DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 02/13/2026.
Claims 1-30 are pending and presented for examination. No claims are amended, added, or cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/13/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (WO 2024234178 A1, hereinafter “Jiang”), in view of Choi et al. (WO 2024104628 A1, hereinafter “Choi”).
RE Claim 1 and 27, Jiang discloses a target user equipment (UE) or method:
comprising:
one or more memories (¶0479, Fig. 5A);
one or more transceivers (¶0479, Fig. 5A); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors (¶0479, Fig. 5A), either alone or in combination, configured to:
receive, via the one or more transceivers, from an initiator UE (Receiving module receives Sidelink Positioning Protocol, SLPP, messages. ¶0012; SLPP session creation request message, initiating message, sent by initiator. ¶¶0050, 0057), a first groupcast message for a sidelink group of a plurality of UEs, including the target UE and the initiator UE (SLPP message includes Session Identifier includes a first ID of the initiator of the session with the number of participants, target UEs, is equal to or greater than three. ¶¶0060-63), wherein the first groupcast message includes a groupcast destination identifier that indicates that the first groupcast message is intended for all of the plurality of UEs of the sidelink group (Session identifier includes a second ID indicating the UE ID of the participants, target UEs. ¶¶0068-0073; Destination Layer 2 groupcast ID of the UE group, UE group ID. ¶¶0108-0110, 0122, 0124.); and
Jiang does not explicitly disclose:
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, a second groupcast message to the initiator UE, wherein the second groupcast message includes a pairwise groupcast destination identifier based on a first identifier common to the initiator UE and the target UE and a second identifier specific to the target UE and known to the target UE and the initiator UE, and wherein the pairwise groupcast destination identifier indicates that the second groupcast message is intended only for the initiator UE.
However, Choi discloses:
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, a second groupcast message to the initiator UE, wherein the second groupcast message includes a pairwise groupcast destination identifier based on a first identifier common to the initiator UE and the target UE and a second identifier specific to the target UE and known to the target UE and the initiator UE (Format of an SLPP message, a groupcast message used by both initiator and target, comprises Session ID, Initiator ID, and Message Payload. Initiator ID may be set commonly or differently for cast types including groupcast. Session ID set by the Initiator device provides explicit indication of a standalone SL positioning session, a single Target UE pairwise identifier, or group-based SL positioning session, multiple Target UEs. Indication may comprise a subset of bits indicating standalone or group positioning session. ¶¶0172-0174, Fig. 13 Therefore, the target UE uses the session ID set by the initiator as an indicator of standalone positioning, pairwise.), and wherein the pairwise groupcast destination identifier indicates that the second groupcast message is intended only for the initiator UE (A bit set to “0” indicates a standalone session for a single target UE, pairwise identifier, and a “1” indicates a group session. Solution includes SL positioning enabled UEs are enable to support multiple SL position sessions and allowing them to distinguish between multiple SL positioning sessions. Session ID may be changed after a period of time , when coverage situation changes, or when content of SLPP messages changes, e.g. capability or assistance data. ¶¶0172-0174, Fig. 13 Therefore, the target UE uses the session ID set by the initiator as an indicator of standalone positioning, pairwise.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jiang, a target UE receiving sidelink information of a groupcast destination and group, with the teachings of Choi, target UE responds based on specific session ID indicating a single target UE, a pairwise indication, and initiator exchange of information.
The motivation in doing so would be to support obtain SL positioning support by indicating by SLPP message for single or group SL positioning session that can change depending coverage and positioning scenarios. (Jiang: ¶¶0002, 0015, 0048, 0060; Choi: Abstract, ¶¶0011, 0038-0040, 0169-0174)
RE Claim 2, 17, and 28, Jiang discloses a target UE or initiator UE or method:
wherein the first identifier comprises:
an application-layer managed groupcast group identifier (¶0125),
an application-layer managed groupcast group size (Session identifier for a session determined by the number of participants in the session. ¶0185; List of UE IDs and application layer IDs for each participant, a size. ¶0360),
a session identifier assigned by the initiator UE to all of the plurality of UEs (Session identifier includes a second ID indicating the UE ID of the participants, target UEs. ¶¶0068-0073),
a timestamp of a groupcast message received from the initiator UE including an indication to use pairwise groupcast reply (element is optional), or
any combination thereof (element is optional).
