DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The Replacement drawings with 1 Sheets of Fig. 5B received on 5/7/2026 are acknowledged and accepted. The application now has 7 Sheets of Figs. 1-7.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to Claims 1-2,11,15,18, in the submission filed 5/7/2026 are acknowledged and accepted.
In view of the amendments to the Claims, rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is modified.
Pending Claims are 1-20.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments (Remarks, filed 5/7/2026) have been considered, but, respectfully, are not found persuasive.
a) As agreed to by the Examiner during the telephonic interview, Bristol, alone or in combination with Crocco/Jacobs, does not teach “at least one first deviating surface feature disposed around the first lens opening, the at least one first deviating surface feature including a first depression being semi-annular shaped and disposed in the perimeter portion surrounding the first lens opening.”
In the telephone interview, as evidenced in the Examiner’s Interview Summary mailed on 5/7/2026, it was suggested that the proposed claim language” the at least one first deviating surface feature including a first depression being semi-annular shaped and disposed in the perimeter portion surrounding the first lens opening”, and in in addition, limitations from Claim 11 with also language “surrounding the first lens opening” would overcome the current prior art of record. In the current rejection, claim 11 is found to have allowable subject matter, and is objected to as being dependent on a rejected base claim, as set forth in Section 14.
The amendment to claim 1 does not overcome the current art of record. Jacobs teaches (fig 1A, B) that the at least one first deviating surface feature including a first depression (depression as shown by arrow with 108, lowest surface around eyecup 102, fig 1B disposed on an inner surface), being semi-annular shaped (as in fig 1B) and disposed in the perimeter portion surrounding the first lens opening (eyecup 102) (the depression 108 is in the perimeter portion which surrounds the first eyecup 102 as in fig 1B). Claim 1 is rejected as unpatentable over Bristol in view of Jacobs as set forth in Section 12 below.
Hence in view of the above arguments, the rejection of claims is upheld.
Claims 1-10,12-20, are rejected as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10,17,19, as best understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10,17,19 recite “a first depression”. This has antecedence in the base claims 1,15,18. It is not very clear if a first depression in the dependent claims is the same as the first depression in the base claims or whether it is different. From the specification, it appears that the depression in dependent claims has antecedent basis and is the same as the depression in base claims. Hence for the purposes of examination, a first depression in claims 10,17,19 is interpreted to be the first depression of base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2,4-7,9-10, 12-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bristol et al (US 2017/0192198, of record) in view of Jacobs et al (US 11,204,504, of record).
Regarding Claim 1, Bristol teaches (fig 1-8) a membrane assembly for a head-mounted display device (head-mounted display system 100, para 17), the membrane assembly (perimeter frame 128, para 20) comprising:
a flexible membrane (membrane 144, para 21, part of mask 118 of display system 100, para 20, made of rubber, para 22) configured to be attached to a frame (display housing 104, para 20) of the head-mounted display device (“The perimeter frame 128 can be stepped inwardly relative to the pad 130 and can be configured to be received as an inset within a proximal end portion of the display housing 104”, para 20), the flexible membrane (membrane 144, para 21) including:
a first lens opening (opening in membrane 144 for 120a, para 18) configured to accommodate a first lens (lens 120a, para 18) of the head- mounted display device (head-mounted display system 100, para 17), a second lens opening (opening in membrane 144 for other lens 120) configured to accommodate a second lens (lens 120b, para 18) of the head-mounted display device (head-mounted display system 100, para 17) (“The display system 100 can include lens frames 138 (individually identified as lens frames 138a, 138b) encircled by the perimeter frame 128”, para 21, “the membrane 144 can both encircle and extend between the lenses 120”, para 23),
a perimeter portion disposed around the first and second lens openings, a central portion disposed between the first and second lens openings (openings for lens frames 138a,b and right and left lenses 120a, 120b) (“the membrane 144 can both encircle and extend between the lenses 120”, para 23 and the encircling part near the edge is considered the perimeter portion and the portion between the lenses 120 is considered the central portion),
