This action is in response to the communication filed on May 12, 2026.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on May 12, 2026 with respect to claims 1-20 has been received, entered into the record and considered.
As a result of the amendment, claims 1, 8 and 15 has been amended, claim 4, 11 and 18 has been cancelled.
Claims 1-7, 9-14 and 16-20 remain pending in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 24, 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim falls within any statutory category MPEP 2106.03.
Step 2A Prong One This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04(II) and the October 2019 Update, a claim “recites” a judicial exception when the judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claim.
Step 2A Prong 2 This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (a) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (b) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. 2019 PEG.
Step 2B This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. MPEP 2106.05.
Step 1 Statutory Category:
Claims 1-7 are recited as being directed to “a method comprising …”. Claims 8-14 is recited as being directed to “a system comprising …”.
Claims 15-20 is recited as being directed to a “non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instruction …” Thus, claims 1, 8 and 15 have been identified to be directed towards the appropriate statutory category. Below is further analysis related to step 2.
a). In analyzing under step 2A Prong One, Does the claim recite an abstract idea law of nature or natural phenomenon? Yes.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 recites, receiving a data query comprising a reference to an input data set of a database; generating, by a processing device, a plurality of hyperparameter sets based on characteristics of the input data set; training a plurality of machine learning models by varying the plurality of hyperparameter sets to obtain an output accuracy of at least one of the plurality of machine learning models that satisfies a threshold, wherein the training of the plurality of machine learning models is performed concurrently on a plurality of compute nodes; selecting a first machine learning model of the plurality of machine learning models based on an accuracy of an output of the first machine learning model satisfying the threshold; and returning the output of the first machine learning model.
As claim texts drafted by a set of very minimal limitations (or elements) of each of the four claim categories, receiving a query referencing to set of data in a database; generating hyperparameter set; training machine learning models; selecting a model based on the accuracy of output; and return the output of the model, are merely a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion), but for the recitation of processing device, memory and a computer readable medium which are explicitly generic computing components, including:
“receiving a data query comprising a reference to an input data set of a database”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, a user can query a row or column with different values of market or business data stored in a database, using his/her mind by observation and opinion. Therefore, the receiving limitation is a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
Similarly, generating, by a processing device, a plurality of hyperparameter sets based on characteristics of the input data set; as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, a user can generate a set of parameters such as which item or goods are more popular in different season, or different time of the year, trend, pattern, etc., (i.e., hyperparameter based on characteristics), using his or her mind or with the aid of pen and paper, by simply observing and judgement. Therefore, the generating limitation is a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
Similarly, selecting a first machine learning model of the plurality of machine learning models based on an accuracy of an output of the first machine learning model satisfying the threshold, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, a user can select the best accurate model using his/her mind, by evaluation and judgement. Therefore, the selecting limitation is a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
The claim recites three additional; elements: “receiving a query referencing to set of data in a database”; “training a plurality of machine learning models by varying the plurality of hyperparameter sets to obtain an output accuracy of at least one of the plurality of machine learning models that satisfies a threshold” and “returning the output of the first machine learning model”.
The receiving step as recited amounts to mere data gathering for use in the detection step, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, (see Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information)). Further receiving input step as recited also amounts to mere data gathering which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The training step as recited is merely a generic computer component taking an off the shelves model and train with different values, compare the output and select the one which gives the best accurate result and return the output. Hence, training step and output step is an insignificant extra-solution activity. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to the abstract idea.
b) In analyzing under step 2A Prong Two, Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? NO.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements – “system comprising one or more computers”, “one or more non-transitory computer readable storage medium”, and “training machine learning model”. The additional components are generic computer components even being recited as additional limitations, however, do not preclude the claims from reciting an abstract idea. For instance, as the above detailed analysis on the minimal limitations as abstract ideas that can be performed mentally in mind by human, without reciting any “additional element” to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The processes of receiving necessities for performing an action and providing indication of completed such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component, processing unit(s), memory and computer readable medium for the processes. That is, the limitations represent well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g) or 2106.05(d) for receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g. see Intellectual Ventures v. Symantec; Storing and retrieving information in memory: Versata; Analyzing data: Genetic Techs; Determining: OIP Techs; Electronic recordkeeping: Alice Corp). Accordingly, even considering all the elements as additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. As such, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
c) In analyzing under step 2B, does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? NO
The claims 1, 8 and 15 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, there is simply no additional elements adding to the already analyzed very few minimal steps of performing action. The steps, represent well-understood, routine, conventional activity previously known to the industry and are specified at a high level of generality, and in the context of the limitations reciting performing action that can be practically performed in the human mind and may be considered to fall within the mental process and mathematical concepts groupings.
