DETAILED ACTION
Drawings Objections
The drawings are objected to because the drawings in Fig. 1A show features or elements that are described and are not in concordance with the specification. For instance, the original disclosure [0032] recites “a first onboard relay 80a to break or open the signal wire that instructs a compressor ( or compressors) 68 to operate. In addition, the microcontroller 70 may instruct a second onboard relay 80b to now provide a signal to the system's fan control 92 to thereby tum on the fan (or blowers) 96…”.
However, in the Drawings, “Fig. 1A” the first relay 80a is connected to the fan 96 and not the compressor. Also, the relay 80b is connected to the compressor and not the fan.
This is corroborated in the disclosure [0042] “A second contact terminal of the first relay 80a is associated with the manual fan connection 90c of thermostat 90 and with the manual fan control connection 92c of fan/auxiliary heat control 92”.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “system controller” and “system controller being configured to control the gas system” in claims 2 and 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
This invention is directed to a specific structure of a gas leakage mitigation system and control of components, wherein a gas sensor connected to a microcontroller controls the functions of a gas system (see Figs. 1-7) . The Drawings show an alarm output in Fig. 1A but does not teach any “system controller” receiving said alarm output. Claim 1 suggests that the mitigation unit (10) which comprises the microcontroller (70) control the gas system. The Figures do not show any “system controller” controlling the gas system as claimed in claim 2. The claim 1 and drawings recites and suggest that the relays connected to the compressor and fan/blower are controlled by the sensor unit (microcontroller 70) and not by a system controller. The Claims as recited suggest a combined system of a microcontroller and a system controller to control a gas system, but this structure is not shown in the Figures. Also, the disclosure (0029) “The onboard microcontroller(s) 70 also include logic for controlling the onboard relays. Thus, the one or more onboard relays 80 may be activated or de-activated to control components of the GSS which are necessary to respond to an operating condition such as an alarm condition, i.e., when the level of gas sensed by the gas sensing element 40 exceeds a predetermined alarm threshold level”.
Specification objection
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The original disclosure recites in [0032] “a first onboard relay 80a to break or open the signal wire that instructs a compressor ( or compressors) 68 to operate. In addition, the microcontroller 70 may instruct a second onboard relay 80b to now provide a signal to the system's fan control 92 to thereby tum on the fan (or blowers) 96…”. This paragraph does not correspond to what is shown in Fig. 1A as explained previously. It seems that the disclosure should be amended to correct the error instead of the Drawings to facilitate the correction.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rumler et al (US 20230058790).
As per claim 1, Rumler teaches a gas sensing leak mitigation unit for a gas system (see Fig. 4 mitigation unit 100; also, see the structure of the unit 100 in Fig. 6; also, see [0042] “…. As a result, the microcontroller of the refrigerant sensor system 100 may generate one or more control signals, such that the control signals may represent a state in which the refrigerant leak is present. The control signals may be output to one or more electrical equipment inputs to cause the electrical equipment to activate or deactivate according to leak mitigation measures specified by industry standards”; also, see [0062]), the gas sensing leak mitigation unit comprising:
a gas sensing element (see Fig. 4 unit 100 and Fig. 6 sensor 132);
one or more microcontrollers configured to receive a signal from the gas sensing element (see Fig. 6 microcontroller 134; also, see [0056] “…The R32 refrigerant sensor 132 may function to detect refrigerant concentration in the HVAC system, and send the refrigerant concentration data to the microcontroller 134. Although the schematic diagram includes the R32 refrigerant sensor 132, it should be noted that any suitable refrigerant sensor capable of detecting a concentration of a particular refrigerant may be employed herein. The microcontroller 134 may then determine if a refrigerant leak is present based on the refrigerant concentration data, and send one or more control signals according to industry regulatory standards for refrigerant leaks in response to detecting a refrigerant leak”) and to determine if the signal from the gas sensing element is above a first predetermined threshold level (see Fig. 6 and see [0060] “…the microcontroller 134 may, at manufacture, be programmed to send certain control signals to components of the HVAC system in response to the refrigerant concentration data exceeding a threshold concentration value…”);
a first relay configured (see Fig. 6 the compressor is controlled via the relay 148), when energized, to transmit power to a compressor and, when de-energized, to break power to the compressor (see [0018] “…In response to detecting that a refrigerant leak has occurred, the microcontroller may send control signals that may cause other equipment or devices to perform certain mitigation operations, such as shutting off compressors and electrical devices and continue operating one or more supply air fans for a specified duration (e.g., delay time period corresponding the regulatory standards)”; also, see [0019] “ In some embodiments, the microcontroller may send control signals to components that are part of the refrigerant sensor system, such that the components (e.g., relays) may provide output signals that are indicative of states (e.g., high or low) of the respective components….the compressors and electrical devices may be shut off until the leak is no longer present or the refrigerant concentration is below the predetermined threshold to avoid operating while the refrigerant leak is present…”; also, see [0044, [0048]];
the one or more microcontrollers configured to control the energizing and de-energizing of the first relay (see [0018], [0019], [0044], and [0048] ); and
wherein the gas sensing element, the one or more microcontrollers, and the first relay are all arranged within a common housing (see [0006] “In another embodiment, a method includes receiving, via a processor, refrigerant concentration data from a refrigerant sensor disposed within a housing along with the processor”; also, see [0007] “…. Further, the one or more components are configured to change states based on the one or more signals, and the one or more components are configured to couple to one or more devices configured to control one or more operations of a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system. The sensor device also includes a housing configured to enclose the R32 sensor, the microcontroller, and the one or more components”; also, see page 9 claim 1 and 2 “…wherein the one or more components comprise a relay device, a triode for alternating current (TRIAC) device, or both”).
