Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/09/2023 was filed and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites “a field of view” without specifying whose field of view of view it is. A field of view requires knowing a person or an object for the starting point of the view. With the context of claim 4, which includes parent claims 1 and 3, there exists at least two users. It is unclear whose “field of view” it is in claim 4. As such claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for its indefinites in the language of “field of view”.
Regarding claim 5, since claim 5 depends upon claim 4 and uses the previously established “field of view” in claim 4, claim 5 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for its indefinites in the language of “field of view”.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, both claims recite “displaying the virtual space”. Both claims are depends upon claim 12, and claim 12 recites “displays a virtual space corresponding to a viewpoint of a user”. Since both claims 14 and 15 merely display a virtual space and claim 12 display a virtual space with further limitation of corresponding to a viewpoint of a user, it can be seen that claims 14 and 15 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 12. As such, claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d)
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-9, 12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 尾小山 (JP 7055527 B1, hereinafter Okoyama).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Okoyama discloses
Claim 1: An information processing apparatus, comprising circuitry (P. 3 Para. 3: “In the VR system S, the camera 2, the server 3, and the HMD 4 can transmit and receive information to and from each other wirelessly such as an Internet network, a public line, and short-range wireless communication. However, any one of them may be configured to be able to send and receive information to and from each other by wire.”) configured to
Claim 12: An information processing method, comprising:
generate a display screen (P. 4 Para. 6: “The display image generation unit 31 generates an image to be recognized by the user U via the monitor 41 of the HMD 4. The display image generation unit 31 has a virtual space generation unit 31a, an avatar generation unit 31b, and a mobile body generation unit 31c.”, P. 6 Para. 4: “The virtual space image determination unit 35 determines an image of the virtual space to be recognized by the user U corresponding to the avatar via the monitor 41 of the HMD 4 based on the coordinates of the avatar.”) that:
displays a virtual space corresponding to a viewpoint of a user (P. 4 Para. 7: “The virtual space generation unit 31a generates an image as a background of the virtual space VS and an image of an object existing in the virtual space VS.”, P. 6 Para. 4: “The virtual space image determination unit 35 determines an image of the virtual space to be recognized by the user U corresponding to the avatar via the monitor 41 of the HMD 4 based on the coordinates of the avatar.”, P. 20 Para. 5: “When the VR system S recognizes the occurrence of a predetermined trigger event (first trigger event in the present invention), the first user U1 and the second user U2 are placed in one environment of the first user U1 and the second user U2. It is configured to perform the process of synchronizing one of the environments.”); and
displays, in response to an operation performed by another user, the virtual space corresponding to the viewpoint that is moved to vicinity of another viewpoint of the another user (P. 18 Para. 5-6: “Therefore, for example, in the present embodiment, even when the first avatar A1 touches the second ghost G2 corresponding to the second user U2, the coordinates of the second avatar A2 become the coordinates adjacent to the coordinates of the first avatar A1. It may be configured to move. That is, the second avatar A2 does not move to the coordinates matching or adjacent to the coordinates of the first avatar A1 by itself, but the first avatar A1 matches the coordinates of the second avatar A2 to the coordinates or adjacent coordinates. It may be configured to be called to the coordinates to be used. Further, for example, in the present embodiment, when the second avatar A2 touches the first ghost G1 corresponding to the first user U1, the first avatar A1 has coordinates that match or are adjacent to the coordinates of the second avatar A2. It may be configured to move to the coordinates, or the first avatar A1 may be configured to call the coordinates of the second avatar A2 to the coordinates matching or adjacent to its own coordinates”, P. 27 Para. 3: “In the case of being configured in this way, when one avatar itself is configured to move to coordinates that match or are adjacent to the coordinates of the other avatar as in the first embodiment, the first When the occurrence of one trigger event is recognized, the second avatar moves from the concierge counter to the coordinates of the first avatar corresponding to the first user who generated the first trigger event among the plurality of first users. And move.”).
Regarding claim 2, dependent upon claim 1, Okoyama teaches all of the elements regarding claim 1.
