DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 10/14/25 have been entered.
Claims 1-5,8-12,15-16,18 and 20 remain pending within the application.
The amendment filed 10/14/25 is sufficient to overcome the 112(a) rejections of claims 9 and 20. The previous 112(a) rejections have been withdrawn.
The amendment filed 10/14/25 is sufficient to overcome the 112(a) rejections of claims 9 and 20. The previous 112(a) rejections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/14/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Namgung in view of Gottwald does not disclose the amended limitation, “update a position of the partial region in accordance with the user operation without communication with the external image generating apparatus, based on the size of the Web page and the initial position of the partial region”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Prior to the transmission of information to the cloud server, the terminal device of Namgung processes and updates a position. “When the view port of the webpage that is currently displayed on a display of the terminal device 700 is changed, the view port detecting unit 744 may detect the change of the view port and thus may generate position information and size information about the changed view port” (Namgung, para [0099]).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, 15, 16, 18 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“update a position of the partial region in accordance with the user operation without communication with the external image generating apparatus, based on the size of the Web page and the initial position of the partial region;
when a user operation for changing the image displayed on the display unit is accepted, determine whether or not there will be a change in the image as a result of applying the user operation based on information of the updated position of the partial region; …”
should be:
“update a position of the partial region in accordance with [[the]] a user operation without communication with the external image generating apparatus, based on the size of the Web page and the initial position of the partial region;
when [[a]] the user operation for changing the image displayed on the display unit is accepted, determine whether or not there will be a change in the image as a result of applying the user operation based on information of the updated position of the partial region; …”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, and 15-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namgung United States Patent Application Publication US 2015/0293929 in view of Gottwald United States Patent Application Publication US 2011/0083082.
Regarding claim 1, Namgung discloses an information processing apparatus comprising:
one or more memories storing instructions; and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to:
receive an image of a partial region of a Web page, from an external image generating apparatus that renders the Web page, and to display the image on a display unit (Namgung, para [0109], displays corresponding tile for viewport of displayed area of webpage);
obtain a size of the Web page and an initial position of the partial region when the image of the partial region of the Web page is received (Namgung, para [0108] generating/configuring a layout of a webpage (1105) and an initial tile (1107) would include obtaining a size);
update a position of the partial region in accordance with the user operation without communication with the external image generating apparatus, based on the size of the Web page and the initial position of the partial region (Namgung,para [0099], “When the view port of the webpage that is currently displayed on a display of the terminal device 700 is changed, the view port detecting unit 744 may detect the change of the view port and thus may generate position information and size information about the changed view port”);
when a user operation for changing the image displayed on the display unit is accepted, determine whether or not there will be a change in the image as a result of applying the user operation based on information of the updated position of the partial region (Namgung, para [0093], viewport changed in response to a user input; Namgung, para [0103], with regards to fig 10 step S1007, also shown in fig 11 step S1117, determines whether the viewport has changed; Namgung, para [0072], viewport is the displayed area of the webpage and is changed based on determined adjustments of the user); and
transmit information regarding the user operation to the image generating apparatus in order to obtain an image to which the user operation has been applied (Namgung, para [0105-106], with regards to fig 10, steps S1009 and S1013, transmits changed viewport location information to the server to receive corresponding tiles for changed viewport location), wherein if it is determined that there will be no change in the image, the transmitting unit restricts transmission of the information regarding the user operation to the image generating apparatus (Namgung, fig 10, at step S1007, skips processing if viewport hasn’t changed),
wherein the user operation is a scroll operation instructing that a current position of the partial region in the Web page be changed (Namgung, para [0085, 93], scroll operation example of change in position), and the scroll operation is a scroll operation for instructing a movement in a right or left direction or an upward or downward direction (Namgung, para [0088-89], fig 6B and 6C, provide examples of viewports broken into tiles. For 6B, if a scroll action occurred, it would include up, down, left and right movement. For 6C, if a scroll action occurred, it would be a downward movement);
the one or more processors execute the instructions to determine whether or not there will be a change in the image, based on i) a direction of movement instructed by the scroll operation (Namgung, para [0105-106], with regards to fig 10, steps S1009 and S1013, transmits changed viewport location information to the server to receive corresponding tiles for changed viewport location),and ii) the current position of the partial region in the Web page, in a case where the user operation is the scroll operation (Namgung, para [0110], changed viewport information),
Namgung does not disclose:
wherein, in a case where the user operation is the scroll operation, when at least one side of the partial region at the current position matches an edge of the Web page, and a direction of movement indicated by the scroll operation is a direction outward of the edge of the Web page, it is determined that it is not possible to move the partial region, wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to determined that there will be no change in the image in a case where it is determined that it is not possible to move the partial region.
