DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The present Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 4/13/2026. Claims 1-32 are now pending in the present application. Claims 21-32 have been added by the Applicant. This Action is made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings received on 4/13/2026 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 22-25, 27, 31, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0179726 A1) (hereinafter Wang) in view of Paladugu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0282195 A1) (hereinafter Paladugu).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a method for wireless communication, performed by a relay User Equipment (UE) (Figure 5 and paragraph 0205 disclose an exemplary method 500 at a relay UE for facilitating a first UE in communicating with a network node according to an embodiment of the present disclosure) comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a first indication of relay capability indicating whether a layer 2 relay and/or a layer 3 relay is supported by the base station (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0205, 0206, and 0208 disclose an exemplary method 500 at a relay UE for facilitating a first UE in communicating with a network node according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. In some embodiments, the communication may be relayed over a sidelink. The method 500 may be performed at a relay UE (e.g., the relay UE 220) for facilitating a UE in transmission over a sidelink. The method 500 may begin at step S510 where a relay option may be determined at least partially based on the relay UE's configuration and/or an indication received from the network node. The relay option comprises one of: —L2 relaying is supported; —L3 relaying is supported; and—both L2 relaying and L3 relaying are supported. Figure 6 and paragraph 0217 disclose transmitting or broadcasting, to one or more relay UEs, one or more of: —the network node's capability in supporting both L2 and L3 relaying, —the network node's preference on whether L2 or L3 relaying is prioritized; and—one or more conditions under which L2 and/or L3 relaying are supported); and
acting as a relay based on the first indication (Figure 5 and paragraph 0207 and 0209 disclose at step S520, the relay UE may communicate with the first UE to attempt establishing the sidelink for the first UE at least partially based on the determined relay option. The step of communicating with the first UE to attempt establishing the sidelink for the first UE at least partially based on the determined relay option comprises: receiving, from the first UE, a discovery message comprising an indication indicating its relay option; determining whether the first UE can be served or not for sidelink communication at least partially based on the determined relay option and the received indication; and relaying data between the first UE and the network node for sidelink communication in response to determining that the first UE can be served for sidelink communication).
Wang does not explicitly disclose transmitting, from the relay UE to the base station, a second indication or message of relay capability indicating whether a layer 2 relay and/or layer 3 relay is supported by the relay UE.
In analogous art, Paladugu discloses transmitting, from the relay UE to the base station, a second indication or message of relay capability indicating whether a layer 2 relay and/or layer 3 relay is supported by the relay UE (Paragraphs 0008 and 0057 disclose a method of wireless communication, performed by a base station, may include receiving, from a relay UE, an indication that the relay UE supports a Layer 2 relay service. Base station 110 may include means for receiving, from a relay UE, an indication that the relay UE supports a Layer 2 relay service. Figure 12 and paragraph 0141 disclose receiving, from a relay UE, an indication that the relay UE supports a Layer 2 relay service (block 1210). The base station may receive, from a relay UE, an indication that the relay UE supports a Layer 2 relay service).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a relay UE sending a base station an indication that the relay UE supports a Layer 2 relay service, as described in Paladugu, with a relay UE relaying data between a base station and a UE, as described in Wang, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining a relay UE sending a base station an indication that the relay UE supports a Layer 2 relay service of Paladugu with a relay UE relaying data between a base station and a UE of Wang was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Paladugu.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Wang and Paladugu to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Wang, as modified by Paladugu, further discloses wherein the relay UE acts as the relay between the base station and a remote UE (Paragraph 0098 discloses the relay UE 220 shall relay unicast traffic (UL and DL) between the remote UE 210 and the network (e.g. the NG-RAN node 230, the AS 250, etc.)).
