DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. While Buttner does disclose that the grooves 24 are individually axially oriented, Buttner further discloses the grooves arranged in a series (see Figs. 16 and 34). This series extends radially outward, i.e. perpendicular to the longitudinal/axial direction. As such, “the plurality of serrations on the serrated surface extend perpendicular to the longitudinal axis” as broadly claimed. Likewise, each individual groove of Buttner has a radial dimension in which it extends, even though the longitudinal dimension may be greater. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-10, 12, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BUTTNER (US 20130187512) in view of KARLEN (previously cited; US 4249098).
Regarding claim 1, BUTTNER discloses an induction rotor assembly, comprising:
a laminated stack (1) including a body having a first end and an opposing second end arranged along a longitudinal axis (11), wherein the body has an outer circumferential surface extending from the first end to the second end along the longitudinal axis (11), wherein the outer circumferential surface has a plurality of grooves (3) extending from the first end to the second end;(see Fig.1-2 and para. [0090])
a plurality of conductor bars (4), wherein each of the plurality of conductor bars (4) is disposed within each of the grooves (3), and wherein each of the plurality of conductor bars (4) includes a first conductor end extending axially beyond the first end of the laminated stack (1) and a second conductor end extending axially beyond the second end of the laminated stack (1) (see Fig. 1 and 2), and wherein the first conductor end and the second conductor end of each of the plurality of conductor bars (4) includes a first serrated surface (20) and a second serrated surface (21) all having a plurality of serrations (24) wherein the serrations extend perpendicular to a longitudinal axis (11) of the plurality of conductor bars (see Fig. 16 and 34 and para [0102] and [0112]);
a first end ring (5) having a plurality of serrated surfaces opposing and mating with the serrated surface of each first conductor end to interlock each of the plurality of conductor bars (4) to the first end ring (5) (see Fig. 16); and
a second end ring (5) having a plurality of serrated surfaces opposing and mating with the serrated surface of each second conductor end to interlock each of the plurality of conductor bars (4) to the second end ring (5) (see Fig. 16), and wherein the plurality of conductor bars (4) extend between the first end ring (5) and the second end ring (5) (see Fig. 2).
However, BUTTNER fails to disclose a third serrated surface.
KARLEN discloses a rotor conductor bar 1 with a serrated surface 8 on its end face having a plurality of serrations wherein the serrations extend perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the conductor bar 1 (see Fig. 4 and col. 4, lines 43-54).
Karlen
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the rotor of BUTTNER with a conductor bar with a third serrated surface (on its end face) having a plurality of serrations wherein the serrations extend perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the conductor bar, similar to that of KARLEN.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide an even more secure attachment to the end ring with a significant reduction in solder (or other adhesive) required, as taught by KARLEN (see col. 4, lines 43-54).
Regarding claim 2, BUTTNER in view of KARLEN teaches the induction rotor assembly of claim 1, wherein BUTTNER discloses the body includes a plurality of laminated steel sheets (see para [0090]).
Regarding claim 3, BUTTNER in view of KARLEN teaches the induction rotor assembly of claim 1, wherein BUTTNER discloses the plurality of conductor bars (4) is formed from at least one of copper or aluminum (both; see para [0090]).
Regarding claim 4, BUTTNER in view of KARLEN teaches the induction rotor assembly of claim 1, wherein BUTTNER discloses at least one of the plurality of conductor bars (4) includes an interlock feature (7) disposed as part of at least one of the first conductor end or a second conductor end, wherein the interlock feature (7) is configured to provide mechanical bonding to at least one of the first end ring (5) or the second end ring (5). (The interlock feature 7 includes a hole or other opening in the first end and/or the second end punched into and extending through the conductor bar 4. See Fig. 31 and para [0031])
Regarding claim 5, BUTTNER in view of KARLEN teaches the induction rotor assembly of claim 1, wherein BUTTNER discloses the first end ring (5) and the second end ring (5) are each cast in place over the first conductor end and a second conductor end, respectively, of each of the plurality of conductor bars (4)(“A die-casting method is applied at the next step for producing the short-circuit rotor. Short-circuit rings that are in contact with the copper bars at their end face are produced by that method and the still free space in slots 3 simultaneously filled with a molten material.” Para [0090]).
Regarding claim 6, BUTTNER in view of KARLEN teaches the induction rotor assembly of claim 5, wherein BUTTNER discloses the first end ring (5) and the second end ring (5) include and are formed from aluminum (see para [0091]).
Regarding claim 9, BUTTNER in view of KARLEN teaches the induction rotor assembly of claim 1, wherein BUTTNER discloses the plurality of serrations (24) on the serrated surface [each] extend parallel to the longitudinal axis (11)(see Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 10, BUTTNER in view of KARLEN teaches the induction rotor assembly of claim 9, wherein the BUTTNER discloses plurality of serrations (24) [each] extend a full longitudinal length of each of the plurality of conductor bars (4)(see Fig. 17), and at least two surfaces of each of the plurality of conductor bars (4) include the serrated surface (see Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 21, BUTTNER in view of KARLEN teaches the induction rotor assembly of claim 9, wherein BUTTNER discloses the plurality of serrations (26) have a sawtooth profile (see Fig. 34).
Regarding claim 12, BUTTNER in view of KARLEN teaches the induction rotor assembly of claim 1, wherein BUTTNER discloses each of the plurality of serrations (24) includes a series of repeating half circle indentations (see Fig. 36).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BUTTNER in view KARLEN and further in view of PORCHER (US 20210135524).
Regarding claim 7, BUTTNER in view of KARLEN teaches the induction rotor assembly of claim 1.
