DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filled on 12/29/2025 has been entered.
Claims 1, 5,9 are amended.
Claims 3, 4, 7, 8, 11, and 12 are canceled.
Claims 13-15 are added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments filed on 12/29/2025 have been fully considered and but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection(s)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,5-6,9-10,13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MURUGANATHAN to (WO2022153248 A1) in view of VIVO: "Further discussion and evaluation on HST-SFN transmission schemes", from IDS
Regarding claim 1, MURUGANATHAN teaches determining, by a wireless communication device, two reference signals of two transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for beam failure detection, from reference signals of a control resource set (CORESET);( Page 35, lines 13-20 discloses the configuration of one CORESET and the activation of two TCI states via a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for the CORESET; and …pages 13, lines 4-10 discloses the at least one beam failure detection resource set comprises a single beam failure detection resource set including a first BFD-RS being a reference signal associated with the first activated TCI state and a second BFD-RS being a reference signal associated with the second activated TCI state) and determining, by the wireless communication device according to the two reference signals, at least one measurement for comparison with a threshold(Page 10, lines 9-20 discloses WD …combines measurements to obtain the channel properties of the SFN channel... it can compute as a weighted average of the delay spread. This average is then used as input to the channel estimation algorithm for the PDCCH DM-RS. ..the measurements on the TRS gives the WD some information on whether one TRP is dominating over the other), the at least one measurement comprising a combined measurement for the two TCI states(page 10, lines 3-11 discloses.. SFN-based PDCCH transmission over two TRPs, two TCI states need to be activated for a CORESET (i.e., the two TCI states activated are from the list of TCI states configured for the CORESET). When the WD is receiving a PDCCH DM-RS with a CORESET activated with two TCI states, the WD may perform synchronization and estimation of long term channel properties using the DL RS (e.g., TRS) in both TCI states in parallel. For example, it obtains two channel delay spreads. The WD may then combine these measurements to obtain the channel properties of the SFN channel)
MURUGANATHAN does not explicitly teach wherein the combined measurement
is according to a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission assumption for
single frequency network (SFN) and comprises a combined block error rate (BLER)
However, "Further discussion and evaluation on HST-SFN transmission schemes teaches wherein the combined measurement is according to a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission assumption for single frequency network (SFN) and comprises a combined block error rate (BLER)( page 12, section 2.5.4, "SINR threshold of target PDCCH BLER")
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of MURUGANATHAN include wherein the combined measurement is according to a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission assumption for single frequency network (SFN) and comprises a combined block error rate (BLER),as suggested by "Further discussion and evaluation on HST-SFN transmission schemes.” This modification would benefit the system reliably determine communication error.
Regarding claim 5 MURUGANATHAN teaches a wireless communication device(page 35, lines 29-32, fig.13, “wireless device 22”), comprising: at least one processor (page 35, lines 29-32, fig.13, “wireless device 22” “processor 86”), configured to: determine two reference signals of two transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for beam failure detection, from reference signals of a control resource set (CORESET); (Page 35, lines 13-20 discloses the configuration of one CORESET and the activation of two TCI states via a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for the CORESET; and …pages 13, lines 4-10 discloses the at least one beam failure detection resource set comprises a single beam failure detection resource set including a first BFD-RS being a reference signal associated with the first activated TCI state and a second BFD-RS being a reference signal associated with the second activated TCI state) determine, according to the two reference signals, at least one measurement for comparison
with a threshold, (Page 10, lines 9-20 discloses WD …combines measurements to obtain the channel properties of the SFN channel... it can compute as a weighted average of the delay spread. This average is then used as input to the channel estimation algorithm for the PDCCH DM-RS. ..the measurements on the TRS gives the WD some information on whether one TRP is dominating over the other), the at least one measurement comprising a combined measurement for the two TCI states (page 10, lines 3-11 discloses.. SFN-based PDCCH transmission over two TRPs, two TCI states need to be activated for a CORESET (i.e., the two TCI states activated are from the list of TCI states configured for the CORESET). When the WD is receiving a PDCCH DM-RS with a CORESET activated with two TCI states, the WD may perform synchronization and estimation of long term channel properties using the DL RS (e.g., TRS) in both TCI states in parallel. For example, it obtains two channel delay spreads. The WD may then combine these measurements to obtain the channel properties of the SFN channel)
MURUGANATHAN does not explicitly teach wherein the combined measurement
is according to a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission assumption for
single frequency network (SFN) and comprises a combined block error rate (BLER)
However, "Further discussion and evaluation on HST-SFN transmission schemes teaches wherein the combined measurement is according to a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission assumption for single frequency network (SFN) and comprises a combined block error rate (BLER)( page 12, section 2.5.4, "SINR threshold of target PDCCH BLER")
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of MURUGANATHAN include wherein the combined measurement is according to a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission assumption for single frequency network (SFN) and comprises a combined block error rate (BLER),as suggested by "Further discussion and evaluation on HST-SFN transmission schemes.” This modification would benefit the system reliably determine communication error.
