DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Claims 21-40 in the claim set filed February 13th, 2024, were pending for examination in the Application No. 18/505,523 filed November 9th, 2023. In the remarks and amendments received on April 14th, 2026, claims 21, 31, and 40 are amended and claims 1-20 remain canceled. Accordingly, claims 21-40 are currently pending for examination in the application.
In response to amendments filed April 14th, 2026, to the claims, the double patenting rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed January 14th, 2026, is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed April 14th, 2026, regarding the rejection(s) of the claims have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The examiner respectfully disagrees that Otten’s “user-driven retrieval based on consumer input” does not reasonably disclose, teach, and/or suggest the claim limitations of “filtering, by the one or more processors, the metadata via one or more filtering components to generate filtered metadata” and “sorting, by the one or more processors, the at least one image based on the filtered metadata to generate at least one sorted image” recited in claims 21, 31, and 40 (see pgs. 11-12 of Applicant’s Remarks).
As disclosed in the current rejection of claim 21 below, Otten discloses said claim limitations outlined above. Lines 35-43 and 50-62 of col. 9 of Otten discloses “sorting… the at least one image” as “determin[ing] a vehicle image to display” from amongst a plurality of vehicle images by filtering “metadata” of “classification ID[s]” corresponding to the “feature content” in each vehicle image in the plurality of vehicle images “via one or more filtering components” of user selected features (e.g., a first “selected feature or view”, “second feature or view for display”, etc.) (see the analysis in the rejection of claim 21 below).
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2111). For example, the terms “metadata” and “filtering components” in these claim limitations have not been limited in their interpretations in the claims on what is considered as “metadata” and “filtering components”, respectively, nor have the claims explicitly required limitations on what is considered as “filtering… the metadata via one or more filtering components” nor “sorting… the at least one image based on the filtered metadata to generate at least one sorted image”. Therefore, the claims do not preclude the determination of a “vehicle image to display” from amongst a plurality of vehicles images based on filtering the metadata (e.g., “classification ID[s]” corresponding to “feature content” in the plurality of vehicle images) by user selected features as disclosed in Otten as “filtering, by the one or more processors, the metadata via one or more filtering components to generate filtered metadata” and “sorting, by the one or more processors, the at least one image based on the filtered metadata to generate at least one sorted image”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees that Otten nor Endras does not reasonably disclose, teach, and/or suggest the claim limitations of “wherein the at least one image is stored in a queue of images” and “after the analyzing the at least one image via the at least one of the plurality of image plugins, removing the at least one image from the queue of images” recited in claim 40 (see pgs. 13-14 of Applicant’s Remarks).
As disclosed in the current rejection of claim 40 below, Endras teaches said claim limitations above. Paragraphs [0093] and [0105] of Endras teaches that the “at least one image” can be “stored in a queue of images” of image “frame[s]” in a “video stream” queued to be processed for “predetermined view” determination and/or queued to be processed for further processing (e.g., ”post processing”); wherein “ignor[ing] the frame” in the “video stream” after analyzing that the image “frame” does not have a probability of a view above a threshold via at least one of a plurality of image plugins (e.g., a machine learning model in the “machine learning models” trained for each “different vehicle views” as disclosed in paragraphs [0026-0027] of Endras) is “removing the at least one image from the queue of images” as the ignored image frame is no longer considered to be in the queue of images waiting to be used in further processing (e.g., ”post processing”) and/or the image is no longer needed in the consideration of the current “probability view” determination (see the analysis in the rejection of claim 40 below).
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2111). For example, the claims do not explicitly require limits on what is considered as a “queue of images” nor what is considered as “removing the at least one image from the queue of images”. Therefore, the claims do not preclude the image “frame[s]” in a “video stream” queued to be processed for “predetermined view” determination and/or queued to be processed for further processing (e.g., ”post processing”) as a “queue of images” and “ignor[ing] the frame” in the “video stream” after analyzing that the image “frame” does not have a probability of a view above a threshold via at least one of a plurality of image plugins of a “machine learning model” from “machine learning models” trained for each “different vehicle views” as “removing the at least one image from the queue of images”.
Further, the examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assertion that Endras does not teach the claim limitation “wherein each of the plurality of image plugins is configured to be added to or removed from an image labeler without affecting operation of the image labeler” recited in claim 21 because the machine learning models trained for specific views as disclosed in Endras are not a plurality of image plugins (see pg. 12 of Applicant’s Remarks”).