As such, the limitations represent well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g) or 2106.05(d) for receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g. see Intellectual Ventures v. Symantec; Storing and retrieving information in memory: Versata; Analyzing data: Genetic Techs; Determining: OIP Techs; Electronic recordkeeping: Alice Corp). The claims are not patent eligible.
Further the limitations in the dependent claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20 are an extension of the abstract idea of claim 1, 8 and 15 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joseph et al (US 2020/0184494 A1), in view of Flunkert et al (US 10,936,947 B1).
As per claim 1, Joseph discloses:
- a method comprising (Para [0007], line 1-5, “methods and computer-readable media for computing demand forecasts based on machine learning techniques”),
- generating, by a processing device, a plurality of hyperparameter sets based on characteristics of the input data set (Fig. 1, 3, Para [0034], [0038], set of parameters generating time series data for a demand forecast (i.e., plurality of hyperparameter set based on characteristic, Para [0057]),
- training a plurality of machine learning models using the plurality of hyperparameter sets to obtain an output accuracy of at least one of the plurality of machine learning models that satisfies a threshold (Fig. 4, item 410-418, Para [0008], [0009], [0037], [0049]- [0052], training or re-raining a machine learning model using different timeseries data to obtain an accurate output that satisfy the user criteria or threshold),
- wherein the training of the plurality of machine learning models is performed concurrently on a plurality of compute nodes (Para [0033 – [0034, [0035], training performed in concurrently), Examiner broadest reasonable interpretation: Para [0035] Joseph teaches system 100 configured to concurrently perform model selection. Such system 100 includes a computer cluster 110 with plurality of computer hardware servers 108 (i.e., plurality of compute node) that each include a model training component to train machine learning model, See, Para [0033], Fig. 1, item 100, 110. 108 and 103, 105.
Examiner note: Beside Joseph, Flunkert also teaches the training of the plurality of machine learning models is performed concurrently on a plurality of compute nodes (column 22, line 1-8, the training phase of the RNN model may be implemented using one set of servers (i.e., plurality of nodes), while predictions made by the trained model may be performed using a different set of servers. Prediction runs of the RNN model may take relatively little time in some embodiments compared to the training phase, and as such multiple prediction runs may be performed (for different targeted item sets, or for the same item set) in parallel (i.e., performed concurrently) in some embodiments”,
- selecting a first machine learning model of the plurality of machine learning models based on an accuracy of an output of the first machine learning model (Para [0009], [0019], [0051], Fig. 4A-4C, selecting based on accuracy of the output a machine learning model that satisfy the user configurable criteria,
- returning the output of the first machine learning model (Para [0036], [0045], receive output from the model, Fig. 4B),
Joseph does not explicitly disclose receiving a data query comprising a reference to an input data set of a database. However, in the same field of endeavor Flunkert in an analogous art disclose receiving a data query comprising a reference to an input data set of a database (column 17, line 30-40, column 18, line 1-10, Fig. 8, receiving a timeseries forecast query).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the data query referring to a set of data in a database taught by Flunkert as the means to generate hyperparameter based on characteristics of the input data and training and selecting a machine learning model based on accuracy of output of different mode of Joseph. (Joseph, Para [008] [ 009], Fig. 3-4, Flunkert, column 17, line 30-40, column 18, line 1-10, Fig. 8). Joseph and Flunkert are analogous prior art since they both deal with training machine learning model using generated hyperparameter from an input query. A person of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make aforementioned modification to accurately forecasting of future demand of a goods or time series data. This is because one aspect of Joseph invention is to forecasting demand for a dataset based on the most accurate results for the particular dataset and/or other criteria which can be configured by users, as described in Para [0002] [ 0007]. Query input data referencing to a dataset in a database is part of this process. However, Joseph doesn’t specify any particular manner that input data referencing to a dataset in a database are queried. This would have lead one of the ordinary skill in the art to seek and recognize input data referencing to a dataset in a database are queried as taught by Flunkert. Flunkert teaches query data set from a database to provide accurate forecast, as described in column 1, line 5-10, as desired by Joseph.
As per claim 2, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and further Flunkert discloses:
- wherein generating the plurality of hyperparameter sets comprises varying a value of each hyperparameter of the plurality of hyperparameter sets based on at least one of a volatility or a range of the input data set (hyperparameter based on range of input, column 11, line 10-20, column 14, line 30-40).
As per claim 3, rejection of claim 2 is incorporated and further Flunkert discloses:
- wherein the plurality of hyperparameter sets comprises one or more of a trend factor, a seasonality factor, or holiday factors (hyperparameter with seasonal and holiday factor, column 3, line 15-35, column 15, line 25-35).
