DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to application filed on 11/09/2023.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed on 12/08/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/09/2023, and 03/05/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 (Does this claim fall within at least one statutory category?):
Claims 1-10 are directed to a method.
Claims 11-20 are directed to a system.
Therefore, claims 1-20 fall into at least one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A, Prong 1: ((a) identify the specific limitation(s) in the claim that recites an abstract idea: and (b) determine whether the identified limitation(s) falls within at least one of the groups of abstract ideas enumerates in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)):
Claim 1:
A calculation device, comprising:
a calculation portion that divides a sample into a plurality of cells, and calculates an electromagnetic field of the sample by calculating an electromagnetic field of each cell based on a physical property value associated with the cell, wherein the sample includes a numerical solution applying portion, a connecting portion and an analytic solution applying portion that are sequentially arranged in a propagation direction of incident light [mathematical concepts],
wherein the calculation portion [mathematical concepts]
calculates the electromagnetic field of the numerical solution applying portion and the connecting portion by a numerical calculation that uses Maxwell’s equations [mathematical concepts],
Fourier transforms the calculated electromagnetic field of the connecting portion into a plane wave expressed by a wavenumber vector [mathematical concepts],
sets the plane wave of the connecting portion as an initial value, and calculates a wavenumber space electromagnetic field of the analytic solution applying portion by using Helmholtz’s equation, when the plane wave propagates the analytic solution applying portion in the propagation direction [mathematical concepts], and
calculates the electromagnetic field of the analytic solution applying portion by inverse Fourier-transforming the wavenumber space electromagnetic field of the calculated analytic solution applying portion [mathematical concepts].
Step 2A, Prong 2 (1. Identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception; and 2. Evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application): The claim is directed to the judicial exception.
Claim 1 has no additional limitations that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B: (Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No): Claim 1 has no additional limitations that integrate the abstract idea into an inventive concept.
As per claims 2-20, the claims fall into [mathematical concepts].
Additional 35 USC 101 rejection relating to “system” claim of claim 11:
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter since the claim merely drawn to computer software per se. The claim does not seem to require any hardware or physical component to perform its function. The recited “a calculation portion” is simply a software per se. As such, the claim appears to be system software per se and are therefore non-statutory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication No. 2002/0113790 A1 issued to Hayashi et al in view of US Publication No. 2003/0050760 A1 issued to Namiki et al.
Claim 1. Hayashi et al discloses a calculation device, comprising:
a calculation portion that divides a sample into a plurality of cells, and calculates an electromagnetic field of the sample by calculating an electromagnetic field of each cell based on a physical property value associated with the cell (See: [0010] the space is divided into small cells, and the elements of the electromagnetic field are given as variables for each cell, thereby numerically obtaining a solution that satisfies the Maxwell's equations with respect to the incident electromagnetic field. Accordingly, the solution obtained by these methods is a three-dimensional vector distribution in the three-dimensional space of a scattered electromagnetic field resulting from the incident electromagnetic field or the entire electromagnetic field as the sum total of these electromagnetic fields; [0058] when the three-dimensional electromagnetic field calculation domain is divided into some small regions, the intensity of the characteristic Green's function G is markedly higher only in a specific small region than in the other small regions), wherein the sample includes a numerical solution applying portion, a connecting portion and an analytic solution applying portion that are sequentially arranged in a propagation direction of incident light (See: [0010] the space is divided into small cells, and the elements of the electromagnetic field are given as variables for each cell, thereby numerically obtaining a solution that satisfies the Maxwell's equations with respect to the incident electromagnetic field. Accordingly, the solution obtained by these methods is a three-dimensional vector distribution in the three-dimensional space of a scattered electromagnetic field resulting from the incident electromagnetic field or the entire electromagnetic field as the sum total of these electromagnetic fields),
wherein the calculation portion calculates the electromagnetic field of the numerical solution applying portion and the connecting portion by a numerical calculation that uses Maxwell’s equations (See: [0010] An example of the FDTD method is shown in FIG. 9. In these methods, the space is divided into small cells, and the elements of the electromagnetic field are given as variables for each cell, thereby numerically obtaining a solution that satisfies the Maxwell's equations with respect to the incident electromagnetic field. Accordingly, the solution obtained by these methods is a three-dimensional vector distribution in the three-dimensional space of a scattered electromagnetic field resulting from the incident electromagnetic field or the entire electromagnetic field as the sum total of these electromagnetic fields),