As per claim 3, Rumler teaches the gas sensing leak mitigation unit according to claim 1: Rumler further teaches wherein the one or more microcontrollers are configured to energize the first relay to thereby transmit electrical power to the compressor during a normal operating condition of the system (see Fig. 6 the compressor is activated when abnormality has not been detected which indicates normal operation; also, see [0002], [0018], [0019] and [0044], [0047], and [0048]); and
wherein the one or more microcontrollers are configured to de-energize the first relay to thereby break the transmission of electrical power to the compressor when the one or more microcontrollers determine that the signal from the gas sensing element is above the first predetermined threshold level (see (see [0018] “…In response to detecting that a refrigerant leak has occurred, the microcontroller may send control signals that may cause other equipment or devices to perform certain mitigation operations, such as shutting off compressors and electrical devices and continue operating one or more supply air fans for a specified duration (e.g., delay time period corresponding the regulatory standards)”; also, see [0019] “ In some embodiments, the microcontroller may send control signals to components that are part of the refrigerant sensor system, such that the components (e.g., relays) may provide output signals that are indicative of states (e.g., high or low) of the respective components….the compressors and electrical devices may be shut off until the leak is no longer present or the refrigerant concentration is below the predetermined threshold to avoid operating while the refrigerant leak is present…”; also, see [0044], [0047], [0048], [0065]).
As per claim 5, Rumler teaches the gas sensing leak mitigation unit according to claim 1: Rumler further teaches wherein the one or more microcontrollers are configured to receive a signal from the gas sensing element and to determine if the signal from the gas sensing element is below a second predetermined threshold level, which second predetermined threshold level is less than or equal to the first predetermined threshold level (see [0019] “…the leaked refrigerant concentration has dropped below a threshold concentration. The compressors and electrical devices may be shut off until the leak is no longer present or the refrigerant concentration is below the predetermined threshold to avoid operating while the refrigerant leak is present”; also, see [0053] “.At process block 118, the microcontroller may receive additional refrigerant concentration data corresponding to refrigerant concentration at a later time. The microcontroller may determine that the additional refrigerant concentration data is now below the threshold refrigerant concentration. As such, the microcontroller may determine that the refrigerant leak is no longer present in the HVAC system. Additionally, the microcontroller may implement a time delay countdown to wait before modifying operations of the devices accessed at block 116. The delay value may be set according to ASHRAE 15-2019 fault standards, which specify the air supply fan should be activated for a minimum of five minutes after the refrigerant sensor system 100 has sensed a drop in refrigerant concentration below a specified value…”); and
wherein the one or more microcontrollers are configured to start a predetermined time delay countdown when the one or more microcontrollers determine that the signal from the gas sensing element is below the second predetermined threshold level (see [0053] “ At process block 118, the microcontroller may receive additional refrigerant concentration data corresponding to refrigerant concentration at a later time. The microcontroller may determine that the additional refrigerant concentration data is now below the threshold refrigerant concentration. As such, the microcontroller may determine that the refrigerant leak is no longer present in the HVAC system. Additionally, the microcontroller may implement a time delay countdown to wait before modifying operations of the devices accessed at block 116. The delay value may be set according to ASHRAE 15-2019 fault standards, which specify the air supply fan should be activated for a minimum of five minutes after the refrigerant sensor system 100 has sensed a drop in refrigerant concentration below a specified value”).
As per claim 6, Rumler teaches the gas sensing leak mitigation unit according to claim 5: Rumler further teaches wherein the one or more microcontrollers are configured to keep the first relay de-energized during the predetermined time delay countdown (see Fig. 5 see step 116 compressor off and see delay was started , step, the compressor off command is maintained until the delay has passed, see steps 120 and 122; also, see [0053]); and
wherein the one or more microcontrollers are configured to energize the first relay when the predetermined time delay has elapsed (see Fig. 5 see step 116 compressor off and see delay was started , step, the compressor off command is maintained until the delay has passed, see steps 120 and 122; also, see [0053] ).
As per claim 15, Rumler teaches heat pump having the gas sensing leak mitigation unit according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above; also, see [0021] “the HVAC unit 12 may be a heat pump that provides both heating and cooling to the building with one refrigeration circuit configured to operate in different modes.).
