DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment was filed on 6/30/2026.
Claims 1-6, 8-12, and 15-19 are pending. Claims 7, 13, and 20 are canceled. Claim 14 is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed under Remarks on pages 7-11 with respect to rejections under 35 USC 101 on 6/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants state on page 8 that:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim recites “providing the prompt to a…model”. This step simply provides the prompt. There is no processing or any other detail. Then the step of “generating one or more caption options based on the…model and the prompt”, is interpreted to have been possibly be performed by a human with an aid of pen and paper for example as the apparatus doing the ‘generating’. The claim nowhere recites that this so called model is anything special or performing any special steps to achieve the ‘generating’. Once a prompt of provided to a model, such as, “draw me a picture of a dog”, caption can be ‘generated’ based on a model (person using the natural language) and the prompt itself. Paragraph [0019] of the pending specification states “[0019] In some embodiments, the user can provide an input to select a desired tone or style for the captions, such as funny, serious, or sarcastic. The prompt can reflect this selected tone so the language model generates caption options in an appropriate style.” Per this, once a prompt is provided, one can generate a picture of a dog or a caption option related to that as either funny or serious, for example.
On page 9 of the Remarks, the applicant argues by stating:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Example 37, ‘determining’ step is nothing like ‘generating’ steps in the pending claims. Claim 1 of Example 37 was found to have been integrated into a practical application under step 2A prong 2 because “the additional elements recite a specific manner of automatically displaying icons to the user based on usage which provides a specific improvement over prior systems, resulting in an improved user interface for electronic devices”. Graphical User Interface (GUI) is a specific structure, the receiving was done via a GUI and moving of the most used icons to a position were performed on the GUI. There is no structure recited in pending claims that aligns with GUI or alike. The receiving request simply comprises a selection of a graphical icon, and the prompt generated is in response to the request that comprises the selection of the icon. There is no arrangement being done, like in Example 37. There is no GUI being claimed. In the pending system claim 8, there is simply a generic processor and a memory. Hence, the pending claims are not similar to the Example 37 of the 2019 PEG subject mattery eligibility example: abstract ideas.
On page 10 of the Remarks, the applicant argues by stating:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, and Example 37 of the 2019 PEG, the additional element in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The recitation of additional elements in the pending claims of “receiving” and “generating” steps, does not provide any indication that the client device, memory, processor, etc. is anything other than a generic, off the-shelf computer components. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea.
On page 12 of the Remarks, regarding the rejections under 35 USC 102, the Applicant argues by stating:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraph [0090] of Valliani states:
[0092] In some embodiments, presentation component 218 generates user interface features associated with a caption. Such features can include interface elements (such as graphics buttons, sliders, menus, audio prompts, alerts, alarms, vibrations, pop-up windows, notification-bar or status-bar items, in-app notifications, or other similar features for interfacing with a user), queries, and prompts. For example, presentation component 218 may query the user regarding user preferences for captions, such as asking the user “Keep showing you similar captions in the future?” or “Please rate the accuracy of this caption from 1-5 . . . .” Some embodiments of presentation component 218 capture user responses (e.g., modifications) to captions or user activity associated with captions (e.g., sharing, saving, dismissing, deleting). [Emphasis added].
This paragraph of Valliani shows that the request is received from a user by component 218 to re-generate/modify/update caption and said request is received by user of a graphic button from the interface, as claimed in the amended pending claim. This prompt generated eventually is in response to the user selecting graphic button, as disclosed in this paragraph by Valliani. Therefore, the rejection stands.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/30/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6, 8-12 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., abstract idea – mental process) without significantly more. Claim 1 is used as an example. Claims 8 and 15 recite a system and non-transitory computer-readable medium, respectively, having a memory and a processor. The two-part test to identify claims that are directed to a judicial exception (Step 2A) and to then evaluate if additional elements of the claim provide an inventive concept (Step 2B) are:
(1) Are the claims directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter;
(2A) Prong One: Are the claims directed to a judicially recognized exception, i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea;
Prong Two: If the claims are directed to a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application;
(2B) If the claims are directed to a judicial exception and do not integrate the judicial exception, do the claims provide an inventive concept.
Claim 1. A method comprising: (a) receiving, from a client device, image data; (b) detecting one or more objects depicted by the image data; (c) receiving a request to generate a caption, the request comprising a selection of a graphic icon presented among a set of graphical icons; (d) generating a prompt based on the one or more objects detected within the image data, the prompt generated responsive to the request that comprises the election of the graphical icon; (e) providing the prompt to a natural language processing model; (f) generating one or more caption options based on the natural language processing model and the prompt; and (g) causing display of a presentation of the one or more caption options at the client device. [emphasis added].
With regard to (1), the instant claims recite an apparatus and a method, therefore the answer is "yes".
With regard to (2A), Prong One: Yes. When viewed under the broadest most reasonable interpretation, the instant claims are directed to a Judicial Exception – an abstract idea belonging to the group of mental process – concepts that are practicably performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion). The steps of (b), (d), and (f) (above in emphasized claim 1) are generically recited and nothing in these steps precludes the steps from practically being performed by a human equipped with an appropriate apparatus. It can be interpreted as merely looking at the image/data and determining a region/object in the image and writing out a ‘prompt’ related to or describes that region/object. There is nothing in the claim that requires more than an operation that a human, armed with the appropriate apparatus, pen and a paper, cannot perform. The detecting and generating, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The claim encompasses the user looking at data/image once the image is received, region/object such as data with location/time/user information, etc. of a section of the image can be determined. This way, essentially one can present/output information about the section of an image that represents that context. Thus, these limitations are a mental process.
