU accept message is the control; .... The Internet of Things device enters the PSM according to the TAU cycle negotiated in step 106),
the second indication information indicates X wakeup occasion windows for when the first communication apparatus is in the PSM mode (Para. [0129-0133]-Zhong discloses Step 106: The network delivers the TAU accept message, where T3324 and T3412 (or T3412 extension) are issued, indicating that the core network receives and confirms the values of the two parameters, and the result of the negotiation success is that the parameter of the TAU accept message is the control; ... Step 109: The Internet of Things device wakes up according to the TAU parameter negotiated in step 106, wakes up after the expiration), and
X is an integer greater than or equal to 0 (Para. [0134]-Zhong discloses in the example described in step 108, the Internet of Things device wakes up after entering the PSM state 3580 seconds).
Zhong fails to teach the X wakeup occasion windows are determined based on a prediction of when the first communication apparatus will be within a coverage range of the second communication apparatus.
However, Wang teaches the X wakeup occasion windows are determined based on a prediction of when the first communication apparatus will be within a coverage range of the second communication apparatus (Page 4, Lines [14-19]-Wang discloses using the satellite constellation rail parameters, scene combining road transportation, marine and shipping of the specific route is predictable; road/route the cloud computing resource integrated by the rich control management cloud platform, based on the transportation plan of the asset terminal in the satellite and the whole transportation for coverage calculation, predicting visible road section range of the satellite constellation and road/route, visible time window range in advance. according to the range of the prediction time window to wake up and access decision by the terminal, transmission of network and data message).
Zhong and Wang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication network, dealing with mobile carrier monitoring terminal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhong to incorporate the teachings of Wang on device tracking, with a motivation to predict when a device is within a network coverage, and guarantee the power consumption of the terminal under the PSM is extremely low, (Zhong, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 30, Zhong teaches an apparatus, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor, wherein the at least one memory is configured to store instructions, when the at least one processor is executing the instructions (Para. [0001]-Zhong discloses wake-up processing method, an Internet of Things device, a controller, a terminal, and a cloud server. Para. [0035]-Zhong discloses an Internet of Things device, comprising: a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the processor executes the program. Para. [0080]-Zhong discloses a cloud server includes a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the processor executes the program), the apparatus is enabled to:
output a first request message (Para. [0115]-Zhong discloses step 101, after the Internet of Things device is powered on, first initiating an attach request to the network. Para. [0004]-Zhong discloses the network will receive a large number of TAU (Tracking Area Update) requests from different Internet of Things devices. Para. [0128-0130]-Zhong discloses the activation timer and the TAU cycle parameter of the PSM. The Internet of Things device initiates a TAU request to renegotiate the two parameters),
the first request message requests entering a power saving mode (PSM) mode (Para. [0128-0130]-Zhong discloses the activation timer and the TAU cycle parameter of the PSM. The Internet of Things device initiates a TAU request to renegotiate the two parameters ... after the Internet of Things device enters the idle state, waiting for the time of the timer to be activated according to the parameter negotiated in step 106, and entering the PSM state after the timer expires);
receive a first response message (Para. [0129]-Zhong discloses the network delivers the TAU accept message, where T3324 and T3412 (or T3412 extension) are issued, indicating that the core network receives and confirms the values of the two parameters),
the first response message comprises first indication information and second indication information (Para. [0129]-Zhong discloses the network delivers the TAU accept message, where T3324 and T3412 (or T3412 extension) are issued, indicating that the core network receives and confirms the values of the two parameters. Para. [0128]-Zhong discloses the Internet of Things device receives the start time period of the TAU cycle of the cloud server ... the activation timer and the TAU cycle parameter of the PSM. The Internet of Things device initiates a TAU request to renegotiate the two parameters, where the value of the T3324 parameter carried in the TAU request is a valid value closest to the activation timer, and the T3412 extension parameter is also a valid value that is closest to the TAU cycle parameter issued by the cloud server),
the first indication information indicates the apparatus to enter the PSM mode (Para. [0129-0131]-Zhong discloses Step 106: The network delivers the TAU accept message, where T3324 and T3412 (or T3412 extension) are issued, indicating that the core network receives and confirms the values of the two parameters, and the result of the negotiation success is that the parameter of the TAU accept message is the control; .... The Internet of Things device enters the PSM according to the TAU cycle negotiated in step 106),
the second indication information indicates X wakeup occasion windows for when the apparatus is in the PSM mode (Para. [0129-0133]-Zhong discloses Step 106: The network delivers the TAU accept message, where T3324 and T3412 (or T3412 extension) are issued, indicating that the core network receives and confirms the values of the two parameters, and the result of the negotiation success is that the parameter of the TAU accept message is the control; ... Step 109: The Internet of Things device wakes up according to the TAU parameter negotiated in step 106, wakes up after the expiration), and
X is an integer greater than or equal to 0 (Para. [0134]-Zhong discloses in the example described in step 108, the Internet of Things device wakes up after entering the PSM state 3580 seconds),
enter the PSM mode based on the first response message (Para. [0129-0131]-Zhong discloses Step 106: The network delivers the TAU accept message, where T3324 and T3412 (or T3412 extension) are issued, indicating that the core network receives and confirms the values of the two parameters, and the result of the negotiation success is that the parameter of the TAU accept message is the control; .... The Internet of Things device enters the PSM according to the TAU cycle negotiated in step 106).
