DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 30 June 2026, has been entered and carefully considered.
Claims 1, 11, 16 and 30 are amended.
Claims 1-30 are currently pending.
The outstanding rejection of Claims 1-30 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment to Claims 1, 11, 16 and 30.
The outstanding rejections of Claims 1-30 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment to Claims 1, 11, 16 and 30.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 8-20, and 25-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-20 and 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al (United States Pre-Grant Publication 2025/0261106), hereinafter Hong, in view of Rao et al (WIPO Publication 2024/173404), hereinafter Rao, and Li et al (United States Pre-Grant Publication 20240137849), hereinafter Li.
Regarding Claim 1, Hong discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories (Figure 10 – memory 7009); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Figure 10 – processor 7010 coupled to memory 7009), configured to cause the UE to:
receive a synchronization signal block (SSB) configuration for SSBs that carry first synchronization information (paragraphs 0038-0039 – a UE performs an initial search process using SSBs comprising a PSS, an SSS, a PBCH, and a DMRS for downlink synchronization);
receive a reference signal indicating second synchronization information that is reduced relative to the first synchronization information (paragraphs 0076-0079 – the UE receives light SSBs comprising only PSS and SSS); and
measure the reference signal to obtain measurement information (paragraph 0079 – the UE performs light SSB measurement); and
transmit, in association with the measurement information, a communication (paragraph 0079 – the UE performs light SSB measurement and reporting; see also paragraphs 0068-0075).
However, Hong does not disclose receiv(ing), based on the transmission of the communication, an SSB in accordance with the SSB configuration and the measurement of the reference signal. In an analogous art, Rao discloses this. Specifically, Rao discloses a WTRU (i.e., UE) receiving SSBs (Figure 2, 206) from a gNB, responding with a communication (cell wake-up signal 212), and receiving a subsequent WUS response (Figure 2 – 216) (refer to Figure 2 and paragraph 0169). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hong and Rao. One would have been motivated to do so in order to perform network energy saving in a wireless network (refer to paragraph 0003 of Rao).
However, the aforementioned references do not disclose wherein the reference signal is received in a portion of a candidate SSB location defined by the SSB configuration, the reference signal associated with fewer symbols than a total quantity of symbols associated with a single candidate SSB location. In an analogous art, Li discloses this. Specifically, Li discloses a reference signal occupying two symbols that are spaced by at least one symbol (paragraph 0093). Further, at paragraph 0094, Li discloses the reference signal and an SSB of a same cell as the reference signal are located at a same time domain position. For example, the reference signal is located in the first symbol in which the SSB is located, or is located in the first symbol and the third symbol of the SSB (i.e., fewer symbols than a total quantity of symbols of the SSB). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hong / Rao with Li. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve frequency offset estimation (paragraph 0093 of Li) reduce reference signal processing time and reduce a delay of accessing a target cell by the UE (paragraph 0094 of Li).
Claim 16 is a method claim comprising the same steps as performed by the user equipment of Claim 1. Therefore, Claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as presented above for Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11, Hong discloses a network node (Figure 1 – access network device 12) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories (Figure 1 – access network device 12 and paragraph 0036 – the Office submits the listed types of access network devices inherently comprise one or more memories); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Figure 1 – access network device 12 and paragraph 0036 – the Office submits the listed types of access network devices inherently comprise one or more memories), configured to cause the network node to:
transmit a synchronization signal block (SSB) configuration for SSBs that carry first synchronization information (paragraphs 0038-0039 – a UE performs an initial search process by receiving SSBs from access network devices comprising a PSS, an SSS, a PBCH, and a DMRS for downlink synchronization);
transmit a reference signal indicating second synchronization information that is reduced relative to the first synchronization information (paragraphs 0076-0079 – the UE receives light SSBs comprising only PSS and SSS); and
receive, in association with measurement information of the reference signal, a communication (paragraph 0079 – the UE performs light SSB measurement and reporting; see also paragraphs 0068-0075 for reporting measurements to the serving cell).
However, Hong does not disclose and transmit, based on the reception of the communication, an SSB, wherein the SSB is in accordance with the SSB configuration and the measurement information. In an analogous art, Rao discloses this. Specifically, Rao discloses a WTRU (i.e., UE) receiving SSBs (Figure 2, 206) from a gNB (i.e., network side device), responding with a communication (cell wake-up signal 212), and receiving a subsequent WUS response (Figure 2 – 216) (refer to Figure 2 and paragraph 0169). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hong and Rao. One would have been motivated to do so in order to perform network energy saving in a wireless network (refer to paragraph 0003 of Rao).