As per claim 17, Rumler teaches a gas furnace having the gas sensing leak mitigation unit according to claim 1 (see [0025], and [0033] “…the indoor unit 56 may include a furnace system 70. For example, the indoor unit 56 may include the furnace system 70 when the residential heating and cooling system 50 is not configured to operate as a heat pump. The furnace system 70 may include a burner assembly and heat exchanger, among other components, inside the indoor unit 56. Fuel is provided to the burner assembly of the furnace 70 where it is mixed with air and combusted to form combustion products…”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rumler et al (US 20230058790) in view of Notaro et al (US 20220243939, cited in IDS).
As per claim 2, Rumler teaches the gas sensing leak mitigation unit according to claim 1: Rumler further teachessee Fig. 4 system controller 82; also, see [0034] “…a microprocessor 86, hardware logic 84, a non-volatile memory 88, and/or an interface board 90. The control panel 82 and its components may function to regulate operation of the vapor compression system 72 based on feedback from an operator, from sensors of the vapor compression system 72 that detect operating conditions, and so forth”; the control panel is a system controller connected to the gas leakage sensor 100; also, see [0031] “… The overall system operates to maintain a desired temperature as set by a system controller…”),
While Rumler teaches the system sends alarms (see [0028] “…provide alarms…”) and communication with a system controller to transmit state signals (see [0041]) , Rumler does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more microcontrollers are configured to transmit an alarm condition signal to a system controller when the one or more microcontrollers determine that the signal from the gas sensing element is above a first predetermined threshold level.
Notaro teaches a leak mitigation system comprising a gas sensor comprising a microcontroller (see Fig. gas sensor 170, the sensor), wherein the one or more microcontrollers are configured to transmit an alarm condition signal to a system controller (see Fig. 1 system controller 150; also, see Fig. 3-7 sensos 370, 570,and 770) when the one or more microcontrollers determine that the signal from the gas sensing element is above a first predetermined threshold level (see [0025] “…the A2L sensor 170 may be configured to detect an A2L refrigerant leak by one of a number of methods, including, at least, by detecting an amount or a concentration of A2L refrigerant in the air that exceeds a leak threshold….”; [0033] “…when the A2L control board 150 receives an A2L refrigerant leak signal from the A2L sensor 170, the dry contact relay 161 will flip and turn on the ventilator….when the A2L control board receives an A2L refrigerant leak signal from the A2L sensor, the LED 160 and the buzzer 159 will receive power. When receiving power, the LED 160 will display an error code and the buzzer 159 will make sound in order to give visual and auditory alarms that the HVAC system 100 is experiencing an A2L refrigerant leak… , the A2L sensor 170 and the A2L control board 150 may be electrically coupled by way of an RS-485 bus”; also, see [0054], [0084], and [0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Rumler’s invention to include a gas sensor comprising a microcontroller, wherein the one or more microcontrollers are configured to transmit an alarm condition signal to a system controller when the one or more microcontrollers determine that the signal from the gas sensing element is above a first predetermined threshold level as taught by Notaro in order to perform mitigation measures such as control of the gas system (see [0025] “…. The A2L sensor 170 may be configured to communicate to the A2L control board 150 that the A2L sensor 170 is connected to the system and working properly. Additionally, when the A2L sensor 170 detects an A2L refrigerant leak, it may communicate the A2L refrigerant leak to the A2L control board 150, which may be configured to receive the signal and perform the safety measures required by A2L safety standards”; also, see [0032] and [0044]).
Claim(s) 4, 7-9, 11-14, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rumler et al (US 20230058790) in view of Alfano et al (US 11125457).
As per claim 4, Rumler teaches the gas sensing leak mitigation unit according to claim 1, further comprising: Rumler further teaches a second relay configured, (see [0019] “in some embodiments, the microcontroller may send control signals to components that are part of the refrigerant sensor system, such that the components (e.g., relays), may provide output signals that are indicative of states (e.g., high or low) of the respective components. The output signal may then be provided to other equipment or devices that control refrigerant mitigation operations. Additionally, the microcontroller may provide control signals, which may correspond to state signals (e.g., high or low), to output ports of the refrigerant sensor system, and the output ports may be coupled to digital communication buses, which provide state data (e.g., high or low, on or off, binary data) to the equipment or devices that control refrigerant mitigation operations. In this way, the supply fans may function to purge the leaked refrigerant from the enclosure into the external environment until the leaked refrigerant concentration has dropped below a threshold concentration. [0041], and [0044] );
wherein the one or more microcontrollers are configured to control the energizing and de-energizing of the second relay (see [0019], [0022], [0044], [0048]); and wherein the one or more microcontrollers are configured to(see [0005-0007] and see [0018], [0044], [0048]).
However, Rumler does not explicitly teach a second relay configured, when de-energized, to transmit power to a fan controller, wherein the one or more microcontrollers are configured to de-energize the second relay when the signal from the gas sensing element is above the first predetermined threshold level.