at least one first deviating surface feature (surface region of membrane 144 around lens frame 138a, and comprising regions 144a, 144b of membrane 144, para 29, fig 4-6) disposed around the first lens opening (lens frame 138a opening), and at least one second deviating surface feature (surface region of membrane 144 around lens frame 138b, and comprising regions 144a, 144c of membrane 144, para 29, fig 4-6) disposed around the second lens opening (lens frame 138b opening) (“the inner portions of the membrane 144 extend around holes in the membrane 144 corresponding to the locations of the lens frames 138”, para 28),
wherein the at least one first deviating surface feature (surface region of membrane 144 around lens frame 138a, and comprising regions 144a, 144b of membrane 144, para 29, fig 4-6) is configured to change in shape in response to displacement of first inner edge portions of the flexible membrane (membrane 144 ) that define the first lens opening (lens frame 138b opening), and wherein the at least one second deviating surface feature (surface region of membrane 144 around lens frame 138b, and comprising regions 144a, 144c of membrane 144, para 29, fig 4-6) is configured to change in shape in response to displacement of second inner edge portions of the flexible membrane (membrane 144) that define the second lens opening (lens frame 138a opening) (“the membrane 144 can be configured to accommodate changes in the lateral distance between the lenses 120 and between the lens frames 138 with little or no aesthetic or functional disruption”, para 27) (“Excess portions of the membrane 144 can be loosely disposed within the relatively deep portions of the channel 146. These excess portions of the membrane 144 can mitigate bottlenecking of the deformation potential of the membrane 144 at portions of the membrane 144 spanning relatively small gaps between the perimeter frame 128 and the lens frames 138”, para 27).
However, Bristol does not teach wherein:
the at least one first deviating surface feature including a first depression being semi-annular shaped and disposed in the perimeter portion surrounding the first lens opening
Bristol and Jacobs are related as flexible membrane.
Jacobs teaches (fig 1A, B) wherein:
the at least one first deviating surface feature including a first depression (depression as shown by arrow with 108, lowest surface around eyecup 102, fig 1B) disposed on an inner surface), being semi-annular shaped (as in fig 1B) and disposed in the perimeter portion surrounding the first lens opening (eyecup 102, col 3, lines 33-40, optical lens 114, col 3, lines 56-59) (the depression 108 is in the perimeter portion which surrounds the first eyecup 102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the deviating surface of Bristol to include first depression of Jacobs for the purpose of using commonly known techniques for IPD adjustment in HMD (col 2, lines 60-67).
Regarding Claim 2, Bristol-Jacobs teaches the membrane assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
an outer bezel (“perimeter frame 128”, para 20, Bristol) attached to an outer edge portion of the flexible membrane (membrane 144, para 21, part of mask 118 of display system 100, para 20) and configured to be attached to the frame (display housing 104, para 20) of the head-mounted display device (head-mounted display system 100, para 17).
Regarding Claim 4, Bristol-Jacobs teaches the membrane assembly of claim 2,
wherein the outer bezel (“perimeter frame 128”, para 20, Bristol) is molded with the flexible membrane (“the membrane 144 can be sewn, molded”, para 25).
Regarding Claim 5, Bristol-Jacobs teaches the membrane assembly of claim 2,
wherein the outer bezel (“perimeter frame 128”, para 20, Bristol) is constructed of a material that is more rigid than a material of which the flexible membrane (membrane 144, para 21) is constructed (‘the membrane 144 is made at least primarily of fabric”, “the membrane 144 can be made at least primarily of a non-fabric material. Suitable non-fabric materials include thin-films (e.g., extruded and/or calendered films) of one or more polymeric materials (e.g., rubber)”, para 22) (fabric and rubber like polymers are softer than the perimeter frame)
Regarding Claim 6, Bristol-Jacobs teaches the membrane assembly of claim 2,
wherein the outer bezel (“perimeter frame 128”, para 20, Bristol) includes a perimeter portion supporting the perimeter portion (as in fig 4-6) of the flexible membrane (membrane 144, para 21) and central portion supporting the central portion (as in fig 4-6) of the flexible membrane (membrane 144, para 21).
Regarding Claim 7, Bristol-Jacobs teaches the membrane assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
a first optics mounting bezel (lens frame 138a, para 21, Bristol) attached to the first inner edge portions of the flexible membrane (membrane 144, para 21) (as in fig 4-6), and configured to be attached to a first optics module including the first lens (lens 120a, para 18); and
a second optics mounting bezel (lens frame 138a, para 21) attached to the first inner edge portions of the flexible membrane (membrane 144, para 21) (as in fig 4-6), and configured to be attached to a second optics module including the second lens (lens 120b, para 18).
