DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The reply filed 02/13/2026 has been entered into record. Claims 1-15 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed 02/13/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because they do not apply to the new combination of references being used in the current rejection, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ohlsson et al (US 2021/0385727).
Regarding Claim 1, Ohlsson teaches a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system (Fig. 2), the method comprising: receiving a control message including configuration information for a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state ([0049], Although not shown, the method in some embodiments further comprises transmitting signalling from an AS layer at the wireless device 14 towards a NAS layer at the wireless device 14. The AS-to-NAS signalling may for instance indicate one or more of: (i) that access barring for an access category of the wireless device 14 is alleviated; (ii) that the wireless device 14 is to transition or has transitioned from the RRC inactive state);
entering the RRC inactive state based on the configuration information ([0045], Fig. 2, entering an out-of-coverage state while the wireless device is in a radio resource control, RRC, inactive state (Block 200));
performing cell selection ([0045], Fig. 2, out-of-coverage state may for instance include an any cell selection state in which the wireless device 14 attempts to find an acceptable link of any wireless communication network (and any supported RAT) to camp on); and
in case that the terminal in the RRC inactive state fails to find a suitable cell and camps on an acceptable cell based on the cell selection ([0045], Fig. 2, out-of-coverage state may for instance be a state in which the wireless device 14 has failed to find a suitable link (e.g., cell, beam, base station) of a selected wireless communication network (e.g., a selected PLMN). An out-of-coverage state may for instance include an any cell selection state in which the wireless device 14 attempts to find an acceptable link of any wireless communication network (and any supported RAT) to camp on. Alternatively or additionally, an out-of-coverage state includes a camped on any cell state in which the wireless device 14 finds and camps on such an acceptable link),
entering an RRC idle state ([0046-0047], responsive to access barring for an access category of the wireless device 14 being alleviated while the wireless device 14 is in the out-of-coverage state, canceling or postponing a pending RNA update (e.g., a pending RAN-based notification area, RNA, update) (Block 210). In one example, canceling or postponing the pending RNA update may include canceling the pending RNA update. In this case, although not shown, the method may further include, in addition to canceling the pending RNA update responsive to the access barring being alleviated while the wireless device 14 is in the out-of-coverage state, transiting from the RRC inactive state to an RRC idle state (Block 220)).
Regarding Claim 2, Ohlsson teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the performing of the cell selection comprises: performing a cell selection process to find the suitable cell; and in case that the cell selection process fails to find the suitable cell, searching for the acceptable cell ([0079], UE is considered out-of-coverage if it fails to find a suitable cell of the selected public land mobile network (PLMN) to camp on. When this happens, the UE enters “any cell selection” state where it will attempt to find an acceptable cell of any PLMN to camp on, trying all radio access technologies (RATs) that are supported by the UE. If an acceptable cell is found, the UE enters the “camped on any cell” state where it will be able to obtain limited service (e.g. initiate emergency calls and receive public warning notifications)).
Regarding Claim 3, Ohlsson teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising discarding context information of the terminal in case that the terminal enters the RRC idle state ([0034], In the RRC connected state, the wireless device maintains an RRC connection 16 with the RAN 10A, e.g., at a serving radio network node 18 in the RAN 10A. The RAN 10A in turn maintains a connection 20 to the CN 10B for the wireless device 14. In the RRC idle state, by contrast, the RRC connection 16 and RAN-CN connection 20 are released. In the RRC inactive state, the RRC connection 16 is suspended, but the RAN-CN connection 20 may be maintained. Suspension of the RRC connection 16 may mean that configurations obtained in the RRC connected state, e.g., related to an access-stratum (AS) context, security context, radio bearers, etc. are preserved, so that the configurations may be resumed without re-establishing them from scratch).
Regarding Claim 4, Ohlsson teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising stopping a radio access network-based notification area (RNA) update in case that the terminal enters the RRC idle state ([0046-0047], responsive to access barring for an access category of the wireless device 14 being alleviated while the wireless device 14 is in the out-of-coverage state, canceling or postponing a pending RNA update (e.g., a pending RAN-based notification area, RNA, update) (Block 210). In one example, canceling or postponing the pending RNA update may include canceling the pending RNA update. In this case, although not shown, the method may further include, in addition to canceling the pending RNA update responsive to the access barring being alleviated while the wireless device 14 is in the out-of-coverage state, transiting from the RRC inactive state to an RRC idle state (Block 220)).