As disclosed in the current rejection of claim 21 below, Endras teaches said claim limitations above. Paragraphs [0026-0027], [0033], and [0076] of Endras teaches that the “plurality of image plugins” are a plurality of “machine learning models” trained for “different vehicle views”; wherein each image plugin in the plurality of image plugins satisfies the intended use/result of being “configured to be added to or removed from an image labeler without affecting operation of the image labeler” as a single image plugin (e.g., trained “machine learning model”) can be at least added to an image labeler (e.g., “model trainer”, “Autovision application”, ” and/or “View Recognizer Classifier”) by at least “send[ing]” the model to the image labeler without affecting operation of the image labeler of “recognizing the target view[s]” (see the analysis in the rejection of claim 21 below).
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2111). For example, the claims do not explicitly require limits on what is considered as an “image plugin” nor what is considered as configuring each image plugin in the plurality of image plugins “to be added to or removed from an image labeler without affecting operation of the image labeler”. Therefore, the claims do not preclude the machine learning models trained for specific views as disclosed in Endras as a “plurality of image plugins” and sending machine learning models for view recognizer classification for “different vehicle views” and/or “additional target views” as disclosed in Endras as each image plugin in “the plurality of image plugins configured to be added to or removed from an image labeler without affecting operation of the image labeler”.
Furthermore, the language in the claim limitation “each [image plugin in] the plurality of image plugins is configured to be added to or removed from an image labeler without affecting operation of the image labeler” (emphasis added) recites intended use/result language. Therefore, since Endras teaches that additional image plugins (e.g., “machine learning models”) can at least be added to account for “different vehicle views” or “additional target views”, Endras teaches that each image plugin can be at least added to the image labeler without affecting operation of the image labeler (see the analysis in the rejection of claim 21 below).
Priority (Previously Presented)
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s status as a continuation (CON) of Patent Application No. 17/079,838 filed on October 26th, 2020, now U.S. Patent 11,816,823, which is a CON of Patent Application No. 16/695,596, filed on November 26th, 2019, now U.S. Patent 10,818,002.
Information Disclosure Statement
In the previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed January 14th, 2026, foreign patent document no. 1 (CN 103777852) and non-patent literature document no. 1 (Gao et al., “Vehicle make recognition based on convolutional neural network,” 2015) in the information disclosure statement (IDS) filed November 9th, 2023, were stated to fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2) for failing to provide a legible copy of each of these documents. In the remarks received April 14th, 2026, the Applicant brought to the examiner’s attention a copy of each of these documents have been submitted in the parent U.S. application no. 16/695,596 on November 26th, 2019, and January 31st, 2020 in accordance to MPEP Section 609.02. Accordingly, these documents in the attached IDS are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 6 of claim 21, the examiner respectfully suggests amending the phrase “wherein each of the plurality of image plugins…” to recite “wherein each [[of]]image plugin in the plurality of image plugins…” to prevent confusion on whether the term “each” refers to multiple “plurality of image plugins” or to each image plugin in the “plurality of image plugins”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 23-26, 28-31, 33-36, and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otten et al. (Otten; US 11,270,168 B1) in view of Endras et al. (Endras; US 2019/0294878 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Otten discloses a computer-implemented method for processing images, the method comprising:
obtaining, by one or more processors, at least one image for analyzing, wherein the at least one image depicts at least one object (lines 65-67 of col. 6 to lines 1-3 of col. 7, recite(s)
[lines 65-67 of col. 6 to lines 1-3 of col. 7] “…First, the dealership 102.sub.1 obtains a set of vehicle images, e.g., the vehicle images 202.sub.1-202.sub.j. The set of vehicle images may be obtained through, for example, a third-party photographer hired to take photographs of the vehicles on the lot of the dealership 102.sub.1.”