However, Alfano teaches a leak mitigation system comprising a relay configured, when de-energized, to transmit power to a fan control (see Fig. 7A blower 108, power source 212 and relay 412; also, see Col 9 line 60 to Col 10 line 2 “once the leak sensor of the leak mitigation control module 176 measures a refrigerant concentration above the threshold, the relay is de-energized, resulting in a completed circuit on the normally closed terminal of the relay, which connects the power of the transformer 212 (via the temperature control device 116 or directly) to the circulator blower 108, and then an open circuit is created on the normally open terminal of the relay, disconnecting power to the temperature control device 116 and disabling all other HVAC system components.; also, see Col 14 line 8-15 “Then, control proceeds to 516 to de-energize the relay 412 to disconnect HVAC system components from power and connect a blower to power…”; also, see Col 13 lines 9-16 “… An arm 432 of the relay 412 connects the common terminal 420 to the normally closed terminal 428 when the coil 416 is not energized (a state when the refrigerant concentration has exceeded the threshold). The arm 432 connects the common terminal to the normally open terminal 424 when the coil 416 is energized (during normal operation while the refrigerant concentration is below the threshold)…”), wherein the one or more microcontrollers/control circuit are configured to de-energize the second relay when the signal from the gas sensing element is above the first predetermined threshold level (see the Abstract and see Col 14 line 8-15 “Then, control proceeds to 516 to de-energize the relay 412 to disconnect HVAC system components from power and connect a blower to power…”; also, see Col 13 lines 9-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Rumler’s invention to include a relay as a second relay configured, when de-energized, to transmit power to a fan controller, wherein the one or more microcontrollers/control circuit are configured to de-energize the second relay when the signal from the gas sensing element is above the first predetermined threshold level as taught by Alfano in order to provide mitigation actions to activate and provide power to a fan when the relay is de-energized to reduce the gas in the system (see Col 10 lines 7-12). Also, It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide the configuration of the second relay that de-energized provides power to fan since applicant has not disclosed that this configuration solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with providing power to the fan when energizing the relay as it is normally or conventionally done.
As per claim 7, Rumler-Alfano teaches the gas sensing leak mitigation unit according to claim 4: Rumler further teaches wherein the one or more microcontrollers are configured to receive a signal from the gas sensing element and to determine if the signal from the gas sensing element is below a second predetermined threshold level, which second predetermined threshold level is less than or equal to the first predetermined threshold level (see [0019], and [0053]; also, see claim 5 same rationale applies herein); and
wherein the one or more microcontrollers are configured to start a predetermined time delay countdown when the one or more microcontrollers determine that the signal from the gas sensing element is below the second predetermined threshold level (see [0019], and [0053]; also, see claim 5 same rationale applies herein).
As per claim 8, Rumler-Alfano teaches the gas sensing leak mitigation unit according to claim 7: Rumler further teaches wherein the one or more microcontrollers are configured to keep both the first relay and the second relay (see Fig. 5 see step 116 compressor off and fan was set to on, also, see delay was started, step, the compressor off command is maintained until the delay has passed, see steps 120 and 122; the fan was also, see [0053]); and
wherein the one or more microcontrollers are configured to energize both the first relay and the second relay when the predetermined time delay has elapsed (see [0053] “At process block 118, the microcontroller may receive additional refrigerant concentration data corresponding to refrigerant concentration at a later time. The microcontroller may determine that the additional refrigerant concentration data is now below the threshold refrigerant concentration. As such, the microcontroller may determine that the refrigerant leak is no longer present in the HVAC system. Additionally, the microcontroller may implement a time delay countdown to wait before modifying operations of the devices accessed at block 116. The delay value may be set according to ASHRAE 15-2019 fault standards, which specify the air supply fan should be activated for a minimum of five minutes after the refrigerant sensor system 100 has sensed a drop in refrigerant concentration below a specified value”, the compressor is turned on and the fan is turned off). Alfano cited to teach that the fan was turned on by de-energizing the relay and turned off by energizing the fan relay (see claim 4 above, same rationale applies herein).
