Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, limitations of independent claims 1,8,15 and support in Applicant's specification could not be found for the feature (includes an unsynchronized command configured to control a dispersed transmission site to mix the local media content with the sequence of media items, and wherein at a time the control signal is received at the first distribution site, the unsynchronized command is unsynchronized with the local media content; and transmitting the local media content and the control signal including the unsynchronized command). To overcome this rejection, Applicant should point out to specific portions of the specification that provide the written description for the feature).
The dependent claims 2-7,9-14,16-20 are rejected because they depended on the rejected base claims 1,8,15.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of patent 10,986,147. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of instant application is anticipated by the above cited patent(see Independent Claims Comparison Table below).
Instant Application 18/506,077
Patent 10,986,147
Claim 1:
A method comprising: obtaining, at a first distribution site, a sequence of media items; receiving, at the first distribution site, local media content transmitted by a second distribution site, wherein the local media content is to be inserted into the sequence of media items; receiving a control signal transmitted to the first distribution site by the second distribution site, wherein the control signal includes an unsynchronized command configured to control a dispersed transmission site to mix the local media content with the sequence of media items, and wherein at a time the control signal is received at the first distribution site, the unsynchronized command is unsynchronized with the local media content; and transmitting the local media content and the control signal including the unsynchronized command from the first distribution site to one or more dispersed transmission sites.
Claim 1:
A method comprising: pre-distributing a common sequence of media items to storage devices at a plurality of dispersed locations; obtaining, at a first media mixer located at a first dispersed location, a local program component, wherein the local program component includes media content not included in the common sequence of media items; obtaining a control signal at a first processing device co-located with the first media mixer at the first dispersed location, wherein the control signal is associated with playout of the common sequence of media items; transmitting the local program component from the first media mixer located at the first dispersed location to a second media mixer at a second dispersed location; separately transmitting the control signal from the first processing device, co-located with the first media mixer at the first dispersed location, to a second processing device, co-located with the second media mixer located at the second dispersed location; at the second dispersed location, synchronizing the control signal to the local program component to generate a synchronized media program control; at the second media mixer located at the second dispersed location: obtaining at least a portion of the common sequence of media items; obtaining the local program component; obtaining the synchronized media program control; and mixing the local program component and the at least a portion of the common sequence of media items in accordance with the synchronized media program control.
Instant claims 2-20 corresponds to conflicting claim 2-20 of patent 10,986,147.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-5,7-8,10-12,14-15,17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thevanthasan et al (us 2010/0017820) (hereinafter Thevan) in view of Hirsch et al (us 2016/0316240) (hereinafter Hirsch).
As regarding claim 1, Thevan discloses obtaining, at a first distribution site, a sequence of media items (see Thevan 0026,0035, content to be broadcast to remote clients); receiving, at the first distribution site, local media content transmitted by a second distribution site, wherein the local media content is to be inserted into the sequence of media items (see Thevan 0042, 0044,0046, receive the supplement content by the content server by the sporting venue); receiving a control signal transmitted to the first distribution site by the second distribution site, wherein the control signal controls playout of the local media content in relation to the sequence of media items (see Thevan 0044,0046, the instruction is received by the sporting venue from content server).
Thevan is silent in regard to the concept of an unsynchronized command configured to control a dispersed transmission site to mix the local media content with the sequence of media items, and wherein at a time the control signal is received at the first distribution site, the unsynchronized command is unsynchronized with the local media content; and transmitting the local media content and the control signal including the unsynchronized command from the first distribution site to one or more dispersed transmission sites.
Hirsch teaches the concept of an unsynchronized command configured to control a dispersed transmission site to mix the local media content with the sequence of media items, and wherein at a time the control signal is received at the first distribution site, the unsynchronized command is unsynchronized with the local media content; and transmitting the local media content and the control signal including the unsynchronized command from the first distribution site to one or more dispersed transmission sites (see Hirsch 0116,0120, distribution gateway receives an advertisement schedule and forward the advertising schedule via the advertising insertion instruction to CPE, Hirsch 0051,0053, teaches the concept of the distribution gateway receives advertisement and media from archive gateway and transmit ads and media to CPE; CPE receives advertising insertion instruction to insert the advertisement into the multimedia content (see Hirsch 0122)).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hirsch to Thevan because they're analogous art. A person would have been motivated to modify Thevan with Hirsch’s teaching for the purpose of efficiently allowing the remote sites/CPE to tailor the content as needed.