Okoyama further discloses
receive viewpoint position information that is information on a position of the another viewpoint of the another user and instruction information instructing to move the viewpoint of the user to the vicinity of the another viewpoint of the another user (P. 20 Para. 7: “Specifically, the environment recognized by the second user U2 changes from one based on the coordinates of the second avatar A2 (see FIG. 14) to one based on the coordinates of the first avatar A1 (see FIG. 15).”, P. 22 Para. 7: “Specifically, the virtual space image determination unit 35 and the virtual space voice determination unit 36 determine the image and voice to be recognized by the first user U1 based on the coordinates and posture of the first avatar A1. Further, the virtual space image determination unit 35 and the virtual space sound determination unit 36 determine the image and sound to be recognized by the second user U2 based on the coordinates of the first avatar A1 and the posture of the second avatar A2.”, P. 18 Para. 5-6: “Therefore, for example, in the present embodiment, even when the first avatar A1 touches the second ghost G2 corresponding to the second user U2, the coordinates of the second avatar A2 become the coordinates adjacent to the coordinates of the first avatar A1. It may be configured to move. That is, the second avatar A2 does not move to the coordinates matching or adjacent to the coordinates of the first avatar A1 by itself, but the first avatar A1 matches the coordinates of the second avatar A2 to the coordinates or adjacent coordinates. It may be configured to be called to the coordinates to be used. Further, for example, in the present embodiment, when the second avatar A2 touches the first ghost G1 corresponding to the first user U1, the first avatar A1 has coordinates that match or are adjacent to the coordinates of the second avatar A2. It may be configured to move to the coordinates, or the first avatar A1 may be configured to call the coordinates of the second avatar A2 to the coordinates matching or adjacent to its own coordinates”),
the viewpoint position information and the instruction information being transmitted from an external apparatus external to the information processing apparatus in response to the operation performed by the another user (P. 3 Para. 3: “In the VR system S, the camera 2, the server 3, and the HMD 4 can transmit and receive information to and from each other wirelessly such as an Internet network, a public line, and short-range wireless communication. However, any one of them may be configured to be able to send and receive information to and from each other by wire.”, P. 19 Para. 6: “Therefore, for example, only for the period during which the trigger event continues (for example, in the above embodiment, only for the period during which the second avatar A2 is in contact with the first avatar A1), or after the occurrence of the trigger event is recognized, it is predetermined. The coordinates of the avatar may be moved by the period of, and after the period of time, the coordinates of the avatar may be returned to the coordinates before the occurrence of the trigger event is recognized.”, P. 27 Para. 3: “In the case of being configured in this way, when one avatar itself is configured to move to coordinates that match or are adjacent to the coordinates of the other avatar as in the first embodiment, the first When the occurrence of one trigger event is recognized, the second avatar moves from the concierge counter to the coordinates of the first avatar corresponding to the first user who generated the first trigger event among the plurality of first users. And move.”), and
the display screen that displays the virtual space corresponding to the viewpoint that is moved to the vicinity of the another viewpoint is generated based on the viewpoint position information and the instruction information (P. 18 Para. 5-6: “Therefore, for example, in the present embodiment, even when the first avatar A1 touches the second ghost G2 corresponding to the second user U2, the coordinates of the second avatar A2 become the coordinates adjacent to the coordinates of the first avatar A1. It may be configured to move. That is, the second avatar A2 does not move to the coordinates matching or adjacent to the coordinates of the first avatar A1 by itself, but the first avatar A1 matches the coordinates of the second avatar A2 to the coordinates or adjacent coordinates. It may be configured to be called to the coordinates to be used. Further, for example, in the present embodiment, when the second avatar A2 touches the first ghost G1 corresponding to the first user U1, the first avatar A1 has coordinates that match or are adjacent to the coordinates of the second avatar A2. It may be configured to move to the coordinates, or the first avatar A1 may be configured to call the coordinates of the second avatar A2 to the coordinates matching or adjacent to its own coordinates”, P. 20 Para. 7: “Specifically, the environment recognized by the second user U2 changes from one based on the coordinates of the second avatar A2 (see FIG. 14) to one based on the coordinates of the first avatar A1 (see FIG. 15).”, P. 23 Para. 1-2: “Further, the image and the sound to be recognized by the second user U2 determined in this way are recognized when they are located at coordinates that are behind the coordinates of the first avatar A1 when viewed from the first avatar A1. Images and sounds. Specifically, as shown in FIG. 15, the rainbow VS3 in the sky is viewed from behind the first avatar A1 on the second floor F2 of the virtual space VS. In this embodiment, since it is considered that the second user U2 enjoys the environment together with the first user U1, the first avatar A1 (and by extension, the first user U1) can be recognized in this process. The coordinates that are the reference of the image and the sound to be recognized by the two users U2 are the coordinates that are behind the coordinates of the first avatar A1 (that is, the adjacent coordinates).”, P. 27 Para. 3: “In the case of being configured in this way, when one avatar itself is configured to move to coordinates that match or are adjacent to the coordinates of the other avatar as in the first embodiment, the first When the occurrence of one trigger event is recognized, the second avatar moves from the concierge counter to the coordinates of the first avatar corresponding to the first user who generated the first trigger event among the plurality of first users. And move.”).
