DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and examined herein.
Claims 21-72 are canceled.
Priority
As detailed on the 27 March 2024 filing receipt, the application claims priority as early as 15 October 2020 to provisional application 63/092, 279. At this point in examination, all claims have been interpreted as being accorded this priority date as the effective filing date.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the first paragraph is not numbered; “entirety” is misspelled as “entirey” (pg. 1); “taste” is misspelled as “tast” (pg. 5-6, 9, and 12); “may” is misspelled as “maye” (pg. 13); “comprise” is misspelled as “compise” (pg. 13); and “In” is misspelled as “En.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informality: the “first determining” step is not indented the same as the following steps.
Claims 2 and 20 are objected to because they recite “tast” instead of “taste.”
Claims 1, 6, 10, 13-14, and 20 are objected to because there is a space within T1R.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informality: there are spaces before the commas in the list of distilled spirit bins.
Claim 5 is objected to because there is an extra space prior to the period.
Claim 17 is objected to because it recites “a method according to claim 14” rather than “the method according to claim 14.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for determining phenotypic expression, does not reasonably provide enablement for determining scores and predicting preferences. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The specification discloses T2R and T1R expression being related to taste of sweet compounds (paragraph [2]), how the scores are determined and how the scores are calculated together is not disclosed. That is, the breadth of the claims, state of the prior art, amount of direction provided by the inventor, and experimentation required to relate T2R and/or T1R expression profiles to bins of spirit types and calculating the scores would require undue experimentation to perform the steps in claims 1-2 and 19-20, and in turn all claims dependent on claims 1-2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 2-5, 8, 12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 5 recite calculating scores based on expression, taste preference information, and preference scores. It is unclear how the scores are calculated.
Claim 3 is unclear because the bins are recited as related to types of distilled spirits, but the bin descriptions appear to be related to types of wines, which are fermented and not distilled, where descriptors include “white” and “red,” which are wine descriptors and not typically used for spirits.
Claim 3 recites unclear bins for types of spirits. Bins in claim 3 include “crisp and citrusy,” “crisp and floral,” “unoaked full-bodied,” “oaked full-bodied,” “light cherry,” “light chocolaty raspberry,” and “bold smoky blackberry.” These are subjective descriptors of bins and it is unclear how the scores relate to the bins.
Claim 4 recites a “bland choice away from sweet and bitter” and “a broad range of distilled spirit choices.” It is unclear how bland is quantified related to sweet and bitter, as bland is an intensity of a taste and not a taste itself. Furthermore, what is included in broad is unclear, and its relationship to at least bitter, sweet, and bland, as broad is considered to include sweet and bitter.
Claim 8 recites the agonist and reagent “are contained on or the same test medium.” It is unclear if this means the agonist and reagent are both present on the same test medium or what distinction is being made.
Claims 9, 12, 15-16, and 18 recite the agonists are selected from a list of agonists and “any two or more of the foregoing.” It is unclear if this refers to a prior list or if two list elements are selected in addition to one list element. If it is the latter, it is unclear if this is different than selecting three or more list elements.
Claim 14 recites the phrase "for example" in element (i), which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claims 15-18 are dependent on claim 14 and so are rejected on similar grounds.
Claim 16 is rejected because it recited unclear antecedence. The claim begins referring to both claim 1 and claim 14, and so it is unclear which claim is the immediate parent claim. For compact examination, it is assumed the claim will be amended to clearly recite dependence on claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10, 12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the claimed inventions are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. "Claims directed to nothing more than abstract ideas (such as a mathematical formula or equation), natural phenomena, and laws of nature are not eligible for patent protection" (MPEP 2106.04 § I). Abstract ideas include mathematical concepts, and procedures for evaluating, analyzing or organizing information, which are a type of mental process (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). The claims as a whole, considering all claim elements individually and in combination, are directed to a judicial exception at Step 2A, Prong 2, and the additional elements of the claims, considered individually and in combination, do not provide significantly more at Step 2B than the abstract idea of predicting a distilled spirit preference.
MPEP 2106 organizes 101 analysis into Steps 1, 2A (Prong One & Prong Two), and 2B as analyzed below.
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)?
Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., a law of
nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a-c))?
Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application by an additional element (MPEP 2106.04(d))?
Step 2B: Do the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements in addition to any identified judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05)?
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a 101 process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)?
The claims are directed to methods, which falls within one of the categories of statutory subject matter. [Step 1: Yes]
Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a-c))?