Gottwald discloses:
wherein, in a case where the user operation is the scroll operation, when at least one side of the partial region at the current position matches an edge of the Web page, and a direction of movement indicated by the scroll operation is a direction outward of the edge of the Web page, it is determined that it is not possible to move the partial region, wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to determined that there will be no change in the image in a case where it is determined that it is not possible to move the partial region (Gottwald, para [0036, 0043-44], if there is no change in active portion via scrolling or jumping to another portion in the single page layout (260) the flowchart goes to determine whether there is a change in page layout and does not update the display until a change is determined. Because there is no scrolling to another portion at the edge, it is interpreted as no change).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the portion of display to include not changing when there is no change to the location. The motivation for doing so would have been to only transmit information when there is a change (Gottwald, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 2, Namgung in view of Gottwald discloses information processing apparatus according to claim 1. Namgung additionally discloses wherein the determining unit determines whether or not there will be a change in the image, by determining whether or not there will be a change in the partial region as a result of applying the user operation (Namgung, para [0093], viewport changed in response to a user input; Namgung, para [0103], with regards to fig 10 step S1007, also shown in fig 11 step S1117, determines whether the viewport has changed; Namgung, para [0072], viewport is the displayed area of the webpage and is changed based on determined adjustments of the user).
Regarding claim 3, Namgung in view of Gottwald discloses information processing apparatus according to claim 2. Namgung additionally discloses wherein the determining unit determines whether or not there will be a change in the partial region as a result of applying the user operation, based on information regarding a range in which the partial region is changeable in accordance with the user operation, and current information related to the partial region (Namgung, para [0093], viewport changed in response to a user input; Namgung, para [0103], with regards to fig 10 step S1007, also shown in fig 11 step S1117, determines whether the viewport has changed; Namgung, para [0072], viewport is the displayed area of the webpage and is changed based on determined adjustments to the location of the viewed region of the user).
Regarding claim 4, Namgung in view of Gottwald discloses information processing apparatus according to claim 3. Namgung additionally discloses further comprising an obtaining unit configured to obtain the information regarding the range from the image generating apparatus (Namgung, para [0093], viewport changed in response to a user input; Namgung, para [0110-112], with regards to fig 10 step S1007, also shown in fig 11 step S1117 and S1119, determines whether the viewport has changed. Changed viewport information represents information regarding the updated range in response to user input).
Regarding claim 5, Namgung in view of Gottwald discloses information processing apparatus according to claim 3. Namgung additionally discloses wherein the information regarding the range indicates a size of the Web page and the current information indicates a current position of the partial region in the Web page, or the information regarding the range indicates a range of a zoom value and the current information indicates a current zoom value (Namgung, para [0106] and [0093], changed viewport information transmitted includes the position and size information of the viewport with regards to the displayed webpage. Viewport size would indicate zoom in or zoom out amount with regards to the display screen).
Regarding claim 8, Namgung in view of Jourdan in view of Jarrett discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 6. Namgung additionally discloses further comprising: an obtaining unit configured to obtain information regarding a size of the Web page and the current position of the region in the Web page, from the image generating apparatus (Namgung, para [0093], viewport changed in response to a user input; Namgung, para [0110-112], with regards to fig 10 step S1007, also shown in fig 11 step S1117 and S1119, determines whether the viewport has changed. Changed viewport information represents information regarding the updated range in response to user input).
