The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 62 (solar panels), 64 (batteries), 66 (lights), 58. 6a and 56b (detailed view mentioned in [0037]).
Note the replacement sheet filed 5/12/26 was not entered for containing new matter. No further replacement sheet which generically illustrates the features or shows the reference numbers was submitted as indicated in the remarks filed 9/22/26.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the at least three bases secured directly to the solid supporting surface without a separate foundation [cl. 6] must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Similarly, the three mounting portions positioned against “the” solid surface [cl. 7]. No new matter should be entered. The figures 1-2 show three bases each secured to a separate individual foundation 15. Figures 3 and 5 show bases 20 which are described as securable to a foundation 15. No figures show three bases or mounting portions thereof secured to any single or “the” solid supporting surface and more particularly without a foundation. As described in [0027],
A foundation 15 can provide a solid footing or base 20 for the system 10. A foundation 15 may be fixed or attached to a supporting surface. The ground or any suitable, solid surface may be considered a supporting surface as long as it is capable of supporting the system 10. A foundation 15 may be a component that is permanently fixed to or part of the supporting surface. A foundation 15 may also be a component this semi-permanently fixed to the supporting surface. A foundation 15 may be a component that removably fixed to the supporting surface, or even mobile. A foundation 15 can be composed of any suitable material, for example, cement, steel, plastic, suitable polymers, composites, or the like. A foundation 15 can be a container that is filled with a material that provides ballast or weight, for example, a plastic container that can be filled with sand. A foundation 15 may be anything that provides ballast for anchoring the system 10 and can be connected to the supporting surface, whether that connection is intended to be permanent or semi-permanent.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the tapered cross-section [cl.17] must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Note the replacement sheet filed 5/12/26 was not entered and no subsequent replacement sheet has been submitted as argued.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
No support is found in the original disclosure of the flexible poles being configured to elastically deflect in response to load. The original disclosure only supports flexible poles and makes no mention of configured to elastically deflect. There is no mention of elasticity at all.
While elastic materials are generally considered flexible, not all flexible materials are elastic.
Key Differences and Overlap
Elasticity refers to a material's ability to stretch or deform under stress and then return to its original shape once the stress is removed.
Flexibility, on the other hand, describes a material's ability to bend, twist, or conform without breaking, but it does not necessarily return to its original shape
The original disclosure recites that the pole can be a wide range of materials that are flexible, but necessarily elastic.
There is no support for tension maintaining the distal portions of the poles in an elastically deflected conditions [cl.11] or the poles maintained is elastically deflected conditions by tension in the sail [cl.15].
There is no support for the bases secured directly to the solid surface without a separate foundation [cls. 6, 19 and 20]. Any negative limitation or exclusionary proviso must have basis in the original disclosure.
The figures 1-2 show three bases each secured to a separate individual foundation 15. Figures 3 and 5 show bases 20 which are described as securable to a foundation 15. No figures show three bases secured to any single solid supporting surface and more particularly without a foundation. As described in [0027],
A foundation 15 can provide a solid footing or base 20 for the system 10. A foundation 15 may be fixed or attached to a supporting surface. The ground or any suitable, solid surface may be considered a supporting surface as long as it is capable of supporting the system 10. A foundation 15 may be a component that is permanently fixed to or part of the supporting surface. A foundation 15 may also be a component this semi-permanently fixed to the supporting surface. A foundation 15 may be a component that removably fixed to the supporting surface, or even mobile. A foundation 15 can be composed of any suitable material, for example, cement, steel, plastic, suitable polymers, composites, or the like. A foundation 15 can be a container that is filled with a material that provides ballast or weight, for example, a plastic container that can be filled with sand. A foundation 15 may be anything that provides ballast for anchoring the system 10 and can be connected to the supporting surface, whether that connection is intended to be permanent or semi-permanent.