Regarding Claim 9, Bristol-Jacobs teaches the membrane assembly of claim 7, wherein the first and second optics bezels (lens frames 138a, b, para 21, Bristol) are molded with the flexible membrane (membrane 144, para 21) (“the membrane 144 can be sewn, molded, or otherwise pre-manufactured to have some or all of its final shape”, para 25, this indicates molding is used to attach flexible membrane to the structures it is connected with)
Regarding Claim 10, Bristol-Jacobs teaches the membrane assembly of claim 1.
However, Bristol does not teach wherein:
the at least one first deviating surface feature includes the first depression disposed on an inner surface, opposite an outer surface, of the flexible membrane in the perimeter portion, and extending around the first lens opening; and
the at least one second deviating surface feature includes a second depression disposed on the inner surface of the flexible membrane in the perimeter portion, and extending around the second lens opening.
Bristol and Jacobs are related as flexible membrane.
Jacobs teaches (fig 1A, B) wherein:
the at least one first deviating surface feature includes the first depression (depression as shown by arrow with 108, lowest surface around eyecup 102, fig 1B) disposed on an inner surface), opposite an outer surface, of the flexible membrane (flexible shroud 108, col 3, lines 37-40) in the perimeter portion, and extending around the first lens opening (eyecup 102, col 3, lines 33-40, optical lens 114, col 3, lines 56-59); and
the at least one second deviating surface feature includes a second depression (depression as shown by arrow with 108, lowest surface around eyecup 104, fig 1B) disposed on an inner surface) disposed on the inner surface of the flexible membrane (flexible shroud 108, col 3, lines 37-40) in the perimeter portion, and extending around the second lens opening (eyecup 104, col 3, lines 33-40, optical lens 116, col 3, lines 56-59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the deviating surfaces of Bristol to include first and second depressions of Jacobs for the purpose of using commonly known techniques for IPD adjustment in HMD (col 2, lines 60-67).
Regarding Claim 12, Bristol-Jacobs teaches the membrane assembly of claim 10.
However, Bristol does not teach wherein:
further comprising: a third concave depression disposed on the inner surface of the flexible membrane, in the central portion, and configured to accommodate a user's nose.
Bristol and Jacobs are related as flexible membrane.
Jacobs teaches (fig 1A, B) wherein:
further comprising: a third concave depression (concave depression in the center as pointed by arrow with label 108, fig 1A,1B) disposed on the inner surface of the flexible membrane (flexible shroud 108, col 3, lines 37-40), in the central portion, and configured to accommodate a user's nose.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flexible membrane of Bristol to include a third concave depression of Jacobs for the purpose of using commonly known techniques for IPD adjustment in HMD (col 2, lines 60-67).
Regarding Claim 13, Bristol-Jacobs teaches the membrane assembly of claim 10.
However, Bristol does not teach wherein:
wherein: the at least one first deviating surface feature further includes a first protruding pleat disposed on the inner surface of the flexible membrane, between the first lens opening and the central portion; and the at least one second deviating surface feature further includes a second protruding pleat disposed on the inner surface of the flexible membrane between the second lens opening and the central portion.
Bristol and Jacobs are related as flexible membrane.
Jacobs teaches (embodiment of fig 2) wherein:
wherein: the at least one first deviating surface feature further includes a first protruding pleat (protruding part is flexible cosmetic covering 232, Fig 2, col 5, lines 66-67) disposed on the inner surface of the flexible membrane (flexible shroud 208, col 5, lines 37-40), between the first lens opening (eyecup 202, col 5, lines 25-35, optical lens 214, col 5, lines 52-55) and the central portion; and
the at least one second deviating surface feature further includes a second protruding pleat (protruding part is flexible cosmetic covering 232, Fig 2, col 5, lines 66-67) disposed on the inner surface of the flexible membrane (flexible shroud 208, col 5, lines 37-40), between the second lens opening (eyecup 204, col 5, lines 25-35, optical lens 216, col 5, lines 52-55) and the central portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flexible membrane of Bristol to include first and second protruding pleats of Jacobs for the purpose of using commonly known techniques for IPD adjustment in HMD (col 2, lines 60-67).