Zhong fails to teach the X wakeup occasion windows are determined based on a prediction of when the apparatus will be within a coverage range of a serving base station.
However, Wang teaches the X wakeup occasion windows are determined based on a prediction of when the apparatus will be within a coverage range of a serving base station (Page 4, Lines [14-19]-Wang discloses using the satellite constellation rail parameters, scene combining road transportation, marine and shipping of the specific route is predictable; road/route the cloud computing resource integrated by the rich control management cloud platform, based on the transportation plan of the asset terminal in the satellite and the whole transportation for coverage calculation, predicting visible road section range of the satellite constellation and road/route, visible time window range in advance. according to the range of the prediction time window to wake up and access decision by the terminal, transmission of network and data message).
Zhong and Wang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication network, dealing with mobile carrier monitoring terminal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhong to incorporate the teachings of Wang on device tracking, with a motivation to predict when a device is within a network coverage, and guarantee the power consumption of the terminal under the PSM is extremely low, (Zhong, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claims 20 and 26 and 31, Zhong teaches the method according to claim 19 and The method according to claim 25 and The apparatus according to claim 30 respectively,
Zhong further teaches when X is greater than 0 (Para. [0134]-Zhong discloses in the example described in step 108, the Internet of Things device wakes up after entering the PSM state 3580 seconds), and
the second indication information comprises: a start time point and an end time point of each of the X wakeup occasion windows; or a start time point and duration of each wakeup occasion window (Para. [0128]-Zhong discloses the Internet of Things device receives the start time period of the TAU cycle of the cloud server ... the activation timer and the TAU cycle parameter of the PSM. The Internet of Things device initiates a TAU request to renegotiate the two parameters, where the value of the T3324 parameter carried in the TAU request is a valid value closest to the activation timer, and the T3412 extension parameter is also a valid value that is closest to the TAU cycle parameter issued by the cloud server. Para. [0131]-Zhong discloses Step 108: The Internet of Things device enters the PSM according to the TAU cycle negotiated in step 106, and the duration of keeping the Internet of Things device in the PSM state is the duration of the TAU cycle minus the activation timer).
Regarding claim 21, Zhong teaches the method according to claim 19,
Zhong further teaches after entering, by the first communication apparatus, the PSM mode based on the first response message, the method further comprises: in response to the first communication apparatus having to-be-sent service data, sending, by the first communication apparatus, the service data in a first wakeup occasion window of the X wakeup occasion windows (Para. [0056-0058]-Zhong discloses a wake-up processing method, comprising: ... after sending a power-on command to an Internet of Things device, sending service data to the Internet of Things device ... receiving a first power saving mode parameter returned by the Internet of Things device, and controlling the Internet of Things device to wake up according to the first power saving mode parameter).
Regarding claim 32, Zhong teaches the apparatus according to claim 30,
Zhong further teaches in response to the apparatus having to-be-sent service data, output, for the apparatus, the service data in a first wakeup occasion window of the X wakeup occasion windows (Para. [0056-0058]-Zhong discloses a wake-up processing method, comprising: ... after sending a power-on command to an Internet of Things device, sending service data to the Internet of Things device ... receiving a first power saving mode parameter returned by the Internet of Things device, and controlling the Internet of Things device to wake up according to the first power saving mode parameter).