The term “rigidly fixed” in claim 1is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “rigidly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear where rigid begins and ends and specification fails to provide adequate guidance as noted above:
A foundation 15 may be fixed or attached to a supporting surface. The ground or any suitable, solid surface may be considered a supporting surface as long as it is capable of supporting the system 10. A foundation 15 may be a component that is permanently fixed to or part of the supporting surface. A foundation 15 may also be a component this semi-permanently fixed to the supporting surface. A foundation 15 may be a component that removably fixed to the supporting surface, or even mobile. A foundation 15 can be composed of any suitable material, for example, cement, steel, plastic, suitable polymers, composites, or the like. A foundation 15 can be a container that is filled with a material that provides ballast or weight, for example, a plastic container that can be filled with sand. A foundation 15 may be anything that provides ballast for anchoring the system 10 and can be connected to the supporting surface, whether that connection is intended to be permanent or semi-permanent.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 12-16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 4,750,508 to Tatoian.
Tatoian provides shade system 10 comprised on at least three bases 18 fixed directly into a solid supporting surface (the earth or sand 12) each base includes an anchor member/socket 26 configured to receive a proximal end 20 of a flexible pole 16 and a sail 14 of flexible material. Column 8, lines 10-15, recite “The sail 14 can be made from any lightweight fabric material suitable for producing shade. Preferred materials are 200 denier Oxford nylon and 70 denier taffeta, each available from Noah Lamport, Inc., Los Angeles, Calif”.
As best understood, the bases are configured to be “rigidly fixed”. Note column 1, lines 33-35 which recite “firmly anchored” and col. 2, line 1 which recites “high degree of rigidity”.
Each of the poles 16 are flexible and “spring-like” which is considered to meet configured to elastically deflect (See col. 7, lines 3-39). The material, flexibility and elasticity pf the poles inherently makes them configured to elastically deflect in response to loads and attenuate the loads transmitted to the respective bases.
With respect to claim 3, PVC is a thermoplastic and col. 8, ins. 40+ discuss fiberglass reinforced PVC as the material of the flexible poles.
With respect to claim 7, flanges 34/36 are considered mounting portions positioned against the supporting surface and socket 26 the anchor extending therefrom.
With respect to claim 8, see socket 26.
With respect to claims 12-16, see column 7, lines 3-26.
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 4,750,508 to Tatoian in view of U.S. Patent 6,578,509 to Brushaber.
Tatoian provides each of the elements of the claim as noted above except for specifying the material of at least one of the flexible poles as comprised of unsaturated polyester resin [cl. 2] or a thermoset reinforced composite [cl. 4].
Brushaber teaches that at the time of the effective filing date of the invention it was known to construct resiliently flexible poles 24 of durable and weather-resistant materials such as fiberglass reinforced polyester.
Polyester poles, especially those used in fiberglass composites, are typically made from unsaturated polyester resin (UPR), because UPR’s double bonds allow it to cross-link and form the rigid, durable structure needed for such products.
Why UPR is Common for Polyester Poles
Unsaturated polyester resin is a thermosetting polymer produced by reacting polyols with dibasic acids that contain reactive double bonds (e.g., fumaric or maleic anhydride) These double bonds enable the resin to cure via free-radical polymerization when mixed with a monomer like styrene and a catalyst (e.g., MEKP). The curing process creates a three-dimensional cross-linked network, giving the final product high strength, hardness, and chemical resistance.
These properties make UPR ideal for fiberglass-reinforced poles (such as utility, marine, or structural poles), where:
Mechanical strength and impact resistance are critical.
Dimensional stability is needed for precise shapes.
Chemical resistance helps in corrosive environments.
It would have been an obvious choice of design at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected an unsaturated polyester resin/reinforced thermoset composite for the flexible poles of Tatoian since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice and a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue known options within his or her technical grasp. The claimed materials would have been obvious choices of design at the time of the effective date of the invention as Tatoian generally calls for any suitably flexible plastic material and the claimed materials would have been obvious choices for their inherent material properties such dimensional stability and weather resistance.
Claims 5-7, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 4,750,508 to Tatoian in view of U.S. 2003/0000563 to Kuperman.
Tatoian provides each of the elements of the claims as noted above except for the bases mounted to a solid concrete surface.