Regarding claim 15, Namgung discloses an information processing system comprising;
an image generating apparatus that generates, based on a rendering result of a Web page, a partial region of the Web page that corresponds to an image of the region that is set based on operation information from outside (Namgung, para [0109], displays corresponding tile for viewport of displayed area of webpage); and
an information processing apparatus that transmits the operation information to the image generating apparatus, receives the image of the region from the image generating apparatus, and displays the image on a display unit (Namgung, para [0093], viewport changed in response to a user input; Namgung, para [0103], with regards to fig 10 step S1007, also shown in fig 11 step S1117, determines whether the viewport has changed; Namgung, para [0072], viewport is the displayed area of the webpage and is changed based on determined adjustments of the user);
obtain a size of the Web page and an initial position of the partial region when the image of the partial region of the Web page is received (Namgung, para [0108] generating/configuring a layout of a webpage (1105) and an initial tile (1107) would include obtaining a size);
update a position of the partial region in accordance with the user operation without communication with the external image generating apparatus, based on the size of the Web page and the initial position of the partial region (Namgung,para [0099], “When the view port of the webpage that is currently displayed on a display of the terminal device 700 is changed, the view port detecting unit 744 may detect the change of the view port and thus may generate position information and size information about the changed view port”);
wherein, when a user operation for changing the image displayed on the display unit is accepted, the information processing apparatus determines whether or not there will be a change in the image as a result of applying the user operation based on information of the updated position of the partial region, transmits the operation information indicating the user operation to the image generating apparatus if it is determined that there will be a change in the image (Namgung, para [0105-106], with regards to fig 10, steps S1009 and S1013, transmits changed viewport location information to the server to receive corresponding tiles for changed viewport location), and restricts transmission of operation information indicating the user operation to the image generating apparatus if it is determined that there will be no change in the image (Namgung, fig 10, at step S1007, skips processing if viewport hasn’t changed),
wherein the user operation is a scroll operation instructing that a current position of the partial region in the Web page be changed (Namgung, para [0085, 93], scroll operation example of change in position), and the scroll operation is a scroll operation for instructing a movement in a right or left direction or an upward or downward direction (Namgung, para [0088-89], fig 6B and 6C, provide examples of viewports broken into tiles. For 6B, if a scroll action occurred, it would include up, down, left and right movement. For 6C, if a scroll action occurred, it would be a downward movement);
the one or more processors execute the instructions to determine whether or not there will be a change in the image, based on i) a direction of movement instructed by the scroll operation (Namgung, para [0105-106], with regards to fig 10, steps S1009 and S1013, transmits changed viewport location information to the server to receive corresponding tiles for changed viewport location),and ii) the current position of the partial region in the Web page, in a case where the user operation is the scroll operation (Namgung, para [0110], changed viewport information),
Namgung does not disclose:
wherein, in a case where the user operation is the scroll operation, when at least one side of the partial region at the current position matches an edge of the Web page, and a direction of movement indicated by the scroll operation is a direction outward of the edge of the Web page, it is determined that it is not possible to move the partial region, wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to determined that there will be no change in the image in a case where it is determined that it is not possible to move the partial region.