As per claim 9, Rumler teaches gas sensing leak mitigation unit for a gas system (see Fig. 4 mitigation unit 100; also, see the structure of the unit 100 in Fig. 6; also, see [0042] “…. As a result, the microcontroller of the refrigerant sensor system 100 may generate one or more control signals, such that the control signals may represent a state in which the refrigerant leak is present. The control signals may be output to one or more electrical equipment inputs to cause the electrical equipment to activate or deactivate according to leak mitigation measures specified by industry standards”; also, see [0062]), the gas sensing leak mitigation unit comprising:
a gas sensing element (see Fig. 4 unit 100 and Fig. 6 sensor 132 );
a first relay configured, when energized, to transmit power to a compressor and, when de-energized, to break power to the compressor (see Fig. 6 the compressor is controlled via the relay 148; see [0018] “…In response to detecting that a refrigerant leak has occurred, the microcontroller may send control signals that may cause other equipment or devices to perform certain mitigation operations, such as shutting off compressors and electrical devices and continue operating one or more supply air fans for a specified duration (e.g., delay time period corresponding the regulatory standards)”; also, see [0019] “ In some embodiments, the microcontroller may send control signals to components that are part of the refrigerant sensor system, such that the components (e.g., relays) may provide output signals that are indicative of states (e.g., high or low) of the respective components….the compressors and electrical devices may be shut off until the leak is no longer present or the refrigerant concentration is below the predetermined threshold to avoid operating while the refrigerant leak is present…”; also, see [0044, [0048]; a relay when energized is closed and when de-energized is open, thus, power to a load is applied or suspended);
a second relay configured, see [0019] “in some embodiments, the microcontroller may send control signals to components that are part of the refrigerant sensor system, such that the components (e.g., relays), may provide output signals that are indicative of states (e.g., high or low) of the respective components. The output signal may then be provided to other equipment or devices that control refrigerant mitigation operations. Additionally, the microcontroller may provide control signals, which may correspond to state signals (e.g., high or low), to output ports of the refrigerant sensor system, and the output ports may be coupled to digital communication buses, which provide state data (e.g., high or low, on or off, binary data) to the equipment or devices that control refrigerant mitigation operations. In this way, the supply fans may function to purge the leaked refrigerant from the enclosure into the external environment until the leaked refrigerant concentration has dropped below a threshold concentration; also, see [0041], and [0044]);
at least one microcontroller configured to receive a signal from the gas sensing element (see Fig. 6 microcontroller 134; also, see [0056] “…The R32 refrigerant sensor 132 may function to detect refrigerant concentration in the HVAC system, and send the refrigerant concentration data to the microcontroller 134. Although the schematic diagram includes the R32 refrigerant sensor 132, it should be noted that any suitable refrigerant sensor capable of detecting a concentration of a particular refrigerant may be employed herein. The microcontroller 134 may then determine if a refrigerant leak is present based on the refrigerant concentration data, and send one or more control signals according to industry regulatory standards for refrigerant leaks in response to detecting a refrigerant leak”) and to determine if the signal from the gas sensing element is above a first predetermined threshold level (see Fig. 6 and see [0060] “…the microcontroller 134 may, at manufacture, be programmed to send certain control signals to components of the HVAC system in response to the refrigerant concentration data exceeding a threshold concentration value…”);
wherein the at least one microcontroller is further configured to control the energizing and de-energizing of the first and second relays (see [0019], [0041], and [0044]);
wherein the gas sensing element, the at least one microcontroller, and the first and second relays are all arranged within a common housing (see [0006] “In another embodiment, a method includes receiving, via a processor, refrigerant concentration data from a refrigerant sensor disposed within a housing along with the processor”; also, see [0007] “…. Further, the one or more components are configured to change states based on the one or more signals, and the one or more components are configured to couple to one or more devices configured to control one or more operations of a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system. The sensor device also includes a housing configured to enclose the R32 sensor, the microcontroller, and the one or more components”; also, see page 9 claim 1 and 2 “…wherein the one or more components comprise a relay device, a triode for alternating current (TRIAC) device, or both”; also, see [0041] “ the refrigerant sensor system 100 may include electrical components (e.g., relays) that may be used to output signals to other devices,…”; also, see [0019] “…, the microcontroller may send control signals to components that are part of the refrigerant sensor system, such that the components (e.g., relays) may provide output signals that are indicative of states (e.g., high or low) of the respective components…”; [0041] “… the refrigerant sensor system 100 may include electrical components (e.g., relays) that may be used to output signals to other devices, which may rely on the received signals to perform certain operations.”; and see [0044] “ … the refrigerant sensor system 100 may send control instructions to one or more control systems of the HVAC system to implement leak mitigation measures (e.g., via electrical components, relays). This enables the operation and/or continued operation of the fans to maintain the sub-barometric pressure and other enables other mitigation measures (e.g., turning off compressors and heaters) to be implemented”; also, see Claim 15 “and a housing configured to enclose the R32 refrigerant sensor, the microcontroller, and the one or more components”).
While Rumler teaches a second relay to turn on and off a fan, and wherein de-energization means opening a relay switch (see [0019], [0022], [0044], [0048]), Rumler does not explicitly teach a second relay configured, when de-energized, to transmit power to a fan control (the design choice configuration that the applicant selected is that when the relay is opened/de-energized, the power from the source 60 is connected to the fan, and when energized/closed switch the power is provided to the thermostat pint 90a, which disconnects power from the fan. This is a design choice because the power transmitted to the fan could have been done by energizing the relay/closing as conventionally done without any change in the system).
However, Alfano teaches a leak mitigation system comprising a relay configured, when de-energized, to transmit power to a fan control (see Fig. 7A blower 108, power source 212 and relay 412; also, see Col 9 line 60 to Col 10 line 2 “once the leak sensor of the leak mitigation control module 176 measures a refrigerant concentration above the threshold, the relay is de-energized, resulting in a completed circuit on the normally closed terminal of the relay, which connects the power of the transformer 212 (via the temperature control device 116 or directly) to the circulator blower 108, and then an open circuit is created on the normally open terminal of the relay, disconnecting power to the temperature control device 116 and disabling all other HVAC system components.; also, see Col 14 line 8-15 “Then, control proceeds to 516 to de-energize the relay 412 to disconnect HVAC system components from power and connect a blower to power…”; also, see Col 13 lines 9-16 “… An arm 432 of the relay 412 connects the common terminal 420 to the normally closed terminal 428 when the coil 416 is not energized (a state when the refrigerant concentration has exceeded the threshold). The arm 432 connects the common terminal to the normally open terminal 424 when the coil 416 is energized (during normal operation while the refrigerant concentration is below the threshold)…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Rumler’s invention to include a relay as a second relay configured, when de-energized, to transmit power to a fan control as taught by Alfano in order to provide mitigation actions to activate and provide power to a fan when the relay is de-energized to reduce the gas in the system (see Col 10 lines 7-12). Also, It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide the configuration of the second relay that de-energized provides power to fan since applicant has not disclosed that this configuration solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with providing power to the fan when energizing the relay as it is normally or conventionally done.