Regarding claim 6, dependent upon claim 1, Okoyama teaches all of the elements regarding claim 1.
Okoyama further discloses
generate the display screen that displays the virtual space corresponding to the viewpoint that is moved to face a same direction as the another viewpoint (P. 22 Para. 2: “However, the posture of the second avatar A2 may also be configured to match the posture of the first avatar A1. In this configuration, the image and sound recognized by the second user U2 further match the image and sound recognized by the first user U1, so that the second user U2 and the first user U1 You will be able to experience a more synchronized environment.”).
Regarding claim 7, dependent upon claim 1, Okoyama teaches all of the elements regarding claim 1.
Okoyama further discloses
generate the display screen that displays the virtual space corresponding to the viewpoint that is moved to establish a specific positional relationship with the another viewpoint (P. 18 Para. 5-6: “Therefore, for example, in the present embodiment, even when the first avatar A1 touches the second ghost G2 corresponding to the second user U2, the coordinates of the second avatar A2 become the coordinates adjacent to the coordinates of the first avatar A1. It may be configured to move. That is, the second avatar A2 does not move to the coordinates matching or adjacent to the coordinates of the first avatar A1 by itself, but the first avatar A1 matches the coordinates of the second avatar A2 to the coordinates or adjacent coordinates. It may be configured to be called to the coordinates to be used. Further, for example, in the present embodiment, when the second avatar A2 touches the first ghost G1 corresponding to the first user U1, the first avatar A1 has coordinates that match or are adjacent to the coordinates of the second avatar A2. It may be configured to move to the coordinates, or the first avatar A1 may be configured to call the coordinates of the second avatar A2 to the coordinates matching or adjacent to its own coordinates”, P. 27 Para. 3: “In the case of being configured in this way, when one avatar itself is configured to move to coordinates that match or are adjacent to the coordinates of the other avatar as in the first embodiment, the first When the occurrence of one trigger event is recognized, the second avatar moves from the concierge counter to the coordinates of the first avatar corresponding to the first user who generated the first trigger event among the plurality of first users. And move.”).
Regarding claim 8, dependent upon claim 7, Okoyama teaches all of the elements regarding claim 7.
Okoyama further discloses
generate the display screen that displays the virtual space in which an avatar of the another user is displayed at a position corresponding to the another viewpoint, and displays the virtual space corresponding to the viewpoint that is moved such that the viewpoint of the user is prevented from overlapping with the position of the avatar (P. 23 Para. 1-3: “Further, the image and the sound to be recognized by the second user U2 determined in this way are recognized when they are located at coordinates that are behind the coordinates of the first avatar A1 when viewed from the first avatar A1. Images and sounds. Specifically, as shown in FIG. 15, the rainbow VS3 in the sky is viewed from behind the first avatar A1 on the second floor F2 of the virtual space VS. In this embodiment, since it is considered that the second user U2 enjoys the environment together with the first user U1, the first avatar A1 (and by extension, the first user U1) can be recognized in this process. The coordinates that are the reference of the image and the sound to be recognized by the two users U2 are the coordinates that are behind the coordinates of the first avatar A1 (that is, the adjacent coordinates). However, when the second user U2 wants to experience an environment closer to the environment experienced by the first user U1, it is preferable to match the reference coordinates with the coordinates of the first avatar A1. .. Further, when the reference posture is also matched with the first avatar A1, the second user U2 can experience the same environment as that of the first user U1.” ).
Regarding claim 9, dependent upon claim 1, Okoyama teaches all of the elements regarding claim 1.