With respect to Step 2A, Prong One, the claims recite judicial exceptions in the form of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) further explains that abstract ideas are defined as:
• mathematical concepts (mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical relationships
and mathematical calculations) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I));
• certain methods of organizing human activity (fundamental economic principles or practices, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)); and/or
• mental processes (concepts practically performed in the human mind, including observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
Claims 1 and 19 recite determining the subject’s taste preference scores, where determining a score suggests a mathematical concept to calculate the score, or a qualitative data evaluation which would be a step practically performed by the human mind.
Claims 1 and 19 recite predicting distilled spirit preference, where the prediction is considered to be a data evaluation step and thus a mental process.
Claim 2 recites calculating bin scores based on expression data, taste preference information, and preference scores, where calculating a score suggests a mathematical process.
Claims 3-4 recite information about the bins, where the bins are qualitative descriptors of spirit types and thus descriptors related to the calculations. The information is data per se and thus abstract.
Claim 5 recites information about interpreting the bin scores as part of the predicting step, further supporting the step is a data evaluation step and a mental process.
Claims 14 and 17 recite recording taste perception, where recording is a mental process practically performed with pen and paper, and correlating taste with expression values is a mathematical step if a correlation is a numerical relationship or a mental step of evaluating the data to find patterns.
Claim 20 recites calculating bin scores based on expression data and preference scores, where calculating a score suggests a mathematical process.
Thus, the claims recite abstract ideas and thus must be examined further to determine whether elements in addition to the abstract ideas integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)). [Step 2A Prong One: Yes]
Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application by an additional element (MPEP 2106.04(d))?
Because the claims recite judicial exceptions, direction under Step 2A Prong Two provides that the claims must be examined further to determine whether they recite elements in addition to the abstract ideas which integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)). A claim can be said to integrate a judicial exception into a practical application when it applies, relies on, or uses the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. This is performed by analyzing the additional elements of the claim to determine if the judicial exceptions are integrated into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)(I); MPEP 2106.05(a-h)). If the claim contains no additional elements beyond the judicial exceptions, the claim is said to fail to integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)(III)).
Claims 1 and 19 recite determining phenotypic expression by an actual test administered to detect T1R and/or T2R functionality.
Claim 6 recites stimulating T1Rs and/or T2Rs with one or more agonists and detecting released products, where detecting comprises either A-i) applying one or more reagents which interact with one or more of the products released because of the stimulation of the T2Rs and/or T1Rs, and A-ii) detecting the interaction of the reagent with one or more products, optionally by employing chemiluminescence, an electrochemical sensor, or an optical sensor, to detect the interaction of one or more reagents with one or more of the products, or B) employing chemiluminescence, an electrochemical sensor, or an optical sensor to detect one or more of the products released because of the stimulation of the T2Rs and/or T1Rs.
Claim 7 recites the agonists are separately applied prior to the reagent which interacts with the product.
Claim 8 recites the agonist and reagent are released as a result of stimulation of T1R and/or T2R are contained on or are the same test medium.
Claims 9, 12, 15-16, and 18 recite additional information about the agonists.
Claim 10 recites detecting comprises applying a test medium containing the reagents which interacts with the products.
Claim 12 recites applying a test medium containing the reagents.
Claim 14 recites stimulating T2Rs and/or T1Rs by exposing at least a portion of tissue.
Claim 17 recites sequential stimulation using agonists.
These steps are entirely directed to data collection for the abstract score calculating and predicting steps, and thus are considered insignificant extra-solution activity, which does not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Because the claims recite an abstract idea, and do not integrate that abstract idea into a practical application, the claims are directed to that abstract idea. Claims that are directed to abstract ideas must be examined further to determine whether the additional elements besides the abstract idea render the claims significantly more than the abstract idea. Claims that are directed to abstract ideas and that raise a concern of preemption of those abstract ideas must be examined to determine what elements, if any, they recite besides the abstract idea, and whether these additional elements constitute inventive concepts that are sufficient to render the claims significantly more than the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05). [Step 2A Prong Two: No]
Step 2B: Do the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements in addition to any identified judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05)?
Claims found to be directed to a judicial exception are then further evaluated to determine if the claims recite an inventive concept that provides significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Step 2B of 101 analysis determines whether the claims contain additional elements that amount to an inventive concept, and an inventive concept cannot be furnished by an abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05).