Regarding Claim 5, Ohlsson teaches a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: determining configuration information for a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state ([0034], In the RRC inactive state, the RRC connection 16 is suspended, but the RAN-CN connection 20 may be maintained. Suspension of the RRC connection 16 may mean that configurations obtained in the RRC connected state, e.g., related to an access-stratum (AS) context, security context, radio bearers, etc. are preserved, so that the configurations may be resumed without re-establishing them from scratch); and
transmitting a control message including the configuration information to a terminal, wherein the configuration information comprises an indication for the terminal to enter the RRC inactive state ([0049], Although not shown, the method in some embodiments further comprises transmitting signalling from an AS layer at the wireless device 14 towards a NAS layer at the wireless device 14. The AS-to-NAS signalling may for instance indicate one or more of: (i) that access barring for an access category of the wireless device 14 is alleviated; (ii) that the wireless device 14 is to transition or has transitioned from the RRC inactive state, [0045], Fig. 2, entering an out-of-coverage state while the wireless device is in a radio resource control, RRC, inactive state (Block 200)), and
wherein in case that the terminal in the RRC inactive state fails to find a suitable cell and camps on an acceptable cell based on cell selection ([0045], Fig. 2, out-of-coverage state may for instance be a state in which the wireless device 14 has failed to find a suitable link (e.g., cell, beam, base station) of a selected wireless communication network (e.g., a selected PLMN). An out-of-coverage state may for instance include an any cell selection state in which the wireless device 14 attempts to find an acceptable link of any wireless communication network (and any supported RAT) to camp on. Alternatively or additionally, an out-of-coverage state includes a camped on any cell state in which the wireless device 14 finds and camps on such an acceptable link),
a state transition of the terminal to enter an RRC idle state is performed ([0046-0047], responsive to access barring for an access category of the wireless device 14 being alleviated while the wireless device 14 is in the out-of-coverage state, canceling or postponing a pending RNA update (e.g., a pending RAN-based notification area, RNA, update) (Block 210). In one example, canceling or postponing the pending RNA update may include canceling the pending RNA update. In this case, although not shown, the method may further include, in addition to canceling the pending RNA update responsive to the access barring being alleviated while the wireless device 14 is in the out-of-coverage state, transiting from the RRC inactive state to an RRC idle state (Block 220)).
Regarding Claim 6, Ohlsson teaches the method of claim 5, wherein context information of the terminal is discarded in case that the terminal enters the RRC idle state ([0034], In the RRC connected state, the wireless device maintains an RRC connection 16 with the RAN 10A, e.g., at a serving radio network node 18 in the RAN 10A. The RAN 10A in turn maintains a connection 20 to the CN 10B for the wireless device 14. In the RRC idle state, by contrast, the RRC connection 16 and RAN-CN connection 20 are released. In the RRC inactive state, the RRC connection 16 is suspended, but the RAN-CN connection 20 may be maintained. Suspension of the RRC connection 16 may mean that configurations obtained in the RRC connected state, e.g., related to an access-stratum (AS) context, security context, radio bearers, etc. are preserved, so that the configurations may be resumed without re-establishing them from scratch).
Regarding Claim 7, Ohlsson teaches the method of claim 5, wherein a radio access network-based notification area (RNA) update is stopped in case that the terminal enters the RRC idle state ([0046-0047], responsive to access barring for an access category of the wireless device 14 being alleviated while the wireless device 14 is in the out-of-coverage state, canceling or postponing a pending RNA update (e.g., a pending RAN-based notification area, RNA, update) (Block 210). In one example, canceling or postponing the pending RNA update may include canceling the pending RNA update. In this case, although not shown, the method may further include, in addition to canceling the pending RNA update responsive to the access barring being alleviated while the wireless device 14 is in the out-of-coverage state, transiting from the RRC inactive state to an RRC idle state (Block 220)).