Kuperman teaches that at the time of the effective filing date of the invention it was known to provide surface engaging members or “bases” with a receptacle 66 for receiving the bottom of flexible legs of a shade system to secure the legs 12 of fiber reinforced material, aluminum, plastic etc. to a supporting surface (e.g. the ground, floor, etc.) [0031] where the bases have a through bore 68 for insertion of concrete rivet or bolt hen mounted to concrete floor [0037].
It would have been obvious at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to one having ordinary skill in the art that the poles of Tationa could have been mounted a concrete supporting surface using the bases of Kuperman and fixed rigidly thereto with a concrete rivet or bolt as taught by Kuperman. It would have been an obvious substitution one known anchoring to one surface (the earth or sand of Tatoian) to another (the concrete surface of Kuperman).
Moreover, all the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art would have combined the elements at the time of the effective filing date of the invention as claimed by known methods with a reasonable expectation of success with no change to their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art of anchoring the shade system of Tatoian to a concrete supporting surface.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 4,750,508 to Tatoian in view of U.S. 2004/0261953 to Hart.
Tatoian provides each of the elements of the claim as noted above except that at least one of the flexible poles 16 has a cross-section that taped along at least a portion of the length of the pole.
Hart teaches in Figure 45(g), as discussed in paragraph [0204], that it was known at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to use a tapered column in a shade system with a cross-sectional shape having a thickness greater near the base as this is where the bending moment is greatest.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective fling date of the invention to have tapered as least one of the columns of Tatoian as taught by Hart such that the bottom cross-sectional area was greater to strengthen the area where the bending moments would be the greatest.
Claims 1, 5-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. 2004/0261953 to Hart.
The teachings of Hart provide for a system for providing shade comprising at least three flexible poles 1010 rigidly fixed to a solid surface with a flexible shade sail 1020 tensioned therebetween (see at least Figure 10 teaches poles and paragraph [0136].
Paragraph [0079] teaches setting the columns rigidly with one option being a concrete bored footing. Paragraph [0090] teaches bored concrete footings 211 or “any type of footing/foundation may be used which will develop the binding moment restraints required. These teachings are considered to meet the bases of the claims with bored opening the anchor.
Each of the flexible poles is configured to elastically deflect in response to loads applied to the system to attenuate loads transmitted through the flexible pole to the respective base as discussed in paragraph [0092] which discusses the resiliency of the columns for dampening gusting loads/forces. By definition Resilient (adjective) means able to endure difficulty, shock, or stress without breaking, and to recover quickly from adversity. In materials, it can mean the ability to absorb energy and return to shape which is considered to meet “configured to elastically deflect”.
With respect to claim 9, at least several figures teach at least one of the bases having a pole receiving axis angled upwardly and outwardly from the sail (see fore example 211 in Fig 2, Fig. 3B, Fig.9, Fig.16.
With respect to claims 10-14, see at least paragraphs [0040-0044] which recite:
[0040] when the awning fabric is tensioned, the column is deflected towards a substantially vertical position.
[0041] In a fourth aspect, the present invention resides in a sail shaped awning supported on a plurality of spaced columns, wherein:
[0042] each column has a curved, outwardly and downwardly directed, upper distal column portion, adjacent upper distal column portions being interconnected by edge tensioning means for the awning fabric.
[0043] In a fifth aspect, the present invention resides in a sail shaped awning supported on a plurality of spaced columns, wherein:
[0044] each column has a curved, inwardly and downwardly directed upper distal column portion, the edges of the awning fabric being tensioned over the upper distal column portions and secured to the columns intermediate their height.
Also see figure 45 (iii)(b).
With respect to claim 17, Hart teaches in Figure 45(g), as discussed in paragraph [0204], that it was known at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to use a tapered column in a shade system with a cross-sectional shape having a thickness greater near the base as this is where the bending moment is greatest.
With respect to claim 18, see Figure 18a and paragraph [0152] which teaches two high and two low corners which meets “different lengths”.
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2004/0261953 to Hart in view of U.S. Patent 6,578,509 to Brushaber.