Regarding Claim 14, Bristol-Jacobs teaches the membrane assembly of claim 13.
However, Bristol does not teach wherein:
wherein: the at least one first deviating surface feature further comprises a first recessed pleat disposed on the outer surface of the flexible membrane, and corresponding to the first protruding pleat; and the at least one second deviating surface feature further comprises a second recessed pleat disposed on the outer surface of the flexible membrane, and corresponding to the second protruding pleat.
Bristol and Jacobs are related as flexible membrane.
Jacobs teaches (embodiment of fig 2) wherein:
wherein: the at least one first deviating surface feature further comprises a first recessed pleat (recessed part of flexible cosmetic covering 232 on the inner side, Fig 2, col 5, lines 66-67) disposed on the outer surface of the flexible membrane (flexible shroud 208, col 5, lines 37-40), and corresponding to the first protruding pleat (protruding part is flexible cosmetic covering 232, Fig 2, col 5, lines 66-67); and
the at least one second deviating surface feature further comprises a second recessed pleat (recessed part of flexible cosmetic covering 232 on the inner side, Fig 2, col 5, lines 66-67) disposed on the outer surface of the flexible membrane, and corresponding to the second protruding pleat (protruding part is flexible cosmetic covering 232, Fig 2, col 5, lines 66-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flexible membrane of Bristol to include first and second recessed parts of Jacobs for the purpose of using commonly known techniques for IPD adjustment in HMD (col 2, lines 60-67).
Regarding Claim 15, Bristol teaches (fig 1-8) an assembly for a head-mounted display device (head-mounted display system 100, para 17), the assembly comprising:
a frame (thicker part of perimeter frame 128 and pad 130, para 20, fig 3A) configured to be installed in an outer case (display housing 104, para 20) of the head-mounted display device (head-mounted display system 100, para 17) (“The perimeter frame 128 can be stepped inwardly relative to the pad 130 and can be configured to be received as an inset within a proximal end portion of the display housing 104”, para 20);
a first optics module (optics module with lens 120a, para 18) including a first lens, and configured to be mounted to the frame (thicker part of perimeter frame 128 and pad 130, para 20, fig 3A);
a second optics module (optics module with lens 120b, para 18) including a second lens, and configured to be mounted to the frame (thicker part of perimeter frame 128 and pad 130, para 20, fig 3A); and
a flexible membrane (membrane 144, para 21, part of mask 118 of display system 100, para 20, made of rubber, para 22) configured to be attached to the frame (thicker part of perimeter frame 128 and pad 130, para 20, fig 3A) and including:
a first lens opening (opening in membrane 144 for 120a, para 18) configured to accommodate a first lens (lens 120a, para 18), a second lens opening (opening in membrane 144 for lens 120b) configured to accommodate a second lens (lens 120b, para 18),
at least one first deviating surface feature (surface region of membrane 144 around lens frame 138a, and comprising regions 144a, 144b of membrane 144, para 29, fig 4-6) disposed around the first lens opening (lens frame 138a opening), and at least one second deviating surface feature (surface region of membrane 144 around lens frame 138b, and comprising regions 144a, 144c of membrane 144, para 29, fig 4-6) disposed around the second lens opening (lens frame 138b opening) (“the inner portions of the membrane 144 extend around holes in the membrane 144 corresponding to the locations of the lens frames 138”, para 28),
wherein the first and second optics modules (first and second optics modules with lenses 120a, 120b, para 18) are configured to move to change an interpupillary distance between the first and second lenses (lenses 120a,120b), (“ A lateral distance between the lenses 120 can be adjustable, such as to accommodate users having different interpupillary distances”, para 19)
wherein the at least one first deviating surface feature (surface region of membrane 144 around lens frame 138a, and comprising regions 144a, 144b of membrane 144, para 29, fig 4-6) is configured to change in shape in response to movement, of the first optics module (optics module with lens 120a, para 18), to change the interpupillary distance, and
wherein the at least one second deviating surface feature (surface region of membrane 144 around lens frame 138b, and comprising regions 144a, 144c of membrane 144, para 29, fig 4-6) is configured to change in shape in response to movement, of the second optics module (optics module with lens 120b, para 18), to change the interpupillary distance (“the membrane 144 can be configured to accommodate changes in the lateral distance between the lenses 120 and between the lens frames 138 with little or no aesthetic or functional disruption”, para 27, “ A lateral distance between the lenses 120 can be adjustable, such as to accommodate users having different interpupillary distances”, para 19).