Fourier transforms the calculated electromagnetic field of the connecting portion into a plane wave expressed by a wavenumber vector (See: [0013] The term "2.5-dimensional model" means a model in which, as shown in FIGS. 13(a) and 13(b), the object and the electromagnetic field occupy a three-dimensional space (x, y, z), but both of them are in translational symmetry with respect to a one-dimensional direction (y). In the 2.5-dimensional model, the entire electromagnetic field separates independently into a TE mode [FIG. 13(a)] in which the electric field component is parallel to the y-direction, and a TM mode [FIG. 13(b)] in which the magnetic field component is parallel to the y-direction. The electromagnetic field in each of the two modes can be expressed in terms of a scalar quantity because the polarization direction is uniform. Accordingly, it can be applied to Fourier optics. More specifically, in each of the TM and TE modes, the electric field distribution in the focal plane of the image-forming optical system is obtained and convolved with the PSF (Point Spread Function) of the image-forming optical system. Alternatively, the electric field distribution is Fourier-transformed and multiplied by the pupil function of the image-forming optical system and then inversely Fourier-transformed; [0040] Further, U(.nu.) is the electromagnetic field at the point .nu., G is a Green's function, and .differential./.differential.n denotes partial derivative with respect to the normal vector n. The Green's function G is a function that satisfies the Helmholtz equation, which is expressed by the following equation (3), and that has a singular point at the point .nu..(.gradient..sup.2+k.sup.2)G=0 (where k is the wave number of the electromagnetic field) (3); [0071] In-plane coordinates of the light source plane and those of the aperture stop plane are expressed in the form of (.xi., .eta.), and in-plane coordinates of the field stop plane are expressed in the form of (x, y). Assuming that the emission intensity distribution in the light source plane is S(.xi., .eta.) and the amplitude transmission function of the pupil of the optical system from the collector lens 2 to the window lens 3 that is set in the field stop plane is P.sub.ill(x, y), the amplitude distribution A.sub.cd(.xi., .eta.; .xi..sub.s, .eta..sub.s ) formed at the front focal position of the condenser lens 4 by light emitted from a point (.xi..sub.s, .eta..sub.s) in the light source plane is expressed by A.sub.cd(.xi., .eta.; .xi..sub.s, .eta..sub.s)={(S(.xi..sub.s, .eta..sub.s)}.sup.1/2.times..sup.FP.sub.ill(.xi.-.xi..sub.s, .eta.-.eta..sub.s) (4); [0072] Where .sup.FP.sub.ill(.xi., .eta.) is a Fourier transform of P.sub.ill(x, y)),
sets the plane wave of the connecting portion, and calculates a wavenumber space electromagnetic field of the analytic solution applying portion by using Helmholtz’s equation, when the plane wave propagates the analytic solution applying portion in the propagation direction (See: [0035] calculation of the process of imaging taking place from the observation object to the image plane will be mainly described in regard to the computational model of the imaging simulation method according to the present invention shown in FIG. 1; [0036] The imaging simulation method according to the present invention includes a first step of calculating the electric field distribution of illuminating light entering a three-dimensional space containing an observation object. The imaging simulation method further includes a second step of calculating the electric field distribution in the three-dimensional space of scattered light generated by interaction between the illuminating light and the observation object, and a third step of calculating imaging of the scattered light performed by an image-forming optical system by using the Helmholtz-Kirchhoff integral using a characteristic Green's function group of the image-forming optical system; [0042] a Green's function having a singular point in the image plane of the image-forming optical system will be referred to as "characteristic Green's function". In the present invention, the set of characteristic Green's functions is referred to as "characteristic Green's function group". According to the present invention, an appropriate characteristic Green's function G is selected from among the characteristic Green's function group and used as a Green's function G to calculate the Helmholtz-Kirchhoff integral, thereby accurately performing an imaging calculation at an arbitrary point on the image plane (i.e. the calculation of the intensity and phase of light at the image position). Equations (2) and (3) hold even when the electromagnetic field U and the Green's function G (characteristic Green's function group) are both three-dimensional vector functions), and
calculates the electromagnetic field of the analytic solution applying portion by inverse Fourier-transforming the wavenumber space electromagnetic field of the calculated analytic solution applying portion (See: [0013] The term "2.5-dimensional model" means a model in which, as shown in FIGS. 13(a) and 13(b), the object and the electromagnetic field occupy a three-dimensional space (x, y, z), but both of them are in translational symmetry with respect to a one-dimensional direction (y). In the 2.5-dimensional model, the entire electromagnetic field separates independently into a TE mode [FIG. 13(a)] in which the electric field component is parallel to the y-direction, and a TM mode [FIG. 13(b)] in which the magnetic field component is parallel to the y-direction. The electromagnetic field in each of the two modes can be expressed in terms of a scalar quantity because the polarization direction is uniform. Accordingly, it can be applied to Fourier optics. More specifically, in each of the TM and TE modes, the electric field distribution in the focal plane of the image-forming optical system is obtained and convolved with the PSF (Point Spread Function) of the image-forming optical system. Alternatively, the electric field distribution is Fourier-transformed and multiplied by the pupil function of the image-forming optical system and then inversely Fourier-transformed).
