Claim Objections
Claims 16 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 16 is missing a “c)” since it jumps from b to d, this appears to be typographical error.
Claims 19 recites “(a)” twice, this appears to be typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “wherein at least one of the first elongate deployable wall and the second elongate deployable wall”, it is unclear if Applicant is referring to at least one of each or at least one or the other. In order to proceed, the Office will interpret the claim such as -- wherein at least one of the first elongate deployable wall OR the second elongate deployable wall--.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “wherein at least one of the plurality of activity devices is attached to at least one of the first elongate deployable wall and the second elongate deployable wall such that the at least one activity device is disposed under the at least one of the first elongate deployable wall and the second elongate deployable wall.”, it is unclear if Applicant intends for at least one of each or at least one or the other. In order to proceed, the Office will interpret the claim such as -- wherein at least one of the plurality of activity devices is attached to at least one of the first elongate deployable wall OR the second elongate deployable wall such that the at least one activity device is disposed under the at least one of the first elongate deployable wall OR the second elongate deployable wall.--
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12, 21, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ting et al (US 7360813 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Ting et al teaches a deployable mobile trailer comprising: (a) a base 12 comprising wheels rotatably coupled to the base (Refer to Fig. 1); (b) a frame attached to the base, the frame comprising: (i) vertical supports 50 attached to the base 12; and (ii) a top frame assembly 20 disposed at a top end of the vertical supports 50; (c) a first elongate deployable wall 2, 15 rotatably attached to a first side of the top frame assembly, the first elongate deployable wall comprising a retracted position and a deployed position such that the first elongate deployable wall is moveable between the retracted position and the deployed position; (d) a second elongate deployable wall rotatably attached to a second side of the top frame assembly, the second elongate deployable wall 2,15 comprising a retracted position (Refer to Fig. 8) and a deployed position such that the second elongate deployable wall is moveable between the retracted position and the deployed position (Refer to Figs. 1-7 Col 6 Lines 59-62:” In the most preferred form, it is both side panels 2 which are moveable. They are moveable from a closed condition to close the sides of the compartment between the roof structure 20 and the floor 12. In the form as shown in FIGS. 1-8, such side walls extend in the closed condition in a substantially vertical direction.”…Col 6 Lines 18-23:” In the most preferred form when the vehicle is stationary, at least one side panel 2 and preferably both side panels of the compartment are moveable between a closed condition (wherein the sides of the compartment are substantially closed) to an opened condition wherein the side(s) of the compartment is open to the exterior of the vehicle.”) ; (e) a deployable end wall 16 rotatably attached to an end of the frame, the deployable end wall comprising a retracted position and a deployed position such that the deployable end wall is moveable between the retracted position and the deployed position (Refer to Fig. 3 Col 7 Lines 36-40:” With reference to FIG. 3, it can be seen that an end panel 16 positioned at the rear of the vehicle is also moveable between a closed condition and an open condition.”); and (f) a plurality of activity devices 19,68 removably attached to the top frame assembly, the first elongate deployable wall, the second elongate deployable wall, or the deployable end wall (Refer to Fig. 5 Col 9 Lines 15-20 & Col 10 Lines 34-43..The Office takes the position that “activity devices” are broad and such devices 19 and 68 are considered activity devices since they can be used for an activity), wherein at least one of the activity devices comprising a deployable activity device 19 deployably attached to the first elongate deployable wall, the second elongate deployable wall, or the deployable end wall such that the deployable activity device is: (i) disposed within the frame when the first elongate deployable wall 2,15, the second elongate deployable wall, or the deployable end wall is in the retracted position; and (ii) deployed when the first elongate deployable wall 2,15, the second elongate deployable wall, or the deployable end wall is in the deployed position (Refer to Fig. 5 Col 9 Lines 15-20 & Col 10 Lines 34-43).
Regarding Claim 5, Ting et al continues to teach wherein at least one of the first elongate deployable wall 2,15 and the second elongate deployable wall 2,15 comprises a first side panel and a second side panel, wherein the first and second side panels are separately deployable (Refer to Figs. 1, 3, &5).
Regarding Claim 6, Ting et al continues to teach wherein each of the first elongate deployable wall 2,15, the second elongate deployable wall 2,15, and the deployable end wall 16 comprises a plurality of panel legs 18, each panel leg deployed beneath and supporting its respective deployable wall in the deployed position and retracted within the frame in the retracted position (Refer to Fig. 5 Col 12 Lines 19-22:” Alternatively or in addition, the extension panel may be supported by posts 18 which are located at or towards the longitudinal edge 58 of the extension panel opposite to the edge where the hinge structure is provided.”..The Office takes the position that the legs are placed in the frame in the retracted position).