However, Bristol does not teach wherein:
the at least one first deviating surface feature including a first depression being semi-annular shaped and disposed in the perimeter portion surrounding the first lens opening
Bristol and Jacobs are related as flexible membrane.
Jacobs teaches (fig 1A, B) wherein:
the at least one first deviating surface feature including a first depression (depression as shown by arrow with 108, lowest surface around eyecup 102, fig 1B) disposed on an inner surface), being semi-annular shaped (as in fig 1B) and disposed in the perimeter portion surrounding the first lens opening (eyecup 102, col 3, lines 33-40, optical lens 114, col 3, lines 56-59).
Regarding Claim 16, Bristol-Jacobs teaches the assembly of claim 15, wherein:
the frame (thicker part of perimeter frame 128 and pad 130, para 20, fig 3A) includes:
a main body (body of thicker part of perimeter frame 128 and pad 130, para 20, fig 3A) configured to be attached to the outer case (display housing 104, para 20),
a first inner ring disposed in a space within the main body (body of thicker part of perimeter frame 128 and pad 130, para 20, fig 3A), and a second inner ring disposed in the space within the main body and spaced apart from the first inner ring (“During use of the display system 100, the pad 130 can snugly contact a user's face along an oblong path encircling the user's eyes”, para 20 this indicates inner rings in around user eyes) (as in fig 3A);
the first and second optics modules (lenses 120a, 120b) are configured to be mounted in the first and second inner rings (“During use of the display system 100, the pad 130 can snugly contact a user's face along an oblong path encircling the user's eyes”, para 20 this indicates inner rings in pad 130 around user eyes, respectively; and
the flexible membrane (membrane 144, para 21) further includes:
an outer bezel (“outer part of perimeter frame 128”, para 20) attached to an outer edge portion of the flexible membrane (membrane 144, para 21) and configured to be attached to the main body (thicker part of perimeter frame 128 and pad 130, para 20, fig 3A) of the frame (thicker part of perimeter frame 128 and pad 130, para 20, fig 3A),
a first optics mounting bezel (lens frame 138a, para 21) attached to first inner edge portions of the flexible membrane (membrane 144, para 21) that define the first lens opening, and configured to be attached to the first optics module (optics module with lens 120a, para 21), and
a second optics mounting bezel (lens frame 138b, para 21) attached to second inner edge portions of the flexible membrane (membrane 144, para 21) that define the second lens opening, and configured to be attached to the second optics module (optics module with lens 120b, para 21).
Regarding Claim 17, Bristol-Jacobs teaches the assembly of claim 15.
However, Bristol does not teach wherein:
the at least one first deviating surface feature includes the first depression disposed on an inner surface of the flexible membrane in a perimeter portion of the flexible membrane, and extending around the first lens opening; and
the at least one second deviating surface feature includes a second depression disposed on the inner surface of the flexible membrane in the perimeter portion, and extending around the second lens opening.
Bristol and Jacobs are related as flexible membrane.
Jacobs teaches (fig 1A, B) wherein:
the at least one first deviating surface feature includes the first depression (depression as shown by arrow with 108, lowest surface around eyecup 102, fig 1B) disposed on an inner surface), disposed on an inner surface of the flexible membrane (flexible shroud 108, col 3, lines 37-40) in a perimeter portion of the flexible membrane (flexible shroud 108, col 3, lines 37-40), and extending around the first lens opening (eyecup 102, col 3, lines 33-40, optical lens 114, col 3, lines 56-59) ; and
the at least one second deviating surface feature includes a second depression (depression as shown by arrow with 108, lowest surface around eyecup 104, fig 1B) disposed on an inner surface) disposed on the inner surface of the flexible membrane (flexible shroud 108, col 3, lines 37-40) in the perimeter portion, and extending around the second lens opening (eyecup 104, col 3, lines 33-40, optical lens 116, col 3, lines 56-59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the deviating surfaces of Bristol to include first and second depressions of Jacobs for the purpose of using commonly known techniques for IPD adjustment in HMD (col 2, lines 60-67).