, where the “vehicle images” include at least one image for analyzing);
inputting, by the one or more processors, the at least one image to at least one(lines 17-34 of col. 7, recite(s)
[lines 17-34 of col. 7] “Third, the general flow of operations performed by the VIC system 100 continues with an analysis of the vehicle images 202.sub.1-202.sub.j by the image classification machine learning logic (ML) 112. The analysis performed by the image classification ML logic 112 results in a classification of each of the vehicle images 202.sub.1-202.sub.j, e.g., an assignment of a classification identifier (ID) to each of the vehicle images 202.sub.1-202.sub.j. In one embodiment, a classification ID as assigned to a vehicle image may correspond to an item type descriptor that indicates an image assigned a particular classification ID illustrates a particular feature or view. More specifically, the image classification ML logic 112 applies a machine learning model previously generated by the image classification ML logic 112. The machine learning model is generated through supervised learning using a training set to generate a mapping function that represents an algorithm for mapping input data to an output (e.g., a vehicle image to a classification ID, or to a listing of features or views).”
, where the “vehicle images” are analyzed by the “image classification machine learning logic [or model]” is inputting the at least one image to at least one image plugin)
analyzing, by the one or more processors, the at least one image via the at least one(lines 17-34 of col. 7—see preceding citation immediately above—, where the outputted classification of a “listing of features or views” are identified one or more different aspects of the vehicle);
determining, by the one or more processors, metadata related to the at least one image based on the at least one of the plurality of image plugins (lines 17-34 of col. 7—see preceding citation immediately above—, where lines 8-17 of col. 8 further recite(s):
[lines 8-17 of col. 8] “Fourth, upon assignment of a classification ID to each of the vehicle images 202.sub.1-202.sub.j, the vehicle images 202.sub.1-202.sub.j and their corresponding classification IDs, e.g., the classification IDs 204.sub.1-204.sub.j, are again stored in the vehicle image data store 110. Additional details regarding the image classification process and storage are illustrated in FIG. 3. Fifth, the feature content data store 114 stores feature content, which includes, at least, textual information describing one or more features or views of specific vehicles on the dealer's lot, e.g., the vehicle.sub.VIN=123XYZ. …”
, where the “classification IDs… stored in the vehicle image data store” is metadata related to the at least one image);
filtering, by the one or more processors, the metadata via one or more filtering components to generate filtered metadata (lines 35-43 and 50-62 of col. 9—see citations in claim 21 limitation “sorting…” above—
[lines 35-43 of col. 9] “In one embodiment, when providing input to select a specific vehicle, the consumer also selects a view or feature of the vehicle, e.g., a “front view.” For example, in order to determine a vehicle image to display and the corresponding classification ID, the widget compares the consumer selected feature or view to a dataset, e.g., a table storing features/view and the corresponding classification IDs, that indicates a classification ID corresponding to each feature and/or view. …”
[lines 50-62 of col. 9] “By comparing consumer input or the default view to the dataset, the widget may determine the classification ID of the selected feature or view, which enables the widget to display the one or more portions of feature content based on the image-to-feature association. Upon determining the classification ID, the widget causes the rendering of the vehicle image and the one or more portions of feature content that correspond to the determined one or more classification IDs, with the rendering occurring within the GUI 122 of the website 120. As the user selects a second feature or view for display, the widget again references the image-to-feature association for instruction as to which vehicle image and portions of feature content to render.”
, where “determin[ing] a vehicle image to display” based on a plurality of user selected features (e.g., a first “selected feature or view” and a “second feature or view for display”) to determine the “classification ID” of the “vehicle image to display” is generating filtered metadata by filtering metadata (e.g., “classification IDs”) via one or more filtering components (e.g., user selected features));
sorting, by the one or more processors, the at least one image based on the filtered metadata to generate at least one sorted image (lines 35-43 and 50-62 of col. 9, recite(s)
[lines 35-43 of col. 9] “In one embodiment, when providing input to select a specific vehicle, the consumer also selects a view or feature of the vehicle, e.g., a “front view.” For example, in order to determine a vehicle image to display and the corresponding classification ID, the widget compares the consumer selected feature or view to a dataset, e.g., a table storing features/view and the corresponding classification IDs, that indicates a classification ID corresponding to each feature and/or view. …”
[lines 50-62 of col. 9] “By comparing consumer input or the default view to the dataset, the widget may determine the classification ID of the selected feature or view, which enables the widget to display the one or more portions of feature content based on the image-to-feature association. Upon determining the classification ID, the widget causes the rendering of the vehicle image and the one or more portions of feature content that correspond to the determined one or more classification IDs, with the rendering occurring within the GUI 122 of the website 120. As the user selects a second feature or view for display, the widget again references the image-to-feature association for instruction as to which vehicle image and portions of feature content to render.”