Gottwald discloses:
wherein, in a case where the user operation is the scroll operation, when at least one side of the partial region at the current position matches an edge of the Web page, and a direction of movement indicated by the scroll operation is a direction outward of the edge of the Web page, it is determined that it is not possible to move the partial region, wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to determined that there will be no change in the image in a case where it is determined that it is not possible to move the partial region (Gottwald, para [0036, 0043-44], if there is no change in active portion via scrolling or jumping to another portion in the single page layout (260) the flowchart goes to determine whether there is a change in page layout and does not update the display until a change is determined. Because there is no scrolling to another portion at the edge, it is interpreted as no change).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the portion of display to include not changing when there is no change to the location. The motivation for doing so would have been to only transmit information when there is a change (Gottwald, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 16, Namgung discloses a method for controlling an information processing apparatus comprising:
performing control so as to receive an image of a partial region of a Web page, from an external image generating apparatus that renders the Web page, and to display the image on a display unit (Namgung, para [0109], displays corresponding tile for viewport of displayed area of webpage);
obtain a size of the Web page and an initial position of the partial region when the image of the partial region of the Web page is received (Namgung, para [0108] generating/configuring a layout of a webpage (1105) and an initial tile (1107) would include obtaining a size);
update a position of the partial region in accordance with the user operation without communication with the external image generating apparatus, based on the size of the Web page and the initial position of the partial region (Namgung,para [0099], “When the view port of the webpage that is currently displayed on a display of the terminal device 700 is changed, the view port detecting unit 744 may detect the change of the view port and thus may generate position information and size information about the changed view port”);
when a user operation for changing the image displayed on the display unit is accepted, determining whether or not there will be a change in the image as a result of applying the user operation based on information of the updated position of the partial region (Namgung, para [0093], viewport changed in response to a user input; Namgung, para [0103], with regards to fig 10 step S1007, also shown in fig 11 step S1117, determines whether the viewport has changed; Namgung, para [0072], viewport is the displayed area of the webpage and is changed based on determined adjustments of the user); and
transmitting information regarding the user operation to the image generating apparatus in order to obtain an image to which the user operation has been applied (Namgung, para [0105-106], with regards to fig 10, steps S1009 and S1013, transmits changed viewport location information to the server to receive corresponding tiles for changed viewport location), wherein, in the transmitting, if it is determined that there will be no change in the image, transmission of the information regarding the user operation to the image generating apparatus is restricted (Namgung, fig 10, at step S1007, skips processing inf viewport hasn’t changed),
wherein the user operation is a scroll operation instructing that a current position of the partial region in the Web page be changed (Namgung, para [0085, 93], scroll operation example of change in position), and the scroll operation is a scroll operation for instructing a movement in a right or left direction or an upward or downward direction (Namgung, para [0088-89], fig 6B and 6C, provide examples of viewports broken into tiles. For 6B, if a scroll action occurred, it would include up, down, left and right movement. For 6C, if a scroll action occurred, it would be a downward movement);
the one or more processors execute the instructions to determine whether or not there will be a change in the image, based on i) a direction of movement instructed by the scroll operation (Namgung, para [0105-106], with regards to fig 10, steps S1009 and S1013, transmits changed viewport location information to the server to receive corresponding tiles for changed viewport location),and ii) the current position of the partial region in the Web page, in a case where the user operation is the scroll operation (Namgung, para [0110], changed viewport information),
Namgung does not disclose:
wherein, in a case where the user operation is the scroll operation, when at least one side of the partial region at the current position matches an edge of the Web page, and a direction of movement indicated by the scroll operation is a direction outward of the edge of the Web page, it is determined that it is not possible to move the partial region, wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to determined that there will be no change in the image in a case where it is determined that it is not possible to move the partial region.
Gottwald discloses:
wherein, in a case where the user operation is the scroll operation, when at least one side of the partial region at the current position matches an edge of the Web page, and a direction of movement indicated by the scroll operation is a direction outward of the edge of the Web page, it is determined that it is not possible to move the partial region, wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to determined that there will be no change in the image in a case where it is determined that it is not possible to move the partial region (Gottwald, para [0036, 0043-44], if there is no change in active portion via scrolling or jumping to another portion in the single page layout (260) the flowchart goes to determine whether there is a change in page layout and does not update the display until a change is determined. Because there is no scrolling to another portion at the edge, it is interpreted as no change).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the portion of display to include not changing when there is no change to the location. The motivation for doing so would have been to only transmit information when there is a change (Gottwald, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 18, Namgung discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute a method for controlling an information processing apparatus, the method comprising:
performing control so as to receive an image of a partial region of a Web page, from an external image generating apparatus that renders the Web page, and to display the image on a display unit (Namgung, para [0109], displays corresponding tile for viewport of displayed area of webpage);
obtaining a size of the Web page and an initial position of the partial region when the image of the partial region of the Web page is received (Namgung, para [0108] generating/configuring a layout of a webpage (1105) and an initial tile (1107) would include obtaining a size);
updating a position of the partial region in accordance with the user operation without communication with the external image generating apparatus, based on the size of the Web page and the initial position of the partial region (Namgung,para [0099], “When the view port of the webpage that is currently displayed on a display of the terminal device 700 is changed, the view port detecting unit 744 may detect the change of the view port and thus may generate position information and size information about the changed view port”);
when a user operation for changing the image displayed on the display unit is accepted, determining whether or not there will be a change in the image as a result of applying the user operation based on information of the updated position of the partial region (Namgung, para [0093], viewport changed in response to a user input; Namgung, para [0103], with regards to fig 10 step S1007, also shown in fig 11 step S1117, determines whether the viewport has changed; Namgung, para [0072], viewport is the displayed area of the webpage and is changed based on determined adjustments of the user); and
transmitting information regarding the user operation to the image generating apparatus in order to obtain an image to which the user operation has been applied(Namgung, para [0105-106], with regards to fig 10, steps S1009 and S1013, transmits changed viewport location information to the server to receive corresponding tiles for changed viewport location), wherein, in the transmitting, if it is determined that there will be no change in the image, transmission of the information regarding the user operation to the image generating apparatus is restricted (Namgung, fig 10, at step S1007, skips processing inf viewport hasn’t changed),
wherein the user operation is a scroll operation instructing that a current position of the partial region in the Web page be changed (Namgung, para [0085, 93], scroll operation example of change in position), and the scroll operation is a scroll operation for instructing a movement in a right or left direction or an upward or downward direction (Namgung, para [0088-89], fig 6B and 6C, provide examples of viewports broken into tiles. For 6B, if a scroll action occurred, it would include up, down, left and right movement. For 6C, if a scroll action occurred, it would be a downward movement);
the one or more processors execute the instructions to determine whether or not there will be a change in the image, based on i) a direction of movement instructed by the scroll operation (Namgung, para [0105-106], with regards to fig 10, steps S1009 and S1013, transmits changed viewport location information to the server to receive corresponding tiles for changed viewport location),and ii) the current position of the partial region in the Web page, in a case where the user operation is the scroll operation (Namgung, para [0110], changed viewport information),
Namgung does not disclose:
wherein, in a case where the user operation is the scroll operation, when at least one side of the partial region at the current position matches an edge of the Web page, and a direction of movement indicated by the scroll operation is a direction outward of the edge of the Web page, it is determined that it is not possible to move the partial region, wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to determined that there will be no change in the image in a case where it is determined that it is not possible to move the partial region.
Gottwald discloses:
wherein, in a case where the user operation is the scroll operation, when at least one side of the partial region at the current position matches an edge of the Web page, and a direction of movement indicated by the scroll operation is a direction outward of the edge of the Web page, it is determined that it is not possible to move the partial region, wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to determined that there will be no change in the image in a case where it is determined that it is not possible to move the partial region (Gottwald, para [0036, 0043-44], if there is no change in active portion via scrolling or jumping to another portion in the single page layout (260) the flowchart goes to determine whether there is a change in page layout and does not update the display until a change is determined. Because there is no scrolling to another portion at the edge, it is interpreted as no change).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the portion of display to include not changing when there is no change to the location. The motivation for doing so would have been to only transmit information when there is a change (Gottwald, para [0003]).
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namgung United States Patent Application Publication US 2015/0293929 in view of Jakobson United States Patent Application Publication US 2010/0146436.