Regarding Claim 18, Bristol teaches (fig 1-8) a head-mounted display device (head-mounted display system 100, para 17), comprising:
first and second optics modules (first and second optics modules with lenses 120a, 120b, para 18), mounted to a frame (perimeter frame 128, para 20, fig 3A) and including a first lens and a second lens (lenses 120a,120b, para 20); and
a flexible membrane (membrane 144, para 21, part of mask 118 of display system 100, para 20, made of rubber, para 22) including:
a first lens opening (opening in membrane 144 for 120a, para 18) accommodating the first lens (lens 120a, para 20), a second lens opening (opening in membrane 144 for 120a, para 18) accommodating the second lens (lens 120b),
at least one first deviating surface feature (surface region of membrane 144 around lens frame 138a, and comprising regions 144a, 144b of membrane 144, para 29, fig 4-6) disposed around the first lens opening (lens frame 138a opening), and at least one second deviating surface feature (surface region of membrane 144 around lens frame 138b, and comprising regions 144a, 144c of membrane 144, para 29, fig 4-6) disposed around the second lens opening (lens frame 138b opening) (“the inner portions of the membrane 144 extend around holes in the membrane 144 corresponding to the locations of the lens frames 138”, para 28),
wherein the first and second optics modules (first and second optics modules with lenses 120a, 120b, para 18) are configured to move to change an interpupillary distance between the first and second lenses (lenses 120a,120b),( “ A lateral distance between the lenses 120 can be adjustable, such as to accommodate users having different interpupillary distances”, para 19).
wherein the at least one first deviating surface feature (surface region of membrane 144 around lens frame 138a, and comprising regions 144a, 144b of membrane 144, para 29, fig 4-6) is configured to change in shape in response to displacement of first inner edge portions of the flexible membrane (membrane 144) that define the first lens opening (lens frame 138b opening), and
wherein the at least one second deviating surface feature (surface region of membrane 144 around lens frame 138b, and comprising regions 144a, 144c of membrane 144, para 29, fig 4-6) is configured to change in shape in response to displacement of second inner edge portions of the flexible membrane (membrane 144) that define the second lens opening (lens frame 138a opening) (“the membrane 144 can be configured to accommodate changes in the lateral distance between the lenses 120 and between the lens frames 138 with little or no aesthetic or functional disruption”, para 27) (“Excess portions of the membrane 144 can be loosely disposed within the relatively deep portions of the channel 146. These excess portions of the membrane 144 can mitigate bottlenecking of the deformation potential of the membrane 144 at portions of the membrane 144 spanning relatively small gaps between the perimeter frame 128 and the lens frames 138”, para 27).
However, Bristol does not teach wherein:
the at least one first deviating surface feature including a first depression being semi-annular shaped and disposed in the perimeter portion surrounding the first lens opening
Bristol and Jacobs are related as flexible membrane.
Jacobs teaches (fig 1A, B) wherein:
the at least one first deviating surface feature including a first depression (depression as shown by arrow with 108, lowest surface around eyecup 102, fig 1B) disposed on an inner surface), being semi-annular shaped (as in fig 1B) and disposed in the perimeter portion surrounding the first lens opening (eyecup 102, col 3, lines 33-40, optical lens 114, col 3, lines 56-59).
Regarding Claim 19, Bristol-Jacobs teaches the head-mounted display device of claim 18,
However, Bristol does not teach wherein:
the at least one first deviating surface feature includes the first depression disposed on an inner surface, opposite an outer surface, of the flexible membrane in the perimeter portion, and extending around the first lens opening; and
the at least one second deviating surface feature includes a second depression disposed on the inner surface of the flexible membrane in the perimeter portion, and extending around the second lens opening.
Bristol and Jacobs are related as flexible membrane.