, where “determin[ing] a vehicle image to display” based on a “consumer input” from the plurality of vehicle images by “image-to-feature association” comparison is sorting the at least one image from the vehicle image dataset based on at least the filtered metadata (e.g., “classification IDs”) to generate at least one sorted image (e.g., the “vehicle image to display”)); and
displaying, by the one or more processors, the at least one sorted image (lines 35-43 and 50-62 of col. 9—see preceding citation immediately above—, where the determined “vehicle image to display” based on a “consumer input” is displaying the at least one sorted image).
Where Otten does not specifically disclose
inputting, by the one or more processors, the at least one image to at least one of a plurality of image plugins, wherein each of the plurality of image plugins is configured to be added to or removed from an image labeler without affecting operation of the image labeler; and
analyzing, by the one or more processors, the at least one image via the at least one of a plurality of image plugins, wherein the at least one of a plurality of image plugins is configured to identify one or more different aspects of the at least one object depicted in the at least one image;
Endras teaches in the same field of endeavor of analyzing a vehicle image via at least one image plugin to identify one or more different views of a vehicle in the image
inputting, by the one or more processors, the at least one image to at least one of a plurality of image plugins, wherein each of the plurality of image plugins is configured to be added to or removed from an image labeler without affecting operation of the image labeler (para(s). [0026-0027], [0033], and [0076], recite(s)
[0026] “In one implementation, the detection of target view of the vehicle, such as interior target views and/or exterior target views, may use a machine learned model. In particular, in order to recognize different vehicle views from the video stream, such a model may be trained on a server, which may be used by the mobile device. In a specific implementation, automatic recognition of major vehicle views (interior and exterior) may rely on mobile iOS compatible Deep Neural Network models trained on frames extracted from videos of these target views, and images collected for vehicle condition reports. Alternatively, recognition of major vehicle views (interior and exterior) may rely on mobile Android compatible Deep Neural Network models. As discussed further below, the machine learning models may be generated on a device separate from the smartphone (such as a server) and may be downloaded to the smartphone for use by the application executed on the smartphone.”
[0027] “One example of a neural network model is a convolutional neural network model, which may comprise a fee-forward neural network that may be applied to analyzing visual imagery, such as associated with the damage analysis discussed herein. The system may feed images in order for the model to “learn” the features of an image with a certain perspective (such as the front view). In one implementation, the deep learning process may entail supplying images (e.g., more than 50 thousand images) for a specific view (e.g., driver side) in order to model the feature(s) indicative of a driver side image. This process may be repeated for all views.”
[0033] “…The View Recognizer Classifier, which may sense a particular view of a vehicle in the respective frame, may likewise be based on a neural network architecture, and may return labels for the different views of the vehicle. In this regard, the mobile device, such as a smartphone, may obtain real-time camera video frames as input, check if a vehicle is in the frame and if so, returns one of a plurality of labels that the pre-trained models may classify.”
[0076] “…Application 150 may send a model, such as a model generated by model trainer 154, to the AutoVision application 115. The model may be used by the AutoVision application 115 in order to identify the contours of a vehicle within an image. At 314, the application may recognize a target view. For example, the application may recognize that the vehicle identified in the image is in the position of “driver side” view. Responsive to recognizing the target view, at 316, the application may generate an output indicating view recognition. Further, at 318, it is determined whether there are additional target views to obtain. If so, flow diagram 300 loops back to 302. If not, flow diagram 300 proceeds to END.”
, where the “machine learning models” trained for “different vehicle views” is a plurality of image plugins (e.g., different machine learning models for each different vehicle view); wherein each image plugin in the plurality of image plugins satisfies the intended use/result of being configured to be at least added from an image labeler (e.g., “model trainer”, “Autovision application”, ” and/or “View Recognizer Classifier”) without affecting operation of the image labeler by allowing for the image labeler to at least add models by “send[ing]” a model for each particular “target view” to the image labeler without affecting the operation of the image labeler of “recognizing the target view[s]” including “additional target views”); and
analyzing, by the one or more processors, the at least one image via the at least one of a plurality of image plugins, wherein the at least one of a plurality of image plugins is configured to identify one or more different aspects of the at least one object depicted in the at least one image (para(s). [0026-0027]—see preceding citations immediately above—, where the plurality of “machine learning models” trained “to recognize different vehicle views” from a plurality of vehicle images (e.g., a “video stream”) are a plurality of image plugins identifying one or more different aspects (e.g., “different vehicle views”) of the at least one object (e.g., “vehicle”) by analyzing the at least one image (e.g., an image in a “video stream”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently filed invention to modify the system of Otten to incorporate a plurality of image plugins that are configured to be added to or removed from an image labeler without affecting operation of the image labeler to improve identifying the one or more different aspects of the image in different vehicle view images by incorporating a plurality of plugins trained to detect different aspects (e.g., features) corresponding to a different views of specific vehicles as taught by Endras above.