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 2 above, Wang, as modified by Paladugu, further discloses wherein the first indication of the relay capability further indicates whether the base station can support layer 2 relay only, layer 3 relay only, or both layer 2 relay and layer 3 relay, or wherein the first indication further indicates that relay is not allowed or supported (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0205, 0206, and 0208 disclose an exemplary method 500 at a relay UE for facilitating a first UE in communicating with a network node according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. In some embodiments, the communication may be relayed over a sidelink. The method 500 may be performed at a relay UE (e.g., the relay UE 220) for facilitating a UE in transmission over a sidelink. The method 500 may begin at step S510 where a relay option may be determined at least partially based on the relay UE's configuration and/or an indication received from the network node. The relay option comprises one of: —L2 relaying is supported; —L3 relaying is supported; and—both L2 relaying and L3 relaying are supported. Figure 6 and paragraph 0217 disclose transmitting or broadcasting, to one or more relay UEs, one or more of: —the network node's capability in supporting both L2 and L3 relaying, —the network node's preference on whether L2 or L3 relaying is prioritized; and—one or more conditions under which L2 and/or L3 relaying are supported).
Regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Wang, as modified by Paladugu, further discloses wherein the acting as a relay comprises performing sidelink discovery or sidelink communication for a relay operation (Figure 5 and paragraph 0205 disclose an exemplary method 500 at a relay UE for facilitating a first UE in communicating with a network node according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. In some embodiments, the communication may be relayed over a sidelink. The method 500 may be performed at a relay UE (e.g., the relay UE 220) for facilitating a UE in transmission over a sidelink).
Regarding claim 22, as applied to claim 1 above, Wang, as modified by Paladugu, further discloses determining, based on the first indication, whether to initiate sidelink relay discovery transmission or reception (Figure 5 and paragraph 0207 and 0209 disclose at step S520, the relay UE may communicate with the first UE to attempt establishing the sidelink for the first UE at least partially based on the determined relay option. The step of communicating with the first UE to attempt establishing the sidelink for the first UE at least partially based on the determined relay option comprises: receiving, from the first UE, a discovery message comprising an indication indicating its relay option; determining whether the first UE can be served or not for sidelink communication at least partially based on the determined relay option and the received indication; and relaying data between the first UE and the network node for sidelink communication in response to determining that the first UE can be served for sidelink communication); and
initiating sidelink relay discovery based on the determination (Figure 5 and paragraph 0207 and 0209 disclose at step S520, the relay UE may communicate with the first UE to attempt establishing the sidelink for the first UE at least partially based on the determined relay option. The step of communicating with the first UE to attempt establishing the sidelink for the first UE at least partially based on the determined relay option comprises: receiving, from the first UE, a discovery message comprising an indication indicating its relay option; determining whether the first UE can be served or not for sidelink communication at least partially based on the determined relay option and the received indication; and relaying data between the first UE and the network node for sidelink communication in response to determining that the first UE can be served for sidelink communication).
Regarding claim 23, Wang discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (Figure 5 and paragraph 0205 disclose an exemplary method 500 at a relay UE for facilitating a first UE in communicating with a network node according to an embodiment of the present disclosure) comprising:
at least one processor; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to (Figure 7 and paragraphs 0221 and 0222 disclose an embodiment of an arrangement which may be used in a network node, a remote UE, and/or a relay UE according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. Comprised in the arrangement 700 are a processing unit 706, e.g., with a Digital Signal Processor (DSP) or a Central Processing Unit (CPU). The arrangement 700 may comprise at least one computer program product 708 in the form of a non-volatile or volatile memory. The computer program product 708 comprises a computer program 710, which comprises code/computer readable instructions, which when executed by the processing unit 706 in the arrangement 700 causes the arrangement 700 and/or the remote UE and/or the relay UE and/or the network node in which it is comprised to perform the actions):