RE Claim 3, Jiang disclose a target UE:
wherein the session identifier is a sidelink positioning protocol (SLPP) session identifier (Serial number of SLPP sessions created by initiator. ¶0106).
RE Claim 4 and 21, Jiang does not explicitly disclose the target UE or initiator UE:
wherein the groupcast message is:
an SLPP request capabilities message,
an SLPP provide assistance data message,
an SLPP request location information message, or
another SLPP message including the indication.
However Choi discloses:
wherein the groupcast message is:
an SLPP request capabilities message (SLPP transaction, capability exchange. ¶¶0036, 0142),
an SLPP provide assistance data message (SLPP transaction, assistance data transfer. ¶¶0036, 0146),
an SLPP request location information message (SLPP transaction, location information transfer. ¶¶0036, 0144), or
another SLPP message including the indication (Format of an SLPP message, a groupcast message, comprises Session ID, Initiator ID, and Message Payload. Initiator ID may be set commonly or differently for cast types including groupcast. Session ID set by the Initiator device provides explicit indication of a standalone SL positioning session, a single Target UE pairwise identifier, or group-based SL positioning session, multiple Target UEs. Indication may comprise a subset of bits indicating standalone or group positioning session. ¶¶0172-0174, Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jiang, a target UE receiving sidelink information of a groupcast destination and group, with the teachings of Choi, use of SLPP formatted messages for sidelink communication.
The motivation in doing so would be to support obtain SL positioning support for 5G NR by use of SLPP protocols during sidelink communications. (Jiang: ¶¶0002, 0015, 0048, 0060; Choi: Abstract, ¶¶0002-0003, 0004-0011, 0038-0040, 0169-0174)
RE Claim 5, 18, and 29, Jiang discloses a target UE or initiator UE or method:
wherein the second identifier comprises:
a member identifier of the target UE in the sidelink group (Session identifier includes a second ID indicating the UE ID of the participants, target UEs. ¶¶0068-0073; Destination Layer 2 groupcast ID of the UE group, UE group ID. ¶¶0108-0110, 0122, 0124.),
a SLPP UE ID of the target UE assigned by the initiator UE (¶0279),
a UE application-layer identifier of the target UE (¶0119), or
any combination thereof (element is optional).
RE Claim 6, Jiang discloses a target UE:
wherein the member identifier is an application-layer managed groupcast member identifier (¶0125).
RE claim 7. Jiang discloses a target UE:
wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
receive, via the one or more transceivers, an indication of an identifier to use as the first identifier and an identifier to use as the second identifier (SLPP message includes Session Identifier includes a first ID of the initiator of the session with the number of participants, target UEs, is equal to or greater than three. ¶¶0060-63; Session identifier includes a second ID indicating the UE ID of the participants, target UEs. Recipient of SLPP message determines whether it is a participant in the session indicated by the first session identifier. ¶¶0068-0073;).
RE Claim 8, and 20, Jiang discloses a target UE or initiator UE:
wherein the indication is received in the first groupcast message (SLPP message includes Session Identifier includes a first ID of the initiator of the session with the number of participants, target UEs, is equal to or greater than three. ¶¶0060-63; Session identifier includes a second ID indicating the UE ID of the participants, target UEs. Recipient of SLPP message determines whether it is a participant in the session indicated by the first session identifier. ¶¶0068-0073;).
RE Claim 9, Jiang does not explicitly disclose the target UE:
wherein the indication is received in:
an SLPP request capabilities message,
an SLPP provide assistance data message,
an SLPP request location information message, or
another SLPP message including the indication.