However, BUTTNER in view of KARLEN does not teach each serration of the serrated surface has a depth of between 0.1 and 0.5 millimeters.
PORCHER discloses a rotor (1) with a laminated stack (2) and conductor bars (10) having a plurality of serrations (5), each serration having a depth of between 0.1 and 0.5 millimeters (“between 0.4 and 0.6 mm, for example of 0.5 mm.” Para [0051].)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the rotor of BUTTNER in view of KARLEN with each serration of the serrated surface has a depth of between 0.1 and 0.5 millimeters, similar to PORCHER
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide clamping of the bars within the slot firm enough that each bar is immobilized both axially in the direction of the axis of rotation of the rotor, and radially. The bars can thus without moving withstand the pressure of the injection of the aluminum into the laminations stack, as taught by PORCHER. (see para [0052])
Regarding claim 8, BUTTNER in view of KARLEN teaches the induction rotor assembly of claim 1.
However, BUTTNER in view of KARLEN does not teach serrations of the serrated surface have a pitch between 0.5 and 1.5 millimeters.
PORCHER discloses a rotor (1) with a laminated stack (2) and conductor bars (10) having a plurality of serrations (5), the serrations of the serrated surface have a pitch approximately 0.5 and 1.5 millimeters. (“bosses 5 may have an amplitude of between 0.2 and 0.4 mm, for example of 0.3 mm.” Para [0051].) PORCHER teaches that arrangements of different amplitudes/pitches can be used in a conductor bar with serrations, making the amplitudes/pitches result effective variables, in order to improve immobilization during assembly. (see para [0052])
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to arrange the serrations of BUTTNER in view of KARLEN according to the claimed pitch between 0.5 and 1.5 millimeters.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide clamping of the bars within the slot firm enough that each bar is immobilized both axially in the direction of the axis of rotation of the rotor, and radially. The bars can thus without moving withstand the pressure of the injection of the aluminum into the laminations stack, as taught by PORCHER (see para [0052]), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BUTTNER in view of KARLEN and further in view of MEYER (US 20130291373).
Regarding claim 13, BUTTNER discloses an induction rotor assembly, wherein the induction rotor assembly includes
a laminated stack (1) including a body having a first end and an opposing second end arranged along a longitudinal axis (11), the body having an outer circumferential surface extending from the first end to the second end along the longitudinal axis (11), the outer circumferential surface having a plurality of grooves (3) extending from the first end to the second end (see Fig. 1 and 2 and para. [0090]);
a plurality of conductor bars (4), wherein each of the plurality of conductor bars (4) is disposed within each of the grooves (3), and wherein each of the plurality of conductor bars (4) includes a first conductor end extending axially beyond the first end of the laminated stack (1) and a second conductor end extending axially beyond the second end of the laminated stack (1), wherein the first conductor end and the second conductor end of each of the plurality of conductor bars (4) includes first serrated surface (20) and a second serrated surface (21) all having a plurality of serrations (24) (see Fig. 16 and 34 and para [0102] and [0112]);
a first end ring (5) having a plurality of serrated surfaces opposing and mating with the serrated surface of each first conductor end to interlock each of the plurality of conductor bars (4) to the first end ring (5) (see Fig. 16); and
a second end ring (5) having a plurality of serrated surfaces opposing and mating with the serrated surface of each second conductor end to interlock each of the plurality of conductor bars (4) to the second end ring (5) (see Fig. 16), and wherein the plurality of conductor bars (4) extends between the first end ring (5) and the second end ring (5) (see Fig. 2).
However, BUTTNER does not disclose a third serrated surface. Neither does BUTTNER disclose a vehicle motor and a stator with the rotor configured to rotate due to a rotating magnetic field created by the stator.
KARLEN discloses a rotor conductor bar 1 with a serrated surface 8 on its end face having a plurality of serrations wherein the serrations extend perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the conductor bar 1 (see Fig. 4 and col. 4, lines 43-54).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the rotor of BUTTNER with a conductor bar with a third serrated surface (on its end face) having a plurality of serrations wherein the serrations extend perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the conductor bar, similar to that of KARLEN.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide an even more secure attachment to the end ring with a significant reduction in solder (or other adhesive) required, as taught by KARLEN (see col. 4, lines 43-54).
MEYER discloses an induction rotor assembly (4) with a plurality of conductor bars (8) with serrated surfaces (53,54) in a vehicle motor (1) and a stator (2) with the rotor configured to rotate due to a rotating magnetic field created by the stator (see para [0026])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the rotor of BUTTNER in view of KARLEN in a vehicle motor with a stator with the rotor configured to rotate due to a rotating magnetic field created by the stator, similar to MEYER.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide an electric motor for a vehicle with reduced friction, reduced inter-bar current, and reduced energy losses as taught by MEYER (see para [0015-0019])
Regarding claim 14, BUTTNER in view KARLEN and further in view of MEYER teaches the induction rotor assembly of claim 13, wherein
BUTTNER discloses the plurality of conductor bars (4) is formed from at least one of copper or aluminum (both; see para [0090]).
Regarding claim 15, BUTTNER in view KARLEN and further in view of MEYER teaches the induction rotor assembly of claim 13, wherein
BUTTNER discloses at least one of the plurality of conductor bars (4) includes an interlock feature (7) disposed as part of at least one of the first conductor end or the second conductor end, wherein the interlock feature (7) is configured to provide mechanical bonding to at least one of the first end ring (5) or the second end ring (5) (The interlock feature 7 includes a hole or other opening in the first end and/or the second end punched into and extending through the conductor bar 4. See Fig. 31 and para [0031]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20150303781-A1 Brandl discloses a conductor bar with three serrated surfaces (see Figs. 2-4).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN STEFANON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834