DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Species I and Species A in the reply filed on October 24, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Applicant contends that there is no serious burden in examining the listed inventions simultaneously as one or more common features is recited in all three independent claims of the as-filed application. Thus, the inventions have similar components that could be expeditiously searched without a serious burden. This is found persuasive. The requirement dated August 28, 2025 has been withdrawn by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “energy storage device” in claim 3 and “energy storage devices” in claim 14 have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder “device” that is coupled with functional language storing energy without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
In light of the specification, the limitation “energy storage device(s)” is interpreted to cover the corresponding structure “one or more lithium-ion batteries” described in paragraph 0042.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 111264110 A) in view of Xi (CN 107258196 A1)
With regard to claim 1, Wang discloses an agricultural system comprising: a power plant (engine 4); a product application system (7), the product application system (7) further comprising: an electric machine (generator, see claim 1); a pump system (11) operably coupled with the electric machine (via battery, see claims 1 and 4); and one or more nozzle assemblies (72) configured to exhaust an agricultural product, the agricultural product driven by the pump system (11).
Wang does not disclose that a transmission system operably coupled with the power plant, the product application system operably coupled with the transmission system through an application gear assembly, the electric machine operably coupled with the application gear assembly.
Xi teaches an agricultural system comprising a power plant (5), a transmission system operably coupled with the power plant (Par. [0060]), the product application system (18) operably coupled with the transmission system through an application gear assembly, the electric machine operably coupled with the application gear assembly (diesel engine (5) through the first belt wheel 3 and the third wheel 11 of the other belt transmission to drive the generator 10 to the battery 27 charging, the fertilizer pump (9-6) and biogas liquid fertilizer pump 9-7, see Par. [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, by incorporating the transmission system and the application gear assembly between the power plant and the electric machine as taught by Xi, for the benefit of providing different running speed to drive the generator and other components (Par. [0060]).
With regard to claim 2, the device of Wang as modified by Xi discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Wang further discloses that one or more tanks (12) fluidly coupled with the pump system (11).
With regard to claim 3, the device of Wang as modified by Xi discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Wang further discloses that an energy storage device (13) operably coupled with the electric machine (generator).
With regard to claim 4, the device of Wang as modified by Xi discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 3 above. Wang further discloses that the electric machine (generator) is operably coupled with the pump system (11) and the energy storage device (13) in a parallel arrangement (Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 5, the device of Wang as modified by Xi discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 4 above. Wang further discloses that the electric machine is configured as a generator and a motor (generator).
With regard to claim 6, the device of Wang as modified by Xi discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 5 above. Xi further discloses that the electric machine (10) is configured to operate in a first state to generate electrical power from the rotational movement of the application gear assembly (Par. [0060]).
With regard to claim 7, the device of Wang as modified by Xi discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 6 above. Wang further discloses that the electrical power is used to operate the pump system (battery electrically connected with the inlet of the pump, see Par. [0029]).
With regard to claim 8, the device of Wang as modified by Xi discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 7 above. Wang further discloses that the electrical power is stored in the energy storage device (battery 13).
With regard to claim 9, the device of Wang as modified by Xi discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 6 above. Xi further discloses that the electric machine (10) is configured to operate in a second state in which energy stored within the energy storage device drives the electric machine to operate the pump system (Fig. 3).
With regard to claims 13-16 and 17-20, the device of Wang as modified by Xi discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1-9 above Since the device of Wang as modified by Xi discloses all structure of the claimed invention, in its use, the device of Wang as modified by Xi will inherently perform all the method steps of claims 12-15, 17-18 and 20.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
JOEL . ZHOU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/QINGZHANG ZHOU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752