Regarding claim 23, Otten in view of Endras discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein Otten further discloses displaying the at least one sorted image is based on one or more predetermined criteria (lines 50-62 of col. 9, recite(s)
[lines 50-62 of col. 9] “By comparing consumer input or the default view to the dataset, the widget may determine the classification ID of the selected feature or view, which enables the widget to display the one or more portions of feature content based on the image-to-feature association. Upon determining the classification ID, the widget causes the rendering of the vehicle image and the one or more portions of feature content that correspond to the determined one or more classification IDs, with the rendering occurring within the GUI 122 of the website 120. As the user selects a second feature or view for display, the widget again references the image-to-feature association for instruction as to which vehicle image and portions of feature content to render.”
, where the user-selected “feature or view for display” is one or more predetermined criteria predetermined by the user).
Regarding claim 24, Otten in view of Endras discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 23, wherein Otten further discloses the predetermined criteria includes one or more different aspects of the at least one object, the one or more different aspects comprising a side view, front view, or rear view of the sorted object (lines 64-67 of col. 7 to lines 1-7 of col. 8, recite(s)
[lines 64-67 of col. 7 to lines 1-7 of col. 8] “As one example, the image classification may assign one of a plurality of classification IDs to a vehicle image, with some classification IDs specifying, among others, “Front ¾ View Drivers,” “Front ¾ View Passenger,” “Side View Passenger,” “Rear ¾ View Passenger,” “Side View Drivers,” “Rear View,” “Roof/Sunroof,” “Driver's Dashboard/Centre Console,” “Center Console,” “Door Controls,” etc. Additionally, the assignment of classification IDs to each portion of the feature content may be predetermined and performed upon, or prior to, storage of portions of feature content in the feature content data store 114, as discussed below.”
, where the one or more different aspects include at least a side view (e.g., “Side View Passenger,” “Side View Drivers,” etc.), a front view (e.g., “Front ¾ View Drivers,” “Front ¾ View Passenger,” etc.), and a rear view (e.g., “Rear View,” etc.) of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 25, Otten in view of Endras discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 24, wherein Endras further teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 24 further including:
analyzing the at least one image via at least two of the plurality of image plugins (para(s). [0026-0027]—see citations in claim 21 above—, where the “machine learning models” trained for “different vehicle views” includes at least two of a plurality of image plugins (e.g., different machine learning models for each different vehicle view)); and
after the analyzing the at least one image via each of the at least two image plugins, removing the at least one image from a queue of images (para(s). [0105], recite(s)
[0105] “If so, at 716, the application checks the view recognizer, which is configured to generate probabilities as to different views for the frame. At 718, the probabilities generated are determined whether above a threshold. If not, flow diagram 700 moves to 714 and ignores the frame. If so, at 722, the application keeps the frame information (e.g., the time, compass data, blurry metric value, view recognizer label) for post processing. One example of post processing comprises damage analysis, such as analyzing the frame for damage indicative thereto. As discussed above, the specific view of the frame may be use in the damage analysis (e.g., whether the specific view is an exterior or an interior view).…”
, where not keeping the frame information (i.e., “ignor[ing] the frame” in a sequence of images) after determining that the probability of a view is not above a threshold via each of the at least two image plugins (i.e., “view recognizer” checks the probabilities from the “machine learning models” trained for each “different vehicle views” as disclosed in para(s). [0026-0027] in the preceding limitation above) is removing the at least one image from a queue of images (i.e., removing the “frame” from the sequence of images for further processing—e.g., “post processing”—as recited in step 722 in para. [0105] above)).
