DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment filed on March 3, 2026. Claims 1-4 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made Non-FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shrivastava et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2024/0214988).
Regarding claim 1, Shrivastava et al discloses a communication control method performed by a user equipment in a mobile communication system for providing Multicast/Broadcast Services (MBS) to the user equipment, the communication control method comprising: receiving, from a network node, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message for establishing a multicast MBS bearer for the user equipment in an RRC connected state (see at least paragraph 100 discloses in connected state, terminal receiving RRC reconfiguration message which includes MBS radio bearer (BRB)), wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises an MBS session identifier indicating a multicast MBS session associated with the multicast MBS bearer (see at least paragraph 100 discloses RRC reconfiguration message carries activation of MBS session; further on paragraph 106-107 discloses MBS session ID).
Regarding claim 2, Shrivastava et al discloses notifying, by an RRC entity in the user equipment, an entity in a higher layer than the RRC entity of the MBS session identifier comprised in the RRC reconfiguration message (see at least paragraph 52 discloses notifying to higher layer).
Regarding claim 3, Shrivastava et al discloses a user equipment that receives Multicast/Broadcast Services (MBS) from network, the user equipment comprising: a receiver configured to receive from a network node, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message for establishing a multicast MBS bearer for the user equipment in an RRC connected state (see at least paragraph 100 discloses in connected state, terminal receiving RRC reconfiguration message which includes MBS radio bearer (BRB)), wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises an MBS session identifier indicating a multicast MBS session associated with the multicast MBS bearer (see at least paragraph 100 discloses RRC reconfiguration message carries activation of MBS session; further on paragraph 106-107 discloses MBS session ID).
Regarding claim 4, Shrivastava et al discloses a network node configured to provide Multicast/Broadcast Services (MBS), the network node comprising: a transmitter configured to transmit to a user equipment in an RRC connected state, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message for establishing a multicast MBS bearer for the user equipment (see at least paragraph 100 discloses in connected state, terminal receiving RRC reconfiguration message which includes MBS radio bearer (BRB)), wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises an MBS session identifier indicating a multicast MBS session associated with the multicast MBS bearer (see at least paragraph 100 discloses RRC reconfiguration message carries activation of MBS session; further on paragraph 106-107 discloses MBS session ID).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed on March 3, 2026, with respect to claims 1, 3 and 4 have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Shrivastava et al.
Conclusion
/LITON MIAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642