Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bulpitt ( US 2023/0170508) in view of Lee (US 2023/0143719) {Lee 719}
Regarding claim 1, Bulpitt teaches a power control apparatus for a fuel cell vehicle (see Fig. 3), the apparatus comprising: a first relay connected to a fuel cell stack (see 308, Fig. 3); a converter connected to the first relay and the second relay, wherein the converter is configured to convert first electric power input thereto via the first relay into first demand electric power, (see 304, Fig. 3A), and supply the first demand electric power or the second demand electric power to a power consumption device (see 354, Fig. 3A); and a controller configured to control the first relay, the second relay, and the converter (Main Power Module; Fig. 1).
However, Bulpitt does not disclose a second relay selectively connected to an external charger; and convert second electric power input thereto via the second relay into second demand electric power.
Yet, Lee 719 in the same field teaches a second relay selectively connected to an external charger (see 10 and 630; Fig.4) and convert second electric power input thereto via the second relay into second demand electric power (see Power to charge Bat; Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BULPITT with the teachings of Lee 719 having a second relay selectively connected to an external charger; and convert second electric power input thereto via the second relay into second demand electric power in order to enhance safety and galvanic isolation.
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches wherein the power consumption device comprises a high-voltage battery and a motor system, and wherein the converter is configured to supply the first demand electric power to the high-voltage battery and the motor system (see 354; Fig. 3a; Bulpitt).
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches wherein the power consumption device comprises a high-voltage battery, and wherein the converter is configured to supply the second demand electric power to the high-voltage battery (see 354; Fig. 3a; Bulpitt).
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches a power control method for a fuel cell vehicle, the method comprising: converting first electric power input to a converter via a first relay connected to a fuel cell stack into first demand electric power; converting second electric power input to the converter via a second relay selectively connected to an external charger into second demand electric power; and supplying the first demand electric power or the second demand electric power to a power consumption device (Please see the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 20, the combination teaches a power control system for a fuel cell vehicle, the system comprising: a power control apparatus comprising: a first relay;
a second relay; a converter connected to a first end of each of the first and second relays, wherein the converter is configured to convert first electric power input thereto via the first relay into first demand electric power, convert second electric power input thereto via the second relay into second demand electric power, and supply the first demand electric power or the second demand electric power to a power consumption device, the power consumption device comprising a high-voltage battery; and a controller configured to control the first relay, the second relay, and the converter; a fuel cell stack connected to a second end of the first relay; and an external charger selectively connected to a second end of the second relay (Please see the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claims 2, 3, 4, 7. 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 19 the combination teaches the apparatus and method according to claim 1 and 10, respectively.
Yet does not disclose;
2 wherein the second relay is configured to turn off when the first relay turns on and the second relay is configured to turn on when the first relay turns off such that the first electric power and the second electric power are not simultaneously input to the converter.
3 wherein the controller is configured to turn on the first relay, turn off the second relay, and control the converter to convert the first electric power into the first demand electric power.
4 wherein the controller is configured to turn off the first relay, turn on the second relay, and control the converter to convert the second electric power into the second demand electric power.
7 wherein the controller is configured to turn off the first relay and turn on the second relay based on a determination that a current state is a vehicle ignition off state and a current mode is a fast charging mode based on vehicle-associated information input to the controller from an outside thereof.
8 wherein the controller is configured to turn on the first relay and turn off the second relay based on a determination that a current state is a vehicle ignition on state and a current mode is a fuel cell electric vehicle (FCEV) mode based on vehicle-associated information input to the controller from an outside thereof.
9 wherein the controller is configured to control the converter not to be driven based on a determination that a current state is a vehicle ignition on state and a current mode is not a fuel cell electric vehicle (FCEV) mode based on vehicle-associated information input to the controller from an outside thereof.
11 wherein the second relay turns off when the first relay turns on and the second relay turns on when the first relay turns off such that the first electric power and the second electric power are not simultaneously input to the converter.
12 wherein converting the first electric power into the first demand electric power comprises turning on the first relay, turning off the second relay, and controlling the converter to convert the first electric power into the first demand electric power.
13 wherein converting the second electric power into the second demand electric power comprises turning off the first relay, turning on the second relay, and controlling the converter to convert the second electric power into the second demand electric power.
15 wherein the power consumption device comprises a high-voltage battery, and wherein supplying the first demand electric power or the second demand electric power to the power consumption device comprises supplying the second demand electric power to the high-voltage battery (see 354; Bulpitt).
16 further comprising determining control for the first relay, the second relay, and the converter based on vehicle-associated information input to a controller from an outside thereof.
17 wherein determining the control comprises turning on the first relay and turning off the second relay upon determining that a current state is a vehicle ignition on state and a current mode is a fuel cell electric vehicle (FCEV) mode.
18 wherein determining the control comprises turning off the first relay and turning on the second relay upon determining that a current state is a vehicle ignition off state and a current mode is a fast charging mode.
19 wherein determining the control comprises controlling the converter not to be driven upon determining that a current state is a vehicle ignition on state and a current mode is not a fuel cell electric vehicle (FCEV) mode.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination by operating the first relay and the second relay given particular circumstances and conditions is a known technique and is recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art without an inventive step nor novelty.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bulpitt, Lee 719 and in further view of Lee (US 10,793,020).
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches, wherein the power consumption device comprises a high-voltage battery (see 354; Bulpitt)
Yet does not disclose a motor system, and wherein supplying the first demand electric power or the second demand electric power to the power consumption device comprises supplying the first demand electric power to the high-voltage battery and the motor system.
However, Lee in the same field teaches a motor system, and wherein supplying the first demand electric power or the second demand electric power to the power consumption device comprises supplying the first demand electric power to the high-voltage battery and the motor system (see Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BULPITT and LEE 719 with the teachings of Lee having a motor system, and wherein supplying the first demand electric power or the second demand electric power to the power consumption device comprises supplying the first demand electric power to the high-voltage battery and the motor system in order to provide dynamic power allocation and load balancing.
Conclusion
/ELIM ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836