DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a) — (d), which papers have been placed of record in the file. Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration
3. Oath and declaration filed on11/9/2023 is accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The prior art documents submitted by application in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 11/9/2023 have all been considered and made of record ( note the attached copy of form PTO – 1449).
Claim Objections
5.Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 8 depends on claim 8. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: reference elements number should take out from claims Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al (2022/0276473 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen et al discloses a method for manufacturing an optical module (figures 1,2 and 1, telephoto imaging system, comprising the following steps A) providing a tunable optical component 142,liqid structure part) and a first optical element (141, base sheet) , wherein the tunable optical component comprises two optical surfaces (left and right hand side surfaces of 142, liquid structure part) and a deformable internal space between the two optical surfaces (paragraph 0135 teaches a change in voltage changes the curvature of 14, tunable lens assembly), wherein the internal space is filled with a transparent liquid (142, liquid structure part: Examiner notes it is necessarily transparent because light is passing through it in figure 1 and 2) , and wherein an optical property of the tunable optical component is adjustable by altering a shape of the internal space ([0135]) teaches the focal length is changed by changing by changing a surface curvature 14, tunable lens assembly) and wherein the first optical element is attached to one of the optical surfaces facing away from the internal space; B) measurement of at least one optical property of the tunable optical component and/or the first optical element (Table 1-1) providing a second optical element ; c) providing a second optical element (any of the lens es in Figure 1); D) joining the second optical element with the first optical element to form the optical module (at least Figure 1 depicts the lens elements are at lest optical joined to form 1, telephoto imaging system).
Regarding claim 2, Chen et al discloses wherein in step D) the second optical element is at least partially brought in direct contact with the first optical element (141).
Regarding claim 3, Chen et al discloses , wherein in step a) the joining of the second optical element with the first optical element (141)comprises a formation of a van-der-Waals-bond and/or a chemical bond, in particular an adhesive chemical bond, and/or a plasma activated bond.
Regarding claim 4, wherein in step D) the second optical element (9) and the first optical element (141) are free of an antireflection coating, in particular in a contact zone.
Regarding claim 5, wherein in step B) a quality information of the tunable optical component and/or of the first optical element (141) is determined as a function of the measured optical property.
Regarding claim 6, Chen et al discloses wherein step B) comprises an optical measurement of the optical property of the tunable optical component (2) and/or of the first optical element (141).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 7-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
8. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Optical module , which in particular is manufacturable by a method comprising a tunable optical component at least with two optical surfaces and a deformable internal space between the two optical surfaces , wherein the internal space is filled with a transparent liquid , and wherein an optical property of the tunable optical component is adjustable by altering a shape of the internal space, and a first optical element (8) that is attached to one of the optical surfaces facing away from the internal space, and wherein a second optical element is kitted to the first optical element via a van-der-Waals-bond and/or a chemical bond, in particular an adhesive chemical bond, and/or a plasma activated bond.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED A HASAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 1/8/2025