DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner appreciate the time and effort of the Applicant on the compact prosecution of this case. However, the amendments that “the radiator is configured to support a first resonant mode, wherein a first resonant current in the first resonant mode is at least distributed between the first ground point an the first coupling end and between the second coupling end and the second ground point, wherein a direction in which the first resonant current flows between the first ground point and the first coupling end is the same as a direction in which the first resonant current flows between the second coupling end and the second ground point” fails to put the application in condition for allowance. The Applicant further called this limitation “features”, however, this is an intended use limitation. It should be noted that to satisfy an intended use limitation that is restrictive, a prior art reference must disclose a structure or method that can perform the claimed function or result, even if the prior art reference doesn't explicitly state that intended use. The prior art needs to inherently possess the functional limitation, meaning a person skilled in the art would recognize that the prior art structure or method inherently achieves the claimed function. The amendment recites the radiator is configured for a first resonance and the flow of current within the antenna device. The prior art presents an identical structure as claimed and further recited the resonances obtainable by the antenna structure.
If further attempts are made to properly and completely define the invention, Applicant is advised to consider the paragraphs or columns and line numbers and/or figures in the references, as noted below. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well; and such passages and/or figures may be helpful to Applicant in preparing a response to this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (US 20180166769).
Chang et al. disclose;
Regarding claim 1:
(in Figs. 1-3) an antenna assembly (100) comprising: a radiator (defined by E1 and E2) comprising a first sub-radiator (E1) and a second sub-radiator (E2), wherein a coupling gap (120) is defined between the first sub-radiator (E1) and the second sub-radiator (E2); the first sub-radiator (E1) comprises a first coupling end (adjacent to 120) and a first free end (adjacent to 118), and the first sub-radiator (E1) further comprises a feed point (213) and a first ground point (211), wherein the feed point (213) is positioned between the first free end (adjacent to 118) and the first coupling end (adjacent to 120), and a distance between the first ground point (211) and the first coupling end (adjacent to 120) is greater than a distance between the feed point (213) and the first coupling end (adjacent to 120); the second sub-radiator (E2) comprises a second coupling end (adjacent to 120), a second free end (adjacent to 119), and a second ground point (212) positioned between the second coupling end (adjacent to 120) and the second free end (adjacent to 119), wherein the coupling gap (120) is between the second coupling end (portion of E2 adjacent to 120) and the first coupling end (portion of E1 adjacent to 120), and both the first ground point (211) and the second ground point (212) are configured to be electrically connected to a reference ground (disposed on 21); and a signal source electrically coupled to the feed point (Para. 0018, Lines 10-11); wherein the radiator (defined by E1 and E2) is configured to support a first resonant mode, wherein a first resonant current in the first resonant mode is at least distributed between the first ground point (211) and the first coupling end (portion of E1 adjacent to 120) and between the second coupling end (portion of E2 adjacent to 120) and the second ground point (212), wherein a direction in which the first resonant current flows between the first ground point (211) and the first coupling end (portion of E1 adjacent to 120) is the same as a direction in which the first resonant current flows between the second coupling end (portion of E2 adjacent to 120) and the second ground point (212; Para. 0035, Lines 1-8; Para. 0036, Lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 2:
the radiator (defined by E1 and E2) is configured to support at least three resonant modes under excitation (ow frequency operation mode, middle frequency operation mode and high frequency operation mode) of the signal source (Para. 0035, Lines 1-8 and Para. 0036, Lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 8:
the first ground point (211) is positioned between the first free end (adjacent to 118) and the feed point (213).
