DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant Election filed on 02/16/2026.
Currently, claims 1-17 are pending in the application. Currently, claims 1-6 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II (claims 7-17) and Species II (Fig. 2C) in the reply filed on 02/16/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-selected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 7-17 are examined in this Office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/09/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 140, 140A, and 140B.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 221.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the drain/collector pad must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the encapsulant”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in this claim. For the purpose of examination, this limitation will be read as “an encapsulant”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7, 9-13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHO et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0233823).
Regarding independent claim 7, Cho teaches a semiconductor device module (Fig. 2), comprising:
a core layer (Fig. 2, 102, ¶ [0034]) comprising an opening (Fig. 2110, ¶ [0035]);
a first semiconductor transistor die (Fig. 2, 108, [0034]) disposed within the opening, the first semiconductor transistor die comprising an emitter/source contact pad (Fig. 2, 118, ¶ [0037]), a drain/collector contact pad (Fig. 2, 114, ¶ [0037]), and a gate contact pad (Fig. 2, 122, ¶ [0037]),
wherein at least one of the contact pads is connected with two or more electrical connectors (Figs. 2 & 4A, 124 + 202, ¶ [0047]) which are disposed in a symmetrical manner (Fig. 4A, 124 are disposed symmetrically around 108) on opposing lateral sides of the first semiconductor transistor die.
Regarding claim 9, Cho teaches the semiconductor device module of claim 7, and Cho teaches an encapsulant (Fig. 2, 112, ¶ [0035]) embedding the first semiconductor transistor die (Fig. 2, 108, [0034]), wherein the two or more electrical connectors (Figs. 2 & 4A, 124 + 202, ¶ [0047]) extend through the encapsulant and form protruding sections (Fig. 2, portions of 124 above upper surface of 112) above an upper surface of the encapsulant.
Regarding claim 10, Cho teaches the semiconductor device module of claim 9, and Cho teaches at least one metallic layer (Fig. 2, 204 + 126, ¶ [0046]) disposed within the semiconductor device module and connected with the two or more electrical connectors (Figs. 2 & 4A, 124 + 202, ¶ [0047]).
Regarding claim 11, Cho teaches the semiconductor device module of claim 10, and Cho teaches two or three metallic layers (Fig. 2, 204 + 126, ¶ [0046]) disposed within the semiconductor device module and each one connected with one of the two or more electrical connectors (Figs. 2 & 4A, 124 + 202, ¶ [0047]), respectively (Fig. 2, 126/204 are each respectively connected with one via 124/202).
Regarding claim 12, Cho teaches the semiconductor device module of claim 10, and Cho teaches a laminate layer (Fig. 2, 138, ¶ [0045]) disposed on an upper surface of the core layer (Fig. 2, 102, ¶ [0034]), wherein one, two or three metallic layers (Fig. 2, 204 + 126, ¶ [0046], portions of 204 and 126 are at least partially within 138) are disposed within the laminate layer.
Regarding claim 13, Cho teaches the semiconductor device module of claim 7, and Cho teaches a second semiconductor transistor die (Fig. 5, 502, ¶ [0060]) electrically connected with the first semiconductor transistor die (Fig. 5, 108, ¶ [0060]) to form a half-bridge configuration (¶ [0060] teaches that Cho’s semiconductor die 108 can be connected to another semiconductor die in a half bridge circuit).
Regarding claim 16, Cho teaches the semiconductor device module of claim 13, and Cho teaches that the second semiconductor transistor die (Fig. 5, 502, ¶ [0060]) is embedded by an encapsulant (Fig. 5, 112, ¶ [0035]).
Regarding claim 17, Cho teaches the semiconductor device module of claim 7, and Cho teaches that the core layer (Fig. 2, 102, ¶ [0034]) comprises a printed circuit board (¶ [0034] teaches that 102 can be a PCB substrate).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over CHO et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0233823) in view of ST. GERMAIN et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0385939) and further in view of HONG et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0155509).
Regarding claim 8, Cho teaches the semiconductor device module of claim 7.
However, Cho does not explicitly teach that two or three of the contact pads are respectively connected with two or more electrical connectors which are disposed in a symmetrical manner on opposing lateral sides of the first semiconductor transistor die.
However, St. Germain is a pertinent art that teaches that leads can be placed in any number and any location depending on a desired final configuration of a semiconductor package (see St. Germain ¶ [0094]). Further, it is known in the art that symmetric connecting conductors have the effect of cancelling out magnetic fluxes and reducing mutual inductance (see Hong ¶ [0056]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the number and location of Cho’s conductive vias connected to their terminal bond pads to be arranged symmetrically around Cho’s semiconductor dies according to the teaching of Hong (¶ [0056]) in order to cancel out magnetic flux and reduce mutual inductance.
Regarding claim 14, Cho teaches the semiconductor device module of claim 13, and Cho teaches that the second semiconductor transistor die (Fig. 5, 502, ¶ [0060]) is disposed within the core layer (Fig. 5, 102, ¶ [0034]) and comprises an emitter/source contact pad (Fig. 5, 504, ¶ [0059]), a drain/collector contact pad (Fig. 5, 508, ¶ [0059]), and a gate contact pad (Fig. 5, 512, ¶ [0059]).
However, the embodiment of Cho Fig. 5 does not explicitly teach that at least one of the contact pads is connected with two or more electrical connectors which are disposed in a symmetrical manner on opposing sides of the first semiconductor transistor die.
However, St. Germain is a pertinent art that teaches that leads can be placed in any number and any location depending on a desired final configuration of a semiconductor package (see St. Germain ¶ [0094]). Further, it is known in the art that symmetric connecting conductors have the effect of cancelling out magnetic fluxes and reducing mutual inductance (see Hong ¶ [0056]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the number and location of Cho’s conductive vias connected to their terminal bond pads to be arranged symmetrically around Cho’s semiconductor dies according to the teaching of Hong (¶ [0056]) in order to cancel out magnetic flux and reduce mutual inductance.
Regarding claim 15, Cho teaches the semiconductor device module of claim 14.
However, Cho does not explicitly teach that two or three of the contact pads are respectively connected with two or more electrical connectors which are disposed in a symmetrical manner on lateral opposing sides of the first semiconductor transistor die.
However, St. Germain is a pertinent art that teaches that leads can be placed in any number and any location depending on a desired final configuration of a semiconductor package (see St. Germain ¶ [0094]). Further, it is known in the art that symmetric connecting conductors have the effect of cancelling out magnetic fluxes and reducing mutual inductance (see Hong ¶ [0056]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the number and location of Cho’s conductive vias connected to their terminal bond pads to be arranged symmetrically around Cho’s semiconductor dies according to the teaching of Hong (¶ [0056]) in order to cancel out magnetic flux and reduce mutual inductance.
Cited Prior Art
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant.
Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub No. 2020/0279785 by Faul discloses a semiconductor device.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub No. 2020/0219846 by Ji et al discloses a semiconductor device.
/R.P.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813