However, Choi discloses:
wherein the indication is received in:
an SLPP request capabilities message (The format of an SLPP message comprises the parameters “Session ID”, “Initiator ID” and the Message payload. ¶0040; SLPP transaction, capability exchange. ¶¶0036, 0142),
an SLPP provide assistance data message (The format of an SLPP message comprises the parameters “Session ID”, “Initiator ID” and the Message payload. ¶0040; SLPP transaction, capability exchange. ¶¶0036, 0142; SLPP transaction, assistance data transfer. ¶¶0036, 0146),
an SLPP request location information message (The format of an SLPP message comprises the parameters “Session ID”, “Initiator ID” and the Message payload. ¶0040; SLPP transaction, capability exchange. ¶¶0036, 0142; SLPP transaction, location information transfer. ¶¶0036, 0144), or
another SLPP message including the indication (Format of an SLPP message, a groupcast message, comprises Session ID, Initiator ID, and Message Payload. Initiator ID may be set commonly or differently for cast types including groupcast. Session ID set by the Initiator device provides explicit indication of a standalone SL positioning session, a single Target UE pairwise identifier, or group-based SL positioning session, multiple Target UEs. Indication may comprise a subset of bits indicating standalone or group positioning session. ¶¶0172-0174, Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jiang, a target UE receiving sidelink information of a groupcast destination and group, with the teachings of Choi, use of SLPP formatted messages for sidelink communication.
The motivation in doing so would be to support obtain SL positioning support for 5G NR by use of SLPP protocols during sidelink communications. (Jiang: ¶¶0002, 0015, 0048, 0060; Choi: Abstract, ¶¶0002-0003, 0004-0011, 0038-0040, 0169-0174)
RE Claim 10, Jiang does not explicitly disclose the target UE:
wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
determine the pairwise groupcast destination identifier based on the first identifier and the second identifier.
However, Choi discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
determine the pairwise groupcast destination identifier based on the first identifier and the second identifier (Format of an SLPP message, a groupcast message, comprises Session ID, Initiator ID, and Message Payload. Initiator ID may be set commonly or differently for cast types including groupcast. Session ID set by the Initiator device provides explicit indication of a standalone SL positioning session, a single Target UE pairwise identifier, or group-based SL positioning session, multiple Target UEs. Indication may comprise a subset of bits indicating standalone or group positioning session. ¶¶0172-0174, Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jiang, a target UE receiving sidelink information of a groupcast destination and group, with the teachings of Choi, determine an alternate indicator and identification of a standalone target of UE positioning, a pairwise indication, using the existing Session ID field and transmit via SLPP messaging.
The motivation in doing so would be to support obtain SL positioning states for single target UE or multiple UEs to allow SL positioning to be supported for all coverage and positioning scenarios, and with or without involvement of a core mobile network of a wireless communications network while reducing signaling overhead and complexity with multiple UEs. (Jiang: ¶¶0002, 0015, 0048, 0060; Choi: Abstract, ¶¶0002-0003, 0004-0011, 0038-0040, 0169-0174)
RE Claim 11, Jiang does not explicitly disclose the target UE:
wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the initiator UE, an indication to use the pairwise groupcast destination identifier in response to the first groupcast message.
However, Choi discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the initiator UE, an indication to use the pairwise groupcast destination identifier in response to the first groupcast message (A bit set to “0” indicates a standalone session for a single target UE, pairwise identifier, and a “1” indicates a group session. Solution includes SL positioning enabled UEs are enable to support multiple SL position sessions and allowing them to distinguish between multiple SL positioning sessions. Session ID may be changed after a period of time , when coverage situation changes, or when content of SLPP messages changes, e.g. capability or assistance data. ¶¶0172-0174, Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jiang, a target UE receiving sidelink information of a groupcast destination and group, with the teachings of Choi, determine an alternate indicator and identification of a standalone target of UE positioning, a pairwise indication, using the existing Session ID field and transmit via SLPP messaging.
The motivation in doing so would be to support obtain SL positioning states for single target UE or multiple UEs to allow SL positioning to be supported for all coverage and positioning scenarios, and with or without involvement of a core mobile network of a wireless communications network while reducing signaling overhead and complexity with multiple UEs. (Jiang: ¶¶0002, 0015, 0048, 0060; Choi: Abstract, ¶¶0002-0003, 0004-0011, 0038-0040, 0169-0174)
RE Claim 12, Jiang does not explicitly disclose the target UE:
wherein the indication is received in the first groupcast message.