Jacobs teaches (fig 1A, B) wherein:
the at least one first deviating surface feature includes the first depression (depression as shown by arrow with 108, lowest surface around eyecup 102, fig 1B) disposed on an inner surface), opposite an outer surface, of the flexible membrane (flexible shroud 108, col 3, lines 37-40) in the perimeter portion, and extending around the first lens opening (eyecup 102, col 3, lines 33-40, optical lens 114, col 3, lines 56-59); and
the at least one second deviating surface feature includes a second depression (depression as shown by arrow with 108, lowest surface around eyecup 104, fig 1B) disposed on an inner surface) disposed on the inner surface of the flexible membrane (flexible shroud 108, col 3, lines 37-40) in the perimeter portion, and extending around the second lens opening (eyecup 104, col 3, lines 33-40, optical lens 116, col 3, lines 56-59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the deviating surfaces of Bristol to include first and second depressions of Jacobs for the purpose of using commonly known techniques for IPD adjustment in HMD (col 2, lines 60-67).
Regarding Claim 20, Bristol-Jacobs teaches the head-mounted display device of claim 18.
However, Bristol does not teach wherein:
wherein: the at least one first deviating surface feature further includes a first protruding pleat disposed on an inner surface of the flexible membrane, between the first lens opening and the central portion; and the at least one second deviating surface feature further includes a second protruding pleat disposed on the inner surface of the flexible membrane between the second lens opening and the central portion.
Bristol and Jacobs are related as flexible membrane.
Jacobs teaches (embodiment of fig 2) wherein:
wherein: the at least one first deviating surface feature further includes a first protruding pleat (protruding part is flexible cosmetic covering 232, Fig 2, col 5, lines 66-67) disposed on an inner surface of the flexible membrane (flexible shroud 208, col 5, lines 37-40), between the first lens opening (eyecup 202, col 5, lines 25-35, optical lens 214, col 5, lines 52-55) and the central portion; and
the at least one second deviating surface feature further includes a second protruding pleat (protruding part is flexible cosmetic covering 232, Fig 2, col 5, lines 66-67) disposed on the inner surface of the flexible membrane (flexible shroud 208, col 5, lines 37-40), between the second lens opening (eyecup 204, col 5, lines 25-35, optical lens 216, col 5, lines 52-55) and the central portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flexible membrane of Bristol to include first and second protruding pleats of Jacobs for the purpose of using commonly known techniques for IPD adjustment in HMD (col 2, lines 60-67).
Claim(s) 3,8, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bristol et al (US 2017/0192198, of record) in view of Jacobs et al (US 11,204,504, of record) and further in view of Crocco et al (US 2012/0326948, of record).
Regarding Claim 3, Bristol-Jacobs teaches the membrane assembly of claim 2,
wherein the outer bezel (“perimeter frame 128”, para 20) is attached to the flexible membrane (membrane 144, para 21) by a mechanical means (“the membrane 144 is mechanically fastened to the perimeter frame 128”, para 26).
However, Bristol does not teach
attaching with a snap fit or a press fit
Bristol and Crocco are related as attachment means.
Crocco teaches (fig 1) coupling features (108, para 30)
attaching with a snap fit or a press fit (“The coupling features 108 may provide a coupling by snap-fit, friction-fit, adhesion, or mechanical interlocking, among others”, para 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the attachment means of Bristol to include attaching with a snap fit or a press fit of Crocco for the purpose of using commonly known techniques for adhesion in HMD (para 30).
Regarding Claim 8, Bristol -Jacobs teaches the membrane assembly of claim 7.
wherein the first and second optics mounting bezels (lens frames 138a,138b, para 21) are adhesively attached to the flexible membrane (“adhesively fastened (e.g., with hot-melt adhesive) to the lens frames 138”, para 26)
However, Bristol does not teach
attaching with a snap fit or a press fit
Bristol and Crocco are related as attachment means.
Crocco teaches (fig 1) coupling features (108, para 30)
attaching with a snap fit or a press fit (“The coupling features 108 may provide a coupling by snap-fit, friction-fit, adhesion, or mechanical interlocking, among others”, para 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the attachment means of Bristol to include attaching with a snap fit or a press fit of Crocco for the purpose of using commonly known techniques for adhesion in HMD (para 30).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 is allowable over the prior art of record for at least the following reason:
wherein: the at least one first deviating surface feature further includes a first convex portion disposed on the outer surface of the flexible membrane, surrounding the first lens opening, and corresponding to the first depression; and the at least one second deviating surface feature further includes a second convex portion disposed on the outer surface of the flexible membrane, surrounding the second lens opening, and corresponding to the second depression.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JYOTSNA V DABBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 7/6/2026