Hart provides each of the elements of the claim as noted above except for specifying the material of at least one of the resilient columns or “flexible poles” as comprised of unsaturated polyester resin [cl. 2] or a thermoset reinforced composite [cl. 4].
Brushaber teaches that at the time of the effective filing date of the invention it was known to construct resiliently flexible poles 24 of durable and weather-resistant materials such as fiberglass reinforced polyester.
Polyester poles, especially those used in fiberglass composites, are typically made from unsaturated polyester resin (UPR), because UPR’s double bonds allow it to cross-link and form the rigid, durable structure needed for such products.
Why UPR is Common for Polyester Poles
Unsaturated polyester resin is a thermosetting polymer produced by reacting polyols with dibasic acids that contain reactive double bonds (e.g., fumaric or maleic anhydride) These double bonds enable the resin to cure via free-radical polymerization when mixed with a monomer like styrene and a catalyst (e.g., MEKP). The curing process creates a three-dimensional cross-linked network, giving the final product high strength, hardness, and chemical resistance.
These properties make UPR ideal for fiberglass-reinforced poles (such as utility, marine, or structural poles), where:
Mechanical strength and impact resistance are critical.
Dimensional stability is needed for precise shapes.
Chemical resistance helps in corrosive environments.
It would have been an obvious choice of design at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected an unsaturated polyester resin/reinforced thermoset composite for the reliant columns/flexible poles of Hart since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice and a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue known options within his or her technical grasp. The claimed materials would have been obvious choices of design at the time of the effective date of the invention for their inherent material properties such dimensional stability and weather resistance.
Applicants’ arguments with respect Flores and Kite have been considered and are not necessarily persuasive but are moot because the new grounds of rejection do not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note:
U.S. Patent 3,195,898 to Respini teaches bases means 14 firmly fixed top the ground with outwardly angled stems for receipt of flexible poles 12 which support a flexible sheet therebetween. The side poles 12 are preferably flexible in the sense that they may be deflected inwardly to a substantial degree without the poles taking any appreciable permanent set while connected to the net. One material found to be quite satisfactory in this respect, and also from the standpoint of light weight, is high tensile aluminum tubing.
U.S. Patent 5,241,977 to Flores et al.
The rods 26 of U.S. Patent 10,183,206 to Nelson et al.
The rods 26 can be made of many different materials known in the art, such as but not limited to fiberglass or carbon fiber, such that the rods 26 are flexible, elastic, capable of returning to an initial form or state after deformation, and able to withstand the impact forces applied by sports-related balls and/or other projectiles that can be captured or caught by the ball net structure 10, or thrown, kicked, and/or hit towards the ball net structure 10.
The shafts or anchors of the bases of Nelson are also angled outwardly away.
In U.S. 11,933,064 to Brouwers et al. Sheet 106 and sidewall portions 111 can be made of any material capable of shielding occupants from light, UV rays, rain, or combinations thereof. In a non-limiting embodiment, the material is capable of providing tension between its connecting points when stretched and attached to frame 100 as disclosed herein.
U.S. Patent 11,174,655 to Graindlair teaches a shade system with bases 104 for poles 102 securable to a supporting ground surface with mechanical fasteners.
U.S. Patent 2,777,454 to Kramer teach the equivalency of the ground and sand at column 2, line 4.
U.S. Patent 2,928,405 to Lawson teaches support posts of a shade system secured to “the ground or other surface” with anchor pins 32 inserted through apertures in base plates 24.
U.S. Patent 5,154,132 to Brushaber provides a resiliently flexible pole 24, constructed of durable and weather resistant material, such as a fiberglass reinforced polyester.
U.S. Patent 5,263,468 to Powell teaches segments 60 preferably being constructed of a somewhat stiff but flexible material, such as a reinforced polyester tube, all in a manner well known in the construction of tent poles and the like.
U.S. 2004/0103935 to Porter teaches at [0025] support column bases 18a-18d is adapted for positioning on and/or insertion in a support surface such as the ground or a concrete slab which is not shown in the figure for simplicity.
ROBERT CANFIELD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/Robert Canfield/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636