DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species I(B) in the reply filed on 11/24/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that, allegedly, the existence of a generic claim means that two species that share that a generic independent claim cannot be mutually exclusive. This is not found persuasive because mutually exclusive species, i.e., species that contain features that cannot be used in conjunction and/or exist at the same time in the same apparatus or process, can exist in dependent claims that have the same independent claim as is the case here. Therefore, claim 3 is withdrawn and will not undergo substantive examination.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS/IDSs) submitted on 2/15/2024 & 4/30/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS/IDSs is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8-12, & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent App. Pub. No. 20190187184 to Urankar.
Regarding claim 1, Urankar teaches a current sensor assembly comprising:
a first substrate (10) comprising:
a first hole (13) for receiving a first current carrying conductor through the first hole at an angle normal to a surface of the first substrate (¶ [0056]);
a first current measurement coil (16) formed on the first substrate, the first current measurement coil arranged around a circumference of the first hole (¶ [0054]);
a second hole (15) for receiving a second current carrying conductor through the second hole at an angle normal to the surface of the first substrate (¶ [0056]);
a second current measurement coil (17) formed on the first substrate, the second current measurement coil arranged around a circumference of the second hole (¶ [0056]); and
a first opening (14) between the first hole and the second hole, wherein the first opening is for receiving a third current carrying conductor through the first opening at an angle normal to the surface of the first substrate (¶¶ [0054] & [0056]); and
a second substrate (20) comprising:
a third hole (24) for receiving the third current carrying conductor through the third hole at an angle normal to a surface of the second substrate (¶ [0055]); and
a third current measurement coil (26) formed on the second substrate, the third current measurement coil arranged around a circumference of the third hole (¶ [0055]).
Regarding claim 8, Urankar teaches the current sensor assembly according to claim 1, wherein each of the holes has a circular cross-section (figure 7).
Regarding claim 9, Urankar teaches the current sensor assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first opening has an oblong cross-section (figures 2 & 7).
Regarding claim 10, Urankar teaches the current sensor assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first opening is a cut-away section of the first substrate (figure 6; ¶¶ [0054]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 11, Urankar teaches the current sensor assembly according to claim 1, further comprising:
a first current carrying conductor passing through the first hole (figure 6); a second current carrying conductor passing through the second hole (figure 6); and a third current carrying conductor passing through the third hole and the first opening (figure 6).
Regarding claim 12, Urankar teaches the current sensor assembly according to claim 11, wherein a first end of the current carrying conductors have a first cross-section, and a central section of the current carrying conductors has a second cross-section (current carrying conductors necessarily must have an infinite number of cross-sections across their lengths).
Regarding claim 14, Urankar teaches a current measurement system comprising:
a first substrate (10) comprising:
a first hole (13);
a first current measurement coil (16) formed on the first substrate around the first hole;
a second hole (15);
a second current measurement coil (17) formed on the first substrate around the second hole;
a first opening (14);
a second substrate (20) comprising:
a third hole (24);
a third current measurement coil (26) formed on the second substrate around the third hole;
a first current carrying conductor (2);
a second current carrying conductor (4);
a third current carrying conductor (3); and
wherein the first substrate and the second substrate are aligned such that the first current carrying conductor passes through the first hole, the second current carrying conductor passes through the second hole and the third current carrying conductor passes through the first opening and the third hole (figure 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 5, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urankar in view of United States Patent App. Pub. No. 20210318357 to Parker et al.
Regarding claim 2, Urankar teaches the current sensor assembly according to claim 1, but does not teach explicitly wherein: the second substrate further comprises: a fourth hole for receiving a fourth current carrying conductor through the fourth hole at an angle normal to the surface of the second substrate; a fourth current measurement coil formed on the second substrate, the fourth current measurement coil arranged around a circumference of the fourth hole.
However, Parker teaches using numerous holes that receive current carrying conductors (e.g., figure 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use the numerous holes of Parker in combination with the assembly of Urankar in order to provide space for even more current carrying conductors and selecting an angle of a hole relative to a substrate is one of a limited number of design choices one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize given that the specification provides no unexpected results or special purpose for the particular angle claimed.
Regarding claim 4, Urankar in view of Parker teaches the current sensor assembly according to claim 2, but does not teach explicitly wherein the second substrate further comprises:
a second opening between the third current measurement coil and the fourth current measurement coil, the opening for receiving the second current carrying conductor through the second opening at an angle normal to the surface of the second substrate.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the opening of Urankar to accommodate multiple current carrying conductors because it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (7th Cir. 1977).
Regarding claim 5, Urankar in view of Parker teaches the current sensor assembly according to claim 2, but does not teach explicitly wherein the first opening between the first hole and the second hole is also for receiving the fourth current carrying conductor through the first opening at an angle normal to the surface of the first substrate.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the holes of Urankar to accommodate a fourth current carrying conductors because it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (7th Cir. 1977).