Regarding claim 26, Otten in view of Endras discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein Endras further teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 21 further including:
analyzing at least two or more images stored in a queue of images via at least two of the plurality of image plugins (para(s). [0026-0027] and [0105]—see citations in claim 25 above—, where the sequence of “frame[s]” in a video stream is a queue of images comprising at least two or more images; where each frame is analyzed by at least two of the plurality of image plugins (i.e., the “machine learning models” trained for “different vehicle views”)).
Regarding claim 28, Otten in view of Endras discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein Otten further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 21 further including:
filtering, by the one or more processors, the at least one image based on one or more rule sets to generate at least one filtered image (lines 35-43 and 50-62 of col. 9—see citations in claim 21 limitation “sorting…” above—, where “determin[ing] a vehicle image to display” based on a plurality of user selections (e.g., a first “selected feature or view” and a “second feature or view for display”) is generating at least one filtered image (i.e., the “vehicle image to display”) based on one or more rule sets predetermined by a user (e.g., user selected “feature[s] or view[s]”)).
Regarding claim 29, Otten in view of Endras discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 28, wherein Otten further discloses the one or more rule sets includes the metadata related to the at least one image (lines 35-43 and 50-62 of col. 9—see citations in claim 21 limitation “sorting…” above—, where the user selected features (e.g., a first “selected feature or view” and a “second feature or view for display”) determine the “classification ID” of the “vehicle image to display” is the one or more rulesets (e.g., user selected features) including metadata (e.g., “classification ID”) related to the at least one image (e.g., the “vehicle image to display”)).
Regarding claim 30, Otten in view of Endras discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 23, wherein Otten further discloses analyzing the at least one image via the at least one of the plurality of image plugins utilizes at least one object detection model or image recognition model (lines 17-34 of col. 7—see citation in claim 21 limitation “inputting…” above—, where the “image classification machine learning logic [or model]” is at least an image recognition model for recognizing a ”particular feature or view”).
Regarding claim 31, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 21, except claim 31 does not recite the claim 21 limitation of:
wherein each of the plurality of image plugins is configured to be added to or removed from an image labeler without affecting operation of the image labeler;
and recites the additional limitations of:
a memory having processor-readable instructions stored therein; and …
displaying the at least one sorted image, wherein the displaying is based on a predetermined order.
Otten further discloses the additional limitations:
a memory having processor-readable instructions stored therein (lines 53-67 of col. 4 to lines 1-5 of col. 5, recite(s)
[lines 53-67 of col. 4 to lines 1-5 of col. 5] “Alternatively, the component (or logic) may be software… The software may be stored in any type of a suitable non-transitory storage medium, or transitory storage medium… Examples of non-transitory storage medium may include, but are not limited or restricted to a programmable circuit; semiconductor memory; non-persistent storage such as volatile memory (e.g., any type of random access memory “RAM”); or persistent storage such as non-volatile memory (e.g., read-only memory “ROM,” power-backed RAM, flash memory, phase-change memory, etc.), a solid-state drive, hard disk drive, an optical disc drive, or a portable memory device. As firmware, the executable code may be stored in persistent storage.”
); and …
displaying the at least one sorted image, wherein the displaying is based on a predetermined order (lines 35-43 and 50-62 of col. 9—see citation in claim 21 limitation “sorting…” above—, where the “vehicle image to display” is displayed based on “image-to-feature association” using a matching “classification ID” in a dataset (e.g., a “table storing features/view and the corresponding classification IDs”) is displaying based on a predetermined order of “the determined one or more classification IDs” corresponding to the classification IDs in the stored dataset).
Therefore, claim 31 recites similar limitations to claim 21 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 21 above).
Regarding claim 33, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 23 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 23 above).
Regarding claim 34, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 24 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 24 above).
Regarding claim 35, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 25 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 25 above).
Regarding claim 36, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 26 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 26 above).
Regarding claim 38, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 28 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 28 above).
Regarding claim 39, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 29 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 29 above).