Regarding claims 22 and 27 and 33, Zhong teaches the method according to claim 19 and The method according to claim 25 and The apparatus according to claim 30 respectively,
Zhong further teaches the first response message is an attach accept message or a tracking area update accept message (Para. [0129]-Zhong discloses the network delivers the TAU {Tracking Area Update} accept message, where T3324 and T3412 (or T3412 extension) are issued, indicating that the core network receives and confirms the values of the two parameters).
Regarding claim 23, Zhong teaches the method according to claim 19, information about a first duration (Para. [0128]-Zhong discloses Step 105: ... the activation timer and the TAU cycle parameter of the PSM. The Internet of Things device initiates a TAU request to renegotiate the two parameters, where the value of the T3324 parameter carried in the TAU request is a valid value closest to the activation timer, and the T3412 extension parameter is also a valid value that is closest to the TAU cycle parameter issued by the cloud server. Para. [0131]-Zhong discloses Step 108: The Internet of Things device enters the PSM according to the TAU cycle negotiated in step 106, and the duration of keeping the Internet of Things device in the PSM state is the duration of the TAU cycle minus the activation timer),
the first duration indicates a delay time of the PSM mode (Para. [0128-0130]-Zhong discloses Step 105: ... the activation timer and the TAU cycle parameter of the PSM. The Internet of Things device initiates a TAU request to renegotiate the two parameters, where the value of the T3324 parameter carried in the TAU request is a valid value closest to the activation timer, and the T3412 extension parameter is also a valid value that is closest to the TAU cycle parameter issued by the cloud server ... step 107: after the Internet of Things device enters the idle state, waiting for the time of the timer to be activated according to the parameter negotiated in step 106, and entering the PSM state after the timer expires. Para. [0131]-Zhong discloses Step 108: The Internet of Things device enters the PSM according to the TAU cycle negotiated in step 106, and the duration of keeping the Internet of Things device in the PSM state is the duration of the TAU cycle minus the activation timer); and
entering, by the first communication apparatus, the PSM mode based on the first response message comprises: after receiving the first response message, entering, by the first communication apparatus, the PSM mode after the first duration elapses (Para. [0130]-Zhong discloses step 107: after the Internet of Things device enters the idle state, waiting for the time of the timer to be activated according to the parameter negotiated in step 106, and entering the PSM state after the timer expires).
Regarding claim 28, Zhong teaches the method according to claim 25,
Zhong further teaches sending, by the second communication apparatus, information about a first duration (Para. [0128]-Zhong discloses Step 105: ... the activation timer and the TAU cycle parameter of the PSM. The Internet of Things device initiates a TAU request to renegotiate the two parameters, where the value of the T3324 parameter carried in the TAU request is a valid value closest to the activation timer, and the T3412 extension parameter is also a valid value that is closest to the TAU cycle parameter issued by the cloud server. Para. [0131]-Zhong discloses Step 108: The Internet of Things device enters the PSM according to the TAU cycle negotiated in step 106, and the duration of keeping the Internet of Things device in the PSM state is the duration of the TAU cycle minus the activation timer),
the first duration indicates a delay time of the PSM mode (Para. [0128-0130]-Zhong discloses Step 105: ... the activation timer and the TAU cycle parameter of the PSM. The Internet of Things device initiates a TAU request to renegotiate the two parameters, where the value of the T3324 parameter carried in the TAU request is a valid value closest to the activation timer, and the T3412 extension parameter is also a valid value that is closest to the TAU cycle parameter issued by the cloud server ... step 107: after the Internet of Things device enters the idle state, waiting for the time of the timer to be activated according to the parameter negotiated in step 106, and entering the PSM state after the timer expires. Para. [0131]-Zhong discloses Step 108: The Internet of Things device enters the PSM according to the TAU cycle negotiated in step 106, and the duration of keeping the Internet of Things device in the PSM state is the duration of the TAU cycle minus the activation timer).
