DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/2/25. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mamiya et al. (2020/0153162) in view of Nagasawa (2017/0077636).
With regard to claim 1, Mamiya teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “A connector M comprising: a terminal 28; a housing 10 having a terminal accommodating chamber 14 in which the terminal 28 is accommodated… and a side retainer 48 attached to… the housing… wherein the terminal accommodating chamber 14 is provided with an elastically deformable locking lance 18 extending in an insertion direction (right-to-left in figure 7) of the terminal 28 into the terminal accommodating chamber 14 such that the locking lance 18 is to be locked to the terminal 28, a distal end portion (left end of 18 in figure7) of the locking lance 18 in the insertion direction is provided with a jig hooking portion (portion engaged with 54 in figure 7) to come into contact with a jig 54 inserted into the terminal accommodating chamber 14 when releasing locking with the terminal 28, and the side retainer 48 is provided with a guide portion 40 configured to guide the jig 54 such that the jig 54 comes into contact with the jig hooking portion and does not interfere with the terminal 28 when being inserted into the terminal accommodating chamber 14”.
Mamiya does not teach the housing “further comprising a housing body and a hood portion which covers an outer peripheral surface of the housing body with a space provided therebetween, a front end portion of the housing body protruding forward from a front end surface of the hood portion; a seal member attached to the outer peripheral surface of the housing body covered by the hood portion” or the side retainer attached to a front end portion of the housing body.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Nagasawa teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “further comprising a housing body 11 and a hood portion 13 which covers an outer peripheral surface of the housing body 11 with a space provided therebetween, a front end portion (portion of 11 protruding leftward of 13 in figure 3) of the housing body 11 protruding forward from a front end surface of the hood portion 13; a seal member 20 attached to the outer peripheral surface of the housing body 11 covered by the hood portion 13” and the side retainer 50 attached to a front end portion of the housing body 11. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Nagasawa with the invention of Mamiya in order to form a liquid-tight seal with the mating connector (Nagasawa, paragraph 58).
With regard to claim 2, Mamiya as modified by Nagasawa teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Mamiya does not teach: “wherein the guide portion is formed in an inclined shape to guide the jig between the terminal and the jig hooking portion”. However, Mamiya teaches an inclined shape on the jig (top of right end of 54 in figure 7) that guides the jig between the terminal (28 in figure 7) and the jig hook portion (portion engaged with 54 in figure 7). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to reverse the parts of Mamiya so there is an inclined guiding portion on the side retainer in order to guide the tool to unlock the locking lance, as shown in figure 7). Also, it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955).
With regard to claim 3, Mamiya as modified by Nagasawa teaches: “…the connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Mamiya also teaches, as shown in figures 1-7: “ “A terminal extracting method in a connector M including… and a jig 54, the terminal extracting method in a connector comprising: inserting the jig 54 into the terminal accommodating chamber 14 in a state of being in contact with the guide portion 40 such that the jig 54 comes into contact with the jig hooking portion; and operating the jig 54 such that the locking lance 18 is elastically deformed to release locking between the terminal 28 and the locking lance 18”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831