Okoyama further discloses
generate the display screen that displays the virtual space corresponding to the viewpoint that is moved in response to an additional operation performed by the user (P. 23 Para. 3: “However, when the second user U2 wants to experience an environment closer to the environment experienced by the first user U1, it is preferable to match the reference coordinates with the coordinates of the first avatar A1. .. Further, when the reference posture is also matched with the first avatar A1, the second user U2 can experience the same environment as that of the first user U1.”).
Regarding claim 14, dependent upon claim 12, Okoyama teaches all of the elements regarding claim 12.
Okoyama further discloses
displaying the virtual space (P. 4 Para. 6: “The display image generation unit 31 generates an image to be recognized by the user U via the monitor 41 of the HMD 4. The display image generation unit 31 has a virtual space generation unit 31a, an avatar generation unit 31b, and a mobile body generation unit 31c.”, P. 6 Para. 4: “The virtual space image determination unit 35 determines an image of the virtual space to be recognized by the user U corresponding to the avatar via the monitor 41 of the HMD 4 based on the coordinates of the avatar.”).
Regarding claims 16, Okoyama discloses
An information processing system, comprising: a first information processing apparatus; and a second information processing apparatus communicably connected to the first information processing apparatus (P. 3 Para. 3: “In the VR system S, the camera 2, the server 3, and the HMD 4 can transmit and receive information to and from each other wirelessly such as an Internet network, a public line, and short-range wireless communication. However, any one of them may be configured to be able to send and receive information to and from each other by wire.”),
the first information processing apparatus being configured to:
generate a first display screen that displays a first virtual space corresponding to a first viewpoint of a first user (P. 4 Para. 7: “The virtual space generation unit 31a generates an image as a background of the virtual space VS and an image of an object existing in the virtual space VS.”, P. 6 Para. 4: “The virtual space image determination unit 35 determines an image of the virtual space to be recognized by the user U corresponding to the avatar via the monitor 41 of the HMD 4 based on the coordinates of the avatar.”, P. 20 Para. 5: “When the VR system S recognizes the occurrence of a predetermined trigger event (first trigger event in the present invention), the first user U1 and the second user U2 are placed in one environment of the first user U1 and the second user U2. It is configured to perform the process of synchronizing one of the environments.”), and
displays the first virtual space in which an avatar of a second user is moved to vicinity of the first viewpoint in response to an operation performed by the first user (P. 18 Para. 5-6: “Therefore, for example, in the present embodiment, even when the first avatar A1 touches the second ghost G2 corresponding to the second user U2, the coordinates of the second avatar A2 become the coordinates adjacent to the coordinates of the first avatar A1. It may be configured to move. That is, the second avatar A2 does not move to the coordinates matching or adjacent to the coordinates of the first avatar A1 by itself, but the first avatar A1 matches the coordinates of the second avatar A2 to the coordinates or adjacent coordinates. It may be configured to be called to the coordinates to be used. Further, for example, in the present embodiment, when the second avatar A2 touches the first ghost G1 corresponding to the first user U1, the first avatar A1 has coordinates that match or are adjacent to the coordinates of the second avatar A2. It may be configured to move to the coordinates, or the first avatar A1 may be configured to call the coordinates of the second avatar A2 to the coordinates matching or adjacent to its own coordinates”, P. 19 Para. 6: “Therefore, for example, only for the period during which the trigger event continues (for example, in the above embodiment, only for the period during which the second avatar A2 is in contact with the first avatar A1), or after the occurrence of the trigger event is recognized, it is predetermined. The coordinates of the avatar may be moved by the period of, and after the period of time, the coordinates of the avatar may be returned to the coordinates before the occurrence of the trigger event is recognized.”, P. 27 Para. 3: “In the case of being configured in this way, when one avatar itself is configured to move to coordinates that match or are adjacent to the coordinates of the other avatar as in the first embodiment, the first When the occurrence of one trigger event is recognized, the second avatar moves from the concierge counter to the coordinates of the first avatar corresponding to the first user who generated the first trigger event among the plurality of first users. And move.”); and