As per claim 5, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and further Joseph discloses:
- wherein each of the plurality of machine learning models are trained to perform a time series forecasting operation on the input data set (Para [0038], [0057], time series forecast).
As per claim 6, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and further Joseph discloses:
- wherein selecting the first machine learning model of the plurality of machine learning models based on the accuracy of the output of the first machine learning model comprises comparing accuracy values of respective output data sets of each of the plurality of machine learning models to select the first machine learning model having a highest accuracy value (Para [0029], [0048], matching or comparing the evaluation result with another model).
As per claim 7, rejection of claim 6 is incorporated, and further Flunkert discloses:
- wherein respective ones of the accuracy values comprise a confidence interval of the output data sets (column 17, line 10-20, column 18, line 20-30, associated confidence interval of the dataset).
As per claims 8-10 and 12-14,
Claims 8-10 and 12-14 are system claims corresponding to method claims 1-3 and 5-7 respectively and rejected under the same reason set forth to the rejection of claims 1-3 and 5-7 above.
As per claims 15-17 and 19-20,
Claims 15-17 and 19-20 are computer readable medium claims corresponding to method claims 1-3 and 5-6 respectively and rejected under the same reason set forth to the rejection of claims 1-3 and 5-6.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on January 14, 2026, with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not deemed to be persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument in page 6-8, applicants argued that, human mind is not equipped to perform receiving a data query comprising a reference to an input data set of a database; generating, by a processing device, a plurality of hyperparameter sets based on characteristics of the input data set; training a plurality of machine learning models by varying the plurality of hyperparameter sets to obtain an output accuracy of at least one of the plurality of machine learning models that satisfies a threshold, wherein the training of the plurality of machine learning models is performed concurrently on a plurality of compute nodes”.
Examiner disagree and respectfully response that, claim texts as drafted by a set of very minimal limitations (or elements) of each of the four claim categories, receiving a query referencing to set of data in a database; generating hyperparameter set; training machine learning models; selecting a model based on the accuracy of output; and return the output of the model, are merely a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion), but for the recitation of processing device, memory and a computer readable medium which are explicitly generic computing components, including: “receiving a data query comprising a reference to an input data set of a database”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, a user can query a row or column with different values of market or business data stored in a database, using his/her mind by observation and opinion. Therefore, the receiving limitation is a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). Similarly, generating, by a processing device, a plurality of hyperparameter sets based on characteristics of the input data set; as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, a user can generate a set of parameters such as which item or goods are more popular in different season, or different time of the year, trend, pattern, etc., (i.e., hyperparameter based on characteristics), using his or her mind or with the aid of pen and paper, by simply observing and judgement. Therefore, the generating limitation is a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). Similarly, selecting a first machine learning model of the plurality of machine learning models based on an accuracy of an output of the first machine learning model satisfying the threshold, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, a user can select the best accurate model using his/her mind, by evaluation and judgement. Therefore, the selecting limitation is a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
The claim recites three additional; elements: “receiving a query referencing to set of data in a database”; “training a plurality of machine learning models by varying the plurality of hyperparameter sets to obtain an output accuracy of at least one of the plurality of machine learning models that satisfies a threshold, wherein the training of the plurality of machine learning models is performed concurrently on a plurality of compute nodes” and “returning the output of the first machine learning model”.
The receiving step as recited amounts to mere data gathering for use in the detection step, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, (see Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information)). Further receiving input step as recited also amounts to mere data gathering which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The training step as recited is merely a generic computer component taking an off the shelves model and train with different values, compare the output and select the one which gives the best accurate result and return the output. Hence, training step and output step is an insignificant extra-solution activity. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to the abstract idea.
b) In analyzing under step 2A Prong Two, Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? NO.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements – “system comprising one or more computers”, “one or more non-transitory computer readable storage medium”, and “training machine learning model”. The additional components are generic computer components even being recited as additional limitations, however, do not preclude the claims from reciting an abstract idea. For instance, as the above detailed analysis on the minimal limitations as abstract ideas that can be performed mentally in mind by human, without reciting any “additional element” to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The processes of receiving necessities for performing an action and providing indication of completed such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component, processing unit(s), memory and computer readable medium for the processes. That is, the limitations represent well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g) or 2106.05(d) for receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g. see Intellectual Ventures v. Symantec; Storing and retrieving information in memory: Versata; Analyzing data: Genetic Techs; Determining: OIP Techs; Electronic recordkeeping: Alice Corp). Accordingly, even considering all the elements as additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. As such, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Therefore, examiner maintained 101 abstract idea rejection for claim 1, 8 and 15.