Regarding claim 34, Zhong teaches the apparatus according to claim 30,
Zhong further teaches receive information about a first duration (Para. [0128]-Zhong discloses Step 105: ... the activation timer and the TAU cycle parameter of the PSM. The Internet of Things device initiates a TAU request to renegotiate the two parameters, where the value of the T3324 parameter carried in the TAU request is a valid value closest to the activation timer, and the T3412 extension parameter is also a valid value that is closest to the TAU cycle parameter issued by the cloud server. Para. [0131]-Zhong discloses Step 108: The Internet of Things device enters the PSM according to the TAU cycle negotiated in step 106, and the duration of keeping the Internet of Things device in the PSM state is the duration of the TAU cycle minus the activation timer),
the first duration indicates a delay time of the PSM mode (Para. [0128-0130]-Zhong discloses Step 105: ... the activation timer and the TAU cycle parameter of the PSM. The Internet of Things device initiates a TAU request to renegotiate the two parameters, where the value of the T3324 parameter carried in the TAU request is a valid value closest to the activation timer, and the T3412 extension parameter is also a valid value that is closest to the TAU cycle parameter issued by the cloud server ... step 107: after the Internet of Things device enters the idle state, waiting for the time of the timer to be activated according to the parameter negotiated in step 106, and entering the PSM state after the timer expires. Para. [0131]-Zhong discloses Step 108: The Internet of Things device enters the PSM according to the TAU cycle negotiated in step 106, and the duration of keeping the Internet of Things device in the PSM state is the duration of the TAU cycle minus the activation timer); and
after receiving the first response message, enter the PSM mode after the first duration elapses (Para. [0130]-Zhong discloses step 107: after the Internet of Things device enters the idle state, waiting for the time of the timer to be activated according to the parameter negotiated in step 106, and entering the PSM state after the timer expires).
Regarding claim 24, Zhong teaches the method according to claim 19,
Zhong further teaches receiving, by the first communication apparatus, information about a second duration (Para. [0128-0130]-Zhong discloses Step 105: ... the activation timer and the TAU cycle parameter of the PSM. The Internet of Things device initiates a TAU request to renegotiate the two parameters, where the value of the T3324 parameter carried in the TAU request is a valid value closest to the activation timer, and the T3412 extension parameter is also a valid value that is closest to the TAU cycle parameter issued by the cloud server),
the second duration indicates a duration of the PSM mode (Para. [0128-0130]-Zhong discloses Step 105: ... the activation timer and the TAU cycle parameter of the PSM. The Internet of Things device initiates a TAU request to renegotiate the two parameters, where the value of the T3324 parameter carried in the TAU request is a valid value closest to the activation timer, and the T3412 extension parameter is also a valid value that is closest to the TAU cycle parameter issued by the cloud server ... step 107: after the Internet of Things device enters the idle state, waiting for the time of the timer to be activated according to the parameter negotiated in step 106, and entering the PSM state after the timer expires. Para. [0131]-Zhong discloses Step 108: The Internet of Things device enters the PSM according to the TAU cycle negotiated in step 106, and the duration of keeping the Internet of Things device in the PSM state is the duration of the TAU cycle minus the activation timer); and
after entering the PSM mode, exiting, by the first communication apparatus, the PSM mode after the second duration elapses (Para. [0132-0134]-Zhong discloses in step 106, the TAU accept message carries T3324 for 20 seconds, and T3412 ext is 3600 seconds, and then the module maintains the PSM for 3580 seconds ... Step 109: The Internet of Things device wakes up according to the TAU parameter negotiated in step 106, wakes up after the expiration, and initiates a TAU request message to the network ... in the example described in step 108, the Internet of Things device wakes up after entering the PSM state 3580 seconds).
Regarding claim 29, Zhong teaches the method according to claim 25,
Zhong further teaches sending, by the second communication apparatus, information about a second duration (Para. [0128-0130]-Zhong discloses Step 105: ... the activation timer and the TAU cycle parameter of the PSM. The Internet of Things device initiates a TAU request to renegotiate the two parameters, where the value of the T3324 parameter carried in the TAU request is a valid value closest to the activation timer, and the T3412 extension parameter is also a valid value that is closest to the TAU cycle parameter issued by the cloud server),
the second duration indicates a duration of the PSM mode (Para. [0128-0130]-Zhong discloses Step 105: ... the activation timer and the TAU cycle parameter of the PSM. The Internet of Things device initiates a TAU request to renegotiate the two parameters, where the value of the T3324 parameter carried in the TAU request is a valid value closest to the activation timer, and the T3412 extension parameter is also a valid value that is closest to the TAU cycle parameter issued by the cloud server ... step 107: after the Internet of Things device enters the idle state, waiting for the time of the timer to be activated according to the parameter negotiated in step 106, and entering the PSM state after the timer expires. Para. [0131]-Zhong discloses Step 108: The Internet of Things device enters the PSM according to the TAU cycle negotiated in step 106, and the duration of keeping the Internet of Things device in the PSM state is the duration of the TAU cycle minus the activation timer).