As to claim 11, this claim is the apparatus claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As to claim 12, this claim is the apparatus claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As to claim 13, this claim is the apparatus claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As to claim 14, this claim is the apparatus claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 8 and is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As per claim 16, Rumler and Notaro teach the gas sensing leak mitigation unit according to claim 9, Rumler further teaches a heat pump having the gas sensing leak mitigation unit according to claim 9 (see Claim 9 above and see [0021] “the HVAC unit 12 may be a heat pump that provides both heating and cooling to the building with one refrigeration circuit configured to operate in different modes”; [0025]).
As per claim 18, Rumler-Alfano the gas sensing leak mitigation unit according to claim 9, Rumler further teaches a gas furnace having the gas sensing leak mitigation unit according to claim 9 (see Rumler [0025], and [0033] “…the indoor unit 56 may include a furnace system 70. For example, the indoor unit 56 may include the furnace system 70 when the residential heating and cooling system 50 is not configured to operate as a heat pump. The furnace system 70 may include a burner assembly and heat exchanger, among other components, inside the indoor unit 56. Fuel is provided to the burner assembly of the furnace 70 where it is mixed with air and combusted to form combustion products…”).
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rumler et al (US 20230058790) in view of Alfano et al (US 11125457) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Notaro et al (US 20220243939, cited in IDS).
As per claim 10, Rumler-Alfano teaches the gas sensing leak mitigation unit according to claim 9: Rumler further teachessee Fig. 4 system controller 82; also, see [0034] and see [0031], see the rationale in claim 2 above),
While Rumler teaches the system sends alarms (see [0028] “…provide alarms…”) and communication with a system controller to transmit state signals (see [0041]), Rumler does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more microcontrollers are configured to transmit an alarm condition signal to a system controller when the one or more microcontrollers determine that the signal from the gas sensing element is above a first predetermined threshold level.
Notaro teaches a leak mitigation system comprising a gas sensor comprising a microcontroller (see Fig. gas sensor 170, the sensor), wherein the one or more microcontrollers are configured to transmit an alarm condition signal to a system controller (see Fig. 1 system controller 150; also, see Fig. 3-7 sensos 370, 570,and 770) when the one or more microcontrollers determine that the signal from the gas sensing element is above a first predetermined threshold level (see [0025], [0033], [0054], [0084], and [0122]; also, see calm 2 for rationale).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Rumler-Alfano’s combination as taught above to include a gas sensor comprising a microcontroller, wherein the one or more microcontrollers are configured to transmit an alarm condition signal to a system controller when the one or more microcontrollers determine that the signal from the gas sensing element is above a first predetermined threshold level as taught by Notaro in order to perform mitigation measures such as control of the gas system (see [0025], [0032] and [0044]).
Claim(s) 19-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rumler et al (US 20230058790) in view of Huang et al (US 20250347438) and Zhang (CN 217306384 U, as supported by the machine translation provided).
As per claim 19, Rumler teaches a gas sensing leak mitigation unit (see Fig. 4 mitigation unit 100; also, see [0042] and [0062]) comprising:
a housing see [0006] “In another embodiment, a method includes receiving, via a processor, refrigerant concentration data from a refrigerant sensor disposed within a housing along with the processor”; also, see [0007] “…. Further, the one or more components are configured to change states based on the one or more signals, and the one or more components are configured to couple to one or more devices configured to control one or more operations of a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system. The sensor device also includes a housing configured to enclose the R32 sensor, the microcontroller, and the one or more components”; also, see page 9 claim 1 and 2 “…wherein the one or more components comprise a relay device, a triode for alternating current (TRIAC) device, or both”);
a gas sensing element arranged within the housing (see Fig. 4 unit 100 and Fig. 6 sensor 132; also, see [0007]);
one or more microcontrollers arranged within the housing (see [0007] “..The sensor device also includes a housing configured to enclose the R32 sensor, the microcontroller, and the one or more components…; also, see Fig. 6 microcontroller 134; also, see [0056]) and configured to receive a signal from the gas sensing element (see 0056) and to determine if the signal from the gas sensing element is above a predetermined threshold level (see Fig. 6 and see [0060] “…the microcontroller 134 may, at manufacture, be programmed to send certain control signals to components of the HVAC system in response to the refrigerant concentration data exceeding a threshold concentration value…”); and
While Rumler teaches a housing enclosing the sensor, Rumler dos not explicitly teach the housing configured to mount to a surface, a light guide included with the housing, wherein the light guide is configured to guide light generated by the gas sensing leak mitigation unit to the surface.
