DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-6,12,18,28-29,32,53-56,65, and 72 objected to because of the following informalities: the examiner suggests replacing “A user equipment according to claim1 “ with “the user equipment according to claim1 “. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6,12,18,28-29,32,,53-56,65,72,87,112,118 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6,12,18,28-29,32,53-56,65,72,87,112,118 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Manolakos et al. (US Application 2020/0351813, hereinafter Manolakos).
Regarding claims 1, 87, 112,118, Manolakos discloses a user equipment (Figs. 1, 5,6, item 115), a network entity (105), a method for transmitting and receiving data in a wireless communication system (100),
wherein the user equipment is configured to receive, from a first network entity of the wireless communication system, assistance data comprising information on a plurality of resources of the wireless communication system([0071],[0075], which recite the base stations 105 may transmit one or more additional downlink reference signals for communication, including a positioning reference signal (PRS) transmission. The PRS transmission may be configured for a specific UE 115 to measure and report one or more report parameters (for example, report quantities) associated with positioning and location information, A base station 105 may use the reported information as part of a UE-assisted positioning technique);
wherein the user equipment is configured to receive configuration information from the first network entity or from a second network entity of the wireless communication system([0071],[0075], which recite wireless communications system 100 may include use of PRS transmissions by the base station 105 or sounding reference signal (SRS) transmissions by the UE 115 for UE location determination. For downlink-based UE location determination, a location server 101, e.g., a Location Management Function (LMF) in a NR network or a Secure User Plane Location (SUPL) Location Platform (SLP) in LTE, may be used to provide positioning assistance, such as PRS assistance data (AD) to the UE 115. In UE-assisted positioning, the location server may receive measurement reports from the UE 115 that indicates position measurements for one or multiple base stations 105 with which location server may determine a position estimate for the UE 115, e.g., using OTDOA, or other desired techniques);
wherein the configuration information comprises information on one or more proper subsets of the plurality of resources, wherein each of the one or more proper subsets comprises at least one of the plurality of resources([0006]-[0007], which recites choosing a first subset of PRS resources from the plurality of PRS resources transmitted from the reference network entity to be used as reference PRS resources for a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD) calculation between the reference network entity and a target network entity, wherein the first subset of PRS resources comprises more than one PRS resource); and
wherein, depending on the configuration information, the user equipment is configured to perform and/or to report one or more measurements on one or more of the plurality of resources; ([0006]-[0007], which recites choosing a first subset of PRS resources from the plurality of PRS resources transmitted from the reference network entity to be used as reference PRS resources for a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD) calculation between the reference network entity and a target network entity, wherein the first subset of PRS resources comprises more than one PRS resource; determining report parameters associated with the first subset of PRS resources, the report parameters comprising at least one of a relative quality of the TOA measurement for each PRS resource in the first subset of PRS resources, a spread of the TOA measurements for the first subset of PRS resources, a relative reference signal receive power (RSRP) for each PRS resource in the first subset of PRS resources, a spread of the RSRP of each PRS resource in the first subset of PRS resources, or a combination thereof; and transmitting to a network entity an indication of the first subset of PRS resources and the report parameters associated with the first subset of PRS resources);
wherein the one or more proper subsets comprise one or more first subsets of the plurality of resources([0006]-[0007], which recites choosing a first subset of PRS resources from the plurality of PRS resources transmitted from the reference network entity to be used as reference PRS resources for a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD) calculation between the reference network entity and a target network entity, wherein the first subset of PRS resources comprises more than one PRS resource; determining report parameters associated with the first subset of PRS resources, the report parameters comprising at least one of a relative quality of the TOA measurement for each PRS resource in the first subset of PRS resources, a spread of the TOA measurements for the first subset of PRS resources, a relative reference signal receive power (RSRP) for each PRS resource in the first subset of PRS resources, a spread of the RSRP of each PRS resource in the first subset of PRS resources, or a combination thereof; and transmitting to a network entity an indication of the first subset of PRS resources and the report parameters associated with the first subset of PRS resources);
