Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 03/27/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that it would not be a serious burden to examine both sets of claims. This is not found persuasive because the species require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources or employing different search queries.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guyette et al (US 20220144458; hereinafter Guyette).
As regarding claim 1, Guyette discloses the claimed invention for a universal commode system (UCS) ([0058], figs. 1-6), comprising: an air/liquid separator (174); a urine line (162) connected to the air/liquid separator; a fan (166); a cabin air return line (fig. 6; no number; [0059]) connected to the air/liquid separator and to the fan; a commode line connected to the cabin air return line (fig. 6); a first motor (M01) coupled to the air/liquid separator and configured to drive an operation of the air/liquid separator; and a second motor (M02) independent of the first motor, coupled to the fan and configured to drive an operation of the fan (fig. 6 and [0058]).
As regarding claim 2, Guyette discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Guyette discloses the claimed invention for a urine funnel (162) attached to a distal end of the urine line.
As regarding claim 3, Guyette discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Guyette discloses the claimed invention for a commode (160) attached to a distal end of the commode line.
As regarding claim 4, Guyette discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Guyette discloses the claimed invention for an odor bacteria filter (OBF) (176) disposed on the cabin air return line downstream from the fan.
As regarding claim 5, Guyette discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Guyette discloses the claimed invention for wherein the air/liquid separator comprises a drain (fig. 6; no number) and the UCS further comprises: a valve (178) coupled to the drain; and a temporary urine storage tank (180) coupled to the valve.
Claims 7-11 are likewise rejected with similar reasons as stated in claims 1-5 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guyette et al (US 20220144458; hereinafter Guyette) in view of Stapleton et al (US 20130318701; hereinafter Stapleton), PAYRA SYAMANTAK et al ("Artemis Removable-Canister Waste Accumulation System & Handler (ARC-WASH): A Portable Modular Space Lavatory"; hereinafter Payra), or Birbara (US 5894608).
As regarding claim 6, Guyette discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Guyette discloses the claimed invention for wherein the air/liquid separator comprises a drain and the UCS further comprises: a valve coupled to the drain; an external temporary urine storage tank coupled to the valve (fig. 6; [0058]-[0059]).
Guyette does not disclose a capping assembly interposed between the valve and the external temporary urine storage tank.
Stapleton (or Payra, Birbara) teaches a capping assembly (Stapleton -[0018] – quick disconnects 54, 56; Payra – fig. 7; Birbara – figs. 7-8) interposed between the valve and the external temporary urine storage tank. Both Guyette and Stapleton are directed to urine storage system for spacecraft. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention was made to provide a capping assembly interposed between the valve and the external temporary urine storage tank as taught by Stapleton (or Payra, Birbara) in order to enhance system performance.
Claim 12 is likewise rejected with similar reasons as stated in claim 6 above.
Conclusion
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773