Regarding Claim 8, Ohlsson teaches a terminal for operating in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver; and a processor coupled with the transceiver ([0052-0062], Fig. 11) and configured to:
control the transceiver to receive a control message including configuration information for a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state ([0049], Fig. 2, Although not shown, the method in some embodiments further comprises transmitting signalling from an AS layer at the wireless device 14 towards a NAS layer at the wireless device 14. The AS-to-NAS signalling may for instance indicate one or more of: (i) that access barring for an access category of the wireless device 14 is alleviated; (ii) that the wireless device 14 is to transition or has transitioned from the RRC inactive state),
enter the RRC inactive state based on the configuration information ([0045], Fig. 2, entering an out-of-coverage state while the wireless device is in a radio resource control, RRC, inactive state (Block 200)),
perform cell selection ([0045], Fig. 2, out-of-coverage state may for instance include an any cell selection state in which the wireless device 14 attempts to find an acceptable link of any wireless communication network (and any supported RAT) to camp on), and
in case that the terminal in the RRC inactive state fails to find a suitable cell and camps on an acceptable cell based on the cell selection ([0045], Fig. 2, out-of-coverage state may for instance be a state in which the wireless device 14 has failed to find a suitable link (e.g., cell, beam, base station) of a selected wireless communication network (e.g., a selected PLMN). An out-of-coverage state may for instance include an any cell selection state in which the wireless device 14 attempts to find an acceptable link of any wireless communication network (and any supported RAT) to camp on. Alternatively or additionally, an out-of-coverage state includes a camped on any cell state in which the wireless device 14 finds and camps on such an acceptable link),
enter an RRC idle state ([0046-0047], responsive to access barring for an access category of the wireless device 14 being alleviated while the wireless device 14 is in the out-of-coverage state, canceling or postponing a pending RNA update (e.g., a pending RAN-based notification area, RNA, update) (Block 210). In one example, canceling or postponing the pending RNA update may include canceling the pending RNA update. In this case, although not shown, the method may further include, in addition to canceling the pending RNA update responsive to the access barring being alleviated while the wireless device 14 is in the out-of-coverage state, transiting from the RRC inactive state to an RRC idle state (Block 220)).
Regarding Claim 9, Ohlsson teaches the terminal of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to: perform a cell selection process to find the suitable cell, and in case that the cell selection process fails to find the suitable cell, search for the acceptable cell ([0079], UE is considered out-of-coverage if it fails to find a suitable cell of the selected public land mobile network (PLMN) to camp on. When this happens, the UE enters “any cell selection” state where it will attempt to find an acceptable cell of any PLMN to camp on, trying all radio access technologies (RATs) that are supported by the UE. If an acceptable cell is found, the UE enters the “camped on any cell” state where it will be able to obtain limited service (e.g. initiate emergency calls and receive public warning notifications)).
Regarding Claim 10, Ohlsson teaches the terminal of claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to discard context information of the terminal in case that the terminal enters the RRC idle state ([0034], In the RRC connected state, the wireless device maintains an RRC connection 16 with the RAN 10A, e.g., at a serving radio network node 18 in the RAN 10A. The RAN 10A in turn maintains a connection 20 to the CN 10B for the wireless device 14. In the RRC idle state, by contrast, the RRC connection 16 and RAN-CN connection 20 are released. In the RRC inactive state, the RRC connection 16 is suspended, but the RAN-CN connection 20 may be maintained. Suspension of the RRC connection 16 may mean that configurations obtained in the RRC connected state, e.g., related to an access-stratum (AS) context, security context, radio bearers, etc. are preserved, so that the configurations may be resumed without re-establishing them from scratch).
Regarding Claim 11, Ohlsson teaches the terminal of claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to stop a radio access network-based notification area (RNA) update in case that the terminal enters the RRC idle state ([0046-0047], responsive to access barring for an access category of the wireless device 14 being alleviated while the wireless device 14 is in the out-of-coverage state, canceling or postponing a pending RNA update (e.g., a pending RAN-based notification area, RNA, update) (Block 210). In one example, canceling or postponing the pending RNA update may include canceling the pending RNA update. In this case, although not shown, the method may further include, in addition to canceling the pending RNA update responsive to the access barring being alleviated while the wireless device 14 is in the out-of-coverage state, transiting from the RRC inactive state to an RRC idle state (Block 220)).