Hayashi et al does not specify but Namiki et al discloses initial values (See: [0090] permits the user to enter some initial parameters for performing a specific session of electromagnetic wave analysis; [0096] (S11) The initializing unit 111 sets up the system with initial parameters entered through the data input devices 12a. Included in this initial setup are: the number of cells, cell sizes, properties of each cell (e.g., dielectric constant .di-elect cons., permeability .mu., electrical conductivity .sigma. of the material or medium), boundary conditions (e.g., absorbing boundary conditions, electrical wall boundary conditions) excitation conditions (e.g., wave source location, waveform), simulation end time, and time step size. Other parameters such as coefficients for electromagnetic calculation are also computed in this step S11. The time step counter T is then cleared to zero).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine electromagnetic wave analyzer as taught by Namiki et al to image simulation of Hayashi et al would be to improve the accuracy in FD-TD difference approximations (Namiki et al, [0057]).
Claim 2. Namiki et al discloses the calculation device of claim 1, wherein in the analytic solution applying portion, the calculation portion calculates one of an electric field, a magnetic field, or both the electric field and the magnetic field, depending on a predetermined purpose (See: 0048] With the above notation, the magnetic field at time point (n+1/2) is expressed as: 5 H n + 1 / 2 = H n - 1 / 2 + [ t ] E x i + 1 / 2 n ( 15 ); [0049] In this equation (15), the partial derivative (also called the "partial differential coefficient") of the electric field E is calculated by: 6 E x i + 1 / 2 = E i + 1 - E i x i ( 16 )).
Claim 4. Hayashi et al discloses The calculation device of claim 1. Hayashi et al does not specify but Namiki et al discloses wherein in the analytic solution applying portion, the calculation portion calculates the electromagnetic field in one of a first portion that includes a predetermined plane orthogonal to the propagation direction or a second portion sandwiched by two predetermined planes orthogonal to the propagation direction (See: [0011] First, in a one-dimensional space, the following two equations express how the electromagnetic waves propagate in the x-axis direction. 1 H y t = E z x ( 1 ) E z t + E z = H y x ( 2 ); [0012] In a two-dimensional space, the transverse magnetic (TM) waves propagating in the x-axis and y-axis directions are expressed as follows. 2 H x t = - E z y ( 3 ) H y t = E z x ( 4 ) E z t + E z = H y x - H x y ( 5 ).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine electromagnetic wave analyzer as taught by Namiki et al to image simulation of Hayashi et al would be to improve the accuracy in FD-TD difference approximations (Namiki et al, [0057]).