Regarding claim 17:
(in Figs. 1-3) an electronic device (200), comprising: a housing (11), a reference ground (disposed on 21), and at least one antenna assembly (100); wherein each of the at least one antenna assembly (100) comprises a radiator (defined by E1 and E2) and a signal source (coupled to 213), wherein: the radiator (defined by E1 and E2) comprises a first sub-radiator (E1) and a second sub-radiator (E2), wherein a coupling gap (120) is defined between the first sub-radiator (E1) and the second sub-radiator (E2); the first sub-radiator (E1) comprises a first coupling end (adjacent to 120) and a first free end (adjacent to 118), and the first sub-radiator (E1) further comprises a feed point (213) and a first ground point (211), wherein the feed point (213) is positioned between the first free end (adjacent to 118) and the first coupling end (adjacent to 120), and a distance between the first ground point (211) and the first coupling end (adjacent to 120) is greater than a distance between the feed point (213) and the first coupling end (adjacent to 120); the second sub-radiator (E2) comprises a second coupling end (adjacent to 120), a second free end (adjacent to 119), and a second ground point (212) positioned between the second coupling end (adjacent to 120) and the second free end (adjacent to 119), wherein the coupling gap (120) is between the second coupling end (portion of E2 adjacent to 120) and the first coupling end (portion of E1 adjacent to 120), and both the first ground point (211) and the second ground point (212) are configured to be electrically connected to the reference ground (disposed on 21); wherein the radiator (defined by E1 and E2) is configured to support a first resonant mode, wherein a first resonant current in the first resonant mode is at least distributed between the first ground point (211) and the first coupling end (portion of E1 adjacent to 120) and between the second coupling end (portion of E2 adjacent to 120) and the second ground point (212), wherein a direction in which the first resonant current flows between the first ground point (211) and the first coupling end (portion of E1 adjacent to 120) is the same as a direction in which the first resonant current flows between the second coupling end (portion of E2 adjacent to 120) and the second ground point (212; Para. 0035, Lines 1-8; Para. 0036, Lines 1-9); and a signal source is electrically coupled to the feed point (Para. 0018, Lines 10-11); and the reference ground (disposed on 21) is positioned in the housing (11), and the radiator (defined by E1 and E2) of the at least one antenna assembly (100) is attached to the housing (11), and the first ground point (211) and the second ground point (212) are both electrically connected to the reference ground (disposed on 21).
Regarding claim 18:
the reference ground (disposed on 21) comprises a plurality of side edges (defined by the edges 111, 114 and 115) connected in sequence, a joint between each two adjacent side edges is a corner (See Fig. 1), and wherein the radiator (defined by E1 and E2) of the at least one antenna assembly (100) is disposed corresponding to two intersected side edges (along 111 and 114) in the plurality of side edges (defined by the edges 111, 114 and 115) and the corner (along E2) between the two intersected side edges (along 111 and 114); or the radiator (defined by E1 and E2) of the at least one antenna assembly (100) is disposed wholly corresponding to one of the plurality of side edges (defined by the edges 111, 114 and 115).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 20180166769) in view of Yanhui (CN109687111B).
Regarding claim 3:
Chang et al. is silent on that the first ground point is positioned at the first free end.
Yanhui discloses (in Figs. 1-3) the first ground point (13) is positioned at the first free end (of the first sub-radiator, 1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the first ground point to be positioned at the first free end as taught by Yanhui into the device of Chang et al. for the benefit of controlling the grounding excitation of the first-sub radiator to tune the first resonant frequency (Para. 0026, Lines 232-234).
Regarding claim 4:
Chang et al. disclose the radiator (defined by E1 and E2) is configured to support a first resonant mode, a second resonant mode, and a third resonant mode under excitation of the signal source (Para. 0035, Lines 1-8 and Para. 0036, Lines 1-9).