With regard to (2A), Prong Two: No. The instant claims do not apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception of (a)/(c) “receiving”, (e) “providing”, and (g) “causing display”, and therefore does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The use of a system/memory/processor to receive an image (i.e., “data”) at a high level of generality such that said “data” can be used in the operation of the recited judicial exception (the mental step of “receiving”). Providing/supplying/receiving “data” does not provide for “integration” of the abstract idea into a practical application, as said data do not change the way in which said system operates. Receiving image data and a request to generate a caption is nothing more than a user selecting a button the screen to do what the button is designed to do. There are no specifics on how the data is received or how the request is received, other than a user selecting a button on a screen, for example. This can be interpreted as “visualization”. Even if this step is by a “processor” that may be, for example, a camera, or, by a screen having button/icon. A camera/sensor/screen having options is well known in the field, and receiving data from a camera/sensor is also well known. Even if this step of “providing” the prompt to a natural language processing model, that may be, for example, a human/person. Therefore, once a data/image is provided to a person, a person is able to generate a caption describing what’s in the image or something about said object depicted by the image.
This generic processor limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The ‘causing display of presentation’ is simply outputting/writing out a caption/description about the image or object depicted by the image. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. In conclusion, the claim as a whole does not provide for “integration” of the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claim is directed to the abstract idea.
With regard to (2B), as discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional element in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The pending claims do not show what is more than a routine in the art presented in the claims, i.e., the additional elements are nothing more than routine and well-known steps. There is no improvement to technology here. There are only steps of (b), (d), and (f) with additional elements of (a)/(b) “receiving”, (e) “providing”, and (g) “causing display” and it has not been shown that the mental process allows the “technology” to do something that it previously was not able to do.
Therefore, the claims 1, 8, and 15 are ineligible under 35 USC 101.
With regard to dependent claims 2-6, 9-12, and 16-19, similar analysis is applied and therefore does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application – does not provide significant more than the judicial exception. These claims are similarly rejected for the same reasons discussed in view of steps recited in claim 1 and not repeated herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-12 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0132821 to Valliani et al. (hereafter, “Valliani”).
With regard to claim 1 Valliani discloses a method comprising: receiving, from a client device, image data (paragraphs [0068, 0070] where image data is received); detecting one or more objects depicted by the image data (detecting context by extractor 264, paragraphs [0069, 0076-0078); receiving a request to generate a caption, the request comprising a selection of a graphic icon presented among a set of graphical icons (paragraph [0092]); generating a prompt based on the one or more objects detected within the image data, the prompt generated responsive to the request that comprises the election of the graphical icon (paragraphs [0079, 0092]); providing the prompt to a natural language processing model (paragraph [0085]); generating one or more caption options based on the natural language processing model and the prompt (paragraph [0085]); and causing display of a presentation of the one or more caption options at the client device (paragraph [0092]).
With regard to claim 2 Valliani discloses wherein the generating the prompt further comprises: accessing contextual data at the client device; and generating the prompt based on the one or more objects detected within the image data and the contextual data (paragraphs [0022, 0040, 0100] where “using user data from other users (i.e., crowdsourcing data) for determining typical user media sharing and caption patterns for events of similar types”).
With regard to claim 3 Valliani discloses wherein the contextual data includes one or more of: location data; temporal data that indicates a time of day; and user profile data (paragraph [0040] where “if many people in a particular location on a particular day are sharing images, then a media-sharing event may be detected and captions automatically generated when a user takes a picture at the location on the particular day.”).
With regard to claim 4 Valliani discloses wherein the generating the prompt further comprises: receiving an input that defines a tone; and generating the prompt based on the one or more objects detected within the image data and the tone defined by the input (paragraphs [0032-0035] where a tone can be interpreted as a demographic information or a particular scenario; also, paragraphs [0056-0059, 0080-0081]).
With regard to claim 5 Valliani discloses wherein the causing display of the presentation of the one or more caption options at the client device further comprises: determining a ranking of the one or more caption options; and causing display of the presentation of the one or more caption options based on the ranking (paragraph [0056] where “first event may be correlated with variables of a second event to identify in-common variables for determining a likely pattern. For example, where a first event comprises, a user posting a digital image of food with a caption from a restaurant on a first Saturday and a second event comprises user posting a digital image with a caption from a different restaurant on the following Saturday, a pattern may be determined that the user posts pictures taken in a restaurant on Saturday.”).
With regard to claim 6 Valliani discloses wherein the generating the prompt based on the one or more objects detected within the image data further comprises: receiving an input that selects an object from among the one or more objects detected within the image data; and generating the prompt based on the object selected by the input (paragraph [0028], “selects a portion of the image that is associated with a recognizable object. The portion of the image may be selected prior to recognition of an object in the image”; paragraph [0071]).
With regard to claims 8 and 15, claims 8 and 15 are rejected same as claim 1 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 1 are equally applicable to claims 8 and 15 A. Valliani discloses a system comprising a memory and a processor as shown in Figures 1-2 and 6, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 1 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
With regard to claims 9 and 16, claims 9 and 16 are rejected same as claim 2 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 2 are equally applicable to claims 9 and 16, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 2 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
With regard to claims 10 and 17, claims 10 and 17 are rejected same as claim 3 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 3 are equally applicable to claims 10 and 17, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 3 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
With regard to claims 11 and 18, claims 11 and 18 are rejected same as claim 4 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 4 are equally applicable to claims 11 and 18, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 4 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
With regard to claims 12 and 19, claims 12 and 19 are rejected same as claim 5 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 5 are equally applicable to claims 12 and 19, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 5 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SHEFALI D. GORADIA
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2676
/SHEFALI D GORADIA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2676