However, Choi discloses:
wherein the indication is received in the first groupcast message (Format of an SLPP message, a groupcast message, comprises Session ID, Initiator ID, and Message Payload. Initiator ID may be set commonly or differently for cast types including groupcast. Session ID set by the Initiator device provides explicit indication of a standalone SL positioning session, a single Target UE pairwise identifier, or group-based SL positioning session, multiple Target UEs. Indication may comprise a subset of bits indicating standalone or group positioning session. ¶¶0172-0174, Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jiang, a target UE receiving sidelink information of a groupcast destination and group, with the teachings of Choi, determine an alternate indicator and identification of a standalone target of UE positioning, a pairwise indication, using the existing Session ID field and transmit via SLPP messaging.
The motivation in doing so would be to support obtain SL positioning states for single target UE or multiple UEs to allow SL positioning to be supported for all coverage and positioning scenarios, and with or without involvement of a core mobile network of a wireless communications network while reducing signaling overhead and complexity with multiple UEs. (Jiang: ¶¶0002, 0015, 0048, 0060; Choi: Abstract, ¶¶0002-0003, 0004-0011, 0038-0040, 0169-0174)
RE Claim 13, Jiang does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the indication is received in:
an SLPP request capabilities message,
an SLPP provide assistance data message,
an SLPP request location information message, or
another SLPP message including the indication.
However, Choi discloses:
wherein the indication (Format of an SLPP message, a groupcast message, comprises Session ID, Initiator ID, and Message Payload. Initiator ID may be set commonly or differently for cast types including groupcast. Session ID set by the Initiator device provides explicit indication of a standalone SL positioning session, a single Target UE pairwise identifier, or group-based SL positioning session, multiple Target UEs. Indication may comprise a subset of bits indicating standalone or group positioning session. ¶¶0172-0174, Fig. 13) is received in:
an SLPP request capabilities message (The format of an SLPP message comprises the parameters “Session ID”, “Initiator ID” and the Message payload. ¶0040; SLPP transaction, capability exchange. ¶¶0036, 0142),
an SLPP provide assistance data message (The format of an SLPP message comprises the parameters “Session ID”, “Initiator ID” and the Message payload. ¶0040; SLPP transaction, capability exchange. ¶¶0036, 0142; SLPP transaction, assistance data transfer. ¶¶0036, 0146),
an SLPP request location information message (The format of an SLPP message comprises the parameters “Session ID”, “Initiator ID” and the Message payload. ¶0040; SLPP transaction, capability exchange. ¶¶0036, 0142; SLPP transaction, location information transfer. ¶¶0036, 0144), or
another SLPP message including the indication (Format of an SLPP message, a groupcast message, comprises Session ID, Initiator ID, and Message Payload. Initiator ID may be set commonly or differently for cast types including groupcast. Session ID set by the Initiator device provides explicit indication of a standalone SL positioning session, a single Target UE pairwise identifier, or group-based SL positioning session, multiple Target UEs. Indication may comprise a subset of bits indicating standalone or group positioning session. ¶¶0172-0174, Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jiang, a target UE receiving sidelink information of a groupcast destination and group, with the teachings of Choi, use of SLPP formatted messages for sidelink communication.
The motivation in doing so would be to support obtain SL positioning support for 5G NR by use of SLPP protocols during sidelink communications. (Jiang: ¶¶0002, 0015, 0048, 0060; Choi: Abstract, ¶¶0002-0003, 0004-0011, 0038-0040, 0169-0174)
RE Claim 14 and 25, Jiang does not explicitly disclose the target UE or initiator UE:
wherein the indication is a Boolean value.
However, Choi discloses:
wherein the indication is a Boolean value (Format of an SLPP message, a groupcast message, comprises Session ID, Initiator ID, and Message Payload. Initiator ID may be set commonly or differently for cast types including groupcast. Session ID set by the Initiator device provides explicit indication of a standalone SL positioning session, a single Target UE pairwise identifier, or group-based SL positioning session, multiple Target UEs. Indication may comprise a subset of bits indicating standalone or group positioning session. ¶¶0172-0174, Fig. 13; A bit set to “0” indicates a standalone session for a single target UE, pairwise identifier, and a “1” indicates a group session. Solution includes SL positioning enabled UEs are enable to support multiple SL position sessions and allowing them to distinguish between multiple SL positioning sessions. Session ID may be changed after a period of time , when coverage situation changes, or when content of SLPP messages changes, e.g. capability or assistance data. ¶¶0172-0174, Fig. 13.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jiang, a target UE receiving sidelink information of a groupcast destination and group, with the teachings of Choi, determine an alternate indicator and identification of a standalone target of UE positioning, a pairwise indication, using the existing Session ID field and transmit via SLPP messaging.