transmit, to the second information processing apparatus, first viewpoint position information that is information on a position of the first viewpoint and instruction information for instructing to move a second viewpoint of the second user to the position of the first viewpoint (P. 18 Para. 5-6: “Therefore, for example, in the present embodiment, even when the first avatar A1 touches the second ghost G2 corresponding to the second user U2, the coordinates of the second avatar A2 become the coordinates adjacent to the coordinates of the first avatar A1. It may be configured to move. That is, the second avatar A2 does not move to the coordinates matching or adjacent to the coordinates of the first avatar A1 by itself, but the first avatar A1 matches the coordinates of the second avatar A2 to the coordinates or adjacent coordinates. It may be configured to be called to the coordinates to be used. Further, for example, in the present embodiment, when the second avatar A2 touches the first ghost G1 corresponding to the first user U1, the first avatar A1 has coordinates that match or are adjacent to the coordinates of the second avatar A2. It may be configured to move to the coordinates, or the first avatar A1 may be configured to call the coordinates of the second avatar A2 to the coordinates matching or adjacent to its own coordinates”, P. 20 Para. 7: “Specifically, the environment recognized by the second user U2 changes from one based on the coordinates of the second avatar A2 (see FIG. 14) to one based on the coordinates of the first avatar A1 (see FIG. 15).”, P. 22 Para. 7: “Specifically, the virtual space image determination unit 35 and the virtual space voice determination unit 36 determine the image and voice to be recognized by the first user U1 based on the coordinates and posture of the first avatar A1. Further, the virtual space image determination unit 35 and the virtual space sound determination unit 36 determine the image and sound to be recognized by the second user U2 based on the coordinates of the first avatar A1 and the posture of the second avatar A2.”, P. 27 Para. 3: “In the case of being configured in this way, when one avatar itself is configured to move to coordinates that match or are adjacent to the coordinates of the other avatar as in the first embodiment, the first When the occurrence of one trigger event is recognized, the second avatar moves from the concierge counter to the coordinates of the first avatar corresponding to the first user who generated the first trigger event among the plurality of first users. And move.”), and
the second information processing apparatus being configured to:
receive the first viewpoint position information and the instruction information transmitted from the first information processing apparatus (P. 20 Para. 7: “Specifically, the environment recognized by the second user U2 changes from one based on the coordinates of the second avatar A2 (see FIG. 14) to one based on the coordinates of the first avatar A1 (see FIG. 15).”, P. 22 Para. 7: “Specifically, the virtual space image determination unit 35 and the virtual space voice determination unit 36 determine the image and voice to be recognized by the first user U1 based on the coordinates and posture of the first avatar A1. Further, the virtual space image determination unit 35 and the virtual space sound determination unit 36 determine the image and sound to be recognized by the second user U2 based on the coordinates of the first avatar A1 and the posture of the second avatar A2.”); and
generate a second display screen that displays a second virtual space corresponding to the second viewpoint (P. 4 Para. 7: “The virtual space generation unit 31a generates an image as a background of the virtual space VS and an image of an object existing in the virtual space VS.”, P. 6 Para. 4: “The virtual space image determination unit 35 determines an image of the virtual space to be recognized by the user U corresponding to the avatar via the monitor 41 of the HMD 4 based on the coordinates of the avatar.”, P. 20 Para. 5: “When the VR system S recognizes the occurrence of a predetermined trigger event (first trigger event in the present invention), the first user U1 and the second user U2 are placed in one environment of the first user U1 and the second user U2. It is configured to perform the process of synchronizing one of the environments.”), and
displays the second virtual space corresponding to the second viewpoint that is moved to the vicinity of the first viewpoint based on the first viewpoint position information and the instruction information (P. 18 Para. 5-6: “Therefore, for example, in the present embodiment, even when the first avatar A1 touches the second ghost G2 corresponding to the second user U2, the coordinates of the second avatar A2 become the coordinates adjacent to the coordinates of the first avatar A1. It may be configured to move. That is, the second avatar A2 does not move to the coordinates matching or adjacent to the coordinates of the first avatar A1 by itself, but the first avatar A1 matches the coordinates of the second avatar A2 to the coordinates or adjacent coordinates. It may be configured to be called to the coordinates to be