Regarding Claim 12, Ohlsson teaches a base station for operating in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver; and a processor coupled with the transceiver ([0052-0062], Fig. 11) and configured to:
determine configuration information for a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state ([0034], In the RRC inactive state, the RRC connection 16 is suspended, but the RAN-CN connection 20 may be maintained. Suspension of the RRC connection 16 may mean that configurations obtained in the RRC connected state, e.g., related to an access-stratum (AS) context, security context, radio bearers, etc. are preserved, so that the configurations may be resumed without re-establishing them from scratch), and
control the transceiver to transmit a control message including the configuration information to a terminal, wherein the configuration information comprises an indication for the terminal to enter the RRC inactive state ([0049], Although not shown, the method in some embodiments further comprises transmitting signalling from an AS layer at the wireless device 14 towards a NAS layer at the wireless device 14. The AS-to-NAS signalling may for instance indicate one or more of: (i) that access barring for an access category of the wireless device 14 is alleviated; (ii) that the wireless device 14 is to transition or has transitioned from the RRC inactive state, [0045], Fig. 2, entering an out-of-coverage state while the wireless device is in a radio resource control, RRC, inactive state (Block 200)), and
wherein in case that the terminal in the RRC inactive state fails to find a suitable cell and camps on an acceptable cell based on cell selection ([0045], Fig. 2, out-of-coverage state may for instance be a state in which the wireless device 14 has failed to find a suitable link (e.g., cell, beam, base station) of a selected wireless communication network (e.g., a selected PLMN). An out-of-coverage state may for instance include an any cell selection state in which the wireless device 14 attempts to find an acceptable link of any wireless communication network (and any supported RAT) to camp on. Alternatively or additionally, an out-of-coverage state includes a camped on any cell state in which the wireless device 14 finds and camps on such an acceptable link),
a state transition of the terminal to enter an RRC idle state is performed ([0046-0047], responsive to access barring for an access category of the wireless device 14 being alleviated while the wireless device 14 is in the out-of-coverage state, canceling or postponing a pending RNA update (e.g., a pending RAN-based notification area, RNA, update) (Block 210). In one example, canceling or postponing the pending RNA update may include canceling the pending RNA update. In this case, although not shown, the method may further include, in addition to canceling the pending RNA update responsive to the access barring being alleviated while the wireless device 14 is in the out-of-coverage state, transiting from the RRC inactive state to an RRC idle state (Block 220)).
Regarding Claim 13, Ohlsson teaches the base station of claim 12, wherein context information of the terminal is discarded in case that the terminal enters the RRC idle state ([0034], In the RRC connected state, the wireless device maintains an RRC connection 16 with the RAN 10A, e.g., at a serving radio network node 18 in the RAN 10A. The RAN 10A in turn maintains a connection 20 to the CN 10B for the wireless device 14. In the RRC idle state, by contrast, the RRC connection 16 and RAN-CN connection 20 are released. In the RRC inactive state, the RRC connection 16 is suspended, but the RAN-CN connection 20 may be maintained. Suspension of the RRC connection 16 may mean that configurations obtained in the RRC connected state, e.g., related to an access-stratum (AS) context, security context, radio bearers, etc. are preserved, so that the configurations may be resumed without re-establishing them from scratch).
Regarding Claim 14, Ohlsson teaches the base station of claim 12, wherein a radio access network- based notification area (RNA) update is stopped in case that the terminal enters the RRC idle state ([0046-0047], responsive to access barring for an access category of the wireless device 14 being alleviated while the wireless device 14 is in the out-of-coverage state, canceling or postponing a pending RNA update (e.g., a pending RAN-based notification area, RNA, update) (Block 210). In one example, canceling or postponing the pending RNA update may include canceling the pending RNA update. In this case, although not shown, the method may further include, in addition to canceling the pending RNA update responsive to the access barring being alleviated while the wireless device 14 is in the out-of-coverage state, transiting from the RRC inactive state to an RRC idle state (Block 220)).
Regarding Claim 15, Ohlsson teaches the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program, which when executed by a processor of an electronic device, causes the electronic device to perform the method of claim 1 ([0067-0069]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Jung et al (US 2020/0045593) teaches FIG. 2H illustrates a flowchart of operations of a UE according to a case where the UE camps on a suitable cell, a case where the UE that camped on the suitable cell is temporarily in out of coverage from a camped normally state, a case where the UE camps on an acceptable cell, or a case where the UE does not camp on any cell, when a T380 timer stops, the T380 timer been driven by the UE after the UE in an RRC connected mode transitioned to an RRC inactive mode, according to an embodiment of the disclosure ([0049]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET G WEBB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641