Claim 5. Namiki et al discloses the calculation device of claim 1, wherein the calculation portion determines the numerical solution applying portion, the connecting portion and the analytic solution applying portion, by determining whether a complex refractive index of the cell is within a constant range in a direction opposite to the propagation direction (See: [0061] While the above equations (23) to (25) are intended for finite difference approximation of a spatial derivative, the same method can also be applicable to a time derivative. This will be accomplished by simply substituting time t for coordinate x, time increment .DELTA.t for spatial step size .DELTA.x, and time step index n for space point index i. The time-derivative version of equation (25) would have a term .delta.(.DELTA.t.sub.n-.DELTA.t.sub.n-1). This term .delta.(.DELTA.t.sub.n-.DELTA.t.sub.n-1) is always zero, because the time increment is assumed to be constant, which means (.DELTA.t.sub.i-.DELTA.t- .sub.i-1)=0; [0120] FIG. 11 shows the minimum and maximum cell sizes in the computational model of FIG. 10. X-axis cell sizes .DELTA.x range from 0.200 mm (Minimum) to 2.000 mm (Maximum). Y-axis cell sizes .DELTA.y range from 0.050 mm (Minimum) to 2.000 mm (Maximum). Z-axis cell sizes .DELTA.z range from 0.069 mm (Minimum) to 1.200 mm (Maximum)).
Claim 9. Namiki et al discloses the calculation device of claim 1, wherein, for a sample that includes a substrate and an element formed on the substrate, the calculation portion determines the analytic solution applying portion as including the substrate, the numerical solution applying portion as including the element, and the connecting portion as including a portion in the substrate to which the element is connected (See: [0115] A signal line 52 with a width of 1.8 mm provides an electrical connection from an external circuit to the patch antenna 51. Around its junction point with the signal line 52, the patch antenna 51 has a narrow groove on both sides of the signal line 52. The grooves are 1.0 mm wide and 4.0 mm deep. Such a patch antenna 51 is formed on a 0.8 mm thick substrate with a relative dielectric constant of 3.274).
Claim 10. Hayashi et al discloses the calculation device of claim 1, wherein the numerical calculation uses at least one of an FDTD method, an FEM method, a BEM method, a CIP method, an FIT method, or a method of solving Maxwell’s equations for a model in which a material is discretized with a grid (See: [0054] The three-dimensional electromagnetic field calculation domain where the three-dimensional electromagnetic field calculation is performed around the observation object is limited by the performance of the computer used. In the FDTD method, for example, the three-dimensional electromagnetic field calculation domain is approximately equal in size to a cube in which each side is 10 wavelengths long at the most. The region where the Helmholtz-Kirchhoff integration can be actually carried out to calculate the three-dimensional electromagnetic field is an area on the closed surface .sigma. that is cut off by the three-dimensional electromagnetic field calculation domain).
Claim 11. The instant claim recites substantially same limitation as the above rejected claim 1, and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 12. Hayashi et al discloses the calculation device of claim 11, wherein the calculation portion calculates the electromagnetic field of each of the plurality of cells based on a physical property value associated with each of the plurality of cells (See: [0010] An example of the FDTD method is shown in FIG. 9. In these methods, the space is divided into small cells, and the elements of the electromagnetic field are given as variables for each cell, thereby numerically obtaining a solution that satisfies the Maxwell's equations with respect to the incident electromagnetic field. Accordingly, the solution obtained by these methods is a three-dimensional vector distribution in the three-dimensional space of a scattered electromagnetic field resulting from the incident electromagnetic field or the entire electromagnetic field as the sum total of these electromagnetic fields).
Claim 13. Hayashi et al discloses the calculation device of claim 11, wherein the numerical calculation uses at least one of an FDTD method, an FEM method, a BEM method, a CIP method, an FIT method, or a method of solving Maxwell’s equations for a model in which a material is discretized with a grid (See: [0054] The three-dimensional electromagnetic field calculation domain where the three-dimensional electromagnetic field calculation is performed around the observation object is limited by the performance of the computer used. In the FDTD method, for example, the three-dimensional electromagnetic field calculation domain is approximately equal in size to a cube in which each side is 10 wavelengths long at the most. The region where the Helmholtz-Kirchhoff integration can be actually carried out to calculate the three-dimensional electromagnetic field is an area on the closed surface .sigma. that is cut off by the three-dimensional electromagnetic field calculation domain).
Claim 14. Hayashi et al discloses the calculation device of claim 11, wherein the calculation portion transforms the electromagnetic field of the connecting portion into a plane wave expressed by a wavenumber vector by Fourier-transforming the electromagnetic field of the connecting portion, and the calculation portion calculates the analytic solution in wavenumber space by using Helmholtz’s equation in which the plane wave of the connecting portion is set as (See: 0040] Further, U(.nu.) is the electromagnetic field at the point .nu., G is a Green's function, and .differential./.differential.n denotes partial derivative with respect to the normal vector n. The Green's function G is a function that satisfies the Helmholtz equation, which is expressed by the following equation (3), and that has a singular point at the point .nu..