wherein, after receiving the configuration information, the user equipment is configured to perform and/or to report the one or more measurements on one or more of the plurality of resources that are comprised by the one or more first subsets([0006]-[0007], which recites determine report parameters associated with the first subset of PRS resources, the report parameters comprising at least one of a relative quality of the TOA measurement for each PRS resource in the first subset of PRS resources, a spread of the TOA measurements for the first subset of PRS resources, a relative reference signal receive power (RSRP) for each PRS resource in the first subset of PRS resources, a spread of the RSRP of each PRS resource in the first subset of PRS resources, or a combination thereof; and transmit to a network entity, via the wireless transceiver, an indication of the first subset of PRS resources and the report parameters associated with the first subset of PRS resources);
and/or wherein the one or more proper subsets comprise one or more second subsets of the plurality of resources([0128],[0151], which recites the UE 115 may report to the network entity, e.g., the location server 101, an indication of the second subset of PRS resources from the target network entity PRS resource set that are to be used as the target PRS resources for the RSTD measurement. The UE 115 may further determine and report one or more parameters associated with the one or more chosen subsets of PRS resources);
wherein, after receiving the configuration information, the user equipment is configured to perform and/or to report the one or more measurements on one or more of the plurality of resources that are not comprised by the one or more second subsets([0150], which recites the UE determines report parameters associated with the first subset of PRS resources, the report parameters comprising at least one of a relative quality of the TOA measurement for each PRS resource in the first subset of PRS resources, a spread of the TOA measurements for the first subset of PRS resources, a relative reference signal receive power (RSRP) for each PRS resource in the first subset of PRS resources, a spread of the RSRP of each PRS resource in the first subset of PRS resources).
Regarding claim 2, Manolakos discloses a user equipment according to A user equipment according to wherein the plurality of resources comprise a plurality of downlink resources of the wireless communication system([0127]-[0128]), wherein the assistance data comprises information on the plurality of downlink resources of the wireless communication system, wherein the one or more proper subsets comprise at least one of the plurality of downlink resources([0127]-[0128]).
Regarding claim 3, Manolakos discloses a user equipment according to A user equipment according to wherein the plurality of downlink resources comprise a plurality of downlink reference signal resources of the wireless communication system([0127]-[0128]); wherein the assistance data comprises information on the plurality of downlink reference signal resources of the wireless communication system; wherein the one or more proper subsets comprise at least one of the plurality of downlink reference signal resources([0127]-[0128]).
Regarding claim 4, Manolakos discloses a user equipment according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of downlink resources comprise comprises at least one of:
a plurality of physical downlink control channel resources of the wireless communication system, wherein the assistance data comprises information on the plurality of physical downlink control channel resources of the wireless communication system, wherein the one or more proper subsets comprise at least one of the plurality of physical downlink control channel resources([0127]-[0128]);
a plurality of physical downlink shared channel resources of the wireless communication system, wherein the assistance data comprises information on the plurality of physical downlink shared channel resources of the wireless communication system, wherein the one or more proper subsets comprise at least one of the plurality of physical downlink shared channel resources([0127]-[0128]);
a plurality of physical broadcast channel resources of the wireless communication system, wherein the assistance data comprises information on the plurality of physical broadcast channel resources of the wireless communication system, wherein the one or more proper subsets comprise at least one of the plurality of physical broadcast channel resources([0028],[0127]-[0128]).
Regarding claim 5, Manolakos discloses a user equipment according to claim 1,
wherein the user equipment is configured to perform and/or to report or to perform and report at least one of:
the one or more measurements on all resources of the plurality of resources that are comprised by the one or more first subsets([0128],[0151]);
the one or more measurements on all resources of the plurality of resources that are not comprised by the one or more second subsets([0150]);
the one or more measurements on one or more but not all of the plurality of resources that are comprised by the one or more first subsets([0150]);
the one or more measurements on one or more but not all of the plurality of resources that are not comprised by the one or more second subsets([0150]);
the one or more measurements to determine at least one of power delay profile information and one or more channel impulse response reports and one or more phase measurements on a first arrival path([0006]-[0007],[0047]).
Regarding claim 6, Manolakos discloses a user equipment according to claim 1wherein the configuration information comprises information on one or more proper subsets of the plurality of resources for the purpose of prioritization([0127]-[0128]).