receive, from a base station, a first indication of relay capability indicating whether a layer 2 relay and/or a layer 3 relay is supported or not supported by the base station (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0205, 0206, and 0208 disclose an exemplary method 500 at a relay UE for facilitating a first UE in communicating with a network node according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. In some embodiments, the communication may be relayed over a sidelink. The method 500 may be performed at a relay UE (e.g., the relay UE 220) for facilitating a UE in transmission over a sidelink. The method 500 may begin at step S510 where a relay option may be determined at least partially based on the relay UE's configuration and/or an indication received from the network node. The relay option comprises one of: —L2 relaying is supported; —L3 relaying is supported; and—both L2 relaying and L3 relaying are supported. Figure 6 and paragraph 0217 disclose transmitting or broadcasting, to one or more relay UEs, one or more of: —the network node's capability in supporting both L2 and L3 relaying, —the network node's preference on whether L2 or L3 relaying is prioritized; and—one or more conditions under which L2 and/or L3 relaying are supported); and
act as a relay based on the first indication (Figure 5 and paragraph 0207 and 0209 disclose at step S520, the relay UE may communicate with the first UE to attempt establishing the sidelink for the first UE at least partially based on the determined relay option. The step of communicating with the first UE to attempt establishing the sidelink for the first UE at least partially based on the determined relay option comprises: receiving, from the first UE, a discovery message comprising an indication indicating its relay option; determining whether the first UE can be served or not for sidelink communication at least partially based on the determined relay option and the received indication; and relaying data between the first UE and the network node for sidelink communication in response to determining that the first UE can be served for sidelink communication).
Wang does not explicitly disclose transmit, to the base station, a second indication of relay capability indicating whether a layer 2 relay and/or layer 3 relay is supported.
In analogous art, Paladugu discloses transmit, to the base station, a second indication of relay capability indicating whether a layer 2 relay and/or layer 3 relay is supported (Paragraphs 0008 and 0057 disclose a method of wireless communication, performed by a base station, may include receiving, from a relay UE, an indication that the relay UE supports a Layer 2 relay service. Base station 110 may include means for receiving, from a relay UE, an indication that the relay UE supports a Layer 2 relay service. Figure 12 and paragraph 0141 disclose receiving, from a relay UE, an indication that the relay UE supports a Layer 2 relay service (block 1210). The base station may receive, from a relay UE, an indication that the relay UE supports a Layer 2 relay service).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a relay UE sending a base station an indication that the relay UE supports a Layer 2 relay service, as described in Paladugu, with a relay UE relaying data between a base station and a UE, as described in Wang, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining a relay UE sending a base station an indication that the relay UE supports a Layer 2 relay service of Paladugu with a relay UE relaying data between a base station and a UE of Wang was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Paladugu.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Wang and Paladugu to obtain the invention as specified in claim 23.
Regarding claim 24, as applied to claim 23 above, Wang, as modified by Paladugu, further discloses wherein a relay UE acts as the relay between the base station and a remote UE (Paragraph 0098 discloses the relay UE 220 shall relay unicast traffic (UL and DL) between the remote UE 210 and the network (e.g. the NG-RAN node 230, the AS 250, etc.)).
Regarding claim 25, as applied to claim 23 above, Wang, as modified by Paladugu, further discloses wherein the first indication of the relay capability further indicates whether the base station can support layer 2 relay only, layer 3 relay only, or both layer 2 relay and layer 3 relay, or wherein the first indication indicates that relay is not allowed or supported (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0205, 0206, and 0208 disclose an exemplary method 500 at a relay UE for facilitating a first UE in communicating with a network node according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. In some embodiments, the communication may be relayed over a sidelink. The method 500 may be performed at a relay UE (e.g., the relay UE 220) for facilitating a UE in transmission over a sidelink. The method 500 may begin at step S510 where a relay option may be determined at least partially based on the relay UE's configuration and/or an indication received from the network node. The relay option comprises one of: —L2 relaying is supported; —L3 relaying is supported; and—both L2 relaying and L3 relaying are supported. Figure 6 and paragraph 0217 disclose transmitting or broadcasting, to one or more relay UEs, one or more of: —the network node's capability in supporting both L2 and L3 relaying, —the network node's preference on whether L2 or L3 relaying is prioritized; and—one or more conditions under which L2 and/or L3 relaying are supported).