(.gradient..sup.2+k.sup.2)G=0 (where k is the wave number of the electromagnetic field) (3)).
Hayashi et al does not specify but Namiki et al discloses initial values (See: [0090] permits the user to enter some initial parameters for performing a specific session of electromagnetic wave analysis; [0096] (S11) The initializing unit 111 sets up the system with initial parameters entered through the data input devices 12a. Included in this initial setup are: the number of cells, cell sizes, properties of each cell (e.g., dielectric constant .di-elect cons., permeability .mu., electrical conductivity .sigma. of the material or medium), boundary conditions (e.g., absorbing boundary conditions, electrical wall boundary conditions) excitation conditions (e.g., wave source location, waveform), simulation end time, and time step size. Other parameters such as coefficients for electromagnetic calculation are also computed in this step S11. The time step counter T is then cleared to zero).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine electromagnetic wave analyzer as taught by Namiki et al to image simulation of Hayashi et al would be to improve the accuracy in FD-TD difference approximations (Namiki et al, [0057]).
Claim 15. Hayashi et al discloses the calculation device of claim 14, wherein the calculation portion calculates the electromagnetic field for each of the cells included in the analytic solution applying portion, by using the analytic solution in wavenumber space (See: 0040] Further, U(.nu.) is the electromagnetic field at the point .nu., G is a Green's function, and .differential./.differential.n denotes partial derivative with respect to the normal vector n. The Green's function G is a function that satisfies the Helmholtz equation, which is expressed by the following equation (3), and that has a singular point at the point .nu.. (.gradient..sup.2+k.sup.2)G=0 (where k is the wave number of the electromagnetic field) (3)).
Claim 16. Hayashi et al discloses the calculation device of claim 15, wherein the calculation portion calculates the electromagnetic field for each of the cells included in the analytic solution applying portion, by inverse Fourier-transforming the analytic solution in wavenumber space (See: [0013] he electromagnetic field in each of the two modes can be expressed in terms of a scalar quantity because the polarization direction is uniform. Accordingly, it can be applied to Fourier optics. More specifically, in each of the TM and TE modes, the electric field distribution in the focal plane of the image-forming optical system is obtained and convolved with the PSF (Point Spread Function) of the image-forming optical system. Alternatively, the electric field distribution is Fourier-transformed and multiplied by the pupil function of the image-forming optical system and then inversely Fourier-transformed).
Claim 17. Namiki et al discloses the calculation device of claim 11, wherein the calculation portion determines a portion in which a complex refractive index is within a constant range as the analytic solution applying portion, wherein the calculation portion determines a portion in which a complex refractive index is out of the constant range as the connecting portion, and wherein the calculation portion determines a portion in a direction opposite to the connecting portion as the numerical solution applying portion (See: [0040] The proposed electromagnetic wave analyzer has the following elements: a cell size identification unit 2, a first calculation unit 3, a second calculation unit 4, and a data output unit 5. For each space point P1, P2, and so on within the computational domain 1, the cell size identification unit 2 examines whether the surrounding cells are uniform in size. More specifically, the cell size identification unit 2 compares every pair of adjacent cells in terms of the width, depth, or height, for each axis of the computational domain 1. If two adjacent cells have the same dimension in a certain axis direction, the two cells are said to be of uniform size, meaning that the electromagnetic analysis will assume the spatial uniformity in that direction. If the two adjacent cells have different dimensions from each other, they will be treated as non-uniform cells in the analysis. In this way, the cell size identification unit 2 tests the local uniformity around every space point defined in the discretized computational domain 1, scanning the cells in each individual axis direction).