As regarding claim 3, Thevan-Hirsch discloses the control signal controls playout synchronization of the local media content relative to the sequence of media items (see Thevan 0044, the supplement content is inserted into the broadcast content as indicated by the instruction).
As regarding claim 4, Thevan-Hirsch discloses transmitting the sequence of media items to the one or more dispersed transmission sites (see Hirsch 0053, distribution gateway sends advertisement and media to CPE). the same motivation was utilized in claim 1 applied equally well to claim 4.
As regarding claim 5, Thevan-Hirsch discloses receiving a plurality of control signals related to a plurality of local media content items and aggregating the plurality of control signals prior to transmitting the plurality of control signals from the first distribution site to the one or more dispersed transmission sites (see Hirsch 0116,0120, distribution gateway receives an advertisement schedules and forward the advertising schedule via the advertising insertion instruction/s to CPE, Hirsch 0051,0053, teaches the concept of the distribution gateway receives advertisement and media from archive gateway and transmit ads and media to CPE; CPE receives advertising insertion instruction to insert the advertisement into the multimedia content (see Hirsch 0122)), it is obvious that the instructions are bundle together to transmit to the client since it will save the transmitting resources instead of transmitting one by one). The same motivation was utilized in claim 1 applied equally well to claim 5.
As regarding claim 7, Thevan-Hirsch discloses the control signal includes a surface control signal (see Thevan 0048, the instruction to rotate).
As regarding claims 8,10-12,14-15,17-19, the limitations of claims 8,10-12,14-15,17-19 are similar to limitations of rejected claims 1,3-5,7 above, therefore rejected for the same rationale.
Claims 2,9,16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thevan-Hirsch as applied to claims 1,8,15 above and further in view of Nagaraj et al (us 2014/0032987) (hereinafter Naga).
As regarding claim 2, the combination of Thevan-Hirsch discloses the invention as claims in claim 1 above, Thevan-Hirsch discloses the concept of provide content to first site (see Thevan 0042) and one or more disperse sites (see Hirsch 0053, CPE/s), however Thevan-Hirsch silent in regard to the concept of the sequence of media items has been pre-distributed.
Naga teaches the concept of the sequence of media items has been pre-distributed (see Naga 0027, pre-stored content on the device).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Naga to Thevan-Hirsch because they're analogous art. A person would have been motivated to modify Thevan-Hirsch with Naga’s teaching for the purpose of improve user experience by efficiently allowing faster load time and reduce latency.
As regarding claims 9,16, the limitations of claims 9,16 are similar to limitations of rejected claim 2 above, therefore rejected for the same rationale.
Claims 6,13,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thevan-Hirsch as applied to claims 1,8,15 above and further in view of Thielen et al (us 2020/0029118) (hereinafter Thielen).
As regarding claim 6, the combination of Thevan-Hirsch discloses the invention as claims in claim 1 above, however Thevan-Hirsch is silent in regard to the concept of the control signal indicates a volume level adjustment to be applied to at least one of the sequence of media items or the local media content.
Thielen teches the concept of the control signal indicates a volume level adjustment to be applied to at least one of the sequence of media items or the local media content (see Thielen 0078, volume adjusted instruction).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Thielen to Thevan-Hirsch because they're analogous art. A person would have been motivated to modify Thevan-Hirsch with Thielen’s teaching for the purpose of improve user experience by enhance listening experience.
As regarding claims 13,20, the limitations of claims 13,20 are similar to limitations of rejected claim 2 above, therefore rejected for the same rationale. Further Thevan discloses claim 20, the control signal includes a surface control signal (see Thevan 0048, the instruction to rotate).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUYEN M DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459