Regarding claim 15, Urankar teaches the current measurement system according to claim 14, but does not teach explicitly wherein: the second substrate further comprises: a fourth hole; a fourth current measurement coil formed on the second substrate around the second hole; a second opening; and the current measurement system comprises a fourth current carrying conductor; wherein the first substrate and the second substrate are aligned such that the fourth current carrying conductor passes through the fourth hole and the second current carrying conductor passes through the second opening.
However, Parker teaches using numerous holes that receive current carrying conductors (e.g., figure 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use the numerous holes of Parker in combination with the system of Urankar in order to provide space for even more current carrying conductors.
Regarding claim 16, Uraknar in view of Parker teaches the current measurement system according to claim 15, and Parker further teaches comprising: a first terminal block coupled to a first end of the first current carrying conductor (figure 6; ¶ [0037]); a second terminal block coupled to a first end of the second current carrying conductor (figure 6; ¶ [0037]); a third terminal block coupled to a first end of the third current carrying conductor (figure 6; ¶ [0037]); a fourth terminal block coupled to a first end of the fourth current carrying conductor (figure 6; ¶ [0037]).
Regarding claim 17, Urankar in view of Parker teaches the current measurement system according to claim 16, wherein the first ends of the current carrying conductors have an oblong cross section (figure 6: the receptors 410 are oblong, not circular or square).
Regarding claim 18, Urankar teaches a current measurement system comprising:
a first substrate (10) comprising:
a first hole (13);
a first current measurement coil (16) formed on the first substrate, the first current measurement coil arranged around a circumference of the first hole (¶ [0054]);
a second hole (15);
a second current measurement coil (17) formed on the first substrate, the second current measurement coil arranged around a circumference of the second hole (¶ [0056]);
a first opening between the first hole and the second hole (14); and
a second substrate (20) comprising:
a third hole (24);
a third current measurement coil formed on the second substrate, the third current measurement coil arranged around a circumference of the third hole (¶ [0055]).
But Urankar does not teach explicitly a fourth hole; a fourth current measurement coil formed on the second substrate, the fourth current measurement coil arranged around a circumference of the fourth hole; a second opening between the third hole and the fourth hole; and wherein the first substrate and the second substrate are positioned such that the first opening is aligned with the third hole, and the second opening is aligned with the second hole.
However, Parker teaches using numerous holes that receive current carrying conductors (e.g., figure 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use the numerous holes of Parker in combination with the system of Urankar in order to provide space for even more current carrying conductors.
Regarding claim 19, Urankar in view of Parker teaches the current measurement system according to claim 18, and Urankar further teaches wherein the first current measurement coil abuts an edge of the first substrate and wherein the fourth current measurement coil abuts an edge of the second substrate (figure 6).
Regarding claim 20, Urankar in view of Parker teaches the current measurement system according to claim 18, wherein the first opening and the second opening are open-sided openings (figure 6: both the top side and bottom side of the openings are open; otherwise, the current carrying conductor could not pass).
Claim(s) 6, 7, & 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urankar.
Regarding claim 6, Urankar teaches the current sensor assembly according to claim 1, but does not teach explicitly wherein the first current measurement coil and the third current measurement coil overlap when viewed in a direction normal to the surface of the first substrate and the second substrate.
However, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to overlap current measurement coils whenever possible in order to reduce physical footprint of the assembly as making things smaller is a universal driver of technological advancement in the art. See MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 7, Urankar teaches the current sensor assembly according to claim 1, but does not teach explicitly wherein the first measurement coil has a first radius, the second measurement coil has a second radius and the third measurement coil has a third radius, and wherein the first substrate and the second substrate are arranged such that a distance between the first hole and the third hole in a direction parallel to the surface of the first substrate is less than a sum of the first radius and the third radius.
However, Urankar does at least suggest using different radii for different measurement coils as shown in figure 7.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to experiment with the sizing of the radii to reach the best design tradeoff between physical footprint and measurement accuracy.
Regarding claim 13, Urankar teaches the current sensor assembly according to claim 12, but does not teach explicitly wherein the first cross-section is an oblong cross section and wherein the second cross-section is a circular cross section.
However, using conductors having varied cross-sections for connection to various inputs and outputs is within ordinary skill in the art. See, e.g., USB-C to AUX, where the USB-C cross-section is oblong while the AUX cross-section is circular.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent App. Pub. No. 20200141981 to Hurwitz discloses a current sensing coil with electrostatic shielding for accurate measurement.
United States Patent App. Pub. No. 20170356935 to Hurwitz discloses a Rogowski-type current sensor having a measurement coil and a compensation coil arranged such that they at least partially overlap by virtue of each repeatedly changing side of the board.
United States Patent App. Pub. No. 20020011832 to Berkcan et al. discloses an asymmetric current sensor capable of enclosing multiple conductors of various shapes and sizes.
/ROBERT P ALEJNIKOV JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ARLEEN M VAZQUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857