Regarding claim 27, as applied to claim 23 above, Wang, as modified by Paladugu, further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to perform sidelink discovery or sidelink communication for a relay operation (Figure 5 and paragraph 0205 disclose an exemplary method 500 at a relay UE for facilitating a first UE in communicating with a network node according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. In some embodiments, the communication may be relayed over a sidelink. The method 500 may be performed at a relay UE (e.g., the relay UE 220) for facilitating a UE in transmission over a sidelink).
Regarding claim 31, as applied to claim 23 above, Wang, as modified by Paladugu, further discloses determining, based on the first indication, whether to initiate sidelink relay discovery transmission or reception (Figure 5 and paragraph 0207 and 0209 disclose at step S520, the relay UE may communicate with the first UE to attempt establishing the sidelink for the first UE at least partially based on the determined relay option. The step of communicating with the first UE to attempt establishing the sidelink for the first UE at least partially based on the determined relay option comprises: receiving, from the first UE, a discovery message comprising an indication indicating its relay option; determining whether the first UE can be served or not for sidelink communication at least partially based on the determined relay option and the received indication; and relaying data between the first UE and the network node for sidelink communication in response to determining that the first UE can be served for sidelink communication); and
initiating sidelink relay discovery based on the determination (Figure 5 and paragraph 0207 and 0209 disclose at step S520, the relay UE may communicate with the first UE to attempt establishing the sidelink for the first UE at least partially based on the determined relay option. The step of communicating with the first UE to attempt establishing the sidelink for the first UE at least partially based on the determined relay option comprises: receiving, from the first UE, a discovery message comprising an indication indicating its relay option; determining whether the first UE can be served or not for sidelink communication at least partially based on the determined relay option and the received indication; and relaying data between the first UE and the network node for sidelink communication in response to determining that the first UE can be served for sidelink communication).
Regarding claim 32, Wang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor of a wireless communication apparatus, cause the apparatus to (Figure 7 and paragraphs 0221 and 0222 disclose an embodiment of an arrangement which may be used in a network node, a remote UE, and/or a relay UE according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. Comprised in the arrangement 700 are a processing unit 706, e.g., with a Digital Signal Processor (DSP) or a Central Processing Unit (CPU). The arrangement 700 may comprise at least one computer program product 708 in the form of a non-volatile or volatile memory. The computer program product 708 comprises a computer program 710, which comprises code/computer readable instructions, which when executed by the processing unit 706 in the arrangement 700 causes the arrangement 700 and/or the remote UE and/or the relay UE and/or the network node in which it is comprised to perform the actions):
receive, from a base station, a first indication of relay capability indicating whether a layer 2 relay and/or a layer 3 relay is supported or not supported by the base station (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0205, 0206, and 0208 disclose an exemplary method 500 at a relay UE for facilitating a first UE in communicating with a network node according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. In some embodiments, the communication may be relayed over a sidelink. The method 500 may be performed at a relay UE (e.g., the relay UE 220) for facilitating a UE in transmission over a sidelink. The method 500 may begin at step S510 where a relay option may be determined at least partially based on the relay UE's configuration and/or an indication received from the network node. The relay option comprises one of: —L2 relaying is supported; —L3 relaying is supported; and—both L2 relaying and L3 relaying are supported. Figure 6 and paragraph 0217 disclose transmitting or broadcasting, to one or more relay UEs, one or more of: —the network node's capability in supporting both L2 and L3 relaying, —the network node's preference on whether L2 or L3 relaying is prioritized; and—one or more conditions under which L2 and/or L3 relaying are supported); and
act as a relay based on the first indication (Figure 5 and paragraph 0207 and 0209 disclose at step S520, the relay UE may communicate with the first UE to attempt establishing the sidelink for the first UE at least partially based on the determined relay option. The step of communicating with the first UE to attempt establishing the sidelink for the first UE at least partially based on the determined relay option comprises: receiving, from the first UE, a discovery message comprising an indication indicating its relay option; determining whether the first UE can be served or not for sidelink communication at least partially based on the determined relay option and the received indication; and relaying data between the first UE and the network node for sidelink communication in response to determining that the first UE can be served for sidelink communication).