Regarding claim 9 MURUGANATHAN teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions(page 51, lines 24-25, page 52, line 6, “computer readable memory” ), which when executed by one or more processors can cause the one or more processors to(page 52, lines 3-5, page 35, lines 29-32, fig.13, “wireless device 22” “processor 86”):determine two reference signals of two transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for beam failure detection, from reference signals of a control resource set (CORESET); (Page 35, lines 13-20 discloses the configuration of one CORESET and the activation of two TCI states via a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for the CORESET; and …pages 13, lines 4-10 discloses the at least one beam failure detection resource set comprises a single beam failure detection resource set including a first BFD-RS being a reference signal associated with the first activated TCI state and a second BFD-RS being a reference signal associated with the second activated TCI state) determine, according to the two reference signals, at least one measurement for comparison
with a threshold, (Page 10, lines 9-20 discloses WD …combines measurements to obtain the channel properties of the SFN channel... it can compute as a weighted average of the delay spread. This average is then used as input to the channel estimation algorithm for the PDCCH DM-RS. ..the measurements on the TRS gives the WD some information on whether one TRP is dominating over the other), the at least one measurement comprising a combined measurement for the two TCI states (page 10, lines 3-11 discloses.. SFN-based PDCCH transmission over two TRPs, two TCI states need to be activated for a CORESET (i.e., the two TCI states activated are from the list of TCI states configured for the CORESET). When the WD is receiving a PDCCH DM-RS with a CORESET activated with two TCI states, the WD may perform synchronization and estimation of long term channel properties using the DL RS (e.g., TRS) in both TCI states in parallel. For example, it obtains two channel delay spreads. The WD may then combine these measurements to obtain the channel properties of the SFN channel)
MURUGANATHAN does not explicitly teach wherein the combined measurement
is according to a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission assumption for
single frequency network (SFN) and comprises a combined block error rate (BLER)
However, "Further discussion and evaluation on HST-SFN transmission schemes teaches wherein the combined measurement is according to a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission assumption for single frequency network (SFN) and comprises a combined block error rate (BLER)( page 12, section 2.5.4, "SINR threshold of target PDCCH BLER")
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of MURUGANATHAN include wherein the combined measurement is according to a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission assumption for single frequency network (SFN) and comprises a combined block error rate (BLER),as suggested by "Further discussion and evaluation on HST-SFN transmission schemes.” This modification would benefit the system reliably determine communication error.
Regarding claims 2,6,10 MURUGANATHAN teaches wherein the CORESET is activated with the two TCI states ( Page 35, lines 13-20 discloses the configuration of one CORESET and the activation of two TCI states via a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for the CORESET).
Regarding claims 13-15 MURUGANATHAN teaches wherein the threshold corresponds to a level at which a downlink radio link cannot be reliably received(Page 10, lines 9-20 discloses WD …combines measurements to obtain the channel properties of the SFN channel... it can compute as a weighted average of the delay spread. This average is then used as input to the channel estimation algorithm for the PDCCH DM-RS).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461