Regarding Claim 8, Ting et al continues to teach wherein: (a) a second end wall 16 attached to an end of the frame opposite from the deployable end wall 16; (b) the first elongate deployable wall 2,15 extends along the first side of the frame from the deployable end wall 16 to the second end wall 16; (c) the second elongate deployable wall 2,15 extends along the second side of the frame from the deployable end wall 16 to the second end wall 16; and (d) the deployable end wall 16 extends along the end of the frame from the first side of the frame to the second side of the frame (Refer to annotated Fig.3 below).
Regarding Claim 10, Ting et al teaches a mobile activity structure, comprising: (a) a base 12 comprising wheels rotatably coupled to the base (Refer to Fig. 3); (b) a frame attached to the base, the frame comprising: (i) vertical supports 50 attached to the base 12; and (ii) a top frame assembly 20 disposed at a top end of the vertical supports 50; (c) a first deployable side wall 2,15 rotatably attached to a first side of the top frame assembly, extending along the first side of the frame from a first end to a second end of the frame, the first deployable side wall comprising a retracted position and a deployed position such that the first deployable side wall is moveable between the retracted position and the deployed position; (d) a second deployable side wall 2,15 rotatably attached to a second side of the top frame assembly, extending along the second side of the frame from a first end to a second end of the frame, the second deployable side wall comprising a retracted position and a deployed position such that the second deployable side wall is moveable between the retracted position and the deployed position (Refer to Figs. 1-7 Col 6 Lines 59-62:” In the most preferred form, it is both side panels 2 which are moveable. They are moveable from a closed condition to close the sides of the compartment between the roof structure 20 and the floor 12. In the form as shown in FIGS. 1-8, such side walls extend in the closed condition in a substantially vertical direction.”…Col 6 Lines 18-23:” In the most preferred form when the vehicle is stationary, at least one side panel 2 and preferably both side panels of the compartment are moveable between a closed condition (wherein the sides of the compartment are substantially closed) to an opened condition wherein the side(s) of the compartment is open to the exterior of the vehicle.”); and (e) a plurality of activity devices 18,68 removably attached to the top frame assembly, the first deployable side wall, or the second deployable side wall (Refer to Fig. 5 Col 9 Lines 15-20 & Col 10 Lines 34-43..The Office takes the position that “activity devices” are broad and such devices 19 and 68 are considered activity devices since they can be used for an activity), wherein at least one of the activity devices comprising a deployable activity device 19 deployably attached to the first elongate deployable wall, the second elongate deployable wall, or the deployable end wall such that the deployable activity device is: (i) disposed within the frame when the first elongate deployable wall 2,15, the second elongate deployable wall, or the deployable end wall is in the retracted position; and (ii) deployed when the first elongate deployable wall 2,15, the second elongate deployable wall, or the deployable end wall is in the deployed position (Refer to Fig. 5 Col 9 Lines 15-20 & Col 10 Lines 34-43).
Regarding Claim 12, Ting et al continues to teach further comprising a deployable end wall 16 rotatably attached to an end of the top frame assembly 20, the deployable end wall 16 comprising a retracted position and a deployed position such that the deployable end wall is moveable between the retracted position and the deployed position (Refer to Fig. 3 Col 7 Lines 36-40:” With reference to FIG. 3, it can be seen that an end panel 16 positioned at the rear of the vehicle is also moveable between a closed condition and an open condition.”).