However, the aforementioned references do not disclose wherein the reference signal is transmitted in a portion of a candidate SSB location defined by the SSB configuration, the reference signal associated with fewer symbols than a total quantity of symbols associated with a single candidate SSB location. In an analogous art, Li discloses this. Specifically, Li discloses a reference signal occupying two symbols that are spaced by at least one symbol (paragraph 0093). Further, at paragraph 0094, Li discloses the reference signal and an SSB of a same cell as the reference signal are located at a same time domain position. For example, the reference signal is located in the first symbol in which the SSB is located, or is located in the first symbol and the third symbol of the SSB (i.e., fewer symbols than a total quantity of symbols of the SSB). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hong / Rao with Li. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve frequency offset estimation (paragraph 0093 of Li) reduce reference signal processing time and reduce a delay of accessing a target cell by the UE (paragraph 0094 of Li).
Claim 30 is a method claim comprising the same steps as performed by the network node of Claim 11. Therefore, Claim 30 is rejected for the same reasons as presented above for Claim 11.
Regarding Claim 2, Hong discloses wherein the SSB is associated with an SSB location in a time domain and a first transmission pattern (paragraph 0056 – time synchronization detection for synchronization signals; Figure 2 – a transmission pattern for initial SSB is shown comprising PSS, SSS, PBCH and DMRS), and the one or more processors, to cause the UE to receive of the reference signal, are configured to cause the UE to: receive, in at least a portion of the SSB location, the reference signal using a second transmission pattern (Figure 5(A) – the light SSB transmission pattern is shown with solely the PSS and SSS).
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, Hong discloses wherein the first synchronization information includes primary synchronization signal (PSS) information, secondary synchronization signal (SSS) information, and physical broadcast channel (PBCH) information (Figure 2 – the initial SSB comprises PSS, SSS and PBCH), and wherein the second synchronization information includes only the PSS information and the SSS information (Figure 5(A) - the light SSB transmission pattern is shown with solely the PSS and SSS).
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, Hong discloses the second synchronization information indicates symbol timing information (paragraph 0056 and 0088 – SSB time domain position) and a physical cell identifier (paragraph 0056 and 0109 – the SSB contains physical cell ID and sub-cell IDs).
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Hong discloses the second synchronization information indicates slot timing information (paragraph 0056 and 0088 – SSB time domain position), an index of the reference signal (paragraph 0109 – SSB index), and a physical cell identifier (paragraph 0056 and 0109 – the SSB contains physical cell ID and sub-cell IDs).
Regarding Claim 6, Hong discloses the second synchronization information includes only primary synchronization signal (PSS) information and secondary synchronization signal (SSS) information (Figure 5(A) – the light SSB solely includes PSS and SSS (excluding PBCH and DMRS)).
Regarding Claims 8 and 17, Hong discloses the SSB is associated with an SSB location in a time domain and a first transmission pattern (paragraph 0056 – time synchronization detection for synchronization signals; Figure 2 – a transmission pattern for initial SSB is shown comprising PSS, SSS, PBCH and DMRS), wherein the first transmission pattern indicates a first time domain location for a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a second time domain location for a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a third time domain location for a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) (refer to Figure 2 for transmission pattern comprising PSS, SSS and PBCH), and wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to receive the reference signal, are configured to cause the UE to: receive, in at least a portion of the SSB location, at least the PSS and the SSS using a second transmission pattern (Figure 5(A) - the light SSB transmission pattern is shown with solely the PSS and SSS).
Regarding Claim 9, Hong discloses the second transmission pattern includes the PSS in the first time domain location and the SSS in a fourth time domain location (Figure 5(A) - the light SSB transmission pattern is shown with solely the PSS and SSS).
Regarding Claim 10, Hong discloses the second transmission pattern includes only the PSS in the first time domain location and the SSS in the second time domain location (Figure 5(A) - the light SSB transmission pattern is shown with solely the PSS and SSS).
Regarding Claim 12, Hong discloses the SSB is associated with an SSB location in a time domain and a first transmission pattern (paragraph 0056 – time synchronization detection for synchronization signals; Figure 2 – a transmission pattern for initial SSB is shown comprising PSS, SSS, PBCH and DMRS), and wherein the one or more processors, to cause the network node to transmit the reference signal, are configured to cause the network node to: transmit, in at least a portion of the SSB location, the reference signal using a second transmission pattern (Figure 5(A) - the light SSB transmission pattern is shown with solely the PSS and SSS).
Regarding Claim 18, Hong discloses the reference signal includes a first reference signal and a second reference signal, and wherein the first reference signal and the second reference signal are included in the SSB location (paragraphs 0082-0087 – the UE monitors for light SSBs sent by a power-saving base station).
Regarding Claim 19, Hong discloses the second transmission pattern indicates that a first portion of the SSB location includes the first reference signal and a second portion of the SSB location includes the second reference signal (paragraphs 0082-0088 – the UE monitors for light SSBs based on SSB periodicity and time domain position receiving in SSB configuration).
Regarding Claim 20, Hong discloses the second transmission pattern indicates that a first portion of the SSB location includes PSSs for the first reference signal and the second reference signal and a second portion of the SSB location includes SSSs for the first reference signal and the second reference signal (paragraphs 0087-0089 - the SSB configuration may include at least one of the following: an SSB identifier, an SSB periodicity, an SSB time domain position, an SSB frequency domain position, an SMTC configuration, index configuration actually sent for SSB…the light SSB may include at least one of PSS or SSS).