used. Further, for example, in the present embodiment, when the second avatar A2 touches the first ghost G1 corresponding to the first user U1, the first avatar A1 has coordinates that match or are adjacent to the coordinates of the second avatar A2. It may be configured to move to the coordinates, or the first avatar A1 may be configured to call the coordinates of the second avatar A2 to the coordinates matching or adjacent to its own coordinates”, P. 19 Para. 6: “Therefore, for example, only for the period during which the trigger event continues (for example, in the above embodiment, only for the period during which the second avatar A2 is in contact with the first avatar A1), or after the occurrence of the trigger event is recognized, it is predetermined. The coordinates of the avatar may be moved by the period of, and after the period of time, the coordinates of the avatar may be returned to the coordinates before the occurrence of the trigger event is recognized.”, P. 20 Para. 7: “Specifically, the environment recognized by the second user U2 changes from one based on the coordinates of the second avatar A2 (see FIG. 14) to one based on the coordinates of the first avatar A1 (see FIG. 15).”, P. 23 Para. 1-2: “Further, the image and the sound to be recognized by the second user U2 determined in this way are recognized when they are located at coordinates that are behind the coordinates of the first avatar A1 when viewed from the first avatar A1. Images and sounds. Specifically, as shown in FIG. 15, the rainbow VS3 in the sky is viewed from behind the first avatar A1 on the second floor F2 of the virtual space VS. In this embodiment, since it is considered that the second user U2 enjoys the environment together with the first user U1, the first avatar A1 (and by extension, the first user U1) can be recognized in this process. The coordinates that are the reference of the image and the sound to be recognized by the two users U2 are the coordinates that are behind the coordinates of the first avatar A1 (that is, the adjacent coordinates).”, P. 27 Para. 3: “In the case of being configured in this way, when one avatar itself is configured to move to coordinates that match or are adjacent to the coordinates of the other avatar as in the first embodiment, the first When the occurrence of one trigger event is recognized, the second avatar moves from the concierge counter to the coordinates of the first avatar corresponding to the first user who generated the first trigger event among the plurality of first users. And move.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10-11, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 尾小山 (JP 7055527 B1, hereinafter Okoyama) in view of Osman et al. (US 2018/0005429 A1, hereinafter Osman).
Regarding claim 3, dependent upon claim 1, Okoyama teaches all of the elements regarding claim 1.
However, Okoyama does not explicitly disclose
generate the display screen that displays the virtual space corresponding to the viewpoint that is moved to the vicinity of the another viewpoint after movement of the another viewpoint.
Osman teaches
generate the display screen that displays the virtual space corresponding to the viewpoint that is moved to the vicinity of the another viewpoint after movement of the another viewpoint (Para [0083]: “FIG. 10B shows the same two co-located HMD users a moment later. Host 1002 is shown to be looking back over his shoulder. Host 1002 is able to see guest avatar 1004a in snapshot 1006 and guest 1004 is able to see host avatar 1002a in snapshot 1008. Meanwhile, guest 1004, wishing to encourage or otherwise interact virtually with host 1002 with the VR scene, gives a thumbs-up gesture 1010 in the real-world. The thumbs up gesture 1010 is mapped to virtual space via a computer to display a virtual thumbs up 1010a being given by guest avatar 1004a. The gesture 1010a is seen by the host 1002, as shown in snapshot 1006.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Okoyama with generating poses and gesture of users in virtual space mimicking the pose and gesture of users in reality and other aspects of Osman since both Okoyama and Osman are in the arts of image processing and virtual reality. The mimicking of actions of Osman can be seen as an further improvement to the detection of trigger event of Okoyama (P. 15 Para. 4: “Then, when the second avatar A2 is in a posture of touching the first avatar A1, the trigger event recognition unit 33 recognizes that the trigger event has occurred.”) to effectively improve the immersion of virtual reality.
Regarding claim 10, dependent upon claim 1, Okoyama teaches all of the elements regarding claim 1.
However, Okoyama does not explicitly disclose
transmit, to another external apparatus, viewpoint position information that is information on a position of the viewpoint of the user and instruction information for instructing to move the another viewpoint of the another user to vicinity of the viewpoint of the user, causing the another external apparatus to generate another display screen displaying the virtual space corresponding to the another viewpoint of the another user.