Regarding Claim 21, Ting et al teaches teaches a deployable mobile trailer comprising: (a) a base 12 comprising wheels rotatably coupled to the base (Refer to Fig. 1); (b) a frame attached to the base, the frame comprising: (i) vertical supports 50 attached to the base 12; and (ii) a top frame assembly 20 disposed at a top end of the vertical supports 50; (c) a first elongate deployable wall 2, 15 rotatably attached to a first side of the top frame assembly, the first elongate deployable wall comprising a retracted position and a deployed position such that the first elongate deployable wall is moveable between the retracted position and the deployed position; (d) a second elongate deployable wall rotatably attached to a second side of the top frame assembly, the second elongate deployable wall 2,15 comprising a retracted position (Refer to Fig. 8) and a deployed position such that the second elongate deployable wall is moveable between the retracted position and the deployed position (Refer to Figs. 1-7 Col 6 Lines 59-62:” In the most preferred form, it is both side panels 2 which are moveable. They are moveable from a closed condition to close the sides of the compartment between the roof structure 20 and the floor 12. In the form as shown in FIGS. 1-8, such side walls extend in the closed condition in a substantially vertical direction.”…Col 6 Lines 18-23:” In the most preferred form when the vehicle is stationary, at least one side panel 2 and preferably both side panels of the compartment are moveable between a closed condition (wherein the sides of the compartment are substantially closed) to an opened condition wherein the side(s) of the compartment is open to the exterior of the vehicle.”) ; (e) a deployable end wall 16 rotatably attached to an end of the frame, the deployable end wall comprising a retracted position and a deployed position such that the deployable end wall is moveable between the retracted position and the deployed position (Refer to Fig. 3 Col 7 Lines 36-40:” With reference to FIG. 3, it can be seen that an end panel 16 positioned at the rear of the vehicle is also moveable between a closed condition and an open condition.”); (f) a second end wall 16 attached to an end of the frame opposite from the deployable end wall Refer to annotated Fig.3 below).
(g) a plurality of activity devices 19,68 removably attached to the top frame assembly, the first elongate deployable wall, the second elongate deployable wall, or the deployable end wall (Refer to Fig. 5 Col 9 Lines 15-20 & Col 10 Lines 34-43..The Office takes the position that “activity devices” are broad and such devices 19 and 68 are considered activity devices since they can be used for an activity), wherein the first elongate deployable wall 2,15 extends along the first side of the frame from the deployable end wall 16 to the second end wall 16; wherein the second elongate deployable wall 2,15 extends along the second side of the frame from the deployable end wall 16 to the second end wall 16; and wherein the deployable end wall 16 extends along the end of the frame from the first side of the frame to the second side of the frame (Refer to annotated Fig.3 above).
Regarding Claim 22, Ting et al continues to teach wherein each of the first elongate deployable wall 2,15, the second elongate deployable wall 2,15, and the deployable end wall 16 comprises a plurality of panel legs 18, each panel leg deployed beneath and supporting its respective deployable wall in the deployed position and retracted within the frame in the retracted position (Refer to Fig. 5 Col 12 Lines 19-22:” Alternatively or in addition, the extension panel may be supported by posts 18 which are located at or towards the longitudinal edge 58 of the extension panel opposite to the edge where the hinge structure is provided.”..The Office takes the position that the legs are placed in the frame in the retracted position).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 15, 16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ting et al (US 7360813 B2).
Regarding Claim 9, Ting et al teaches the claimed invention as noted above (Embodiment of Figs. 1-8) but fails to expressly disclose wherein each of the first elongate deployable wall, the second elongate deployable wall, and the deployable end wall comprises a translucent or transparent sheet material attached to a wall frame. Ting et al teaches in the embodiment of Fig. 11 a panel 40 comprising a translucent or transparent sheet material 44 attached to a wall frame 40 (Refer to Fig. 11 Col 13 Lines 48-49:” It may include a window region 44.”). The Office takes the position that it would have been obvious to modify each of the first elongate deployable wall 2,15, the second elongate deployable wall 2,15, and the deployable end wall 16 of Ting to comprises a translucent or transparent sheet material 44 for the purpose of allowing a user to look inside the frame to predetermine if what they need is inside.
Regarding Claim 15, Ting et al in view of Eagleton as modified above continues to teach wherein the deployable activity device is (a) disposed within the frame when the deployable end wall is in the retracted position, and(b) deployed when the deployable end wall is in the deployed position (Refer to Ting et al Fig. 2&5 Col 9 Lines 1-20..The Office takes the position that in the retracted position, all deployable activity devices are located within the frame for transport). Ting et al fails to expressly disclose wherein at least one of the plurality of activity devices comprises a deployable activity device deployably attached to the deployable end wall. Although, Ting et al does not expressly disclose the activity devices 18,68 are attached to the end wall 16 the Office takes the position that Ting et al teaches that such walls are suitable for attaching of an activity device therefrom (Refer to Ting et al Fig. 2&5 Col 9 Lines 1-20:” The side panels 12 and perhaps also the end panel 16 when in an expanded condition establish a covered region below which personnel and injured can receive some shelter from the elements.”..” In addition to the benefit of retrieving medical supplies and equipment from the compartment the panels 2 allow for medical utilities to be dispensed therefrom when in the erected condition. With reference to FIG. 5, the panel 2 has a lower surface 56 (when in the erected condition) from or at which there is provided access to medical utilities such as water, air, oxygen, suction, pressure, light, or other fluid or electricity which may be necessary for the treatment or monitoring of a patient.”) and therefore it would have been obvious to modify the end wall 16 of Ting et al to further comprise the deployable activity devices for the purpose of allowing a user to access the devices under the end wall as well as from the side walls, allowing usage to more users.