Regarding Claim 25, Hong discloses the reception of the reference signal comprises receiving the reference signal via a frequency, and wherein the reception of the SSB comprises receiving the SSB via the frequency (paragraphs 0087-0089 – the light SSB is received via an SSB frequency domain position).
Regarding Claim 26, Hong discloses the measurement of the reference signal comprises: measuring the reference signal during a first measurement window (paragraphs 0062-0064 – measurement windows are defined for the UE).
Regarding Claim 27, Hong discloses measuring the SSB during a second measurement window, wherein a timing of the second measurement window is relative to the first measurement window (paragraph 0064 - the RRC configuration for SSB-Measurement Timing Configuration (SSB-MTC) provides a precise timing when the UE should measure the SSB. The configuration specifies a measurement periodicity and offset, with the periodicity ranging from 5 subframes to 160 subframes, and a measurement time length in each periodicity ranging from 1 subframe to 5 subframes).
Regarding Claim 28, the combination of Hong and Rao disclose the communication includes a cell wakeup signal (refer to Figure 2 of Rao – the WTRU sends a cell wakeup signal to the gNB). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Hong and Rao. One would have been motivated to do so in order to perform network energy saving in a wireless network (refer to paragraph 0003 of Rao).
Regarding Claim 29, Hong discloses the communication includes a measurement report that indicates the measurement information (paragraph 0079 – the UE performs light SSB measurement and reporting; see also paragraphs 0068-0075 for reporting measurements to the serving cell).
Claims 7 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of Rao and Li as applied to claims 6 and 17 above, and further in view of Zisimopoulos (WIPO Publication 2021/055476), hereinafter Zisimopoulos.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Hong, Rao, and Li discloses the limitations of Claim 6, as described above. However, the aforementioned references do not disclose the second synchronization information includes only PSS information, SSS information, and tertiary synchronization signal (TSS) information. In an analogous art, Zisimopoulos discloses this. Specifically, Zisimopoulos discloses transmitting an additional reference signal (tertiary synchronization signal) in addition to PSS and SSS (paragraph 0075). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hong / Rao / Li with Zisimopoulos. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase the cell ID pool for mobile relays see paragraph 0075 of Zisimopoulos).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Hong, Rao, and Li discloses the limitations of Claim 17, as described above. Hong further discloses the second transmission pattern includes the PSS in the first time domain location, the SSS in a fourth time domain location (refer to Figure 5(A) for transmission pattern of a light SSB). However, the aforementioned references do not disclose a tertiary synchronization signal (TSS) in at least one of the first time domain location or the fourth time domain location. In an analogous art, Zisimopoulos discloses this. Specifically, Zisimopoulos discloses transmitting an additional reference signal (tertiary synchronization signal) in addition to PSS and SSS (paragraph 0075). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hong / Rao / Li with Zisimopoulos. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase the cell ID pool for mobile relays see paragraph 0075 of Zisimopoulos).
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Hong, Rao, Li and Zisimopoulos further discloses wherein the PSS and the SSS are included in first one or more frequency domain resources of the reference signal (paragraphs 0087-0089 – the light SSB is received via an SSB frequency domain position) and the TSS is included in second or more frequency domain resources of the reference signal (Zisimopoulos at paragraph 0075). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Hong / Rao / Li with Zisimopoulos. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase the cell ID pool for mobile relays see paragraph 0075 of Zisimopoulos).
Regarding Claim 23, the combination of Hong, Rao, Li and Zisimopoulos further discloses the TSS is frequency division multiplexed with the PSS and the SSS (refer to paragraph 0038 of Hong (for SSBs in OFDM symbols) and paragraph 0075 of Zisimopoulos (for TSS)). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Hong / Rao / Li with Zisimopoulos. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase the cell ID pool for mobile relays see paragraph 0075 of Zisimopoulos).
Regarding Claim 24, the combination of Hong, Rao, Li and Zisimopoulos further discloses the PSS, the SSS, and the TSS are time division multiplexed (refer to paragraph 0038 of Hong (for SSBs in OFDM symbols (i.e., time domain symbols) and paragraph 0075 of Zisimopoulos (for TSS)). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Hong / Rao / Li with Zisimopoulos. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase the cell ID pool for mobile relays see paragraph 0075 of Zisimopoulos).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Khlass et al (United States Pre-Grant Publication 20240284323) discloses transmitting lean or light SSB or Discovery Reference Signal (e.g., two symbols for PSS and could be transmitted SSS instead of legacy SSBs (PSS+SSS+PBCH) (paragraph 0116).
Sakhnini et al (United States Pre-Grant Publication 20210359809) discloses a periodic lean SSB including either a PSS or an SSS in one symbol carried on a narrow BWP (paragraph 0092).
Babaei (United States Pre-Grant Publication 20240098636) discloses a light version of SSB (e.g., a two-symbol DRS) transmitted via a cell that is in a dormant/power saving/energy saving state.
/ANDREW W CHRISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472