Meyerhof (Reviews of Physiology, Biochemistry, and Pharmacology 154: 37-72, 2005; newly cited) teaches TAS2R taste receptors, thus teaching their functionality (abstract). Meyerhof teaches establishing agonists are bitter-tasting by stimulating the cells (abstract), including the tongue (pg. 48). Meyerhof teaches agonists including caffeine, quinine, and strychnine (Table 1).
The claims recite a computer, interpreted as instructions to apply the abstract idea using a computer, where the computer does not impose meaningful limitations on the judicial exceptions, which can be performed without the use of a computer (MPEP 2106.04(d) § I; and MPEP 2106.05(f)). Storing data on a computer is a conventional computer function (Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; MPEP 2106.05(d)). Display steps are interpreted as insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)) which do not impose meaningful limits on the claim, here displaying an output of the analysis (Ameranth, 842 F.3d at 1241-42, 120 USPQ2d at 1854-55; MPEP 2106.05(g)). Therefore, the recited additional elements, alone or in combination, do not appear to provide an inventive concept. [Step 2B: No]
Conclusion: Claims are Directed to Non-statutory Subject Matter
For these reasons, the claims, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole,
are directed to an abstract idea and lack an inventive concept. Hence, the claimed invention does not
constitute significantly more than the abstract idea, so the claims are rejected under 35 USC § 101 as
being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
It is noted the Griess reagent does not appear to be a conventional reagent in measuring a physiological response with respect to T2R.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrews (US2018/0057866 A1; newly cited) in view of Hayes (Chemical Senses 36(3): 311-319, 2010; newly cited).
Claim 1 recites determining phenotypic expression of T2Rs and/or T1Rs, wherein the determining is from an actual test administered to detect the functionality of T2Rs and/or T1Rs.
Andrews teaches SNPs associated with taste (paragraph [13]) but not expression levels.
Claim 1 recites obtaining taste preference information from the subject.
Andrews teaches obtaining preference information from the subject (paragraph [10]).
Claim 1 recites a second determining the subject's taste preference scores for one or more
distilled spirits administered to the subject.
Andrews teaches determining taste preference scores (paragraph [10]) and the spirits may be liquors (paragraph [10], last line).
Claim 1 recites predicting distilled spirit preferences for the subject.
Andrews teaches determining taste preferences based on the previous steps.
Andrews teaches relationships between taste receptor genes and alcohol preferences but does not teach applying alcohol to a subject to determine a phenotypic response.
Hayes teaches taste phenotypes based on bitter compounds (abstract) including grapefruit juice, espresso, and whiskey (pg. 312, col. 2, last paragraph), revealing a relationship between sensation, genetic variation, and liking of beverages (abstract).
Claim 2 recites calculating distilled spirit bin scores based on the first determining phenotypic expression, the obtaining taste preferences information, and the second determining the subject's taste preference scores.
Andrews teaches a score based on genotype, information from the subject, and preference score (claim 8) while Hayes teaches response to application of alcohol (abstract). Andrews teaches a bin score for preferring certain gustative products (paragraph [11]).
Claim 3 recites the distilled spirit bins comprise one or more distilled spirit bins selected from the group consisting of a first distilled spirit bin for sweet white distilled spirits, a second distilled spirit bin for crisp and citrusy white distilled spirits, a third distilled spirit bin for crisp and floral white distilled spirits, a fourth distilled spirit bin for unoaked full-bodied white distilled spirits, a fifth distilled spirit
bin for oaked full- bodied white distilled spirits, a sixth distilled spirit bin for light cherry red distilled spirits, a seventh distilled spirit bin for light chocolaty raspberry red distilled spirits, and an eighth distilled spirit bin for bold smoky blackberry red distilled spirits.
Andrews teaches bins including sweet white, crispy and citrusy, crisp and floral, unoaked full-bodied white, oaked full-bodied white, light cherry red, light chocolaty raspberry red, and bold smoky blackberry red (pg. 21, Table 3).
Claim 4 recites the distilled spirit bins comprise one or more distilled spirit bins selected from the group consisting of a first distilled spirit bin for bitter and/or sweet distilled spirits, a second distilled spirit bin consisting of bland choices both away from sweet and bitter, and a third distilled spirit bin consisting of a broad range of distilled spirit choices.