Regarding claim 9, Namgung discloses an information processing apparatus comprising:
one or more memories storing instructions; and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to:
receive an image of a partial region of a Web page, from an external image generating apparatus that renders the Web page, and to display the image on a display unit (Namgung, para [0109], displays corresponding tile for viewport of displayed area of webpage);
obtain a size of the Web page and an initial position of the partial region when the image of the partial region of the Web page is received (Namgung, para [0108] generating/configuring a layout of a webpage (1105) and an initial tile (1107) would include obtaining a size);
update a position of the partial region in accordance with the user operation without communication with the external image generating apparatus, based on the size of the Web page and the initial position of the partial region (Namgung,para [0099], “When the view port of the webpage that is currently displayed on a display of the terminal device 700 is changed, the view port detecting unit 744 may detect the change of the view port and thus may generate position information and size information about the changed view port”);
when a user operation for changing the image displayed on the display unit is accepted, determine whether or not there will be a change in the image as a result of applying the user operation based on information of the updated position of the partial region (Namgung, para [0093], viewport changed in response to a user input; Namgung, para [0103], with regards to fig 10 step S1007, also shown in fig 11 step S1117, determines whether the viewport has changed; Namgung, para [0072], viewport is the displayed area of the webpage and is changed based on determined adjustments of the user); and
transmit information regarding the user operation to the image generating apparatus in order to obtain an image to which the user operation has been applied (Namgung, para [0105-106], with regards to fig 10, steps S1009 and S1013, transmits changed viewport location information to the server to receive corresponding tiles for changed viewport location), wherein if it is determined that there will be no change in the image, the transmitting unit restricts transmission of the information regarding the user operation to the image generating apparatus (Namgung, fig 10, at step S1007, skips processing if viewport hasn’t changed),
wherein the user operation is a scroll operation instructing that a current position of the partial region in the Web page be changed (Namgung, para [0085, 93], scroll operation example of change in position), and the scroll operation is a scroll operation for instructing a movement in a right or left direction or an upward or downward direction (Namgung, para [0088-89], fig 6B and 6C, provide examples of viewports broken into tiles. For 6B, if a scroll action occurred, it would include up, down, left and right movement. For 6C, if a scroll action occurred, it would be a downward movement);
the one or more processors execute the instructions to determine whether or not there will be a change in the image, based on i) a direction of movement instructed by the scroll operation (Namgung, para [0105-106], with regards to fig 10, steps S1009 and S1013, transmits changed viewport location information to the server to receive corresponding tiles for changed viewport location),and ii) the current position of the partial region in the Web page, in a case where the user operation is the scroll operation (Namgung, para [0110], changed viewport information),
wherein the user operation is a zoom operation for changing a size of the region (Namgung, para [0093], user can zoom in and out to modify viewport).
Namgung does not disclose:
wherein in a case where the user operation is athe zoom operation for changing a size of the partial region, the one or more processors execute the instructions to determine that there will be no change in the image if the zoom operation instructs that a zoom value be changed to a value outside a zoom value range, and determine that there will be a change in the image if the zoom operation instructs that the zoom value be changed within the zoom value range
Jakobson discloses wherein in a case where the user operation is the zoom operation for changing a size of the partial region, the one or more processors execute the instructions to determine that there will be no change in the image if the zoom operation instructs that a zoom value be changed to a value outside a zoom value range, and determine that there will be a change in the image if the zoom operation instructs that the zoom value be changed within the zoom value range (Jakobson, para [0066-67], with regards to fig 4B, when zoom out function invoked and reaches the highest zoom level, a previous map, interpreted as a changed image, is displayed).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the zoom to include the zoom instructions of Jakobson. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide additional details in a zoom operation (Jakobson, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 10, Namgung in view of Jakobson discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 9. Jakobson additionally discloses wherein the determining unit determines that there will be no change in the image if a current zoom value is at an upper limit of the zoom value range and the zoom operation instructs that the zoom value be increased, or if the current zoom value is at a lower limit of the zoom value range and the zoom operation instructs that the zoom value be decreased (Jakobson, para [0027], zoom limits/ranges distinguish when the image is changed).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the zoom to include the zoom instructions of Jakobson. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide additional details in a zoom operation (Jakobson, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 11, Namgung in view of Jakobson discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 10. Jakobson additionally further comprising an obtaining unit configured to obtain the current zoom value and the zoom value range from the image generating apparatus (Jakobson, para [0027], zoom limits/ranges distinguish when the image is changed; Jakobson, para [0037], zoom level measures current zoom level).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the zoom to include the zoom instructions of Jakobson. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide additional details in a zoom operation (Jakobson, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 12, Namgung in view of Jakobson discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 9. Jakobson additionally wherein the determining unit determines there will be no change in the image if the zoom operation is an operation of returning the zoom value to a default value and a current zoom value is the default value, and determines there will be a change in the image if the current zoom value is not the default value (Jakobson, para [0032], predetermined zoom levels may be default settings).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the zoom to include the zoom instructions of Jakobson. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide additional details in a zoom operation (Jakobson, para [0003]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namgung United States Patent Application Publication US 2015/0293929 in view of Jourdan United States Patent Application Publication US 2011/0102829.