Regarding Claim 16, Ting et al teaches a method for operating a mobile deployable activity structure, comprising: (a) moving a first elongate deployable wall 2,15 rotatably attached to a top frame assembly 20 of a frame of a mobile activity structure from a retracted position adjacent a first side of the frame to a deployed position; (b) moving a second elongate deployable wall 2,15 rotatably attached to the top frame assembly from a retracted position adjacent a second side of the frame to a deployed position (Refer to Figs. 1-7 Col 6 Lines 59-62:” In the most preferred form, it is both side panels 2 which are moveable. They are moveable from a closed condition to close the sides of the compartment between the roof structure 20 and the floor 12. In the form as shown in FIGS. 1-8, such side walls extend in the closed condition in a substantially vertical direction.”…Col 6 Lines 18-23:” In the most preferred form when the vehicle is stationary, at least one side panel 2 and preferably both side panels of the compartment are moveable between a closed condition (wherein the sides of the compartment are substantially closed) to an opened condition wherein the side(s) of the compartment is open to the exterior of the vehicle”) (d) moving a deployable end wall 16 from a retracted position adjacent a first end of the frame to a deployed position (Refer to Fig. 3 Col 7 Lines 36-40:” With reference to FIG. 3, it can be seen that an end panel 16 positioned at the rear of the vehicle is also moveable between a closed condition and an open condition.”); and (e) removably attaching a plurality of activity devices 18,68 to one or more of the top frame assembly, the first elongate deployable wall 2,15, and the second elongate deployable wall 2,15 in the deployed positions, wherein at least one of the plurality of activity devices 18,68 is attached to at least one of the first elongate deployable wall 2,15 and the second elongate deployable wall 2,15 such that the at least one activity device is disposed under the at least one of the first elongate deployable wall 2,15 and the second elongate deployable wall 2,15 (Refer to Fig. 5 Col 9 Lines 15-20 & Col 10 Lines 34-43..The Office takes the position that “activity devices” are broad and such devices 19 and 68 are considered activity devices since they can be used for an activity). Ting et al fails to expressly disclose a deployable activity device rotatably attached to the deployable end wall is moved from a retracted position within the frame to a deployed position outside the frame. Although, Ting et al does not expressly disclose the activity devices 18,68 are attached to the end wall 16 the Office takes the position that Ting et al teaches that such panels are suitable for attaching of an activity device therefrom (Refer to Ting et al Fig. 2&5 Col 9 Lines 1-20:” The side panels 12 and perhaps also the end panel 16 when in an expanded condition establish a covered region below which personnel and injured can receive some shelter from the elements.”..” In addition to the benefit of retrieving medical supplies and equipment from the compartment the panels 2 allow for medical utilities to be dispensed therefrom when in the erected condition. With reference to FIG. 5, the panel 2 has a lower surface 56 (when in the erected condition) from or at which there is provided access to medical utilities such as water, air, oxygen, suction, pressure, light, or other fluid or electricity which may be necessary for the treatment or monitoring of a patient.”) and therefore it would have been obvious to modify the end wall 16 of Ting et al to further comprise the deployable activity devices for the purpose of allowing a user to access the devices under the end wall as well as from the side walls, allowing usage to more users.
Regarding Claim 19, Ting et al continues to teach further comprising: (a) deploying the first elongate deployable wall 2,15 by rotating first and second side panels of the first elongate deployable wall from the retracted position to the deployed position (; and (a) deploying the second elongate deployable wall 2,15 by rotating first and second side panels of the second elongate deployable wall from the retracted position to the deployed position (Refer to Fig. 5 Col 11-12 Lines 54-13:” With reference to FIG. 5, the extension panel 15 is for example hingeably engaged at a hinge 35 to the main panel 2. The hinge is positioned intermediate of the main and extension panels and runs substantially longitudinally along and between the longitudinal edges of the main and extension panels. The hinge allows for the extension panel to be pivotal relative to the main panel 2 to move between a first rotational condition where the extension panel is in a storage condition, and a second rotational condition where the extension panel extends away from the main panel and away from the enclosure of the compartment. In the second rotational condition the extension panel defines an additional area of total coverage which is defined external of the vehicle by the panels carried by the vehicle. In the stored or first rotational condition the extension panel is preferably folded close to or against the main panel and where its plane is substantially parallel to that of the main panel but positioned adjacent thereto. In such a storage condition, the extension panel may be folded against the downward (or interior) surface 56 of the main panel 2. Alternatively is may be folded against the exterior (the opposite surface to the interior surface) of the panel 2.”).