Huang teaches a control device comprising a housing configured to mount to a surface (see the Abstract “…a control device including a housing…”; see Fig. 1 the control device 100 to be mounted; also, see [0038] “The control device 100 is mounted on the indoor unit 61. Specifically, since the control device 100 includes the gas detection probe 40, the control device 100 can be located at a position where the refrigerant of the indoor heat exchanger 611 of the air conditioner 600 tends to accumulate or leak”), a light guide included with the housing (see Fig. 2 light guide 70; also, see [0051], ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Rumler’s invention to include a housing configured to mount to a surface and a light guide included with the housing, as taught by Hung in order to display a status of the system based on the guide light (see [0051] “…. In this way, the alarm element 70 can remind the user of the occurrence of refrigerant leakage by means of a sound alarm or a light alarm”).
Rumler-Huang still does not explicitly teach wherein the light guide is configured to guide light generated by the gas sensing leak mitigation unit to the surface.
Zhang teaches a housing comprising a guide light, wherein the light guide is configured to guide light generated by the unit or housing to the surface (see page 3 par. 3-4 “the shell 20 is provided with a lamp groove 24, the embedded lamp 22 is set in the lamp groove 24,the notch of the lamp groove 24 is inclined to one side of the mounting wall, and the lamp groove 24 is provided with a light guide member 25, the light guide member 25 is embedded lamp 22 of the lightguide to the mounting wall… turn on lamp 22 of light through the guide of the lightguide member 25, is projected on the mounting wall, on the mounting wall to form a flat unfolded diffuse reflection light screen, so as to prompt the passenger when going out the electric induction card from the card slot 21 is taken out, wherein, the light of the embedded lamp 22 is projected on the mounting wall to form a diffuse reflection light curtain, it can avoid the strong light to the passenger with uncomfortable feeling, in the process of lighting the embedded lamp set 22, by gradually increasing the brightness mode, further improving the comfortable feeling of the passenger).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Rumler-Huang’s invention to include a guide light, wherein the light guide is configured to guide light generated by unit or housing to the surface as taught by Zhang in order to allow the housing of the gas sensor unit of Rumer-Huang to illuminate the housing with reflected light and avoid a strong light to illuminate (see page 3 par. 3-4; thus, placing a light towards a wall will cause a reflected light to be dimmer than a direct light coming from the housing, this will cause an indirect illumination).
As per claim 20, Rumler-Huang-Zhang teaches the gas sensing leak mitigation unit according to claim 19, Notaro further teaches wherein the gas sensing leak mitigation unit is configured to generate the light to provide information regarding an operational status (see [0051] “…he alarm element 70 can be an LED light, a buzzer or an intelligent voice announcement device. In this way, the alarm element 70 can remind the user of the occurrence of refrigerant leakage by means of a sound alarm or a light alarm.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Rumler-Huang-Zhang’s combination as taught above to include wherein the gas sensing leak mitigation unit is configured to generate the light to provide information regarding an operational status as taught by Huang in order to advise a user or an operational status in the system (see [0051] “…The processing chip 30 can control the alarm element 70 to emit sound and/or light warning information at least according to the target gas information. Specifically, when the refrigerant gas concentration detected by the gas detection probe 40 exceeds a warning value, the processing chip 30 may send a control signal to the alarm element 70. The alarm element 70 can be an LED light, a buzzer or an intelligent voice announcement device. In this way, the alarm element 70 can remind the user of the occurrence of refrigerant leakage by means of a sound alarm or a light alarm”).
As per claim 21, Rumler-Huang-Zhang teaches the gas sensing leak mitigation unit according to claim 20, Huang further teaches wherein the operational status is sensor power-up, self-test, normal operation, alarm state, or sensor fault (see [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Rumler-Huang-Zhang’s combination as taught above to include wherein the operational status is sensor power-up, self-test, normal operation, alarm state, or sensor fault as taught by Huang in order to advise a user or an operational status in the system such as an alarm (see [0051] “…The processing chip 30 can control the alarm element 70 to emit sound and/or light warning information at least according to the target gas information. Specifically, when the refrigerant gas concentration detected by the gas detection probe 40 exceeds a warning value, the processing chip 30 may send a control signal to the alarm element 70. The alarm element 70 can be an LED light, a buzzer or an intelligent voice announcement device. In this way, the alarm element 70 can remind the user of the occurrence of refrigerant leakage by means of a sound alarm or a light alarm”).
As per claim 23, Rumler-Huang-Zhang teaches the gas sensing leak mitigation unit according to claim 19, Huang further teaches wherein the housing defines an opening (see fig. 1 hole 113 and holes 101 are openings).
Huang does not explicitly teach wherein the generated light by the gas sensing leak mitigation unit is visible by a reflection from the surface via the opening of the housing.