Regarding claims 5-7:
Chang as modified are silent on that a second resonant current in the second resonant mode is distributed between the first ground point and the first coupling end and between the second coupling end and the second free end, wherein a direction in which the second resonant current flows between the first ground point and the first coupling end is opposite to a direction in which the second resonant current flows between the second coupling end and the second ground point, and a direction in which the second resonant current flows between the second ground point and the second free end is opposite to a direction in which the second resonant current flows between the second coupling end and the second ground point; and a third resonant current in the third resonant mode is distributed between the first ground point and the first coupling end and between the second coupling end and the second free end, wherein a direction in which the third resonant current flows between the first ground point and the first coupling end is opposite to a direction in which the third resonant current flows between the second coupling end and the second ground point, and a direction in which the third resonant current flows between the second ground point and the second free end is the same as a direction in which the third resonant current flows between the second coupling end and the second ground point as required by claim 5;
the first resonant mode is a (1/8 - 1/4) wavelength mode in which the first sub-radiator operates, the second resonant mode is a (1/8 - 1/4) wavelength mode in which part of the second sub-radiator between the second coupling end and the second ground point operates, and the third resonant mode is a ½ wavelength mode in which the second sub-radiator operates as required by claim 6;
and a first band is supported in the first resonant mode, a second band is supported in the second resonant mode, and a third band is supported in the third resonant mode, wherein the first band, the second band, and the third band are consecutive; or two bands of the first band, the second band, and the third band are consecutive; or the first band, the second band, and the third band are inconsecutive as required by claim 7.
Accordingly, it would have been an obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radiator structure in Chang to support additional modes for the benefit of achieving a broader multiband and multimode antenna system capable of tuning and adjusting to set wavelength as required by modern multi-functional wireless device. Furthermore, such design consideration since the concept of higher order resonant modes is well known in the field of radiator design which represents a predictable variation within the routine skill in the art.
Regarding claims 9-13:
Chang as modified are silent on that the radiator is configured to support a fourth resonant mode, a fifth resonant mode, a sixth resonant mode, and a seventh resonant mode under excitation of the signal source as required by claim 9;
a fourth resonant current in the fourth resonant mode is at least distributed between the first free end and the first coupling end, wherein a direction in which the fourth resonant current flows between the first free end and the first ground point is opposite to a direction in which the fourth resonant current flows between the first ground point and the first coupling end; a fifth resonant current in the fifth resonant mode is at least distributed between the first free end and the first coupling end and between the second coupling end and the second ground point, wherein a direction in which the fifth resonant current flows between the first free end and the first ground point, a direction in which the fifth resonant current flows between the first ground point and the first coupling end, and a direction in which the fifth resonant current flows between the second coupling end and the second ground point are the same with one another; a sixth resonant current in the sixth resonant mode is at least distributed between the first ground point and the first coupling end and between the second coupling end and the second free end, wherein a direction in which the sixth resonant current flows between the first ground point and the first coupling end is opposite to a direction in which the sixth resonant current flows between the second coupling end and the second ground point, a direction in which the sixth resonant current flows between the second ground point and the second free end is opposite to a direction in which the sixth resonant current flows between the second coupling end and the second ground point; and a seventh resonant current in the seventh resonant mode is at least distributed between the first ground point and the first coupling end and between the second coupling end and the second free end, wherein a direction in which the seventh resonant current flows between the first ground point and the first coupling end is opposite to a direction in which the seventh resonant current flows between the second coupling end and the second ground point, and a direction in which the seventh resonant current flows between the second ground point and the second free end is the same as a direction in which the seventh resonant current flows between the second coupling end and the second ground point as required by claim 10;
the fourth resonant mode is a (1/8 - 1/4) wavelength mode in which part of the first sub-radiator between the first ground point and the first coupling end operates, the fifth resonant mode is a ½ wavelength mode in which the first sub-radiator operates, and the sixth resonant mode is a (1/8 - 1/4) wavelength mode in which part of the second sub-radiator between the second coupling end and the second ground point operates, and the seventh resonant mode is a ½ wavelength mode in which the second sub-radiator operates as required by claim 11;
a fourth band is supported in the fourth resonant mode, a fifth band is supported in the fifth resonant mode, a sixth band is supported in the sixth resonant mode, and a seventh band is supported in the seventh resonant mode, wherein the fourth band, the fifth band, the sixth band, and the seventh band are consecutive as required by claim 12;
and a length of part of the radiator between the first ground point and the first free end is (1/4 - 3/4) times a length of the first sub-radiator as required by claim 13.
