DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Osmanis (US 20230236421) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches a light source for a picture generation unit in a head up display (HUD), in at least (fig. 2A-2C); comprising: at least two light emitting assemblies (202), each configured to emit at least three colors of light (202R, 202G, 202B); and a light combining assembly, comprising a dichroic beam splitter (206A) and combiner mirror (206B), a half-wave plate (112), and a polarizing beam splitter mirror (104), wherein the dichroic beam splitter (206A) and combiner mirror (206B) is arranged on light emitting paths of the light emitting assemblies (202R, 202G, 202B) and configured to combine the at least three colors of light (202R, 202G, 202B) emitted by each of the light emitting assemblies (202R, 202G, 202B) into combined light (108), the half-wave plate (112) is arranged on a light emitting path of one ray of the combined light (108) and configured to change a polarization characteristic of the combined light (108), and the polarizing beam splitter mirror (104) is configured to combine the combined light (108) emitted from the half-wave plate (112) with another ray of the combined light (108).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a HUD, in at least (fig. 2A-2C); wherein there are two light emitting assemblies (202), each comprising at least one first light emitting element (202R), at least one second light emitting element (202G), and at least one third light emitting element (202B); and the first light emitting element (202R), the second light emitting element (202G), and the third light emitting element (202B) are configured to emit a first color of light (202R), a second color of light (202G), and a third color of light (202B), respectively.
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches a HUD, in at least (fig. 2A-2C); wherein a collimating lens (208) is further arranged on each of light emitting paths of the first light emitting element (202R), the second light emitting element (202G), and the third light emitting element (202B).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 3, wherein D1 further teaches a HUD, in at least (fig. 2A-2C); wherein both the half-wave plate (112) and the polarizing beam splitter mirror (104) are arranged at a top of the dichroic beam splitter (206A) and combiner mirror (206B).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 4, wherein D1 further teaches a HUD, in at least (fig. 2A-2C); wherein the dichroic beam splitter (206A) and combiner mirror (206B) is provided with a first dichroic beam splitting and combining surface (206A top), a second dichroic beam splitting and combining surface (206A bottom), and a third dichroic beam splitting and combining surface; the first dichroic beam splitting and combining surface (206A top) is configured to reflect the first color of light (202G) to the second dichroic beam splitting and combining surface (206A bottom); the second dichroic beam splitting and combining surface (206A bottom) is configured to transmit the first color of light (202G) to the third dichroic beam splitting and combining surface (206B), and to reflect the second color of light (202G) to the third dichroic beam splitting and combining surface (206B); the third dichroic beam splitting and combining surface (206B) is configured to transmit the third color of light to the half-wave plate (112) and the polarizing beam splitter mirror (104), and to reflect the first color of light (202G) and the second color of light (202G) to the half-wave plate (112) and the polarizing beam splitter mirror (104); and the first color of light (202R), the second color of light (202G), and the third color of light (202B) incident into the half-wave plate (112) are combined into first combined light (108), and the first color of light (202R), the second color of light (202G), and the third color of light (202B) incident into the polarizing beam splitter mirror (104) are combined into second combined light (108).
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 3, wherein D1 further teaches a HUD, in at least (fig. 2A-2C); wherein both the half-wave plate (112) and the polarizing beam splitter mirror (104) are arranged at one end of the dichroic beam splitter (206A) and combiner mirror (206B).
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 6, wherein D1 further teaches a HUD, in at least (fig. 2A-2C); wherein the dichroic beam splitter (206A) and combiner mirror (206B) is provided with a first dichroic beam splitting and combining surface (206A top), a second dichroic beam splitting and combining surface (206A bottom), and a third dichroic beam splitting and combining surface (206B); the first dichroic beam splitting and combining surface (206A top) is configured to reflect the first color of light (202G) to the second dichroic beam splitting and combining surface (206A bottom); the second dichroic beam splitting and combining surface (206A bottom) is configured to transmit the first color of light (202G) to the third dichroic beam splitting and combining surface (206B), and to reflect the second color of light (202G) to the third dichroic beam splitting and combining surface (206B); the third dichroic beam splitting and combining surface (206B) is configured to transmit the first color of light (202G) and the second color of light (202G) to the half-wave plate (112) and the polarizing beam splitter mirror (104), and to reflect the third color of light to the half-wave plate (112) and the polarizing beam splitter mirror (104); and the first color of light (202R), the second color of light (202G), and the third color of light incident into the half-wave plate (112) are combined into first combined light (108), and the first color of light (202R), the second color of light (202G), and the third color of light incident into the polarizing beam splitter mirror (104) are combined into second combined light (108).
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 7, wherein D1 further teaches a HUD, in at least (fig. 2A-2C); wherein the polarizing beam splitter mirror (104) is provided with a fourth beam splitting and combining surface (104, lines) and a fifth beam splitting and combining surface (104 lines); the fourth beam splitting and combining surface (104, lines) is configured to reflect the first combined light (108) emitted from the half-wave plate (112) to the fifth beam splitting and combining surface (104, lines); and the fifth beam splitting and combining surface (104, lines) is configured to transmit the second combined light (108), and to reflect the first combined light (108) to a light emitting direction of the second combined light (108).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches a HUD, in at least (fig. 2A-2C); wherein the two light emitting assemblies (202) are arranged side by side (Fig. 6, displays on top for left and right eyes) .
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches a HUD, in at least (fig. 2A-2C); wherein the first light emitting element (202R), the second light emitting element (202G), and the third light emitting element (202B) are all laser diodes ([0101]).
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872