Zhang teaches a housing for sensor unit comprising a guide light, wherein the generated light by the sensing unit is visible by a reflection from the surface via an opening of the housing (Zhang teaches the light guide is configured to guide light generated to the surface, (see page 3 par. 3-4 “the shell 20 is provided with a lamp groove 24, the embedded lamp 22 is set in the lamp groove 24,the notch of the lamp groove 24 is inclined to one side of the mounting wall, and the lamp groove 24 is provided with a light guide member 25, the light guide member 25 is embedded lamp 22 of the lightguide to the mounting wall… turn on lamp 22 of light through the guide of the lightguide member 25, is projected on the mounting wall, on the mounting wall to form a flat unfolded diffuse reflection light screen, so as to prompt the passenger when going out the electric induction card from the card slot 21 is taken out, wherein, the light of the embedded lamp 22 is projected on the mounting wall to form a diffuse reflection light curtain, it can avoid the strong light to the passenger with uncomfortable feeling, in the process of lighting the embedded lamp set 22, by gradually increasing the brightness mode, further improving the comfortable feeling of the passenger; also, see page 3 par. 5 and page 3 last par. to page 4 par. 1 “Further, the outer side of the shell 20 is provided with an annular light guide straight slot 26), annular light guide straight slot 26) is provided with an annular soft light cover 27, annular light guide straight slot 26) is connected with the lamp groove 24, annular soft light cover 27 at least one surface is provided with a frosted soft light surface, annular soft light cover 27 is provided with an inner concave arc surface 28. that is, the part of the light in the lamp groove 24 can be scattered to the annular light guide straight slot 26), through the frosted soft light surface of the annular soft light cover 27 from the front of the shell 20, forming a soft decorative aperture outside the shell 20, further improving the visual effect).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Rumler-Huang-Zhang combination as taught above to include a guide light, wherein the generated light by the sensing unit is visible by a reflection from the surface via an opening of the housing as taught by Zhang in order to allow the housing of the gas sensor unit of Rumer-Huang to illuminate the housing with reflected light and avoid a strong light to illuminate (see page 3 par. 3-4; thus, placing a light towards a wall will cause a reflected light to be dimmer than a direct light coming from the housing, this will cause an indirect illumination) and improve a visual effect (see page 3 last par. to page 4 par. 1 “Further, the outer side of the shell 20 is provided with an annular light guide straight slot 26), annular light guide straight slot 26) is provided with an annular soft light cover 27, annular light guide straight slot 26) is connected with the lamp groove 24, annular soft light cover 27 at least one surface is provided with a frosted soft light surface, annular soft light cover 27 is provided with an inner concave arc surface 28. that is, the part of the light in the lamp groove 24 can be scattered to the annular light guide straight slot 26), through the frosted soft light surface of the annular soft light cover 27 from the front of the shell 20, forming a soft decorative aperture outside the shell 20, further improving the visual effect).
Claim(s) 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rumler et al (US 20230058790) in view of Huang et al (US 20250347438) and Zhang (CN 217306384 U, as supported by the machine translation provided) as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Thoni et al (US 20200049365).
As per claim 22, Rumler-Huang-Zhang teaches the gas sensing leak mitigation unit according to claim 20, Rumler-Huang-Zhang does not explicitly teach wherein the generated light provides different information regarding the operation status depending on whether the generated light is blinking or a color of the generated light.
However, Thoni teaches a sensor unit comprising a light, wherein the generated light provides different information regarding the operation status depending on whether the generated light is blinking or a color of the generated light (see [0057] the light is used to report different status; and see [0081] “The LED indicator 114 is configured to report a status of the sensor unit 100, the controlled device 101, and/or thermostat 104 to a user by changing colors, blinking, and/or illuminating along only a portion of the LED indicator 114. In an exemplary embodiment, the LED indicator 114 is configured to communicate to a user one or a combination of a pairing status between the sensor unit 100 and thermostat 104, a pairing status between the sensor unit 100 and the controlled device 101, an equipment operational status (e.g., an HVAC equipment operational status), an operating condition of the sensor unit 100, and an indication of a measurement received from one of the onboard sensors”; also, see [0082], [0083], [0089] “…light emitted from the transparent portion 118 may illuminate a wall or surface proximate to the sensor unit 100 to indicate operational conditions,).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Rumler-Huang-Zhang’s combination as taught above to include a light, wherein the generated light provides different information regarding the operation status depending on whether the generated light is blinking or a color of the generated light as taught by Thoni in order to allow a user to differentiate different operational status of the system (see [0057], [0081], [0082], [0083], [0089] and [0097]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, as cited in PTO form 892, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Howells (US 20230109770) teaches a gas sensor unit comprising a housing enclosing relays, microprocessors, and sensor (see Fig. 10 and 0054).
De (US 20230029164) teaches a gas sensor unit comprising a processor, sensor and performing mitigation actions when a gas leak is detected (see 0061, 0067, 0084)
Ladder logic World, teach the design choice of energizing or de-energizing a relay to open or close, or close to open, based on the energizing/de-energizing.
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicant must also show how the amendments avoid or differentiate from such references or objections. See 37 CFR 1.111 (c).
/O. L./
Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117