Wang does not explicitly disclose transmit, to the base station, a second indication of relay capability indicating whether a layer 2 relay and/or layer 3 relay is supported.
In analogous art, Paladugu discloses transmit, to the base station, a second indication of relay capability indicating whether a layer 2 relay and/or layer 3 relay is supported (Paragraphs 0008 and 0057 disclose a method of wireless communication, performed by a base station, may include receiving, from a relay UE, an indication that the relay UE supports a Layer 2 relay service. Base station 110 may include means for receiving, from a relay UE, an indication that the relay UE supports a Layer 2 relay service. Figure 12 and paragraph 0141 disclose receiving, from a relay UE, an indication that the relay UE supports a Layer 2 relay service (block 1210). The base station may receive, from a relay UE, an indication that the relay UE supports a Layer 2 relay service).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a relay UE sending a base station an indication that the relay UE supports a Layer 2 relay service, as described in Paladugu, with a relay UE relaying data between a base station and a UE, as described in Wang, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining a relay UE sending a base station an indication that the relay UE supports a Layer 2 relay service of Paladugu with a relay UE relaying data between a base station and a UE of Wang was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Paladugu.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Wang and Paladugu to obtain the invention as specified in claim 32.
Claims 6 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Paladugu as applied to claims 1 and 23 above, and further in view of Hoang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0284206 A1) (hereinafter Hoang).
Regarding claims 6 and 28, as applied to claims 1 and 23 above, Wang, as modified by Paladugu, discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing wherein the first indication is included in a system information block ("SIB").
In analogous art, Hoang discloses wherein the first indication is included in a system information block ("SIB") (Paragraph 0285 discloses the WTRU acting as the L3 relay may receive the configuration information from a system information block (SIB)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a WTRU acting as the L3 relay receiving configuration information from a system information block (SIB), as described in Hoang, with a relay UE receiving an indication received from a network node, as described in Wang, as modified by Paladugu, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining a WTRU acting as the L3 relay receiving configuration information from a system information block (SIB) of Hoang with a relay UE receiving an indication received from a network node of Wang, as modified by Paladugu, was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Hoang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Wang, Paladugu, and Hoang to obtain the invention as specified in claims 6 and 28.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, 8, 21, 26, 29, and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Considering claims 4 and 26, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Wang and Paladugu, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein the first indication of the relay capability further indicates whether the base station can support both layer 2 and layer 3 relay, and wherein a network layer selected for the relay UE to act as the relay is based on a third indication of preference from a remote UE or from an upper layer in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claims 4 and 26.
Considering claims 7 and 29, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Wang and Paladugu, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of checking an authorization for UE-to-Network Relay discovery and communication based on the first indication; and sending a sidelink relay configuration to a remote UE based on the relay capability the authorization in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claims 7 and 29.
Considering claim 21, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Wang and Paladugu, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein, when the first indication indicates that both layer 2 relay and layer 3 relay are supported, the method further comprises: receiving an indication of preference from a remote UE or from an upper layer; and selecting between layer 2 relay operation and layer 3 relay operation based on the indication of preference in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 21.
Considering claim 30, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Wang and Paladugu, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein the relay capability comprises a layer 2 relay only, a layer 3 relay only, or both a layer 2 relay and a layer 3 relay, and wherein the base station checks an indication about authorization status for a UE-to-Network Relay in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 30.
Claim 8 also includes allowable subject matter by virtue of its dependency on claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 and 21-32 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Fu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0205866 A1) discloses a method, apparatus, and computer program product for providing relay functionality in a wireless communication network.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on (571) 272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/Mark G. Pannell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642