Regarding Claim 20, Ting et al continues to teach further comprising: (a) moving the first elongate deployable wall 2,15 from the deployed position into the retracted position; (b) moving the second elongate deployable wall 2,15 from the deployed position into the retracted position; (c) moving the deployable end wall from the deployed position into the retracted position (Refer to Figs. 1-7 Col 6 Lines 59-62:” In the most preferred form, it is both side panels 2 which are moveable. They are moveable from a closed condition to close the sides of the compartment between the roof structure 20 and the floor 12. In the form as shown in FIGS. 1-8, such side walls extend in the closed condition in a substantially vertical direction.); and (d) transporting the mobile activity structure to a new desired location (Refer to Col 5 Lines 39-50:” The compartment defines an enclosure 10 within which such supplies and equipment can be carried and transported. The enclosure 10 is defined by for example two side walls which are substantially planar and extend in a longitudinal direction with respect to the vehicle (being in the direction of front to rear of the vehicle), at least two end walls 16 which are substantially planar and extend transverse to the side walls to close the ends of the compartment. The end and side walls are (when the compartment is in a closed condition), substantially abutting each other in a side to side relationship and extend from top to bottom between a floor panel 12 and roof panel 20.”).
Claim(s) 7, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ting et al (US 7360813 B2) in view of Eagleton (US 20180272825 A1).
Regarding Claims 7, 11, and 13, Ting et al teaches further comprising: (a) a first actuable strut 5 coupled to the first elongate deployable wall 2 and the frame 50 and operable to move the first elongate deployable wall between its retracted position and its deployed position; (b) a second actuable strut 5 coupled to the second elongate deployable wall 2 and the frame 50 and operable to move the second elongate deployable wall between its retracted position and its deployed position; and (c) a third actuable strut 5 coupled to the deployable end wall 15 and the frame 50 and operable to move the deployable end wall between its retracted position and its deployed position (Refer to Ting et al Figs. 1&2 Col 8 Lines 30-50:” A strut 5 may for example be engaged at its first distal end 8 to a post of the fixed structure of the compartment and at its other distal end 7 to a part of the panel as shown in FIG. 1. The strut when fixed at points on the posts and the panel will then prevent the panel from falling and collapsing to its stored and closed condition. The struts 5 may themselves be articulatable so that when in an articulated condition (not shown) the panels can move to the closed condition and when in a locked condition, the panels are maintained in the erected condition. Articulation of the struts can occur between the first and second distal ends and preferably mid way between such ends. An over centre toggle action of this articulated struts can be employed for locking the strut in its rigid and unarticulated condition. One or both distal ends of the struts may be disengable from the post or panel but have a quick fit relationship therewith”). Ting et al fails to teach wherein the struts are pistons. Eagleton teaches a deployable mobile trailer comprising deployable side walls 21 and a frame connected via a gas strut (Refer to Fig. 1 Paragraph [0140] Struts 22 support upper panels 21 in the open position, positioned on either side thereof. Struts 22 are in some embodiments gas struts that allow the upper panel 21 to be easily moved between its closed and open configuration”..The Office takes the position that gas structs comprise a piston). Eagleton is analogous with Applicants invention in that they both teach deployable trailers and therefore it would have been obvious to modify the struts 50 of Ting et al to be gas struts comprising pistons since Eagleton teaches that such pistons are known in the art to be used to easily move panels from a closed and open position and therefore does not patentably distinguish the invention over prior arts.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 17, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Ting et al is the closest prior art to the claimed invention as noted above but fails to teach the claimed invention as a whole further comprising wherein the deployable activity device comprises a warp wall, wherein the warp wall is deployably attached to the deployable end wall and/or further comprising accessing an internal portion of a storage unit disposed at a second end of the frame by moving at least a portion of a climbing wall that forms a wall of the storage unit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to attach list of references cited for prior arts pertinent to claimed and unclaimed subject matter.
/NYCA T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784