The motivation in doing so would be to support obtain SL positioning states for single target UE or multiple UEs to allow SL positioning to be supported for all coverage and positioning scenarios, and with or without involvement of a core mobile network of a wireless communications network while reducing signaling overhead and complexity with multiple UEs. (Jiang: ¶¶0002, 0015, 0048, 0060; Choi: Abstract, ¶¶0002-0003, 0004-0011, 0038-0040, 0169-0174)
RE Claim 15 and 26, Jiang discloses the target UE or initiator UE:
wherein:
the groupcast destination identifier is an Application Layer Managed Group Groupcast Destination Layer-2 Identifier (ID) (Destination layer 2 groupcast ID, application layer group ID included in the second ID. ¶¶0124-0125), and
Jiang does not explicitly disclose:
the pairwise groupcast destination identifier is an Application Layer Managed Group Pairwise Groupcast Destination Layer-2 ID (When the Initiator UE is operating in UE-only positioning operation, pairwise to target UE, the value of the Initiator ID may be set to the Application layer ID. ¶0229; Format of an SLPP message, a groupcast message, comprises Session ID, Initiator ID, and Message Payload. Initiator ID may be set commonly or differently for cast types including groupcast. Session ID set by the Initiator device provides explicit indication of a standalone SL positioning session, a single Target UE pairwise identifier, or group-based SL positioning session, multiple Target UEs. Indication may comprise a subset of bits indicating standalone or group positioning session. ¶¶0172-0174, Fig. 13).
However, Choi discloses:
the pairwise groupcast destination identifier is an Application Layer Managed Group Pairwise Groupcast Destination Layer-2 ID (When the Initiator UE is operating in UE-only positioning operation, pairwise to target UE, the value of the Initiator ID may be set to the Application layer ID. ¶0229; Format of an SLPP message, a groupcast message, comprises Session ID, Initiator ID, and Message Payload. Initiator ID may be set commonly or differently for cast types including groupcast. Session ID set by the Initiator device provides explicit indication of a standalone SL positioning session, a single Target UE pairwise identifier, or group-based SL positioning session, multiple Target UEs. Indication may comprise a subset of bits indicating standalone or group positioning session. ¶¶0172-0174, Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jiang, a target UE receiving sidelink information of a groupcast destination and group, with the teachings of Choi, determine an alternate indicator and identification of a standalone target of UE positioning, a pairwise indication, using the existing Session ID field and transmit via SLPP messaging.
The motivation in doing so would be to support obtain SL positioning states for single target UE or multiple UEs to allow SL positioning to be supported for all coverage and positioning scenarios, and with or without involvement of a core mobile network of a wireless communications network while reducing signaling overhead and complexity with multiple UEs. (Jiang: ¶¶0002, 0015, 0048, 0060; Choi: Abstract, ¶¶0002-0003, 0004-0011, 0038-0040, 0169-0174)
RE Claim 16 and 30, Jiang discloses an initiator user equipment (UE) or method:
comprising:
one or more memories (¶0479, Fig. 5A);
one or more transceivers (¶0479, Fig. 5A); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors (¶0479, Fig. 5A), either alone or in combination, configured to:
transmit, via the one or more transceivers (Receiving module receives Sidelink Positioning Protocol, SLPP, messages. ¶0012; SLPP session creation request message, initiating message, sent by initiator. ¶¶0050, 0057), a first groupcast message to a plurality of UEs of a sidelink group (SLPP message includes Session Identifier includes a first ID of the initiator of the session with the number of participants, target UEs, is equal to or greater than three. ¶¶0060-63), wherein the first groupcast message includes a groupcast destination identifier that indicates that the first groupcast message is intended for all of the plurality of UEs of the sidelink group (Session identifier includes a second ID indicating the UE ID of the participants, target UEs. ¶¶0068-0073; Destination Layer 2 groupcast ID of the UE group, UE group ID. ¶¶0108-0110, 0122, 0124.); and
Jiang does not explicitly disclose:
receive, via the one or more transceivers, a second groupcast message from a target UE of the plurality of UEs, wherein the second groupcast message includes a pairwise groupcast destination identifier based on a first identifier common to the initiator UE and the target UE and a second identifier specific to the target UE and known to the target UE and the initiator UE, and wherein the pairwise groupcast destination identifier indicates that the second groupcast message is intended only for the initiator UE.