Regarding claim 40, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 21, except claim 40 does not recite the claim 21 limitation of:
wherein each of the plurality of image plugins is configured to be added to or removed from an image labeler without affecting operation of the image labeler;
and recites the additional limitations:
obtaining, by the one or more processors, at least one image for analyzing, wherein the at least one image depicts at least one object, wherein the at least one image is stored in a queue of images;…
analyzing, by the one or more processors, the at least one image via the at least one of the plurality of image plugins, wherein the at least one of the plurality of image plugins is configured to identify one or more different aspects of the at least one object depicted in the at least one image, and wherein the analyzing utilizes at least one object detection model or image recognition model; …
after the analyzing the at least one image via the at least one of the plurality of image plugins, removing the at least one image from the queue of images;
displaying, by the one or more processors, the at least one sorted image, wherein the displaying is based on one or more predetermined criteria includes one or more different aspects of the at least one object, the one or more different aspects comprising a side view, front view, or rear view of the sorted object.
Otten in view of Endras further disclose the additional limitations:
obtaining, by the one or more processors, at least one image for analyzing, wherein the at least one image depicts at least one object, wherein the at least one image is stored in a queue of images (para(s). [0093] and [0105] of Endras, recite(s)
[0093] “At 622, at initialization, the remaining views is set to all views, indicating that images of all of predetermined views are to be obtained. As one example, the entire set of predetermined views may include: front view, driver side view, rear view, passenger side view, perspective view, and dashboard view. At 624, the application accesses a frame in the video stream. At 626, the application determines a probability of a match of the frame for each of the views in the remaining views (e.g., the probability of a match for each of the front view, driver side view, rear view, passenger side view, perspective view, and dashboard view). At 628, the application determines whether the probability associated with a specific view (e.g., driver side view) is greater than a predetermined threshold. If not, the flow diagram 620 loops back to 622. …”
[0105] “If so, at 716, the application checks the view recognizer, which is configured to generate probabilities as to different views for the frame. At 718, the probabilities generated are determined whether above a threshold. If not, flow diagram 700 moves to 714 and ignores the frame. If so, at 722, the application keeps the frame information (e.g., the time, compass data, blurry metric value, view recognizer label) for post processing. One example of post processing comprises damage analysis, such as analyzing the frame for damage indicative thereto. As discussed above, the specific view of the frame may be use in the damage analysis (e.g., whether the specific view is an exterior or an interior view).…”
, where the at least one image for analyzing (e.g., an image “frame” determined to contain a “predetermined view”) is the at least one image being stored in a queue of images (e.g., a sequence of image “frame[s]” in a “video stream” waiting to be processed for “predetermined view” determination and/or image “frame[s]” in the “video stream” selected for further processing—i.e., “post processing”));…
analyzing, by the one or more processors, the at least one image via the at least one of the plurality of image plugins, wherein the at least one of the plurality of image plugins is configured to identify one or more different aspects of the at least one object depicted in the at least one image (lines 17-34 of col. 7 of Otten and para(s). [0026-0027] of Endras—see the combination of Otten and Endras in the similar limitation in claim 21 above), and wherein the analyzing utilizes at least one object detection model or image recognition model (Otten; lines 17-34 of col. 7—see similar limitation in claim 30 above—, where the “image classification machine learning logic [or model]” is at least an image recognition model for recognizing a ”particular feature or view”); and …
after the analyzing the at least one image via the at least one of the plurality of image plugins, removing the at least one image from the queue of images (para(s). [0093] and [0105] of Endras—see citations in the preceding claim limitation “obtaining… at least one image…” above—, where not keeping the frame information (i.e., “ignor[ing] the frame” in a sequence of images) after analyzing that the image “frame” does not have a probability of a view above a threshold via at least one of a plurality of image plugins (i.e., “machine learning models” trained for each “different vehicle views” as disclosed in para(s). [0026-0027] of Endras—see the combination of Otten and Endras in the claim limitation “inputting… the at least one image…” in claim 21 above) is removing the at least one image from a queue of images (i.e., removing the “frame” from the images being analyzed for the probability analysis and/or removing the “frame” from the sequence of images for further processing—e.g., “post processing”—as recited in step 722 in para. [0105] of Endras above));
displaying, by the one or more processors, the at least one sorted image (Otten; lines 35-43 and 50-62 of col. 9—see similar limitation in claim 21 above above—, where the determined “vehicle image to display” based on a “consumer input” is displaying the at least one sorted image), wherein the displaying is based on one or more predetermined criteria includes one or more different aspects of the at least one object, the one or more different aspects comprising a side view, front view, or rear view of the sorted object (Otten; lines 50-62 of col. 9 and lines 64-67 of col. 7 to lines 1-7 of col. 8—see similar limitations in claims 23-24 above—, where the user-selected “feature or view for display” is one or more predetermined criteria predetermined by the user; wherein the predetermined criteria include the one or more different aspects of at least a side view (e.g., “Side View Passenger,” “Side View Drivers,” etc.), a front view (e.g., “Front ¾ View Drivers,” “Front ¾ View Passenger,” etc.), and a rear view (e.g., “Rear View,” etc.) of the vehicle).
