DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendment filed on April 8, 2026. Claims 1, 6, 9, 11-13, 15, and 17 have been amended. Claim 10 has been canceled. Claim 21 has been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 21 recites “The agricultural system of claim 17.” However, it is suggested to amend to -The method claim 17-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “energy storage device” in claim 3 and “energy storage devices” in claim 14 have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder “device” that is coupled with functional language storing energy without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
In light of the specification, the limitation “energy storage device(s)” is interpreted to cover the corresponding structure “one or more lithium-ion batteries” described in paragraph 0042.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 12-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xi (CN 107258196 A1) in view of ENGELBRECHT et al. (US 2014/0093397 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Xi discloses an agricultural system comprising a power plant (5), a transmission system operably coupled with the power plant (Par. [0060]), a product application system (Figs. 1 and 4) operably coupled with the transmission system (13) through an application gear assembly (3/23/11), the product application system (Figs. 1 and 4) further comprising: an electric machine (throttle valve 9-3 in conjunction with the generator 10) operably coupled with the application gear assembly (3/23/11), a pump system (9-6/9-7) operably coupled with electric machine (Fig. 4); one or more nozzle assemblies (18) configure to exhaust an agricultural product, the agricultural product driven by the pump system (Par. [0071]).
Xi does not disclose that a computing system communicatively coupled to the application system, the computing system including a processor and associated memory, the memory storing instructions that, when implemented by the processor, configure the computing system to determine whether to operate the electric machine in a first state or a second state based on one or more operational conditions.
ENGELBRECHT teaches an agricultural system comprising a computing system (95) communicatively coupled to the application system, the computing system including a processor and associated memory (controller 95 inherently teaches a processor and associated memory since ENGELBRECHT explicitly teaches the controller includes a desired flow rate), the memory storing instructions that, when implemented by the processor, configure the computing system to determine whether to operate the electric machine (valve 70) in a first state or a second state based on one or more operational conditions (Par. [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the agricultural system of Xi, by incorporating the computing system (95) as taught by ENGELBRECHT communicatively coupled to the electric machine (9-3) of Xi, for the benefit of providing autonomous regulation to adjust the actual fluid rate to correspond to a desire flow rate (Par. [0015]).
With regard to claim 2, the device of Xi as modified by ENGELBRECHT discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Xi further discloses that one or more tanks (7/8) fluidly coupled with the pump system (9-6/9-7).
With regard to claim 3, the device of Xi as modified by ENGELBRECHT discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Xi further discloses that an energy storage device (27) operably coupled with the electric machine (9-3).
With regard to claim 4, the device of Xi as modified by ENGELBRECHT discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 3 above. Xi further discloses that the electric machine (valve 9-3 in conjunction with the generator 10) is operably coupled with the pump system (9-6/9-7) and the energy storage device (27) in a parallel arrangement (Fig. 4).
With regard to claim 5, the device of Xi as modified by ENGELBRECHT discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 4 above. Xi further discloses that the electric machine (valve 9-3 in conjunction with the generator 10) is configured as a generator and a motor (10).
With regard to claim 6, the device of Xi as modified by ENGELBRECHT discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 5 above. Xi further discloses that the electric machine (10) is configured to operate in a first state to generate electrical power from the rotational movement of the application gear assembly (Par. [0060]).
With regard to claim 7, the device of Xi as modified by ENGELBRECHT discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 6 above. Xi further discloses that the electrical power is used to operate the pump system (Par. [0060]).
With regard to claim 8, the device of Xi as modified by ENGELBRECHT discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 7 above. Xi further discloses that the electrical power is stored in the energy storage device (27).
With regard to claim 12, the device of Xi as modified by ENGELBRECHT discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. ENGELBRECHT further discloses that the computing system is further configured to control a flow rate of the agricultural product within the pump system at least partially with a valve assembly (Par. [0015]).
With regard to claims 13-16, 17-18, and 20, the device of Xi as modified by ENGELBRECHT discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1-9 above Since the device of Xi as modified by ENGELBRECHT discloses all structure of the claimed invention, in its use, the device of Xi as modified by ENGELBRECHT will inherently perform all the method steps of claims 13-16, 17-18, and 20.
With regard to claim 21, the device of Xi as modified by ENGELBRECHT discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 17 above. Xi further discloses that the application gear assembly (3/23/11) is operably coupled with the gear train such that an output of the application gear assembly is in a parallel arrangement with one or more output shafts of the transmission system operably coupled with the power plant (Fig. 1 shows the arrangement is a parallel arrangement).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 11, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOEL . ZHOU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/QINGZHANG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752