However, Choi discloses:
receive, via the one or more transceivers, a second groupcast message from a target UE of the plurality of UEs, wherein the second groupcast message includes a pairwise groupcast destination identifier based on a first identifier common to the initiator UE and the target UE and a second identifier specific to the target UE and known to the target UE and the initiator UE (Format of an SLPP message, a groupcast message used by both initiator and target, comprises Session ID, Initiator ID, and Message Payload. Initiator ID may be set commonly or differently for cast types including groupcast. Session ID set by the Initiator device provides explicit indication of a standalone SL positioning session, a single Target UE pairwise identifier, or group-based SL positioning session, multiple Target UEs. Indication may comprise a subset of bits indicating standalone or group positioning session. ¶¶0172-0174, Fig. 13; Therefore, the target UE uses the session ID set by the initiator as an indicator of standalone positioning, pairwise.), and wherein the pairwise groupcast destination identifier indicates that the second groupcast message is intended only for the initiator UE (A bit set to “0” indicates a standalone session for a single target UE, pairwise identifier, and a “1” indicates a group session. Solution includes SL positioning enabled UEs are enable to support multiple SL position sessions and allowing them to distinguish between multiple SL positioning sessions. Session ID may be changed after a period of time , when coverage situation changes, or when content of SLPP messages changes, e.g. capability or assistance data. ¶¶0172-0174, Fig. 13 Therefore, the target UE uses the session ID set by the initiator as an indicator of standalone positioning, pairwise.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jiang, a target UE receiving sidelink information of a groupcast destination and group, with the teachings of Choi, target UE responds based on specific session ID indicating a single target UE, a pairwise indication, and initiator exchange of information.
The motivation in doing so would be to support obtain SL positioning support by indicating by SLPP message for single or group SL positioning session that can change depending coverage and positioning scenarios. (Jiang: ¶¶0002, 0015, 0048, 0060; Choi: Abstract, ¶¶0011, 0038-0040, 0169-0174)
RE Claim 22, Jiang does not explicitly disclose The initiator UE:
wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the plurality of UEs of the sidelink group, an indication to use the pairwise groupcast destination identifier in response to the first groupcast message (Format of an SLPP message, a groupcast message used by both initiator and target, comprises Session ID, Initiator ID, and Message Payload. Initiator ID may be set commonly or differently for cast types including groupcast. Session ID set by the Initiator device provides explicit indication of a standalone SL positioning session, a single Target UE pairwise identifier, or group-based SL positioning session, multiple Target UEs. Indication may comprise a subset of bits indicating standalone or group positioning session. ¶¶0172-0174, Fig. 13 Therefore, the target UE uses the session ID set by the initiator as an indicator of standalone positioning, pairwise.).
However, Choi discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the plurality of UEs of the sidelink group, an indication to use the pairwise groupcast destination identifier in response to the first groupcast message (Format of an SLPP message, a groupcast message used by both initiator and target, comprises Session ID, Initiator ID, and Message Payload. Initiator ID may be set commonly or differently for cast types including groupcast. Session ID set by the Initiator device provides explicit indication of a standalone SL positioning session, a single Target UE pairwise identifier, or group-based SL positioning session, multiple Target UEs. Indication may comprise a subset of bits indicating standalone or group positioning session. ¶¶0172-0174, Fig. 13 Therefore, the target UE uses the session ID set by the initiator as an indicator of standalone positioning, pairwise.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jiang, a target UE receiving sidelink information of a groupcast destination and group, with the teachings of Choi, target UE responds based on specific session ID indicating a single target UE, a pairwise indication, and initiator exchange of information.