Accordingly, it would have been an obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radiator structure in Chang to support additional modes for the benefit of achieving a broader multiband and multimode antenna system capable of tuning and adjusting to set wavelength as required by modern multi-functional wireless device. Furthermore, such design consideration since the concept of higher order resonant modes is well known in the field of radiator design which represents a predictable variation within the routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 14:
Chang et al. disclose : the antenna assembly further comprises a first matching circuit (16) electrically connected between the feed point (coupling point on E1) and the signal source (coupling to feed through 213), wherein the first matching circuit (16) comprises a first sub-circuit (163), the first sub- circuit has one end electrically connected to the feed point (coupling point on E1) and another end electrically connected to the reference ground (See Fig. 4), and the first sub-circuit is capacitive (See Fig.) when the first sub-circuit operates in a band supported by the fourth resonant mode, a band supported by the fifth resonant mode, a band supported by the sixth resonant mode, and a band supported by the seventh resonant mode
Regarding claim 15:
Chang et al. is silent on that a length of part of the radiator between the second ground point and the second free end is (1/4-3/4) times a length of the second sub-radiator.
Yanhui disclose a length of part of the radiator between the second ground point and the second free end is (1/4-3/4) times a length of the second sub-radiator (Para. 0028, Lines 260-263).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the radiator between the second ground point and the second free end to be 1/4-3/4 times a length of the second sub-radiator as taught by Yanhui into the device of Chang et al. to achieve a resonant mode that is relatively clear, without the need for particularly complex matching optimization (Para. 0028, Lines 267-268).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 20180166769) in view of Kent et al. (US 20120329524).
Regarding claim 16:
Chang et al. are silent on that a direct current block (DC-block) assembly, a filter assembly, and a detection assembly, wherein [wherein] at least one of: the DC-block assembly is electrically connected between the first sub-radiator and the signal source and between the first sub-radiator and the reference ground, and the filter assembly has one end electrically connected to one side of the DC-block assembly close to the first sub-radiator or electrically connected to the first sub-radiator; or the DC-block assembly is electrically connected between the second sub-radiator and the reference ground, and the filter assembly has one end electrically connected to one side of the DC-block assembly close to the second sub-radiator or electrically connected to the second sub-radiator; and the DC-block assembly is configured to block a direct current from the reference ground and a direct current generated by the signal source, the filter assembly is configured to block a radio frequency (RF) signal transmitted/received by the radiator and to allow an induction signal generated by the radiator in response to approach of a subject to-be-detected to pass through, and the detection assembly is electrically connected to another end of the filter assembly and configured to detect a magnitude of the induction signal.
Kent et al. disclose (in Fig. 1) a direct current block (DC-block) assembly (222), a filter assembly (224), and a detection assembly (206), wherein at least one of: the DC-block assembly (222) is electrically connected between the first sub-radiator (202) and the signal source (204) and between the first sub-radiator (202) and the reference ground (disposed with 202; Para. 0032, Lines 11-14), and the filter assembly (224) has one end electrically connected to one side of the DC-block assembly (222) close to the first sub-radiator (202) electrically connected to the first sub-radiator (202).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the DC-block assembly, the filter assembly and the detection assembly as taught by Kent et al. into the antenna system of Chang et al. for the benefit of isolating the wireless circuitry from the touch sensor circuitry while still allowing simultaneous use and operation of the antenna and capacitive touch interface functions (Para. 0033, Lines 4-6).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 20180166769) in view of Nagumo (US 20130241796).