Osman teaches
transmit, to another external apparatus, viewpoint position information that is information on a position of the viewpoint of the user and instruction information for instructing to move the another viewpoint of the another user to vicinity of the viewpoint of the user (Para [0062]: “In certain embodiments, the VR content sharing logic 334 is able to take VR content generated by VR content generator 332, perform content modification, and then present it to the second HMD 304 via the second computer 328 or directly (not shown). According to this embodiment, content modification includes changing the perspective of a VR scene for the second user 308, as well as rendering an avatar of the first user 306 to appear in the VR scene of the second user 308.”, Para [0069]: “The method then flows to operation 420, in which the method receives and indication that the first user wishes to share the first VR with the second user. As a result of operation 420, operation 440 sends an invitation to the second user to join the VR of the first user. As mentioned above, the invitation may take one of many forms, such as a verbal invitation, a textual invitation, and animated invitation, etc.”, Para [0070]: “If the second user accepts the invitation, the method flows to operation 460, where an indication is received that the second user has accepted the invitation to join the first user in the first VR scene. The method then flows to operation 480, where the first VR scene is displayed to the second user.” Para [0077]; “FIGS. 8A and 8B show embodiments of a method of sending and receiving invitations to join into a shared VR. For example, a first player being displayed a VR scene 810 may be alerted that a second player is nearby and prompted to invite the second player to join into VR scene 810. The prompt 812 may take the form of a block of text as show in FIG. 8A, but as previously discussed, a prompt may be delivered in one of many ways. Likewise, the first player may respond to prompt 812 in one or more of many ways, including a verbal command, a push of a controller button, a gesture, a gaze behavior, and a bodily movement in order to accept or reject prompt 812.”, Para [0078]: “If the first player happens to accept prompt 812 to invite the second player, an indication such as invite 816 may appear in VR scene 814 of the second player. Again, invite 816 may take one or more of many forms and the second player may wish to accept or reject invite 816 in one or more of a number of ways.”),
causing the another external apparatus to generate another display screen displaying the virtual space corresponding to the another viewpoint of the another user ([0062]: “In certain embodiments, the VR content sharing logic 334 is able to take VR content generated by VR content generator 332, perform content modification, and then present it to the second HMD 304 via the second computer 328 or directly (not shown). According to this embodiment, content modification includes changing the perspective of a VR scene for the second user 308, as well as rendering an avatar of the first user 306 to appear in the VR scene of the second user 308.”, Para [0070]: “If the second user accepts the invitation, the method flows to operation 460, where an indication is received that the second user has accepted the invitation to join the first user in the first VR scene. The method then flows to operation 480, where the first VR scene is displayed to the second user.”, Para [0071]: “Although not shown for the sake of clarity, the first VR scene to be displayed to the second user is to be modified to have a virtual perspective that corresponds to his perspective in the real world relative to the first user, as discussed earlier.”, Para [0072]: “For example, if the second user is positioned directly ahead of the first user and the first user is positioned directly ahead of the second user (e.g., they are facing each other), then the method will introduce a virtual representation of the second user into the VR that is located directly ahead of the first user. In this example, the virtual representation of the second user will also appear to be facing the first user (i.e., the two are looking at each other in the shared VR).”).
Regarding claim 11 and 13, dependent upon claims 1 and 12 respectively, Okoyama teaches all of the elements regarding claims 1 and 12.
However, Okoyama does not explicitly disclose
generate the display screen that displays the virtual space in which an avatar of the another user is moved to vicinity of the viewpoint of the user in response to an additional operation performed by the user.
Osman teaches
generate the display screen that displays the virtual space in which an avatar of the another user is moved to vicinity of the viewpoint of the user in response to an additional operation performed by the user (Para [0064]: “Additionally, an avatar of the second user 308 is rendered by VR content sharing logics 334 and 316 and VR content generators 332 and 336. PODLs 340 and 342, having detected the position and orientation of the second user 308 relative to the first user 306, may then inform VR content sharing logics 334 and 316 and VR content generators 332 and 336 on how to render the avatar of the second user 308 to appear to the first user 302, according to some embodiments”, Para [0072]: “Once these parameters are determined, the method then flows to operation 508, which introduces a virtual representation of the second user into the VR of the first user appearing at a virtual position and orientation corresponding to the second user's position and orientation in the real world relative to the first user. For example, if the second user is positioned directly ahead of the first user and the first user is positioned directly ahead of the second user (e.g., they are facing each other), then the method will introduce a virtual representation of the second user into the VR that is located directly ahead of the first user. In this example, the virtual representation of the second user will also appear to be facing the first user (i.e., the two are looking at each other in the shared VR).”).
Regarding claim 15, dependent upon claim 13, Okoyama in view of Osman teaches all of the elements regarding claim 13.