The motivation in doing so would be to support obtain SL positioning support by indicating by SLPP message for single or group SL positioning session that can change depending coverage and positioning scenarios. (Jiang: ¶¶0002, 0015, 0048, 0060; Choi: Abstract, ¶¶0011, 0038-0040, 0169-0174)
RE Claim 23, Jiang discloses the initiator UE:
wherein the indication is transmitted in the first groupcast message (SLPP message includes Session Identifier includes a first ID of the initiator of the session with the number of participants, target UEs, is equal to or greater than three. ¶¶0060-63; Session identifier includes a second ID indicating the UE ID of the participants, target UEs. Recipient of SLPP message determines whether it is a participant in the session indicated by the first session identifier. ¶¶0068-0073;).
RE Claim 24, Jiang does not explicitly disclose the initiator UE:
wherein the indication is transmitted in:
an SLPP request capabilities message,
an SLPP provide assistance data message,
an SLPP request location information message, or
another SLPP message including the indication.
However, Choi discloses:
wherein the indication is transmitted in:
an SLPP request capabilities message (The format of an SLPP message comprises the parameters “Session ID”, “Initiator ID” and the Message payload. ¶0040; SLPP transaction, capability exchange. ¶¶0036, 0142),
an SLPP provide assistance data message (The format of an SLPP message comprises the parameters “Session ID”, “Initiator ID” and the Message payload. ¶0040; SLPP transaction, capability exchange. ¶¶0036, 0142; SLPP transaction, assistance data transfer. ¶¶0036, 0146),
an SLPP request location information message (The format of an SLPP message comprises the parameters “Session ID”, “Initiator ID” and the Message payload. ¶0040; SLPP transaction, capability exchange. ¶¶0036, 0142; SLPP transaction, location information transfer. ¶¶0036, 0144), or
another SLPP message including the indication (Format of an SLPP message, a groupcast message, comprises Session ID, Initiator ID, and Message Payload. Initiator ID may be set commonly or differently for cast types including groupcast. Session ID set by the Initiator device provides explicit indication of a standalone SL positioning session, a single Target UE pairwise identifier, or group-based SL positioning session, multiple Target UEs. Indication may comprise a subset of bits indicating standalone or group positioning session. ¶¶0172-0174, Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jiang, a target UE receiving sidelink information of a groupcast destination and group, with the teachings of Choi, use of SLPP formatted messages for sidelink communication.
The motivation in doing so would be to support obtain SL positioning support for 5G NR by use of SLPP protocols during sidelink communications. (Jiang: ¶¶0002, 0015, 0048, 0060; Choi: Abstract, ¶¶0002-0003, 0004-0011, 0038-0040, 0169-0174)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are directed to Claim 1 and the limitation “transmit, via the one or more transceivers, a second groupcast message to the initiator UE, wherein the second groupcast message includes a pairwise groupcast destination identifier based on a first identifier common to the initiator UE and the target UE and a second identifier specific to the target UE and known to the target UE and the initiator UE, and wherein the pairwise groupcast destination identifier indicates that the second groupcast message is intended only for the initiator UE.” Applicant submits that Jiang and Choi do not disclose or suggest the features of the limitation.
Applicant’s first argument is directed to Choi and the cited paragraphs [0172]-[0174]. Applicant argues that Choi and “Assuming for the sake of argument that a "Session ID 1310" for "a standalone SL positioning session" in Choi corresponds to "a pairwise groupcast destination identifier," as in independent claim 1, which the Applicant does not admit, Choi does not disclose or suggest that the target UE transmits the "Session ID 1310" or that the "Session ID 1310" is "based on a first identifier common to the initiator UE and the target UE and a second identifier specific to the target UE and known to the target UE and the initiator UE.", applicant emphasis.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In a review of Choi, the subject matter is disclosed. The limitation in question, as written, is disclosed by Choi:
The present disclosure relates to solutions for supporting multiple SL positioning sessions. More specifically, it is proposed that the format of an SLPP message comprises the parameters “Session ID”, “Initiator ID” and the Message payload. ¶0169, Fig. 13. The parameter “Session ID” 1310 is set by the initiator of the SL positioning session and used in all SLPP messages associated to this SL positioning session. The length of this parameter may be N bits, e.g. N=8, 16, 20, 24. The value of this parameter shall be unique over all concurrently active SL positioning sessions on the initiator device. As a further example, the value of this parameter 1310 is self-assigned by the initiator device when the initiator device is a UE (Target UE, Anchor UE, Server UE) and in UE-only positioning operation, i.e., when the LMF is not involved in the SL positioning session. ¶0170. The parameter “Initiator ID” 1320 is set by the initiator of the SL positioning session and used in all SLPP messages associated to this SL positioning session. Alternatively, in a further example, the value of this parameter 1320 may be set to the Source/Destination Layer-2 ID as used in SL communication and discovery procedures. The Source Layer-2 ID represents the transmitting UE (TX UE) and is self-assigned by the UE. The Destination Layer-2 ID represents the receiving UE (RX UE) and is an ID provided by the V2X/ProSe layer or in case of group communication provided by the Application layer. ¶0171. The parameter Session ID 1310 may be set by the initiator device to provide an explicit indication of a standalone SL positioning session (i.e. determining the position of a single Target UE) or a group-based SL positioning session (i.e. determining the position of multiple Target UEs). An explicit indication may comprise a subset of bits of the session ID 1310 used to indicate whether the session ID 1310 refers to a standalone SL positioning session or a group-based SL positioning session. The aim is to infer information from the session ID 1310 on whether the session comprises a standalone SL positioning session or a group-based SL positioning session. For instance, the 1st bit (MSB) of the session ID 1310 may be used to indicate the session type. If the bit is set to “0” it indicates a standalone SL positioning session, and if it is set to “1” it indicates a group-based SL positioning session. ¶0173. Examiner Emphasis.
Examiner interpretation of the SLPP message is a groupcast message of a sidelink communication that is used for all SLPP messages, therefore both the initiator and target UE transmit messages with disclosed format of Fig. 13: 1300. The initiator ID and the Session ID are common to both the initiator and target as they identify the two UEs, source and destination Layer-2 IDs, and a specific SLPP session ID, session ID is unique for SL positioning messages, with the message header that is used in all SLPP communications. To indicate that the SL positioning is for standalone SL positioning, between only an initiator and target, the session ID has an additional indicator, e.g. the MSB, set to ‘0’ to indicate the session ID is for standalone position, a unique identifier for the initiator UE and target UE only.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 20250168808 A1 Ramachandran et al.
“ENHANCED RANGING AND POSITIONING SERVICES IN WIRELESS NETWORKS”
“The anchor UE identities, target UE identities and/or positioning signal IDs may also be used to determine/select the radio resources to use for transmitting/receiving the positioning signals. To this end, an access device or managing entity may define the resources per position signal ID or per anchor UE identity or per target UE identity and provide the resource allocation information to the UEs involved (e.g., all UEs part of a constellation). The managing entity may have to ensure that multiple anchor UEs and/or target UEs in close vicinity do not interfere with each other. Thus, the managing entity may have to assign anchor UE identities, target UE identities and/or positioning signal IDs at times t1, t2, . . . ,ti to each anchor UE or target UE in an area in a way that they do not collide (e.g., to make sure that they do not use the same radio resource elements at the same time), and may use a secure connection or encrypted message (that only the intended recipient(s) can decrypt) to inform the UEs involved (e.g., all UEs of the ranging constellation) of the respective identities.”, ¶0310
US 20250142523 A1 Choi et al.
“SELECTION OF APPARATUS FOR SIDELINK POSITIONING”
Various aspects of the present disclosure relate to selection of apparatus for sidelink positioning. A user equipment (UE) (e.g., a sidelink positioning target UE) receives from a first apparatus a first sidelink positioning protocol message including information for selecting a first set of one or more second apparatus for sidelink positioning. The UE can select from the first set of one or more second apparatus, a subset of the one or more second apparatus for sidelink positioning. The UE can transmit, to the first apparatus, a second sidelink positioning protocol message comprising information pertaining to the subset of the one or more second apparatus that can be used for determining a position of the UE.
US 20260095881 A1 Thomas et al.
“COMBINED ONE-TO-MANY AND MANY-TO-ONE SIDELINK POSITIONING”
Various aspects of the present disclosure relate to performing one-to-many and many-to-one sidelink positioning, such as using sidelink time difference of arrival (SL-TDoA) and sidelink round trip time (SL-RTT) positioning techniques in a single sidelink positioning session. Positioning measurements for a particular device (e.g., a target UE) are generated by both the particular device and a set of additional devices, and these positioning measurements are provided to a positioning calculation entity that can estimate the location of the particular device.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419