In response to applicant’s argument in page 9-11, regarding 103 rejections, applicants argued that, applicants argued that, Joseph is silent on receiving a data query comprising a reference to an input data set of a database; generating, by a processing device, a plurality of hyperparameter sets based on characteristics of the input data set; training a plurality of machine learning models by varying the plurality of hyperparameter sets to obtain an output accuracy of at least one of the plurality of machine learning models that satisfies a threshold, wherein the training of the plurality of machine learning models is performed concurrently on a plurality of compute nodes. Applicants also argued that, Joseph relates to a "system for forecasting demand for goods and/or services … stated differently, Joseph discloses training each machine learning model independently, where the hyperparameters of each machine learning model are generated as the machine learning model is being trained and depend on the machine learning model itself and the training dataset. This is not the same as "generating, by a processing device, a plurality of hyperparameter sets based on characteristics of the input data set" and "training a plurality of machine learning models by varying the plurality of hyperparameter sets to obtain an output accuracy of at least one of the plurality of machine learning models that satisfies a threshold, wherein the training of the plurality of machine learning models is performed concurrently on a plurality of compute nodes," (emphasis added) as recited in claim 1. Indeed, nothing in Joseph discloses using a preexisting plurality of hyperparameter sets to train "a plurality of machine learning models...to obtain an output accuracy of at least one of the plurality of machine learning models that satisfies a threshold" let alone "training a plurality of machine learning models by varying the plurality of hyperparameter sets to obtain an output accuracy...," (emphasis added) as recited in claim 1. Flunkert does not cure and is not cited to cure the critical deficiencies of Joseph, discussed above.
Examiner disagree and respectfully response that, Joseph teaches generating, by a processing device, a plurality of hyperparameter sets based on characteristics of the input data set in Fig. 1, 3, Para [0034], [0038], set of parameters generating time series data for a demand forecast (i.e., plurality of hyperparameter set based on characteristic, Para [0057], training a plurality of machine learning models using the plurality of hyperparameter sets to obtain an output accuracy of at least one of the plurality of machine learning models that satisfies a threshold in Fig. 4, item 410-418, Para [0008] [0009], [0037], [0049]- [0052], training or re-raining a machine learning model using different timeseries data to obtain an accurate output that satisfy the user criteria or threshold, wherein the training of the plurality of machine learning models is performed concurrently on a plurality of compute nodes in Para [0033 – [0034, [0035], training performed in concurrently), Examiner broadest reasonable interpretation: Para [0035] Joseph teaches system 100 configured to concurrently perform model selection. Such system 100 includes a computer cluster 110 with plurality of computer hardware servers 108 (i.e., plurality of compute node) that each include a model training component to train machine learning model, See, Para [0033], Fig. 1, item 100, 110. 108 and 103, 105.
Examiner note: Beside Joseph, Flunkert also teaches the training of the plurality of machine learning models is performed concurrently on a plurality of compute nodes (column 22, line 1-8, the training phase of the RNN model may be implemented using one set of servers (i.e., plurality of nodes), while predictions made by the trained model may be performed using a different set of servers. Prediction runs of the RNN model may take relatively little time in some embodiments compared to the training phase, and as such multiple prediction runs may be performed (for different targeted item sets, or for the same item set) in parallel (i.e., performed concurrently) in some embodiments”,
Examiner broadest reasonable interpretation: according to Para [0079] of applicant’s published specification, hyperparameters for time series forecasting algorithms include, but are not limited to, trend, seasonality, and holiday factors of a time series (e.g., whether the trend is linear, polynomial, logarithmic, exponential, etc., the frequency of the seasonality, whether seasonality is additive or multiplicative, whether holiday increments/decrements are present on particular holidays, such as Christmas Day or Thanksgiving Day) … The selection of different hyperparameters may result in a machine learning model, and thus a machine learning operation, that results in a more accurate result for a set of training data.
According to Para [0044], 10-29, characteristics of an input dataset is including seasonality, trend, holiday impact, etc.
Accordingly, Joseph teaches raw data update in plurality of time interval to generate time series data so that the demand forecasts can be computed (i.e., characteristic of input data) and use that data to train plurality of machine learning model, See Para [0038], line 15-22, Para [0057].
Applicants also argued that, nothing in Joseph discloses using a preexisting plurality hyperparameter sets to train a plurality of machine learning model. Examiner disagree and respectfully response that, this argument is vague. Claim 1 does not disclose train a plurality of machine learning model using a preexisting plurality of hyperparameter parameter sets.
Therefore, in light of the specification, examiner firmly believe that, Joseph and Flunkert alone or in combination reasonably teaches, claim 1 as claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/MOHAMMED R UDDIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2161