Regarding claim 12, Manolakos discloses a user equipment according to claim 1,wherein the user equipment is configured to determine a positioning method depending on a resource of the at least one proper subset to perform and/or to report or to perform and report the one or more measurements on the one or more of the plurality of resources([0127]-[0128]).
Regarding claim 18, Manolakos discloses a user equipment according to claim 1,wherein the assistance data comprises information that is hierarchically organized in two or more layers, wherein each of the two or more layers comprises one or more information nodes, wherein for at least one of the two or more layers, each of the one or more information nodes of said layer provides information on one of the plurality of resources([0052]).
Regarding claim 28, Manolakos discloses a user equipment according to claim 1,
wherein the user equipment is configured to determine the one or more proper subsets depending on a criterion, and wherein the criterion is indicated by the configuration information ,or is selected depending on the one or more measurements, or is indicated by the configuration information and selected depending on the one or more measurements([0127]-[0128]).
Regarding claim 29, Manolakos discloses a user equipment according to claim 28,
wherein the criterion defines that the user equipment shall select the one or more proper subsets depending on at least one of one or more reference signal receive power measurements one or more time of arrival measurements one or more signal qualities of one or more of the plurality of resources([0127]-[0128],[0150]), and
wherein the user equipment is configured to determine the one or more proper subsets depending on at least one of the one or more reference signal receive power measurements the one or more time of arrival measurements and/or the one or more signal qualities of the one or more of the plurality of resources([0127]-[0128],[0150]).
Regarding claim 32, Manolakos discloses a user equipment according to claim 1,
wherein the one or more measurements comprise at least one of a measurement of a reference signal receive power for a downlink angle of departure, or a measurement of a reference signal time difference for a downlink time difference of arrival1 and/es a user equipment receive-transmit round trip time([0127]-[0128],[0150]).
Regarding claim 53, Manolakos discloses a user equipment according to claim 1,
wherein each of the plurality of resources is associated with one of a plurality of beams (Abstract, [0005]) wherein the configuration information comprises the information on the one or more proper subsets, wherein the one or more proper subsets comprise one or more of the plurality of resources, which are associated with one or more first beams of the plurality of beams, and does not comprise one or more other resources of the plurality of resources, which are associated with one or more second beams of the plurality of beams(Abstract, [0005]);
wherein the user equipment is configured to perform or to report or to perform and report the one or more measurements for at least one of the one or more first beams(Abstract, [0005]).
Regarding claim 54, Manolakos discloses a user equipment according to claim 53,
wherein, after receiving the configuration information, the user equipment is configured to not perform any measurement for any one of the one or more second beams([0006]-[0007]).
Regarding claim 55, Manolakos discloses a user equipment according to claim 53,
wherein the configuration information depends on a beam direction and an expected coverage of one or more of the plurality of beams(Fig. 7,[0019], [0121]).
Regarding claim 56, Manolakos discloses a user equipment according to claim 53, wherein the configuration information depends whether or not a line-of-sight condition is valid for one or more of the plurality of beams([0122]).
Regarding claim 65, Manolakos discloses a user equipment according to claim 1,
wherein the user equipment is configured to perform and/or to report or to perform and report the one or more measurements on the one or more of the plurality of resources for determining a position of the user equipment without taking the first line-of-sight information into account and/,or without taking the maximum reference signal received power information into account, or without takinq the first line-of-sight information and the maximum reference signal received power information into account(Fig. 7,[0019], [0121]-[0122]) ,
wherein the user equipment is configured to perform or to report or to perform and report the one or more measurements on the one or more of the plurality of resources for transmitting the information on the one or more measurements to the first network entity or to the second network entity to enable the first network entity or the second network entity to determine the position of the user equipment without taking the first line-of-sight information into account and/or without taking, or without takinq the maximum reference signal received power information into account, or without taking the first line-of-sight information and the maximum reference signal received power information into account(Fig. 7,[0019], [0121]-[0122]).
Regarding claim 72, Manolakos discloses a user equipment according to claim 1,
wherein the configuration information indicates, for at least one of the plurality of resources, association data, wherein the association data comprises for the one or more proper subsets an indication of one or more geographical areas, within which the one or more proper subsets are expected to be measured([0032]-[0033]).
Conclusion
/DADY CHERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461