Therefore, claim 40 recites similar limitations to claim 21 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 21 above).
Claims 22 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otten in view of Endras as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Sieger (US 2011/0313936 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Otten in view of Endras discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein Sieger teaches in the same field of endeavor of dealership webpages the computer-implemented method of claim 21 further including:
replacing, by the one or more processors, based on a user selection, the at least one sorted image with an enlarged image of one of two or more thumbnail images (para(s). [0031-0033], recite(s)
[0031] “After the user selects the "get my price" button 40, a next page 46 is displayed at shown in FIG. 4. The page 46 shows an image 48 of a vehicle that matches exactly or approximately the make, model and year of the vehicle information input by the user. ...”
[0032] “An algorithm may be used to determine which image or images to display to the user, for example based on the user input. For example, the algorithm may select for display a median price level of damage for that vehicle model and model year, which may be a different level of damage for a different model or model year. Other criteria for selecting the displayed images are within the scope of the invention. The displayed vehicle can be shown in a single image, in a plurality of images, in one or more video clips, by a drawing or by other display format. …”
[0033] “… To better assist the user in making this determination, a series of images 50 of the displayed vehicle are provided showing the vehicle from different angles, and showing different features of the vehicle. The images 50 are shown as so-called thumbnail images, or reduced size images, that are enlarged for display in the larger display window 48 upon selection by the user.”
, where the displayed “thumbnail images” are “enlarged for display in the larger display window 48 upon selection by the user” is replacing the at least one sorted image with an enlarged image of one of two or more thumbnail images by user selection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently filed invention to modify the system of Otten in view of Endras to incorporate replacing the at least one sorted image with an enlarged image of one of two or more thumbnail images by user selection to allow for a user to better view the display sorted image on a webpage as taught by Sieger above.
Regarding claim 32, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 22 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 22 above).
Claims 27 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otten in view of Endras as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Brouard et al. (Brouard; US 10,528,812 B1, cited in Applicant’s IDS filed November 9th, 2023).
Regarding claim 27, Otten in view of Endras discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein Brouard teaches in the same field of endeavor of machine learning models taking images as input the computer-implemented method of claim 21 further including:
analyzing the at least one image in parallel via the plurality of image plugins (lines 56-67 of col. 8 to lines 1-10 of col. 9, recite(s)
[lines 56-67 of col. 8 to lines 1-10 of col. 9] “As described above, for recognizing and segmenting objects of different types in an input image, different CNN models may be trained such that each CNN model handles recognition and segmentation of one type of objects among the different types of objects. Training and deploying these distinct CNN models may be dispatched in a parallel manner into distributed physical or virtual computing resources. At the same time, for each of the distinct CNN models, the same model may be further dispatched in a parallel manner into distributed physical or virtual computing resources. As such, in one implementation, the CNN models for object recognition and segmentation may be distributed into parallel processes at two different levels to speed up the object recognition and segmentation processes, taking advantage of distributed computing architecture in, e.g., a cloud environment. The same parallel and distributed computing implementation may also be applied to the post-model filtering. In particular, distinct filters may be generated or trained for different types of objects and the filters may be run in parallel. At the same time, each filter may be run as multiple parallel and distributed instances, with each instance handling filtering and removal of false positives for one block.”
, where an input image can be processed by a plurality of “CNN models for object recognition and segmentation” in a “parallel manner” is analyzing at least one image in parallel via a plurality of image plugins).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently filed invention to modify the system of Otten in view of Endras to incorporate analyzing the at least one image in parallel via the plurality of image plugins to increase the speed of the machine learning models for different vehicle views as taught by Brouard above.
Regarding claim 37, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 27 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 27 above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.Z.Y./Examiner, Art Unit 2666
/MING Y HON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666