DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 13, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patil et al (US Publication 202/0213933 A1).
Regarding to claims 1 and 18, Patil discloses a first wireless device 2505 (fig. 25), comprising: a processing system that includes processor circuitry 2535 and memory circuitry 2530 that stores code (page 23 paragraph 0259), the processing system configured to cause the first wireless device to: receive 3205 a physical layer protocol data unit PPDU (fig. 32 page 24 paragraph 0285) comprising an indication of a protection of a medium access control MAC header of a frame, or an interpretation configuration (MPDU frame formats include beacon frame) for one or more first fields of the frame, from a plurality of interpretation configurations (sequence number value or hash values associated with beacon frame) for the one or more first fields (fig. 14 page 17 paragraphs 0181-0183), or both; receive the frame (page 17 paragraph 0184); and decode the frame in accordance with the format protection of the MAC header of the frame or the interpretation configuration for the one or more first fields (page 17 paragraph 0184), or both.
Regarding to claims 2 and 19, Patil discloses the indication is carried in one or more second fields of a MAC protocol data unit MPDU delimiter corresponding to the frame, and the one or more second fields indicate the protection of the MAC header of the MPDU frame or the interpretation configuration for the one or more first fields (page 17 paragraph 0182), or both.
Regarding to claim 3, Patil discloses the MPDU delimiter comprises one or more reserved fields B1 that indicate the format protection of the MAC header of the frame or the interpretation configuration for the one or more first fields (fig. 14 page 17 paragraph 0182), or both.
Regarding to claim 4, Patil discloses the MPDU delimiter comprises a delimiter signature field B8, and a value of the delimiter signature field indicates the format protection of the MAC header of the MPDU frame or the interpretation configuration for the one or more first fields (fig. 14 page 17 paragraph 0182), or both.
Regarding to claim 5 and 20, Patil discloses one or more second fields in a preamble of the PPDU, one or more service fields of the PPDU, or both, indicate the protection of the MAC header of the frame or the interpretation configuration for the one or more first fields (page 17 paragraph 0183), or both.
Regarding to claim 6, Patil discloses the is a MAC header comprises the indication, and one or more second fields in the MAC header indicate the protection of the MAC header of the frame or the interpretation configuration for the one or more first fields (fig. 3 page 11 paragraph 0129), or both.
Regarding to claims 8, Patil discloses the protection of the MAC header of the frame or the interpretation configuration for the one or more first fields, or both, indicate at least one of that one or more second fields of the frame are expanded (page 17 paragraph 0181; variable length), or that one or more third fields of the MPDU frame carry timestamp information, or a combination thereof.
Regarding to claim 9, Patil discloses the protection of the MAC header of the frame or the interpretation configuration for the one or more first fields, or both, indicate at least one of a size of a high throughput control field exceeding a threshold (fig. 7 page 13 paragraph 0146), a presence of one or more security fields in the MPDU frame associated with the protection of the MAC header, a sequence number space being expanded based at least in part on a Fragment Number field, the sequence number space being expanded based at least in part on a Packet Number field, or an interpretation for one or more third fields in the MAC header, from a plurality of interpretations for the one or more third fields in the MAC header, or a combination thereof.
Regarding to claim 10, Patil discloses to receive the message PPDU, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless device to: receive a data frame associated with the MPDU frame, wherein the data frame comprises one or more elements indicating the format protection of the MAC header of the MPDU frame or the interpretation configuration for the one or more first fields (page 17 paragraph 1084), or both.
Regarding to claim 11, Patil discloses the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless device to: receive a second PPDU indicating a protection of a second MAC header of a second frame or a second interpretation configuration for one or more third fields of the second frame, or both; and receive an aggregate MAC protocol data unit MPDU comprising the MPDU frame and at least the second MPDU frame (page 6 paragraph 0102).
Regarding to claim 13, Patil discloses a first wireless device 2105 (fig. 21), comprising: a processing system that includes processor circuitry 2135 and memory circuitry 2130 that stores code (page 20 paragraph 0220), the processing system configured to cause the first wireless device to: transmit 3110 a physical layer protocol data unit PPDU (fig. 31 page 24 paragraph 0283) comprising an indication of a protection of a medium access control MAC header of a frame, or an interpretation configuration (MPDU frame formats include beacon frame) for one or more first fields of the frame, from a plurality of interpretation configurations (sequence number value or hash values associated with beacon frame) for the one or more first fields (fig. 14 page 17 paragraphs 0181-0183), or both; and transmit 3110 the frame in accordance with the format protection of the MAC header of the frame or the interpretation configuration for the one or more first fields (page 17 paragraph 0184), or both.
Regarding to claim 14, Patil discloses the indication is carried in one or more second fields of a MAC protocol data unit MPDU delimiter corresponding to the frame, and the one or more second fields indicate the protection of the MAC header of the MPDU frame or the interpretation configuration for the one or more first fields (page 17 paragraph 0182), or both.
Regarding to claim 15, Patil discloses the MPDU delimiter comprises one or more reserved fields B1 that indicate the format protection of the MAC header of the frame or the interpretation configuration for the one or more first fields (fig. 14 page 17 paragraph 0182), or both.
Regarding to claim 16, Patil discloses the MPDU delimiter comprises a delimiter signature field B8, and a value of the delimiter signature field indicates the format protection of the MAC header of the MPDU frame or the interpretation configuration for the one or more first fields (fig. 14 page 17 paragraph 0182), or both.
Regarding to claim 17, Patil discloses one or more second fields in a preamble of the PPDU, one or more service fields of the PPDU, or both, indicate the protection of the MAC header of the frame or the interpretation configuration for the one or more first fields (page 17 paragraph 0183), or both.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUC T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467