DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mase et al. (WO2024085109A1).
With regard to claim 1, Mase teaches, as shown in figures 3-20: “A connector 10 comprising: a housing 20 configured to be fitted to a counterpart housing 61 and having a terminal accommodating chamber 21 configured to accommodate a terminal; and a fitting detection member 50 slidably attached to the housing 20 and configured to detect fitting between the housing 20 and the counterpart housing 61, wherein the fitting detection member 50 includes a locking protrusion 52A to be locked to a locked protrusion 27 of the housing 20, wherein, when the locking protrusion 52A is locked to the locked protrusion 27, the locked protrusion 27 of the housing 20 prevents the locking protrusion 52A of the fitting detection member 50 from moving in a rear direction (upward in figure 18), wherein in the housing 20, a space (where 50 is positioned in figure 18) configured to allow the locking protrusion 52A to pass in a sliding direction (up-and-down direction in figure 18) of the fitting detection member 50 is defined between an outer peripheral surface of the housing 20 and the locked protrusion 27, and wherein the locking protrusion 52A passes through the space from a rear end (top end in figure 18) toward a front end (bottom end in figure 18) in the sliding direction and is locked to the locked protrusion 27”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mase et al. (WO2024085109A1) in view of Mamiya et al. (2020/0153145).
With regard to claim 2, Mase teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Mase also teaches, as shown in figures 3-20: “wherein, in a non-deformed state, at an upper end surface of the locking protrusion 52A, an inclined surface 52B formed in an upward inclined shape from the front end toward the rear end, and a flat surface (surface opposite 52B in figure 20) located on a rear end side of the inclined surface 52b… and wherein the upper end surface (left end of 52A in figure 15) of the locking protrusion 52A is configured to slide against the lower end surface (right end of surface of 27 in figure 15) of the locked protrusion 27 in the sliding direction”.
Mase does not teach: “and formed to extend in the sliding direction are continuously provided, wherein at a lower end surface of the locked protrusion, an inclined surface formed in an upward inclined shape from the front end toward the rear end, and a flat surface located on a front end side of the inclined surface of the locked protrusion and formed to be substantially parallel to the outer peripheral surface are continuously provided, and wherein the upper end surface of the locking protrusion is configured to slide against the lower end surface of the locked protrusion in the sliding direction”.
Mamiya also teaches, as shown in figures 1-8, the flat surface (portion of 54 abutted against 34 in figure 7) “and formed to extend in the sliding direction (right-to-left in figure 5) are continuously provided, wherein at a lower end surface of the locked protrusion 34, an inclined surface 37 formed in an upward inclined shape from the front end toward the rear end, and a flat surface (bottom surface of 34 in figure 6) located on a front end side of the inclined surface of the locked protrusion 34 and formed to be substantially parallel to the outer peripheral surface are continuously provided”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Mamiya with the invention of Mase in order to smoothly displace the locked protrusion along the sliding direction (Mamiya, paragraph 53).
With regard to claim 3, Mase teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Mase does not teach: “wherein the housing includes an elastically deformable locking mechanism provided with the locked protrusion and to which the counterpart housing is locked in a state where the housing and the counterpart housing are fitted to each other, wherein the fitting detection member includes an elastically deformable arm piece provided with a locking claw configured to lock to the locking mechanism, wherein before the housing and the counterpart housing are fitted to each other, the locking claw is in contact with the locking mechanism at a temporary locking position where the locking protrusion is locked to the locked protrusion such that the fitting detection member is restricted from replacing from the temporary locking position, and wherein, when the housing and the counterpart housing are fitted to each other, the arm piece is elastically deformed to release a contact state between the locking claw and the locking mechanism such that the fitting detection member displaces from the temporary locking position to a final locking position where the locking claw is locked to the locking mechanism”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Mamiya teaches, as shown in figures 1-10: “wherein the housing 10 includes an elastically deformable locking mechanism 32 provided with the locked protrusion 34 and to which the counterpart housing 60 is locked in a state where the housing 10 and the counterpart housing 60 are fitted to each other, wherein the fitting detection member 45 includes an elastically deformable arm piece 50 provided with a locking claw 51 configured to lock to the locking mechanism 32, wherein before the housing 10 and the counterpart housing 60 are fitted to each other, the locking claw 54 is in contact with the locking mechanism 32 at a temporary locking position (shown in figure 5) where the locking protrusion 54 is locked to the locked protrusion 34 such that the fitting detection member 45 is restricted from replacing from the temporary locking position, and wherein, when the housing 10 and the counterpart housing 60 are fitted to each other, the arm piece 50 is elastically deformed to release a contact state between the locking claw 51 and the locking mechanism 34 such that the fitting detection member 45 displaces from the temporary locking position to a final locking position (shown in figure 7) where the locking claw 51 is locked to the locking mechanism 32”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Mamiya with the invention of Mase in order to be able to easily connect and disconnect the housing and the fitting detection smoothly displace the locked protrusion along the sliding direction (Mamiya, paragraph 53).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831