Claim 18. Namiki et al discloses the calculation device of claim 17, wherein the calculation portion determines the analytic solution applying portion, the connecting portion and the numerical solution applying portion in a direction opposite to a propagation direction of an incident light being incident on the sample (See: [0011] First, in a one-dimensional space, the following two equations express how the electromagnetic waves propagate in the x-axis direction. 1 H y t = E z x ( 1 ) E z t + E z = H y x ( 2 ); [0012] In a two-dimensional space, the transverse magnetic (TM) waves propagating in the x-axis and y-axis directions are expressed as follows. 2 H x t = - E z y ( 3 ) H y t = E z x ( 4 ) E z t + E z = H y x - H x y ( 5 ); [0013] Similarly, the following partial differential equations give the behavior of transverse electric (TE) waves in a two-dimensional space. 3 E x t + E x = H z y ( 6 ) E y t + E y = - H z x ( 7 ) H z t = E x y - E y x ( 8 ); [0014] Lastly, electromagnetic waves in a three-dimensional space are expressed in the systems of six coupled partial differential equations as follows. 4 E x t + E x = H z y - H y z ( 9 ) E y t + E y = H x z - H z x ( 10 ) E z t + E z = H y x - H x y ( 11 ) H x t = E y z - E z y ( 12 ) H y t = E z x - E x z ( 13 ) H z t = E x y - E y x ( 14 )).
Claims 6-8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al & Namiki et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Publication No. 2014/0225091 A1 issued to O’Carroll et al.
Claim 6. Hayashi et al & Namiki et al disclose the calculation device of claim 1.
Neither the Hayashi et al nor Namiki et al disclose but O’Carroll et a discloses a symmetric boundary condition and an anti-symmetric boundary condition (See: 0059] The boundary conditions of the simulation were as follows: anti-symmetric boundary conditions along the polarization direction of the E-field (x), symmetric boundary conditions along the polarization of the H-field (y), and perfectly matched layer (PML) boundary conditions along the direction of propagation (z), with 12 PMLs. Symmetry was enabled on all boundaries, and the structure was extended through the PMLs. The simulation time was 1000 fs. The simulations had a mesh accuracy set to 8, with mesh refinement type set to conformal variant 1. A mesh override of dx=dy=d=0.9 nm was set through the entire device. The simulations automatically shut-off when the normalized field intensity decays to less than 10.sub.-7).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine an organic optoelectronic device as taught by O’Carroll et al to improve the efficiency, lifetime, and cost of these devices (O’Carroll et al, [0004]).
Claim 7. O’Carroll et al discloses the calculation device of claim 1, wherein the calculation device further comprises: a storage device that stores data of the electromagnetic fields of a plurality of numeral solution applying portions and a plurality of analytic solution applying portions, for a sample that includes a plurality of the numeral solution applying portions and a plurality of the analytic solution applying portions (See: [0039] To determine how the presence of P3HT:PCBM and AgNPs modified hack-scattered light spectra of a sample, dark-field reflected light spectra of sample regions with and without a P3HT:PCBM layer and with and without a AgNP array were acquired under the conditions described above; [0056] Full-field electromagnetic calculations were performed numerically using commercially available finite-difference time domain (FDTD) software for all of the devices studied here. The FDTD method was preferred over the traditional transfer matrix (TM) method because, although the TM method is good for studying planar thin films, it cannot be used to study effects such as non-homogenous active layer morphologies, scattering from rough surfaces, or confinement of the electric field from nanophotonic structures; however, we do not consider these factors in this study. Numerical techniques such as the FDTD method are useful for studying these structures, some of which are the subject of on-going work. In the simulations, plane wave excitation incident normal to the plane of the device was employed in all cases).
Claim 8. O’Carroll et al discloses the calculation device of claim 1, wherein in the numeral solution applying portion and the analytic solution applying portion, a complex refractive index of the cell is within a constant range (See: [0058] he source propagated in the direction normal to the device (z) with the electric field vector (E) polarized along the x direction and the magnetic field vector (H) polarized along the y direction. The source was 1000 nm from the first layer of the device. A two-dimensional frequency-domain field and power monitor as well as a 2D refractive index monitor were included in the simulation (in the x-z plane at y=40). The geometries of these monitors were identical and chosen to agree with the polarization of the plane wave source; the monitors extended beyond the simulation region in the x and z directions).
As per Claim 19: The instant claim recites substantially same limitation as the above rejected claim 6, and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, and 20, objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
KIBROM K. GEBRESILASSIE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2189
/KIBROM K GEBRESILASSIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2189 10/28/2026