Andrews teaches bins including sweet white, crispy and citrusy, crisp and floral, unoaked full-bodied white, oaked full-bodied white, light cherry red, light chocolaty raspberry red, and bold smoky blackberry red (pg. 21, Table 3), but not bitter and/or sweet, bland, or broad. However, Andrews teaches genetic profiling to predict tolerance for bitter, sour, and spicy tastes (pg. 22, col. 1, third paragraph), as well as light versus full (Table 6), where light is interpreted as bland and full is more flavorful.
Claim 5 recites the distilled spirit bin scores are used to predict that the subject will prefer distilled spirits from a distilled spirit bin having a higher distilled spirit bin score than a distilled spirit bin having a lower distilled spirit bin score.
Andrews teaches “the subject will prefer gustative or olfactive products from a gustative or olfactive product bin having a higher gustative or olfactive product bin score than a gustative or olfactive product bin having a lower gustative or olfactive product bin score” (paragraph [11]).
Claim 19 recites first determining phenotypic expression of T2Rs and/or T1Rs, wherein the
determining is from an actual test administered to detect the functionality of T2Rs and/or T1Rs.
Claim 19 recites second determining the subject's taste preference scores for one or more distilled spirits administered to the subject.
Claim 19 recites predicting distilled spirit preferences for the subject.
Andrews teaches SNPs associated with taste (paragraph [13]) but not expression, obtaining preference information from the subject (paragraph [10]), determining taste preference scores (paragraph [10]) and the spirits may be liquors (paragraph [10]), and determining taste preferences based on the previous steps (paragraph [10]).
Hayes teaches taste phenotypes based on bitter compounds (abstract) including grapefruit juice, espresso, and whiskey (pg. 312, col. 2, last paragraph), revealing a relationship between sensation, genetic variation, and liking of beverages (abstract).
Claim 20 recites calculating distilled spirit bin scores based on the first determining phenotypic expression, and the second determining the subject's taste preference scores.
Andrews teaches a score based on genotype, information from the subject, and preference score (claim 8) while Hayes teaches response to application of alcohol (abstract). Andrews teaches a bin score for preferring certain gustative products (paragraph [11]).
Combining Andrews and Hayes
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if some motivation in the prior art would have led that person to modify prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date of the invention. One would have been motivated to combine the work of Hayes with Andrews because Andrews teaches a survey and genotypic data for supporting a taste preference, whereas Hayes involves application of the spirit itself, thus allowing association between genotypic variant and phenotypic sensation (abstract). Both Andrews and Hayes are directed to taste receptors’ relationship to alcohol preference and thus a shared field of endeavor, and the invention is prima facie obvious.
Claim(s) 6-8 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrews in view of Hayes as applied to claims 1-5 and 19-20 above, and further in view of Dmytrenko (Nutrition and Cancer 69(5): 780-790, 2017; newly cited).
Claim 6 recites the first determining further comprises stimulating T2Rs and/or T1Rs of a human subject with one or more agonists, and detecting one or more products released as a result of stimulation of the T2Rs and/or Tl Rs, wherein the detecting of the products comprises a method comprising either
A-i) applying one or more reagents which interact with one or more of the products released because of the stimulation of the T2Rs and/or T1Rs, and A-ii) detecting the interaction of the reagent with one or more products, optionally by employing chemiluminescence, an electrochemical sensor, or an optical sensor, to detect the interaction of one or more reagents with one or more of the products, or B) employing chemiluminescence, an electrochemical sensor, or an optical sensor to detect one or more of the products released because of the stimulation of the T2Rs and/or T1Rs.
Dmytrenko teaches the use of agonists on the expression of T2R receptors (pg. 781, col. 1, third paragraph) and use of a Griess reagent with ELISA for detecting activity (pg. 782, col. 2, second paragraph).
Claim 7 recites the agonists are separately applied prior to the reagent which interacts with one or more of the products as a result of stimulation of T2Rs and/or T1Rs.
Dmytrenko teaches different action mechanisms for each agonist (pg. 787), suggesting separate application.
Claim 8 recites the agonist and the reagent that interacts with one or more products released as a result of stimulation of T2Rs and/or T1Rs are contained on or the same test medium.
It is not clear what this claim limitation requires, whether the agonist and reagent are on the same medium, are the same medium, or something else. Dmytrenko teaches nitric oxide production from the stimulation with the agonist (pg. 780, col. 2), which is subsequently detected by Griess reagent.