Regarding claims 19 and 20:
Chang et al. are silent on that the at least one antenna assembly comprises a first antenna assembly and a second antenna assembly arranged diagonally, and the detection assembly is configured to detect both an induction signal generated by the first antenna assembly in response to approach of the subject to-be-detected and an induction signal generated by the second antenna assembly in response to approach of the subject to-be-detected; and the electronic device further comprises a controller, wherein the controller is electrically connected to the first antenna assembly, the second antenna assembly, and the detection assembly, and the controller is configured to adjust a power of the first antenna assembly according to a magnitude of the induction signal generated by the first antenna assembly and to adjust a power of the second antenna assembly according to a magnitude of the induction signal generated by the second antenna assembly as required by claim 19;
and the at least one antenna assembly further comprises a third antenna assembly and a fourth antenna assembly, wherein at least part of the first antenna assembly, at least part of the second antenna assembly, at least part of the third antenna assembly, and at least part of the fourth antenna assembly are disposed at different sides of the reference ground, respectively, and the detection assembly is configured to detect an induction signal generated by the third antenna assembly and an induction signal generated by the fourth antenna assembly in response to approach of the subject to-be-detected; and the controller is further electrically connected to the third antenna assembly and the fourth antenna assembly, wherein the controller is configured to determine a mode which the electronic device is currently in according to at least one of the magnitude of the induction signal generated by the first antenna assembly, the magnitude of the induction signal generated by the second antenna assembly, a magnitude of the induction signal generated by the third antenna assembly, and a magnitude of the induction signal generated by the fourth antenna assembly, and to adjust at least one of the power of the first antenna assembly, the power of the second antenna assembly, a power of the third antenna assembly, and a power of the fourth antenna assembly according to the mode, and the mode comprises at least one of a one-hand holding mode, a two-hand holding mode, a carrying mode, and a head approaching mode as required by claim 20.
Nagumo discloses the at least one antenna assembly (in Figs. 9, 19 and 21) comprises a first antenna assembly (21) and a second antenna assembly (23) arranged diagonally (See Fig. 9), and the detection assembly (60) is configured to detect both an induction signal generated by the first antenna assembly (21) in response to approach of the subject to-be-detected and an induction signal generated by the second antenna assembly (23) in response to approach of the subject to-be-detected; and the electronic device further comprises a controller (70), wherein the controller (70) is electrically connected to the first antenna assembly (21), the second antenna assembly (23), and the detection assembly (60), and the controller (70) is configured to adjust a power of the first antenna assembly (21) according to a magnitude of the induction signal generated by the first antenna assembly (21) and to adjust a power of the second antenna assembly (23) according to a magnitude of the induction signal generated by the second antenna assembly (23); the at least one antenna assembly (in Figs. 19 and 21) further comprises a third antenna assembly (21LB) and a fourth antenna assembly (21RB), wherein at least part of the first antenna assembly (21LA), at least part of the second antenna assembly (21RA), at least part of the third antenna assembly (21LB), and at least part of the fourth antenna assembly (21RB) are disposed at different sides of the reference ground (See Figs.), respectively, and the detection assembly (60) is configured to detect an induction signal generated by the third antenna assembly (21LB) and an induction signal generated by the fourth antenna assembly (21 RB) in response to approach of the subject to-be- detected; and the controller (80) is further electrically connected to the third antenna assembly (21LB) and the fourth antenna assembly (21RB), wherein the controller is configured to determine a mode which the electronic device is currently in according to at least one of the magnitude of the induction signal generated by the first antenna assembly (21LA), the magnitude of the induction signal generated by the second antenna assembly (21RA), a magnitude of the induction signal generated by the third antenna assembly (21LB), and a magnitude of the induction signal generated by the fourth antenna assembly (21RB), and to adjust at least one of the power of the first antenna assembly (21LA), the power of the second antenna assembly (21RA), a power of the third antenna assembly (21LB), and a power of the fourth antenna assembly (21RB) according to the mode, and the mode comprises at least one of a one- hand holding mode, a two-hand holding mode, a carrying mode, and a head approaching mode (Para. 0072, Lines 1-7).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the arrangement of the antenna assemblies with the controller and the detection assembly as taught by Nagumo into the device of Chang et al. for the benefit of correcting the antenna characteristics by detecting the surrounding environment of the antenna and performing feedback thereby a change in antenna characteristics can be accurately detected without constituting limitations on detection direction and angle (Para. 0170, Lines 1-10).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAMIDELE A IMMANUEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DAVID E LOTTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845