Regarding claim 20, Namgung discloses an information processing apparatus comprising:
one or more memories storing instructions; and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to:
receive an image of a partial region of a Web page, from an external image generating apparatus that renders the Web page, and to display the image on a display unit (Namgung, para [0109], displays corresponding tile for viewport of displayed area of webpage);
obtain a size of the Web page and an initial position of the partial region when the image of the partial region of the Web page is received (Namgung, para [0108] generating/configuring a layout of a webpage (1105) and an initial tile (1107) would include obtaining a size);
update a position of the partial region in accordance with the user operation without communication with the external image generating apparatus, based on the size of the Web page and the initial position of the partial region (Namgung,para [0099], “When the view port of the webpage that is currently displayed on a display of the terminal device 700 is changed, the view port detecting unit 744 may detect the change of the view port and thus may generate position information and size information about the changed view port”);
when a user operation for changing the image displayed on the display unit is accepted, determine whether or not there will be a change in the image as a result of applying the user operation based on information of the updated position of the partial region (Namgung, para [0093], viewport changed in response to a user input; Namgung, para [0103], with regards to fig 10 step S1007, also shown in fig 11 step S1117, determines whether the viewport has changed; Namgung, para [0072], viewport is the displayed area of the webpage and is changed based on determined adjustments of the user); and
transmit information regarding the user operation to the image generating apparatus in order to obtain an image to which the user operation has been applied (Namgung, para [0105-106], with regards to fig 10, steps S1009 and S1013, transmits changed viewport location information to the server to receive corresponding tiles for changed viewport location), wherein if it is determined that there will be no change in the image, the transmitting unit restricts transmission of the information regarding the user operation to the image generating apparatus (Namgung, fig 10, at step S1007, skips processing if viewport hasn’t changed),
wherein the user operation is a scroll operation instructing that a current position of the partial region in the Web page be changed (Namgung, para [0085, 93], scroll operation example of change in position), and the scroll operation is a scroll operation for instructing a movement in a right or left direction or an upward or downward direction (Namgung, para [0088-89], fig 6B and 6C, provide examples of viewports broken into tiles. For 6B, if a scroll action occurred, it would include up, down, left and right movement. For 6C, if a scroll action occurred, it would be a downward movement);
the one or more processors execute the instructions to determine whether or not there will be a change in the image, based on i) a direction of movement instructed by the scroll operation (Namgung, para [0105-106], with regards to fig 10, steps S1009 and S1013, transmits changed viewport location information to the server to receive corresponding tiles for changed viewport location),and ii) the current position of the partial region in the Web page, in a case where the user operation is the scroll operation (Namgung, para [0110], changed viewport information).
Namgung does not disclose:
wherein in a case where the user operation is a click operation, when a click operation is accepted, the one or more processors execute the instructions to determine whether or not there will be a change in the image, based on a region of Web content for an instruction that causes a change in the image and a position at which the click operation is performed.
Jourdan discloses wherein in a case where the user operation is a click operation, when a click operation is accepted, the one or more processors execute the instructions to determine whether or not there will be a change in the image, based on a region of Web content for an instruction that causes a change in the image and a position at which the click operation is performed (Jourdan, para [0030], “clicking” initializes zoom bar which determines whether a zoom amount would be appropriate based on the acceptable vs unacceptable resolution at the current location. An acceptable resolution represents a resizable range. A location represents a current resize state).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the display of an image to include an adequate image resolution based on the teachings of Jourdan. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide suitable images for reproduction and display (Jourdan, para [0002-3]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOPE C SHEFFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2141