Claim 10 recites the detecting of the products comprises applying a test medium containing the reagents which interact with the products.
Dmytrenko teaches a Griess reagent (pg. 782, col. 2, second paragraph), which requires a medium.
Claim 11 recites the reagents which interact with the products released as a result of stimulation of T2Rs and/or T1Rs comprise a Griess reagent.
Dmytrenko teaches a Griess reagent (pg. 782, col. 2, second paragraph).
Combining Andrews, Hayes, and Dmytrenko
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if some motivation in the prior art would have led that person to modify prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date of the invention. One would have been motivated to combine the combination of Andrews and Hayes with Dmytrenko because Dmytrenko teaches application of the Griess reagent to detect changes to T2R, and Hayes teaches physiological reactions involving T2R being related to taste preference. Furthermore, combining the agonist and reagent for detecting in the same medium would be easier for detection, and thus a desirable characteristic. Because at least Hayes and Dmytrenko are directed to T2R stimulation, the combination is likely to succeed and prima facie obvious.
Claim(s) 9, 12-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrews in view of Hayes as applied to claims 1-8, 10-11, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Somoza (US 20150362481 A1; newly cited).
Claim 9 recites the agonists are selected from the group consisting of caffeine, denatonium, strychnine, quinine, terpenes, phenylthiocarbamide, thiourea, sodium benzoate, and any two or more of the foregoing.
Dmytrenko teaches denatonium (abstract).
Somoza teaches caffeine, quinine, strychnine, and denatonium (paragraph [55-72]).
Claim 12 recites the agonist(s) are selected from caffeine, denatonium, strychnine, quinine, terpenes, phenylthiocarbamide, thiourea, sodium benzoate, and any two or more of the foregoing, and wherein the detecting of the products comprises applying a test medium containing the reagents which interact with the products.
Dmytrenko teaches denatonium (abstract).
Somoza teaches caffeine, quinine, strychnine, and denatonium (paragraph [55-72]).
Claim 13 recites the reagents which interact with the products released as a result of stimulation of T2Rs and/or Tl Rs comprise a Griess reagent.
Dmytrenko teaches a Griess reagent (pg. 782, col. 2, second paragraph).
Claim 14 recites the first determining further comprises i) stimulating T2Rs and/or T1Rs by exposing at least a portion of tissue, for example, the mouth of the human subject to one or more agonists, ii) recording a discerned level of taste perception by the human subject after the stimulation, and iii) correlating the discerned level of taste perception to the level of phenotypic expression of the T2Rs and/or T1Rs.
Andrews teaches a correlation between a mutation, a taste preference, and association with said phenotype (Table 1).
Claim 15 recites the agonists are selected from the group consisting of caffeine, denatonium, strychnine, quinine, terpenes, phenylthiocarbamide, thiourea, sodium benzoate, and any two or more of the foregoing.
Dmytrenko teaches denatonium (abstract).
Somoza teaches caffeine, quinine, strychnine, and denatonium (paragraph [55-72]).
Claim 16 recites the first determining further comprises wherein the agonist is selected from the group consisting of caffeine, denatonium, strychnine, quinine, xylitol, grapefruit seed extract or naringenin, a terpene, and any two or more of the foregoing.
Dmytrenko teaches denatonium and naringenin (abstract).
Somoza teaches caffeine, quinine, strychnine, and denatonium (paragraph [55-72]).
Claim 18 recites the agonists are selected from the group consisting of caffeine, denatonium, strychnine, quinine, terpenes, phenylthiocarbamide, thiourea, sodium benzoate, and any two or more of the foregoing.
Dmytrenko teaches denatonium (abstract).
Somoza teaches caffeine, quinine, strychnine, and denatonium (paragraph [55-72]).
Combining Andrews, Hayes, Dmytrenko, and Somoza
The previously combined works, especially Dmytrenko, teach application of agonists to determine a phenotypic response, including denatonium and naringenin. Somoza also teaches application of denatonium as well as additional agonists including caffeine, quinine, and strychnine, among others (paragraphs [55-72]). This suggests a simple substitution in application of the agonists (MPEP 2143), rendering the invention prima facie obvious.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrews in view of Hayes as applied to claims 1-16 and 18-20 above, and further in view of Prescott (Chemical Senses 25: 239-246, 2000; newly cited).