Regarding claim 35, Zhong teaches the apparatus according to claim 30,
Zhong further teaches receive information about a second duration (Para. [0128-0130]-Zhong discloses Step 105: ... the activation timer and the TAU cycle parameter of the PSM. The Internet of Things device initiates a TAU request to renegotiate the two parameters, where the value of the T3324 parameter carried in the TAU request is a valid value closest to the activation timer, and the T3412 extension parameter is also a valid value that is closest to the TAU cycle parameter issued by the cloud server),
the second duration indicates a duration of the PSM mode (Para. [0128-0130]-Zhong discloses Step 105: ... the activation timer and the TAU cycle parameter of the PSM. The Internet of Things device initiates a TAU request to renegotiate the two parameters, where the value of the T3324 parameter carried in the TAU request is a valid value closest to the activation timer, and the T3412 extension parameter is also a valid value that is closest to the TAU cycle parameter issued by the cloud server ... step 107: after the Internet of Things device enters the idle state, waiting for the time of the timer to be activated according to the parameter negotiated in step 106, and entering the PSM state after the timer expires. Para. [0131]-Zhong discloses Step 108: The Internet of Things device enters the PSM according to the TAU cycle negotiated in step 106, and the duration of keeping the Internet of Things device in the PSM state is the duration of the TAU cycle minus the activation timer); and
after entering the PSM mode, exit the PSM mode after the second duration elapses (Para. [0132-0134]-Zhong discloses in step 106, the TAU accept message carries T3324 for 20 seconds, and T3412 ext is 3600 seconds, and then the module maintains the PSM for 3580 seconds ... Step 109: The Internet of Things device wakes up according to the TAU parameter negotiated in step 106, wakes up after the expiration, and initiates a TAU request message to the network ... in the example described in step 108, the Internet of Things device wakes up after entering the PSM state 3580 seconds).
Regarding claim 36, Zhong teaches the apparatus according to claim 30,
Zhong further teaches the apparatus is a terminal device (Para. [0107]-Zhong discloses method for preventing a large number of NB-IoT terminal devices from waking up in a short time and sending a TAU request to a network in an NB-IoT network. Para. [0001]-Zhong discloses wake-up processing method, an Internet of Things device, a controller, a terminal, and a cloud server. Para. [0035]-Zhong discloses an Internet of Things device, comprising: a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the processor executes the program).
Regarding claim 37, Zhong teaches the method according to claim 25,
Zhong fails to teach the second communication apparatus is a satellite base station.
However, Wang teaches the second communication apparatus is a satellite base station (Page 4, Lines [14-19]-Wang discloses using the satellite constellation rail parameters, scene combining road transportation, marine and shipping of the specific route is predictable; road/route the cloud computing resource integrated by the rich control management cloud platform, based on the transportation plan of the asset terminal in the satellite and the whole transportation for coverage calculation, predicting visible road section range of the satellite constellation and road/route, visible time window range in advance. according to the range of the prediction time window to wake up and access decision by the terminal, transmission of network and data message).
Wang is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with mobile carrier monitoring terminal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhong to incorporate the teachings of Wang on satellite base station, with a motivation to predict when a device is within a satellite network coverage, and guarantee the power consumption of the terminal under the PSM is extremely low, (Zhong, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 38, Zhong teaches the method according to claim 37,
Zhong fails to teach the prediction of when the first communication apparatus will be within a coverage range of the second communication apparatus is predicted based on constellation topology.
However, Wang teaches the prediction of when the first communication apparatus will be within a coverage range of the second communication apparatus is predicted based on constellation topology (Page 4, Lines [14-19]-Wang discloses using the satellite constellation rail parameters, scene combining road transportation, marine and shipping of the specific route is predictable; road/route the cloud computing resource integrated by the rich control management cloud platform, based on the transportation plan of the asset terminal in the satellite and the whole transportation for coverage calculation, predicting visible road section range of the satellite constellation and road/route, visible time window range in advance. according to the range of the prediction time window to wake up and access decision by the terminal, transmission of network and data message).
Wang is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with mobile carrier monitoring terminal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhong to incorporate the teachings of Wang on constellation topology, with a motivation to predict when a device is within a satellite network coverage, and guarantee the power consumption of the terminal under the PSM is extremely low, (Zhong, Para. [0003]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new reference (WANG et al. (CN 111263423 A)) being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/ANDREW W CHRISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472