Okoyama further discloses
displaying the virtual space (P. 4 Para. 6: “The display image generation unit 31 generates an image to be recognized by the user U via the monitor 41 of the HMD 4. The display image generation unit 31 has a virtual space generation unit 31a, an avatar generation unit 31b, and a mobile body generation unit 31c.”, P. 6 Para. 4: “The virtual space image determination unit 35 determines an image of the virtual space to be recognized by the user U corresponding to the avatar via the monitor 41 of the HMD 4 based on the coordinates of the avatar.”).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 尾小山 (JP 7055527 B1, hereinafter Okoyama) in view of Osman et al. (US 2018/0005429 A1, hereinafter Osman) as applied above regarding claim 3 with official notice taken for both claims 4 and 5.
Regarding claim 4, dependent upon claim 3, Okoyama in view of Osman teaches all of the elements regarding claim 3.
Okoyama in view of Osman are silent on the limitation of
the movement of the another viewpoint is movement to a space outside of a field of view.
However, Official notice is taken to note for the above limitation of “moving to space outside of a field of view” is known and expected within the image processing arts. It would have been obvious to the ordinarily-skilled artisan at the time the invention was filed to implement a function to allow user to move to spaces outside of his or her field of view in the virtual space of Okoyama in view of Osman to achieve the realism of a person moving in a virtual space similar to moving in real world (a person can move backwards or to the side without looking, hence outside of field or view).
Regarding claim 5, dependent upon claim 4, Okoyama in view of Osman teaches all of the elements regarding claim 4 as applied above.
Okoyama in view of Osman are silent on the limitation of
the space outside of the field of view is selected from among a plurality of candidates.
However, Official notice is taken to note for the above limitation of “the space outside of the field of view is selected from among a plurality of candidates” is known and expected within the image processing arts and computer program in general. It would have been obvious to the ordinarily-skilled artisan at the time the invention was filed to implement a function to allow a user to choose a direction to move, including a direction outside of field of view, in the virtual space of Okoyama in view of Osman to achieve the realism of a person moving in a virtual space similar to moving in real world.
Relevant Prior Art Directed to State of Art
SHIMIZU (US 2023/0260235 A1, hereinafter Shimizu) is prior art not applied in the rejection(s) above. Shimizu discloses an information processing apparatus, an information processing method, and an information processing system capable of further enhancing the entertainment value of image capturing experience in a virtual space. The information processing apparatus includes a control unit that, when an imaging trigger for imaging a subject in a virtual space is detected, generates a captured image obtained by imaging the subject, and performs control to arrange the generated captured image in the virtual space as a virtual object.
KANDA (US 2021/0035535 A1, hereinafter Kanda) is prior art not applied in the rejection(s) above. Kanda discloses An image processing device comprising: a reception unit that receives a viewpoint image of a user that is an image viewed from a viewpoint of the user in a virtual space, a viewpoint image of another user viewed from a viewpoint of the another user, viewpoint position information indicating a position of the another user, and line-of-sight information indicating a line-of-sight direction of the another user; and a display control unit that controls display of the viewpoint image of the another user to be superimposed on the viewpoint image of the user on a basis of a positional relationship of the user and the another user in the virtual space determined using the viewpoint position information and the line-of-sight information of the another user.
INOMATA et al. (US 2018/0322681 A1, hereinafter Inomata) is prior art not applied in the rejection(s) above. Inomata discloses a method, comprising: defining a virtual space, the virtual space comprising a first avatar object and a second avatar object, the first avatar object being associated with a first user terminal, the first user terminal comprising a first head-mounted device (HMD) associated with a first user, the second avatar object being associated with a second user terminal, the second user terminal comprising a second HMD associated with a second user; defining a visual field in the virtual space in association with a motion of the second HMD generating a visual-field image that corresponds to the visual field; displaying the visual-field image on the second HMD; receiving first information indicating that the first user is not wearing the first HMD; and changing the visual-field image on the second HMD in response to the first information being received.
TAKAHASHI et al. (US 2021/0014468 A1, hereinafter Takahashi) is prior art not applied in the rejection(s) above. Takahashi discloses an information processing apparatus comprising a control unit that tracks a motion of a user to present an image of a virtual space to the user, and performs distance control to increase a distance between a viewpoint of the user and a border region in the virtual space while an operation of the user coming closer toward the border region is being inputted, the border region being fixed at a specific position in the virtual space.
Conclusion
/J. C./Examiner, Art Unit 2665
/Stephen R Koziol/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2665