Claim 17 recites steps i) and ii) are repeated one or more times, and the stimulating by each of
one or more different agonists is sequential, the recording of each discerned level of taste perception by the human subject occurs after each stimulation, and the correlating is of one or more of the discerned levels of taste perception to the level of phenotypic expression of the T2Rs and/or T1Rs.
Dmytrenko teaches treatment with different concentrations of agonists.
Prescott teaches repeated oral stimulation by compounds (abstract).
Combining Andrews, Hayes, Dmytrenko, Somoza, and Prescott
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if some motivation in the prior art would have led that person to modify prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date of the invention. One would have been motivated to combine the previously combined work with Prescott because Prescott teaches repeated stimulation changes the reaction to a stimulant, either with increased or decreased sensitivity (abstract), which coupled with taste preferences (pg. 243, col. 2, last paragraph) would be relevant for determining a preference for a food or beverage, including alcohol (pg. 244, col. 1, first paragraph). Prescott is directed to taste preferences based on exposure to different food/beverages and genetic links with tasters versus non-tasters, and thus prima facie obvious to combine with the taste preference determination of at least Andrews and Hayes.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 12, 14-16, and 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 18513534 in view of Andrews. Claim 7-8 are rejected further in view of Dmytrenko. Claim 17 is rejected further in view of Dmytrenko and Prescott.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Instant claim 1, which teaches determining phenotypic expression, obtaining a taste preference, determine subject taste preference, and predicting a preference is taught by reference claim 1, exception the instant claim is directed to spirits and the reference claim is directed to wine. Andrews teaches application to different alcohols, including wine and liquor (pg. 2, col. 2, paragraph [11]). Claim 19 is similarly taught.
Instant claims 2 and 20 are taught by reference claim 2.
Instant claim 3 recites spirit bins and is taught by Andrews (pg. 21, Table 3).
Instant claim 4 recites bins taught by Andrews as genetic profiling to predict tolerance for bitter, sour, and spicy tastes (pg. 22, col. 1, third paragraph), as well as light versus full (Table 6).
Instant claim 5 recites predicting based on bin scores, which taught by Andrews (paragraph [11]).
Instant claim 6 recites stimulating the subject, recording taste perception, and correlating the results, taught by reference claim 1.
Instant claim 7 recites separate agonist application, taught by Dmytrenko (pg. 787).
Instant claim 8 is taught by Dmytrenko (pg. 780, col. 2).
Instant claim 9 is taught by reference claim 15.
Instant claims 10, 12, 15-16, and 18 are taught by reference claim 12.
Instant claims 11 and 13 are taught by Dmytrenko (pg. 782, col. 2, second paragraph).
Instant claim 14 is taught by reference claim 1.
Instant claim 17 is taught by Dmytrenko as treatment with different concentrations of agonists and Prescott as repeated oral stimulation by compounds (abstract).
Andrews teaches application to different alcohols, including wine and liquor (pg. 2, col. 2, paragraph [11]), suggesting the taste preference steps for the different alcohol types would be the same, and swapping the types of alcohols represents a simple substitution (MPEP 2143), rendering the invention prima facie obvious. Further combination with Dmytrenko is motivated by Dmytrenko teaching application of the Griess reagent to detect changes to T2R, and Hayes teaching physiological reactions involving T2R being related to taste preference. Furthermore, combining the agonist and reagent for detecting in the same medium would be easier for detection, and thus a desirable characteristic. Finally, combination with Prescott is obvious because Prescott teaches repeated stimulation changes the reaction to a stimulant, either with increased or decreased sensitivity (abstract), which coupled with taste preferences (pg. 243, col. 2, last paragraph) would be relevant for determining a preference for a food or beverage, including alcohol (pg. 244, col. 1, first paragraph). Prescott is directed to taste preferences based on exposure to different food/beverages and genetic links with tasters versus non-tasters. Therefore, the combinations are prima facie obvious.
It is also noted a terminal disclaimer was filed 05 October 2026 associated with the reference application with respect to the instant application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Choi (Appetite 113: 178-186, 2017; newly cited) teaches SNPs associated with taste (paragraph T2Rs (Table 5), a questionnaire including type of alcoholic beverage consumed, including soju and spirits (pg. 179, col. 2, third paragraph), significant relationships between T2R variation and consumption of certain spirits (Table 5), and intensity of sensory responses and taste perceptions for flavors cause individual alcohol preference (pg. 179, col. 1, first and second paragraphs).
/Robert J. Kallal/Examiner, Art Unit 1685